BBB Accredited Business since

Honest 1 Auto Care

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 465-2725 Fax: (503) 465-2546 1690 NE Division St, Gresham, OR 97030 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.honest1gresham.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers automotive repair services including wheel alignments, brakes, clutches, transmission repair, engine repair and oil changes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Honest 1 Auto Care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Honest 1 Auto Care include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Honest 1 Auto Care include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Honest 1 Auto Care
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 2007 Business started: 09/01/2007 Business started locally: 09/01/2007 Business incorporated 02/01/2010 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Stephen Grimes, Member Steve Grimes Mrs. Susan Ransom, Store Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Grimes, Member
Customer Contact: Mrs. Susan Ransom, Store Manager
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Engines - Rebuild & Exchange Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Clutches Auto Detailing General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Alternate Business Names
Gresham Auto Care LLC Honest 1 Auto Repair

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Honest 1 Auto Care has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1690 NE Division St

    Gresham, OR 97030 (503) 465-2725

  • 1690 NE Divison St.

    Gresham, OR 97030

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 03/02/16 @ 09am, I took my car into Honest 1, Division office, Gresham, OR for oil change. I looked at the paper work as I took my car off the lot and realized the DASH LIGHTS ON? on the paperwork. Immediately I turned my car around and parked. I got out of the car and walked to the front desk. The young male whom had "worked" on my car, immediately came out of the front desk. This place is shady. You take your car in for an oil change and your car doesn't return in its condition you had it. Then they try to squander your money for diagnostic tests for $106, etc when it's their fault. Susan of course backed her worker, and said "we didn't touch your electrical work". She didn't offer any resolution but to deny of any responsibility. She attempted to also charge and squander the customer for more money for services that she and her company screwed up on. Obviously both Susan and her co-workers are not to be trusted. There are 3 settings regardless of daylight or night, it is VISIBLE to the naked eye. On 3/3, I noticed a burning gas/oil smell from 0815-9am until I parked at the medical office. I have reported my findings and issue to a *** agent previously who told me to monitor my car to see if anything else is awry. On 3/11 the smell became worse and I had my boyfriend open up the hood of the car and found the cap of the oil change was never screwed on and oil was leaking all over the engine. I called the Gresham honest 1 who offered no resolution or call back; not even an apology. I don't know what damages are done because of them and their careless, I don't give a damn attitude. I called my agent at *** immediately and brought my car to have the oil cleaned up and cap replaced at a honest 1 Beaverton. Still today 3/16, no call back, no resolution, no remorse. They're dishonest thieves after customer $$$ and should not be trusted with any promise or care of any one's car. Who knows what damages have done. What if someone had died bc of their mistake?!!

Desired Settlement: Refund and pay for my future oil changes. Pay for diagnostics and repairs at the ****** ********** as This honest 1 is not to be trusted anymore

Business Response:

In response to ****** ***: 

I am one of the owners of Honest -1 Auto Care in Gresham Oregon.  I read her complaint, and did some investigation into the issue.  There are a couple of issues here, the first “DASH LIGHTS ON?”  is a message we have automatically put on our paperwork in order to remind our lube tech that we need to reset the dash light.  On the working copy of the paperwork this results in his initialing the spot next to it, in order to let the manager know that the oil change icon in the dashboard was reset.    (We will probably rephrase this so as not to cause alarm or undue suspicion.)   The suspicion and hostility that Ms. *** exhibits in the rest of her confrontation is difficult to explain.  The young man who conducted the oil change feels confident that he put the oil cap lid on correctly.  This does not explain why her boyfriend found the oil cap loose.  Fortunately there was no damage to her vehicle.

****** has been using a Groupon style coupon to use our stores services, we sell them at the store as well, typically a person pays $60-$80 dollars for this item and it has four free oil changes on it and a number of other discounts for services on it, with the intent of helping a person maintain their car through the commonly needed service process that can be expected in most cars in a year period.  ****** has come into our shop either four or six times and each time has received a 21 point inspection and an update on what issues she might be facing with her vehicle.  This service is a value of $142-$200 depending upon the number of times she has been in.   She has done all of this for the value that she paid for the coupon book that she is using plus ~$11 she has paid us over that time.   That is the intent of the coupon program, to introduce new customers to us, so that we can provide them good honest service and essentially introduce them to our team, so they are comfortable when the time comes that they need to make a significant repair.

