Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Hal Jones Automotive

Phone: (503) 288-1130 5111 NE Fremont St, Portland, OR 97213 http://www.facebook.com/pages/Hal-Jones-Automotive/125665164155932


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers complete foreign and domestic mechanical automotive repair.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hal Jones Automotive include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hal Jones Automotive
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1973 Business started: 07/01/1964 Business started locally: 07/01/1964 Business incorporated 06/08/1997 in OR
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Ronald Joy, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ronald Joy, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5111 NE Fremont St

    Portland, OR 97213 (503) 288-1130

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my car in to be diagnosed as to why the O2 sensor always says its 'not ready to test' at the DEQ. ********* Auto said it was my thermostat, and it would need replacing, that would solve the issue. They replaced it, and charged me $338.00, $90/Hr for labor, the cost was never stated to me prior. I believed them that this would fix the issue, but it didn't, and in fact the thermostat didn't need replacement, I'm not even sure they did replace it. It still says the O2 sensor isn't ready to test at DEQ, and ********* knocked $100.00 off of the price after my husband came with me to pick up the car, and said the price was outrageous. I paid it, only because I am not a deadbeat, but it did nothing to help the car. Also, 8 of my CD's were stolen.

Desired Settlement: I just want this information out there for the public to know about, so nobody else gets taken by these crooked operators. If I could get my money refunded, or at least see that they actually did replace the thermostat for a reason, that would be a little helpful. According to the research I've done online, a thermostat would cost a maximum of $107.00, and that is at a dealership, with a warranty, that also has certified mechanics.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/05/03) */ I need an invoice # or date of service. She and her husband certainly stand out in our memories because we were astounded that they thought $90 per hour was excessive when most reputable shops charge that or more and dealers are usually $125 or more per hour, our main concern in working on her vehicle was that our invoice would exceed its value. We are celebrating 50 years in business and have a wonderful group of satisfied clients. We would appreciate the titles of the missing cd's. If I can get an invoice # I would be happy to refund every penny she spent-less the $100 we have already taken off, we are far too busy with happy customers to deal with people like this Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2014/05/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I would be satisfied with a refund and return of the CDs, although I would say, don't do work on people's cars that doesn't need to be done. That is exactly what you did, and the charge of $90/hr for any mechanic is overpriced-if there was any kind of certifications, that may help, but there were none of those either. That kind of hourly rate is what the dealerships charge, because they are certified and you have recourse. BBB was my only recourse. The date of service was 2/20/14, invoice #: 9277-I paid $223.94 (2 hours to replace a thermostat?) (that was minus the $100-the original total was $323.94-for a thermostat replacement-that wasn't bad in the first place?) The CDs were: Beatles: The White Album, Rubber Soul, Abbey Road. Beyoncé: BDay. Black Eyed Peas: Monkey Business. Pink: I'm Not Dead, Disturbed: 1000 Fists Like I said, I would be curious if the part was even changed, but with a full refund, I am happy, and this would go no further on my end. When can I expect refund, and also either the CD's themselves back, or the value of them? Thank you for your swift resolution of this issue. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/05/14) */ As already stated we stand ready to refund the this customer's payment due to her being unhappy with our work. However, we have several questions. The reason we needed an invoice # is because this repair order is in a different name from the individual filing the complaint. Why is ** **** filing a complaint for work done in the name of **** ******** How do we know she didn't find this repair order and generate a false claim? If any monies are expended by our company they will be to **** ******** assuming our check is endorsed it will need to be by **** ********* The technician overseeing the work performed on this vehicle was ***** ******* his certification # is ASE XXXX XXXX, expires 06/30/2016-Master Automobile Technician. We would have happily supplied this information on request. Information regarding independent shop hourly rates is available from ********* ********** ****** ************ Examination will prove our hourly rate is well within the normal, average range. The titles for missing cd's are certainly nothing anyone at our establishment would be interested in. We need proof that ** **** or ** ******* actually purchased or owned these items. When received by our establishment this vehicle failed to attain the factory specified running temperature. When it left it was running at that specification. We need proof that was not the case..Diagnosis by another technician would be sufficient Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2014/05/07) */ I accept this resolution-the refund of my money and either the CD's returned, or the monetary value of them is fine, but I have received neither so far, how long do I wait? I know its only been a couple of days. This is by no means resolved until I receive the refund and the CDs. How do I follow up if this doesn't happen? Thank you


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hal Jones Automotive
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)