BBB Accredited Business since

Honest-1 Auto Care

Phone: (503) 659-2689 Fax: (503) 794-9653 View Additional Phone Numbers 13840 SE McLoughlin Blvd, Milwaukie, OR 97222 http://www.honest1milwaukie.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers foreign and domestic auto repair services including A/C, transmissions, engines, tune ups and brakes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Honest-1 Auto Care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Honest-1 Auto Care include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Honest-1 Auto Care
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 03, 2011 Business started: 06/01/2004 Business started locally: 06/01/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Stephen Grimes, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Grimes, Member
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Small Engine Repair Auto Air Conditioning General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Hours of Operation
Monday - Saturday 8am - 6pm
Alternate Business Names
Milwaukie Auto Care LLC

Additional Locations

  • 13840 SE McLoughlin Blvd

    Milwaukie, OR 97222 (503) 659-2689 (503) 470-6220

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the morning of April 12, 2014, my wife and I brought our 1997 Ford Explorer into Honest 1 Auto Service for an oil change and inspect the front end for a vibration. After several phone conversations with the receptionist and an estimate of original $800 to do the oil change, replace both front wheel bearings/sensors, all for brake calipers, and both rear brake rotors and rear brake pads. The final cost of the repairs being $1522.35. Then we authorized them to perform the work described. Upon arrival, 6pm that evening, my wife, ******** had noticed that two of our tires were low. She then took out a tire air pressure gauge and found that one tire was 20 lbs. below the recommended pressure and the other was 15 lbs. below the recommended pressure. The mechanic then proceeded to fill the tires with air while we paid the bill. Both my wife and I asked why this was missed, as it was supposed to be part of their "21 Point Inspection". The receptionist didn't have an answer but stated that she would make sure that it wouldn't happen again. Both my wife and I couldn't believe this because of our previous conversations that day, that we wanted to make sure our Explorer was safe to drive to the Oregon coast. Then on Monday morning April 14, 2014, my wife and I began our drive to the Oregon coast for our 15 year Wedding Anniversary. After driving only 114 miles on the second day of our trip, we had pulled into the camp ground of ******* *** State Park, and the front brakes of our Explorer locked up. We managed to free the brakes by backing up, the pushed out Explorer back to our camp site. This had happened on the evening of April 15, in the pouring rain. The following morning I called Honest 1 Auto and explained our situation to the manager, *****. ***** then told me he would find a mechanic near by and asked if we would be able to drive or vehicle there. I told him that it was undriveable, due to the fact that every time I applied pressure to the brakes, the front end would lock up. He then gave me a phone number for a towering service. After speaking with the towering service and finding out they needed a credit card, I had to call ***** back and inform him that I didn't have a credit card. He then told me that he found a auto service station in Cannon Beach, and asked again if I would be able to drive or vehicle there. This started to make me mad, and informed him that he needed to make arrangements for the tow. He told me that he would contact the owner at this time, and asked if I could jack the front end up and spin the wheel to see if I could hear anything. I did as he requested, and immediately called him back, so that he could hear the grinding noise. ***** did hear the noise over the phone and told me that he made arrangements to have a tow truck pick up our Explorer, and that he would arrange for a rental car if we needed one. After further inspection of the front wheel, while it was still jacked up, I noticed that there was a bolt missing from the caliper. I then called ***** back and informed him of this. Our Explorer was towed to ******* **** ******* in Cannon Beach, by ****** ******* There at ******* **** ******* my wife and I spoke to ***** the mechanic, he told us that we were missing two bolts to the right front caliper and that there were two lug nuts loose. He then made sure that all of the bolts were tight on the all of the brake calipers and all of the lug nuts were tight also. I then called ***** back at Honest 1 Auto, and told him what ***** had found, he told me that he just got off the phonewith *****, and that he couldn't believe what he had found. ***** was very apologetic, and said that this could have been a fatal mistake that his mechanic would have created. ***** then asked if there were any way for him to keep us as a customer. I told him that I wanted him to inspect all of the work that was performed and to make sure that something had to be done with the mechanic that worked on our Explorer, our lives were put in danger due to his negligence.

