This business is not BBB accredited.

Jim Estes Garage

Phone: (503) 657-4116 Fax: (503) 657-1829 411 Pleasant Ave, Oregon City, OR 97045


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers car care services, including under-car, heating and cooling, electrical, transmission, electronic, internal engine services and towing.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jim Estes Garage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Jim Estes Garage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1984 Business started: 11/01/1982 Business started locally: 11/01/1982 Business incorporated 11/22/1982 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Sylvia Estes, Secretary Mr. James Estes, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Sylvia Estes, Secretary
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service

Hours of Operation
8:00am - 5:30pm Monday - Friday
Closed Saturday and Sunday
Alternate Business Names
Jim Estes Enterprises Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Jim Estes Garage has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    411 Pleasant Ave

    Oregon City, OR 97045 (503) 657-4116

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last fall my 73' Monte Carlo began to miss fire and quickly became worse and would not start. I performed a complete tune-up, new wires & coil, and rebuilt the carburetor. I suspect some type of internal timing issue. Not being a mechanic and w/o diagnostic equipment I called ************ ****** ********* He cleaned 4 plugs, told me to clean the remaining plugs and take it out on the highway to blow out the carbon - really? Had car towed to Estes Garage who replaced the starter, flywheel, plugs, points, condenser and coil. ***, new parts again? New starter & flexplate - great? Why a new starter and flexplate when all I needed was for the engine to turn over. Prior to towing, the engine would turn over indicating that the starter was at the very least engaging with the flexplate. No diagnostic check had ever been performed, as indicated on the receipt reflecting the list of repairs and parts. Ran great for about 3 months - same issue again with miss fire. Called "***" at Estes - just bring it on in and we can take a look at it - Really? Since it will not start, how do you expect me to return the vehicle. After I submitted a negative review on Yelp, *** had called and left a similar message with no offer on how the car would be transported for further repairs.

Desired Settlement: ***, at Estes Garage should offer to tow the vehicle for free, then we can talk about having them performing an appropriate diagnositc check and agree to the repairs proposed. I would be willing to have a "mobile mechanic." from Estes or perhaps ************ ****** ******** make an onsite appearance for a diagnostic check and/or estimate. This is also a Warranty issue, in that they state on their website a 24 month National Warranty Guarantee.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/07/21) */ Here is the back ground on our interaction with *** **********. We checked our **** account and found a review by him that was very negative and included name calling of our service writer. So we responded to this review by calling *** ********** and leaving a message for him to get in touch with us so we could remedy his complaint. We received an email stating the same complaint as on **** and again we tried calling him. Then we received the notice from the Better Business Bureau stating the complaint again. Finally after all this he has responded to our calls and we have towed his vehicle to our shop and will begin to see what the problem is. We really cannot begin to diagnose a problem until we can have it at our shop with the proper diagnosing equipment. *** ********** did say that after we worked on his vehicle it ran "great" for 3 months. Then he had problems again, which we must remember it is a 40 year old car. He didn't mention that he took the distributor out and had it worked on and then replaced it himself without proper knowledge on how to complete that task. He did mention that he wasn't a mechanic. We are planning to correct any problems we or *** ********** have caused to this vehicle. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/08/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) On July 16, 2014, a phone conversation initiated by *** from Estes Garage resulted in the offering of having my vehicle towed to his shop by ***'s ******* Within 3 business days I submitted an e-mail to the BBB informing the bureau of this telephone communication. Since the 16th (12 business days), I have received no communication from *** regarding the status of my vehicle based upon our tentative agreement of having further work performed under the auspices of a 24 month Nationwide Guarantee. I do not expect Estes Garage to saddle the entire financial burden of further work, and what should be a fair and commensurate agreement for both parties. During our last conversation I had apologized for letting my anger be reflected in the language used in my "original" statement within the **** review. I do not recommend that anyone misplace their composure and write a not so flattering review at 1 a.m. in the morning when emotions are high and mental faculties are not at their sharpest. Subsequent to personnel at Estes viewing the review, which I was unaware of at the time, I had since edited and revised the statement without the attitude. I had on my own accord, for now, removed the "negative" **** review as a symbol of trust and gesture of good faith. I came away from our conversation with a genuine sense of agreement and mutual cooperation in moving forward. I had anticipated submitting an encouraging and productive statement, in response to the company's statement submitted to the BBB, with caveats concerning a couple of inaccuracies with which I was willing to over look. I decided to wait to the last possible moment, August 1st, to submit this statement. At this point I feel compelled to elaborate and initiate the "no" option for submittal. First and most important is the fact that the distributor was not "worked on." The distributor was removed by me for inspection, properly and competently replaced in its original position from when last received from Estes, and as specification dictates. It must be noted that both certified and layman mechanics are aware that if there exists any flaws, signs of significant wear or the distributor is defective in any way, a replacement (new or reconditioned) is the correct solution. Second, when they claimed to have received the e-mail stating the same complaint as on ***** it was not. This was the revised version with more settled and considerate language. And yes, in response to my firm yet composed e-mail, they tried calling again and that is when I answered and proceeded in the conversation with *** on July 16. In regards to this matter, I believe that a patient and non-confrontational approach is the best course of action to resolve this seeming impasse. Time is on my side. The BBB's comment suggests that any response should not include any personally identifiable information in the response. The "other party" involved had stated my name so I felt compelled to indicate specific personnel involved in the negotiations. I don't know whether to apologize or ask that the option of changing or editing any language be left at your own discretion. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2014/08/07) */ *** from Estes Garage called on August 6th. He explained in great detail the problems, the specific steps taken and the resolutions in achieving a properly running automobile. I am very thankful to he and his company in resolving the issues while being under pressure and shorthanded at this very busy time of year. During our phone conversation we reached a tentative mutual agreement regarding total costs. Further details of the agreement may transpire upon direct review of the invoice. He has been fair and I fully appreciate his extra effort in the labor spent at his forfeiture. I also intend on submitting a very favorable review on Yelp and look forward in having Estes Garage as my mechanic of choice in the future. I need to thank the folks at BBB for your effort, participation, and assistance in reaching a favorable resolution. Thank you.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Jim Estes Garage
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart