BBB Accredited Business since

Portland Automotive

Phone: (503) 249-7316 Fax: (503) 774-5688 View Additional Phone Numbers 8010 NE Sandy Blvd, Portland, OR 97213 http://www.portlandautomotiveinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers foreign and domestic auto repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Portland Automotive meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Portland Automotive include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Portland Automotive
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 14, 2005 Business started: 03/01/2003 Business started locally: 03/01/2003 Business incorporated 09/10/2004 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tung Nguyen, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tung Nguyen, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Hours of Operation
8:00am - 6:00pm Monday - Friday
8:00am - 12:00pm Saturday
Closed Sunday
Alternate Business Names
Portland Automotive Inc

Additional Locations

  • 8010 NE Sandy Blvd

    Portland, OR 97213 (503) 774-5688 (503) 317-2813 (503) 249-7316

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the month of November 2015 recently I took my 1993 Lexus LS400 (license#*****) to Portland Automotive off of Sandy Blvd, to have it diagnosed because I was having car issues with my idle surging and my car dying out. Tung (owner) as he calls himself, stated after diagnosing my vehicle it was a misfire code and therefore they would have to change my sparkplug wires, ignition coils, ignition cup and rotors that was causing my previous issues. He stated by fixing these issues the problems would go away. After installing the new parts on my vehicle, the problem still existed, Tung also stated his mechanic could not fine the problem, at this point the job is costing me $883.00 for something that is not yet fixed. Tung's mechanic then proceeded to pressure test all cylinders and pull each fuel injector out to see if that was the culprit. Tung then stated that all injectors and cylinders checked out good. He then stated that he advised his mechanic to check the timing belt. The mechanic then proceeded to check the timing and said that the belt marks were off. I asked to see my belt but Tung expressed that they had already threw out the belt. He then proceeded to tell me that it would cost an additional $500.00 to correct the problem after he had stated earlier that my problem was a misfire and new parts not to include timing belt would fix the problem. After my belt was replaced I had no issue with idling problems however, I noticed a strong exhaust type of odor around my car everytime I started it up. This was going on for the next few days something that was never an issue prior to taking it to Portland Automotive.The smell began to get stronger and stronger over the next couple of weeks. It then became apparent that something wasn't right as it became to smell like fuel that was seaping into my car cabin and started making me feel nauseous sick and dizzy at times. The smell consisted of raw fuel smell instead of just an exhaust odor. Dec 15 my vehicle caught on fire.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a full refund in the amount of $1397.00 for all parts and labor that was paid to Tung. Also requesting wage loss one day and damages to my vehicle for total loss. Request that Portland Automotive be shut down due to poor business practices and poor mechanic performances and diagnosis.

Business Response: Before December 1st the customer had another person replace his starter on the vehicle. When someone replaces the starter they have to remove the fuel injector on their vehicle, it was a 1993 Lexus LS 400.The customer's then brought car to our shop on and we replaced the timing belt, distributor cap, the car ignition cable and coil and the ignition rotor. Customer came and pick up the car on Dec 1st, 2015 and the car was in good condition and nothing was wrong. He used it everyday. On Dec 15th, he called me at 8:26am and says there is gas leaking from the fuel injector and I said he needed to tow it to the shop, so I can see what happened. He drove the vehicle here instead and it was on fire about 10 minutes later. On Dec 22nd, an engineer came to check the car and found the number two fuel injector, the o-ring sealwas broken because of the person that replaced the starter. The engineer found it was not our fault. My son called me and let me know the insurance had declined the case.  

1/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my fathers truck to Portland Automotive with knocking noise. Tung diagnosed the problem as a lifter. He proceeded to fix my fathers truck and upon picking up the truck he told me he thinks it was fixed and the car is running rough. He told me it was probably a tune up. I told him I recently changed the spark plugs and had a oil changed so I am confused about why it would be a tune up. The sound that it was making when I first brought the truck in was a knocking noise and now there is another issue going on that the truck wasn't doing prior to bringing it in. I drove the truck for about a week and finally decided to take it to ford to get a diagnosis and they ran the machines and said it was probably off timing. I brought the truck back to Tung and showed him the report and told him this is what Ford said the problem might be. He dug into the engine again and said he fixed the timing and other items that were not related to the sound and it is still running the same way. He then hooked his machine up and said there were misfires on the left hand side and probably a valve was out and it would take an additional $2500.00 to fix that problem in which 80 % is labor after my investigations on how much a valve and a head gasket cost to complete the supposed new problem. I told him that that if the truck was diagnosed correctly in the beginning that we would not be here in this place. He then proceeded to tell me that if I pay half of the labor and buy the parts that he would fix it. I then told him that I don't think that is good business practice, considering he had the engine is hours away from exposing the valves to check the variables of why the truck is now running rough after changing the lifters. As I am explaining all of this to Tung, another customer walks in in rage explaining a similar situation that they are experiencing in which Tung told them to drive away and there car was running bad after work from Tung.

Desired Settlement: I will buy the parts which include The Head gasket and the Valves from Ford and Tung from Portland Automotive to fix the problem once and for all with a warranty on his work so that I don't drive away and start experiencing problems due to their negligence down the road.

Business Response: Customer bought a truck with a noise problem. He came in for us to diagnose the knocking noise. I looked at the computer and saw that the truck is known to have common problems with the lifter, so we replaced the lifter. The noise went away, but he had an engine vibration. He didn't want to spend anymore money. He wentto check out the vibration with the dealership. He came back to our shop and that the valve was leaking. I gave him a good deal. We replaced all the valve for him for $2431.00 but I only charged $1100.00. He picked up the car yesterday and said it was much better. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Portland Automotive
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)