Desired Settlement: Both my wife and I would like to take our 1997 Ford Explorer into a Ford Dealer and have it inspected by an authorized Ford mechanic, for the work that was done by Honest 1 Auto. We would also like to have the mechanic that worked on or Explorer terminated for putting our lives in danger. If nothing else, have our money returned to us, so that we could have the work done by a Ford authorized mechanic.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/30) */ My name is ********* I am a service manager at Honest-1 Auto Care, and I was in contact with both ***** and ******** during the 12th of April, when they brought their Ford Explorer in for repairs. The oil change and front end inspection were both authorized upon drop off. The vehicle came in very unsafe to drive and had multiple issues. I spoke with ***** during the first phone call and told him both front wheel bearings/hub assemblies had unsafe excessive play and needed to be replaced and that was most of the vibration concern they were having. I also told ***** that the driveline had some noise and vibration, but was not unsafe at that time. I also told ***** that all four brake calipers were leaking brake fluid, rear brake rotors were below minimum thickness, and rear pads should be replaced with new rotors. The front axles seals were leaking, both front cv boots were leaking grease, output shaft seal was leaking, transfer case fluid was leaking, shocks were original, and front tires had excessive inside edge wear. Customer further authorized front wheel hubs to be replaced at that time. After beginning the work on the vehicle, the customer later authorized the front calipers to be replaced. I then got a phone call from ******** who asked about needed repairs on the vehicle and during that conversation she authorized the rear brake job to be done as well. She told me that she would be bringing the vehicle to a Ford dealership to have the vehicle inspected after we had completed repairs, and I replied to her, OK. ******** knew the total cost of what the repairs would be as far as authorization at that time. When the work was complete, I called the customer to come pick up their vehicle. ***** and ******** came to pick up the vehicle that evening about 6pm. ******** immediately checked her Ford Explorers tire pressure at the front left tire in the parking lot before entering the office. She came in and told me that the pressure was 15lbs low. At that time, I asked my technician to pull the vehicle into the shop and check tire pressure at all four tires. My technician did so and backed the vehicle out into the parking lot. The tire pressure was within 4lbs of specification, but I felt there was no reason to express this to my customer and explain why the cheaper tire pressure gauges (that she was using) are not very accurate. My goal was to just make sure ***** and ******** were satisfied and get them back on the road. I took payment, explained repairs that were done, and repairs that were still needed on the vehicle and they left with a smile. This was the end of my contact with the customers. As far as the vehicle having problems later on the 15th, our shop has a 24 month/24,000 mile nationwide warranty on all work done at our shop. We also offer a roadside assistance reimbursement plan at no charge with all work orders over $25.00. *****, our store manager, explained to the customers how this program worked during a phone call, and explained how the customer would have to pay for the tow first, and then would receive a reimbursement check from the ** **** ****** ******** as part of our warranty service offered. ***** did all he could over the phone to get the vehicle towed to a **** **** **** center and get towing arranged. ***** ended up paying for the tow with our company credit card, since Mr and Mrs ******* were unable to float the money for their tow. A claim has been filed with ** **** ****** for reimbursement of that tow. Since Honest-1 Auto Care paid for it, Mr and Mrs ******* are supposed to give us the reimbursement check when they receive it, and they agreed to do so. As far as we know, the shop, ***** **** ******** took care of work under warranty at no charge to the customer. We do apologize for the inconvenience ***** and ******** experienced on their trip. Since then, the mechanic who had worked on the ford explorer HAS been terminated from our shop. Mr and Mrs ******* did come into the shop, Honest-1 Auto Care, when they returned from their vacation and spoke with ***** at the front counter. ***** told ******** that the employee has been terminated and ***** apologized for their warranty issue. ******** even gave ***** a hug and said thank you. If the customer would like to still bring their vehicle to us for a checkup, we would look over the vehicle again with a different technician at no charge. If ***** and ******** would like to have our work checked at the Ford dealership, they may do so and let us know if they have any further concerns. Thank You Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Our complaint is about the business and not, an individual. ******** (respondant to origional complaint) is the "receptionist" who works only 2 days a week with no knowledge of the "one on one" contact between "*****" and us. ********* response is here-say and fraudulent with no truth whatsoever. The person responding to this complaint should be *****, whom we've had personal contact with and the "only" person who has the detailed knowledge of our origional issue. All calls and conversations have been recorded with his knowledge and allowed. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/06/04) */ We are sorry the "The ******" have not accepted our response. We will be waiting for notice from their legal counsel. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/05/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Due to the level of negative responses and seriousness of this issue egnored, "THE ******" have requested a full refund in the amount of $1,522.35 and are currently seeking legal councel.

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I Got business information for auto repair out of local paper, It read: "HONEST 1 Auto repair", I needed belts on my van, one broke, so on Tuesday, OCTOBER 22, 2013. I arrived at 3:00 and it took about half an hour. REPAIR came to 132.72, The Repair Rep swiped my debit/card with ON ***** ******* ****** ****** it immediately came back denied! So he(*****) swiped my card a second time, he said it's declined again Then I said ok it's declined I will pay you in cash for The repair I then took cash for the payment out of my billfold in the full amount which was (1) one hundred dollar bill and (2) two twentys, the repair rep ***** gave me back one $5 (five) dollar bill, and (2) one dollar bills and some change, 28 cents, and the receipt, only since I needed to get home for my meal and insulin for my diabetes because I also go tri weekly to dialysis I took the work order paper and went home so to stay on schedule with my meds and check blood sugar, when I arrived home, my wife asked if I did any shopping earlier in the day and I related the auto repair, apparently she was shopping at the same time and got the denied on her purchases also . However being that she always calls the bank to see why, because she also always checks the account prior to shopping, The bank confirmed both her purchase attempt and mine, neither went through, however the time frame of both was were the irregularity came in and three days ago my wife asked to see the receipt! YES! when she said the receipt ok'd the purchase I was so upset, the newspaper AD said HONEST! This ***** character was not honest ! He was fraudulent and a thief, he took my cash and also pushed through my credit card for the amount. My wife whom contacted the bank and they were suppose to get back to her to confirm our account had been credited back and when she did call one week later, that is when it was discovered the Repair rep, ripped my off for on my declined credit card. My wife and I are having the bank file a complaint for re-imbursement plus she is also contacting our Law firm, and will be filing an Elderly abuse claim against the repair rep. Thank you for taking my complaint about the wrongful act of *****, the repair rep at Honest 1 auto repair.

Desired Settlement: The Repair Representative and cashier as well was fraudulent! I want my money he stole from me paid back ASAP. What he did was wrong and also in the state of Oregon it is Elderly Abuse, for which I will be filing a charges with the Clackamas County Courts! Thank you for taking my complaint!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/04) */ Hello, my name is *****; I am the store manager at Honest-1 Auto Care in Milwaukie, Oregon. I would like to respond to the accusations in which these people are trying to accuse me of stealing money from them. I did not steal any money from them. At the time I was receiving payment for repairs, which had a total cost of $132.72, I did explain to the customer the first time I ran his card, the card was declined for the entire purchase. I then ran the card a second time. The second time I ran the card it authorized an amount of only $80.51. There was still a balance due of $52.51. At that time, the customer gave me the remaining balance of $52.21 in cash (there was some change given, he did not give me exact change). He then signed the final paper works that states how payment was made. There was not an overage on my books at the end of the day after totaling all purchases. When I spoke to his wife, who called a few days later, I explained to her what had happened. She was in agreement with me and said that her husband, who paid for the repairs, is going through dialysis and that he does not always remember things. The women and I had an understanding of what had happened. I have been in this business for 30+ years and have never taken anything from anybody or ever been dishonest with anyone. I have never been accused of something like this. I have never taken advantage of elderly people in my life. I have the utmost respect for the elderly. I also had no idea that this person had any illness until after I talked to his wife, who had called me about this issue a few days after the occurrence. What amount of money does the customer think I owe them?

11/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service