I have called and left a message with Ms. *** to discuss this situation, and should she call me back I will be happy to discuss it with her in person.   She is asking for a refund and payment for future oil changes, as well as diagnostics and repairs at Toyota.   We are a Napa Car Care Center, there are many in the city that she can go to.  Warranty work is handled in a specific way which means if we worked on the part the work is warrantied.   In short, I am happy to talk with Ms. ***, I am happy to refund her the $11.00 we have received from her in the time we have serviced her car.   As she has continued to drive the vehicle to and from services with the cap ostensibly tightened correctly, I don’t believe she has sustained damage to be compensated for.  

 

V/R 

Keith M*******, Partner

503 821 9085

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I called the person above. He started accusing me of this and that. he said he done some investigation and so on so forth; using the incorrect terminology for the issues that stated above. Obviously he is the one that is dishonest. The services are paid for by me, the customer.  There was never a free service of any sort. 

Then he attempts to belittle the issue: saying if it's brakes then it's something to be alarmed. Ok maybe if someone has a death they should be alarmed.  There's no sense in receiving any contact from the dishonest 1 Gresham   

he will tell you "**** *** and have a good day!"

I do not want any contact from anyone he cannot have a civil conversation 

 

Sincerely,

****** ***

3/15/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The warranty does not exist. When I called in the warranty they said honest 1 does not subscribe to them and had not subscribed to them for many months prior to them giving me the warranty. I was left on the side of the road with my 2 children over Christmas brake and when I called honest 1 and was told by voice mail that all the sites for them were closed. so in order to get home(because my clutch failed on the way home) I was left with going to another company. The next day or so I called the warranty in and was told Honest 1 does not have a contract with them.

Desired Settlement: I want them to refund my repair.

Business Response:

Our updated Warranty Administrator number is 866.268.8475.  I'm sure they will take Mr. ********* invoice and warranty the repair for him.  Please ask him to call them.  The tri-fold warranty paperwork given to Mr. ******* unbeknown to me had been updated by corporate.  I was not aware of this descreptency until we received the BBB report.   All warranty paperwork have been updated to the new number. 

 

Susan R*****

Store Manager

Honest-1 Auto Care

7/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my truck to honest 1 Auto to have my head gaskets and master cylinder repaired. They told me that it would be a three to four day job that actually ended up taking two weeks and they would also call and keep telling me that I needed new additional parts that were very expensive in price. When the truck was returned to me they told me that everything was fine with my truck. As I pulled out of the shop I noticed my brakes were not working correctly and I almost rear ended somebody because my brakes were not properly fixed. I park my truck and as I listen to it I heard a loud ticking noise that was never there before coming from the motor of my truck. When I called honest 1 Auto back to tell them about what happened and what I found they proceeded to tell me that I needed more new parts for the break and then the ticking in the motor was nothing that they did. And that They had taken my truck on a 22 mile test drive in and found nothing wrong with it at all. The only time I ever had any contact with them was when they wanted more money for parts. And when I was in contact with them they made me feel like I was trying to rip them off and didn't know what I was talking about.

Desired Settlement: All I would like is to have the repairs done correctly . I feel after the money I have paid I should be a satisfied customer and I am not satisfied with either of the repairs that I had done

Business Response: Upon receipt of this complaint I called ******* to discuss the situation.

My goal was to set an appointment to go over what has been done on his truck, and what needs to be done on his truck.  We warranty all of our work and parts for 36,000 miles and 3 years.   If it is a warranty issue we will resolve this at no additional cost.

If the work remaining to be done is not warranty work, then we will be happy to work with him to accomplish the work.  

Unfortunately during our phone call I was cut off from *******, and was not able to reestablish contact with him on the phone.  As a result I emailed him the following email.

Keith M******* ***** ******** <*********@honest-1.com> 4:35 PM (22 minutes ago)

to ************ Hello *******,

I think we got cut off on the phone, and I wasn't able to get through on the line again.

I
would like to go over the services that were performed for you on your
vehicle, and determine what needs to be done at this time.

If there are any issues that need to be addressed from a safety standpoint then we should identify those.

I understand that  you spent a good deal of money to get the repairs done
that we did.  I can appreciate that you want your truck running
correctly.

What I can not say at this point without
further review, is how much more needs to be done to your vehicle to
make it run correctly, and how much of that if any is our responsibility
under warranty to do. 

I am willing to work with you as best we can to get you to completely fixed.  

Let me know how  you would like to proceed.

7/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I seriously used to love this shop. My latest visit today changed that. I went in for an alignment and transmission service (new fluid, filter, etc.). I was told that the car needed a few things in order to do the alignment, which at first I was skeptical but then eventually decided to ask them to quote it up. They also claimed they couldn't do the transmission service because they didn't have the proper tools. Okay. When I showed back up to speak to them in person about the quote they were working on, they informed me that as of THIS MORNING, they no longer work on Volkswagen's, therefore wouldn't be able to do any work and therefore a quote was pointless. Excuse me! If that was the case, why did you pull my car into your shop to inspect it in first place? And then charge me $34.95 for it, when you supposedly knew full well that no matter what you wouldn't be doing any work on it?! But you didn't disclose this to me when I arrived?! Very shady, and sly way to bilk me out of $35. I will never return. I'd love my $35 back, but fat chance at that. Sleezy sleezy sleezy sleezy. The reason I am filing a complaint with the BBB is they took my car in under false pretenses, knowing full well (according to Susan R*****) that as of earlier that morning they no longer work on Volkswagens. Basically, they took my car into their shop for the sole purpose of charging me $35 but not having to do any work on it.

Desired Settlement: The ONLY outcome I will accept is my $35 returned to me. You guys shouldn't of even pulled my car into your shop if you don't work on Volkswagen vehicles. The only discernible reason I can think of that you did this was to take my money for nothing.

Business Response: This customer has been coming to us for long time with a variety of cars.  He is attending college and has just received his Associates in Automotive Repair and works on his own vehicle.  Which I applaud.  He just bought the Volkswagen and did alot of repairs to it already.  He asked for an alignment.  No big deal.  We'd be happy to align it for him.   Once on the rack, we realized this vehicle was going to need work that we no longer perform.  I gave him a list of those items since he does alot of repairs himself.  I did tell him it was pointless to write him a quote for future work because we were not going to be working on Volkswagen anymore.  I charged him for a wheel alignment check, $34.95, because no alignment was performed due to worn parts.  If Mr. ******* feels Honest-1 owes him something for the check we performed and the parts we told him he would need to replace then I will be happy to do that.  I'm just disappointed that he felt he needed to go to an outside source to vent his frustration as I thought we had a good working relationship.  He is always a joy when he comes in.  

Sincerely,

Susan R*****

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: it's sly and crafty. The way you worded it to me, Susan, sounded like the decision not to work on vw's had been made prior to my arrival. I was upset I was charged when you stated you no longer work on vw's. I'm certain your rude tech simply didn't want to do the job. The only resolution I will accept is $34.95 returned to me. I will then go away and never step foot in an honest-1 again. 

Sincerely,

***** *******

1/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 99 dodge durango into "honest 1 auto repair" in gresham for services that involved my car breaking down. After paying $100 for an unresolved diagnostic they call me back and tell me that it would be an additional hundred dollars for a pinpoint diagnostic. I refuse to pay the additional hundred dollars considering I got no results from the first hundred spent. They agreed that they would do the second diagnostic "free of charge". the second diagnostic gave him the same result and they came up with the idea that the car's computer was bad. the repair cost roughly $950, and four days later they told me my car is "good to go". I was unable to pick up the car on time due to work schedule so I had family pick it up for me. I'm told the car didn't even make it out of the parking lot before I broke down and a mechanic came out and it fired right up and said "that's just the computer reprogramming self". I get to my car and drive it to the gas station to fill up and while leaving the gas station my car shuts down in the middle of road. I get some by standards to help push the car back into the gas station parking lot where it stayed overnight. In the morning I went to my car, and it started. I drove back to honest auto repair and they told me they would need to do additional work free of charge. I get a call from them a few hours later telling me "your cars go to go!" I arrive they tell me some sensors were dirty and they cleaned them and fired right up. I get in my car to leave, and it dies before leaving the parking lot. They let me use rental truck of there's for over 3 Weeks of my car being in there care and when I go to pick up, they try and charge me $108 dollars for a "new" battery. I debated the charge telling them my battery was fine when I came in and they say "should we call Gramma and get a credit card number?" I stared at her with disbelief, then she made the change for no charge on the battery. I try and leave, car starts then dies. A very rude experience. There's more. Outta type Product_Or_Service: power train module

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund The "new" battery they tried to charge me with was no where near new if not the same one I came in with, there work is faulty and I'm afraid my car is not safe to travel with my family which includes two babies. A full refund and awareness for others about this crooked establishment should be the outcome here.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/12/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Partner Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *********@honest-1.com I was unable to respond appropriately to the issue with *** ****** and his wife last week as I was out of town. I needed to understand what happened at our shop and then try and speak with *** ****** in order to understand what he thinks happened, and what can be done to rectify the situation. I have called and left messages with the numbers provided in the complaint. The vehicle was brought into our shop on the 3rd of November it was inspected, and as a result of that inspection the PCM was replaced, as it was testing faulty. This was billed. All work done after the initial work was not billed to the ******'s. During subsequent driving of the vehicle to correct the ongoing intermittent starting problem our mechanic noticed that the left front end has a noticeable clunk sound in it. This is believed to be suspension issue with the front upper and lower control arms. This is a safety issue that was not addressed during the time this vehicle was in our care as it was not authorized by the ******'s. Honest-1 Auto Care is a **** **** **** shop which means our work is warrantied at over 13000 locations in the United States. Any work that was paid for by the ******'s is covered by this warranty. We would like to help them get their car running reliably, however we need to be able to replicate the issue they are having, or it needs to be brought in when it is having the issue. We will warranty all work we have done on this vehicle that was paid for; any additional services will be billed at the normal hourly and job rate. We did provide the ******'s a truck to drive during the time the parts for their vehicle were being located, and shipped to our location, this was free of charge. All subsequent work performed after the 3rd was performed free of charge. Any future work performed on already paid for parts and labor will again be performed free of charge. Any additional work that was not part of the initial work performed will be performed at normal rates. We understand the additional stress that the ******'s are going through expecting their child, and I believe that that did add to the stress of the situation. Our goal is to provide a fair and reliable service to our clients to keep them in a safe vehicle. I apologize for any frustration or hurt feelings that the ******'s had while interacting with my store manager, and will address those issues with her also. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/12/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They offered for me to try and get my car back into there shop to basically quadruple check there work and if something else needed replacing then they would bend the prices giving me discounted work. The problem here is I have lost all confidence in this business to perform the task needed, I have already been charged about $1000 for a job that did not fix the problem with my car, and now they want me to continue spending money this snipe hunt, not to mention the very upseting and unprofessional personal interaction we incountered with the last visit. I'm writing this now sitting in my once again broke down car.... I need my car to be reliable and I don't believe honest one can help unless I get at least some money back to take it to a specialist for this situation.

12/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 1999 Yukon Deanli in on 11/18/2013 to fix an electrical problem with my headlights and brights. They told me it should not be a problem and they check it out. After a phone call on 11/19/2013 to check the progress I was told that he was working on the vehicle. I then asked when I could get my truck back. Answer, well you know this things can take time. Then I asked should I take the truck to someone else? They said no we can fix it. Wednesday 11/20/2103 the technician was off work. Thursday 11/21/2013 I asked what they had found after $316.00 in labor charges. I was told that the technician was still working on it. Friday 11/22/2013 I called again to see if they had found the problem? They said it could be a multifunction switch but not sure. So I asked who the owner was, got his name ***** ****** and called him to complain. He then called the Gresham store to see what was going on. He assured me that they could repair the vehicle and get it back to ASAP which was 11/23/2013 at5.45 PM They did not resolve the issue. They did a work around so my headlights would work, but no brights along with a DRL switch they said I should hold to so I could fix it in the future. Cost to me $575.00 with no resolve. Monday 11/25/2013 at 12.30pm I took my vehicle to a shop referred by a friend. I explained the problem I was having they called a 3.30pm that same day told me the problem fixed it. I picked up my truck 11/27/2013 in the A.M. I was charged $685.00 to fix the truck. 11/29/2013 I went to Honest1, Gresham to speak with ***** ****** the owner to seek compensation for a repair that was not satisfactory. He in so many words told me. I was not going to get any cash compensation, But he would look another one of my cars and give a discount, REALLY, after not fixing the truck I will trust them to work on another vehicle. I DONT THINK SO!! I will never us Honest! again!!

Desired Settlement: I am looking to be treated fairly and not be charged for a service not perfomed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/12/20) */ We have contacted the consumer, ******* ****, and have resolved this issue. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2013/12/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Honest 1 Auto Care
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart