BBB Accredited Business since

Honest 1 Auto Care

Phone: (971) 245-6816 Fax: (971) 245-6843 View Additional Phone Numbers 20745 SW TV Hwy Ste 150, Aloha, OR 97006 http://www.honest1aloha.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto repair and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Honest 1 Auto Care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Honest 1 Auto Care include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Honest 1 Auto Care
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 07, 2013 Business started: 09/01/2007 Business started locally: 09/01/2007 Business incorporated 09/07/2007 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stephen Grimes, President Mr. John Henry, Store Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Grimes, President
Customer Contact: Mr. John Henry, Store Manager
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Small Engine Repair Auto Air Conditioning All Other Automotive Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811198)

Hours of Operation
Monday - Saturday 8:00am - 6:00pm
Alternate Business Names
Aloha Auto Care Inc Grimes Enterprises Inc Honest One Auto Care

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Honest 1 Auto Care has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 20745 SW TV Hwy Ste 150

    Aloha, OR 97006 (971) 238-6079 (971) 245-6816

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car started running not as smooth on 05/27/16. It would not go up hills as easy and the check engine light came on. I took it to O'reilly auto parts to get a free diagnostic scan on 05/27/16 and it said system to lean. The manager told me it means that to much air is getting into the gas tank and it means anything from the fuel pump to the filter could be causing the issue. I called a number of mechanics and chose honest 1 auto care because they had a deal online. Dropped my car off 3 minutes before they closed on 06/01/16. I received a call at 11:04 am and got a voicemail in regards to calling them back. Called back at 11:29am and Steve told me that they pulled my car into the shop and it caught fire so they had to use a fire extinguisher to put it out. I was pretty upset and they said they will keep looking for what is wrong with it. He said he thought maybe a fuel injector came lose and flooded the engine. I planned on having it back by 06/02/16 in the evening but it still was a mystery to them. I called 06/03/16 at 5:17pm and they still claimed they had no idea what was wrong. He stated that the damage from the fire burned all the wiring and probably some other stuff so it would be more than the car is worth to fix it. I said ok and asked if I could leave it for the weekend because I was going to La Grande for weekend. I talked with a few mechanics and did some research finding out that the shop is liable for the damages because when I dropped it off it was not on fire and it sat all night before they pulled it in. I went into shop 06/06/16 at 5:23pm and told them that I should not be liable and asked to talk to the owner. The manager told me he can only contact him by email which sounded ridiculous. He told me I was Ludacris if I thought they would fix it. Now i'm paying for a rental car that I can hardly afford because my car is no longer working after it was in their custody. I have to be able to get to work and my 14 month old to daycare 5 days a week.

Desired Settlement: I am hoping that they can fix my car and if it is not fixable than to pay the value that it is worth. I bought it for $1300 and have receipt.

Business Response: Ms. ****** dropped her 1999 Ford Taurus wagon off at our shop at 6:00 pm on June 1, 2016, with the service engine light on and the vehicle running rough. The following morning, on June 2, the vehicle was pulled into our shop for diagnosis of the conditions. When our technician opened the hood, there was a fire at the left rear of the engine compartment, which was put out with a fire extinguisher. Further inspection showed some wiring burned from the fire, which we have repaired at this time. While inspecting for the cause of the rough run/check engine light as well as the fire, we found a spark plug wire had rubbed through the insulation on an engine bracket, causing spark to arc to the engine block and providing the source of spark for the fire. It will be necessary to repair this first, before performing further checks to determine the location of the fuel source which combined with the spark to cause the fire. Ms. ****** has advised us to not go any further with initial replacement of the spark plugs and spark plug wires (to eliminate the spark source), as the repairs cost more than the vehicle is worth. The "system too lean" fault code can be caused by a number of things; excessive air entering the engine such as a vacuum system leak, or also not enough fuel entering the system due to a leak. We believe the engine also has a fuel leak (providing fuel for the ensuing fire), although it will be necessary to eliminate the source of the spark (faulty plug wire) before further testing and inspection can take place. These conditions were present when the vehicle was delivered to our shop, and the cause of Ms. ******' initial complaints with her vehicle's drivability and performance issues. Steve D*****, Store Manager, Honest-1 Auto Care Beaverton

5/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe in for an oil change & transfer case oil change on 4/16/15. I was advised by ******* that the mechanic had a problem removing the top plug from the transfer case and was concerned it would be stripped if he went further. I asked ******* if it was going to leak and he said no. I said okay and I would take care of this later. The car then went to a body shop for a repair and was there for two weeks. This did NOT contribute to the leak as the dent was a small one and at the rear of the vehicle. When I got the vehicle back I noticed the transfer case was leaking. I had noticed a leak the day after I got it back from Honest-1 but blamed this on the oil change. On 5/5/19 I took the vehicle back to Honest-1 so they could repair the plug THEY stripped. When I went to pick up the vehicle I was given a bill for $161.88 which was approximately $100 more than the transfer case oil change. When I questioned the extra charge they said it was to repair the stripped plug. They blamed the previous shop for over tightening the plug. I reminded ******* he had told me THEIR mechanic "rounded the plug" and I believe this contributed to the problem. It certainly was not my fault. ******* did not make any effort to settle the amount and did not admit any wrong on their part. Not happy with their service at this point.

Desired Settlement: 50% refund of the $100 over charge. It may not have been totally their fault but I believe they contributed to it.

Business Response: The Transfer Case was not leaking. I paid my tech to retract the stripped plug and service the transfer case and replace the plug. I am willing to give the customer a free oil change and tire rotation. The transfer case fluid is changed and no over tightened check plug

Thanks
******* **** 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I do not feel this is a fair resolution to this problem and remain a very unsatisfied customer.

Sincerely,


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Honest 1 Auto Care
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart