Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Honest 1 Auto Care

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 233-4003 Fax: (503) 232-1464 View Additional Phone Numbers 2002 SE Stark St, Portland, OR 97214 http://www.honest1stark.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto repair services. This company offers auto repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Honest 1 Auto Care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Honest 1 Auto Care include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Honest 1 Auto Care
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 2007 Business started: 09/01/2007 Business started locally: 09/01/2007 Business incorporated 09/01/2007 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stephen Grimes, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Grimes, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Small Engine Repair Auto Air Conditioning Accident Reconstruction Service General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Alternate Business Names
Grimes Auto Care Inc Grimes Enterprises Inc Honest One Auto Care

Additional Locations

  • 15653 SE 135th Ave

    Clackamas, OR 97015

  • 2002 SE Stark St

    Portland, OR 97214 (503) 655-4404 (503) 233-4003

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to honest-1 auto care to have a alignment done on my 1995 ford van.I also wanted a good tire removed from a spare and have the tire mounted on the front rim where there was a bad tire.from tire not aligned. So I was given a estimate $91.95 for both tire remounting and alignment. Well I waited about 25min in the lobby. Then a salesman came and told me I needed this and that and it cost $1,285.04 to have my van repaired. that included tie rod /or ends replace-outer one side -( includes: adjust toe on all modelsdoes Labor 1hr 1 Product_Or_Service: mount and balance,wheel weight Order_Number: XXXXX Account_Number: ***** ********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I went to have a wheel alignment and a good tire removed from a rim I had in the back of my van. and put on the front rim where the bad tire was from bad alignment not done yet. Total estimate $91.95I then sat in the lobby for about 25min when a salesman came to me and said I needed more work then a simple wheel alignment. That I needed a tie rod/or ends-remove &replace-outer,one side-( includes: adjust toe on all models $102.00stabilizer bar remove-replace $90.67shock & or strut assembly & replace both. does not include disassemble or alignment $294.67combination -strut replace each $34.00 /combination strut replace each $34.00remove transmission pan ,gasket and filter (replace with filter and gasket and fluid $70.00coolant block test labor $51.00check engine light diagnostics $ 102.00 And a hazardous materials fee $ 3.00 Grand total estimate $1,376.00I declined there offer and said I did not want the work done. I did still want the good tire take off the rim in the back of my van and put on the rim in front where the bad tire was.The salesman returned with a invoice for me to pay $49.95 for wheel Alignment check $29.95then mount and balance replace drivers side tire with spare $10.00 - hazardous Materials $3.00wheel weight $2.00 Tire disposal $ 3.00 / shop supplies$ 2.00I was not told there would be a fee for wheel inspection if I did not have the work done. I expected the tire work charge.and asked if the tire was changed from rim in back of van to the front rim that had bad tire. I was told yes it was.So left and while driving my front steering was shaking to the left. There was a reason I wanted the good tire removed from rim in back of the van. It was bent and had noticeable damage to the inside of rim. I had purchased used straight rims two weeks prior from a wrecking yard. So when I got home, I looked at the tire and noticed it had not been changed to the front rim. I even took the tire off myself inspected it and found the dent on the rim. They never changed the tire off the bent rim.All they did was take the front rim and tire and put the good tire and bad rim on the front. Yet I was billed for mount and balance,replacement of tire to rim, wheel weight ,tire disposal , shop supplies , and a hazardous materials fee. They never disposed of thetire , they never balanced the tire and what? shop supplies. and what? hazardous materials. What the **** are those fees?I called and asked if they had done what I asked when I got home. And they said they did. Then I told them I knew that they did not put the good tire from the bad rim on the good rim with bad tire. I told them that I knew because the rim was bent on the inside of rim with good tire. And that was the tire and rim that was installed on the front of my van when I left there shop. Then the guy say bring it back in and, we will change the tire off the rim. I said why was I charged for all the tire mounting and wheel weight and tire disposal if it never happened. He replied. Well the mechanic dropped the ball. to just bring the van back. I live 10 miles from there and I work. I had to take time off just to get the alignment done that never got done. So the inspection fee surprised me and there only switching tires and rims but charging for mount and balance and wheel weight and disposal and never doing it. then the shop supplies fee and the hazardous materials fee. This place is anything but honest and it seems like they charge for things like hazardous materials ,shop supplies and tire removal that never happen or get done. I will never go back there even to get that tire taken off the bent rim. They are trying to charge for things that did not get done. and trying to make a buck on anything they can think of. Real honest,

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 6, 2014/05/29) */ I was unable to log onto your website with the given Case ID and Password that you originally had sent me for this customer complaint do to an internet explorer security certificate issue. I directly contacted ******** via telephone today to have her email the information directly to me so I could respond accordingly. *** ******** initially brought in his vehicle to have a wheel alignment performed and have the spare tire dismounted and installed onto the front left of the vehicle since that tire was below minimum tread depth. We were not able to perform the alignment due to finding bad suspension parts and adjusted the repair order for a simple "alignment check only charge" along with a repair estimate that was declined shortly thereafter. The technician in question that worked on his 1995 Windstar had made an honest mistake by rotating the two whole wheel and tire assemblies (instead of dismounting the spare tire and remounting it on the front) since he thought that this would be sufficient because the wheels and tires were of the same size. This decision along with forgetting to relay this important information up to the front counter ultimately caused the customer to be over billed $5.00 since we did not charge for half of a full tire rotation which is billed at $10.00 labor while charging only one mount and balance at $15.00 labor. The mount and balance of the tire from the spare wheel was originally specified directly to me at check in since this spare wheel was considered to be bent from a previous collision. The technician was not privy to this information (only what was initially written up on the repair order) and did not notice that the wheel had been previously damaged. The vibration in the front end after the customer picked up his Windstar was a direct result from rotating the spare bent wheel with its good tire onto the left front. I was unaware that this had happened until the customer contacted me after picking up his vehicle. I tried to make amends and sincerely apologized and promised to make it right if he would come back to the repair facility. He declined by hanging up on me without and further response.

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 6 2014 I took my car to Honest 1 for an oil change. My 2010 Hyundai Sonata had no issues when I took the car to Honest 1. When I picked the car up I was told that the coolant fluid was very low and that I had a leak. I was told I needed them to flush the system so they could find the leak and fix it. I told ***** that I didn't have time and he became upset and told me that my car could burst at any time and do major damage and tried ominously to pressure me into having the flush/repair done. I paid for the oil change and left.The next day when I pulled out of my drive way there was a spot of coolant fluid on my driveway for the first time ever. I took my car to *** ******* ******** ***** Service (XXX) XXX-XXXX.*** ****** verified the following three points:1. The tech at Honest one had removed the air induct and had moved a spring loaded clamp that holds the water bypass **** to the engine. The relocation of the clamp allowed coolant to slowly drip from the connection. Eventually with enough driving the combination of heat, pressure and the unseated clamp would cause the hose to come loose. The tech would not have to remove the air induct tube to change the oil and the tech must have removed the air induct tube to relocate the clamp. I have pictures of the clamp clearly showing the indentation where the clamp had been moved to. *** ****** determined Honest 1's relocation of the clamp must have been deliberate. Spring loaded clamps do not move on their own.2. *** ****** verified that the oil in my car was not clean enough to have been changed the day before. I have pictures of the dipstick showing black oil the day after Honest 1 supposedly changed my oil. 3. *** verified that the coolant in my car the day after visiting Honest 1 is a specialized type that is available at the dealership where I had my previous oil change, but would not be something that Honest 1 would add to my car or have in stock. Honest 1 told me that my coolant was dangerously low and that they had to fill Product_Or_Service: Oil Change

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want Honest 1 to refund my $24.95 for the oil change that they did not perform.I want Honest 1 to pay the $100 charge from ******** for getting the coolant leak source identified and fixed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/05/16) */ We spoke with *** about her concerns, and reviewed our video which confirmed that our technician did change the Oil and Filter, topped off the Coolant but did not move any hose clamp. We contacted *** ******* and he stated that he did not tell *** we moved any hose clamps.We offered *** $200.00 to compensate her for the bill she incurred with *****************, and for her Oil change with us. We also asked *** to retract her reviews on the Internet. *** refused our offer. Sincerely, Honest 1 Auto Repair


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Honest 1 Auto Care
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)