BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2002

Casey's Independent Auto Inc

Phone: (360) 253-7111Fax: (360) 253-713711610 NE 65th St, VancouverWA 98662-5519

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers automobile services and repairs.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2002

BBB has determined that Casey's Independent Auto Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Casey's Independent Auto Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Casey's Independent Auto Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 5 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
04/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i took my Nissan to caseys auto because i seen something leaking out of my car the told me i need a new power steering hose and a oil cooler ring so i had them replace the things they said it wasn't very long and they both started leaking again so i took it back they said they were both leaking gain so they replaced the same thing over again them i had to take back again and they replaced the oring for the third time then it was still leaking so i took it back then the told me it was leaking again and now they told me i needed to pay 500 dolars for the housing that the oring goes into.i took my car to Nissan and they said ***** put the wrong oring 3 times and also there was nothing wrong with my housing i have paper fron Nissan that said the oring shuld have been black not red

Desired Settlement
i would like to be payed back for the repairs that were done improperly and be payed back for having to pay nissan

Business Response
I am sorry that you feel we did not do everything we could to fix your Nissan to your satisfaction, we work very hard to meet and exceed our customer's expectations. I have reviewed the history of repairs and met with my staff to see where we might have failed the customer.
After careful review of the repair history, I found the original repair was back on 7/13/12, we replaced the oil cooler housing o-ring with an original Nissan o-ring due to oil leaking, on 10/11/12 about 3 months later the customer brought it back leaking oil, we discovered that it was leaking from the same o-ring, at that time we, under warranty replaced the o-ring seal with a aftermarket heavy duty o-ring, 5 months later on 3/26/013 the customer discovered that they had another oil leak, after steam cleaning and checking for leaks ,we again found the o-ring leaking, this is highly unlikely that an o-ring would fail a third time and felt we where fixing the leak and not the cause of the leak witch we suspected was the oil cooler housing being distorted and not allowing the o-ring seal to last, we at that time visualy inspected the housing and sealing serface but could not visualy see a flaw, due to the high cost of the oil cooler housing to the customer ( $450.00) we would give it one more try, only this time we use a high temp o-ring made by a leading edge manufacurere built for these kinds of problems, this is why it is red in color,we did not install three of the same O-rings, and none of them where the wrong part application I assure you, again we performed all this under warranty.
We explained to the customer if it leaked again we would need to replace the housing. That seal worked for 11 months and almost 10,000 miles. On 3/25/14 the vehicle returned with it leaking from the oil cooler housing o-ring, at that time we offered to install the housing at no labor charge, but the customer would be responsible for the cost of the housing. For any other repair facility to say that it was simply a wrong O-ring not knowing all we tried to do, seems very unfair to us, I feel this will continue to be a problem, it will go a short period before it starts to leak again at the O-ring seal until the housing is replaced.
Again I am sorry that it has came to this, a complaint in workmanship is taken very seriously here, I extend our original offer for the future and will install the housing at no labor cost to the customer if need be, no matter how far out of the warranty it is.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
i feel you failed me a a customer because you should have fixed the problem the first time I do understand defective part but after 3 to 4 attempt I have taken it to the dealer and they fixed it right the first time and I have had it rechecked at dealer and now they said that everything is fixed and that they said I don't need the housing replaced like you told me.they also said there was nothing ever wrong with my housing. I looked at my receipt I also I only drove not even 3000 miles before it leaked. also is never in your business on 3/25/ 2014. this isn't the first time I have had repairs with you and have had to return time after time for problems not being fixed the first time. I tried to shop local to give my neighborhood business and I try to trust people but now I feel I cant trust your business

Final Business Response
I am sorry you feel we failed you, but I do not feel that we did...I feel we went out of our way to help you in repairing your vehicle. I also see where I mistyped the date of repair on my prior response. I put 3/25/2014, when in fact it was 2/26/2014. The fact remains that the vehicle was on the road for 10 months and 10,000 miles before it started to leak again. I understand that you are being told that it is not leaking now, but what about a year from now? As your history here shows, please remember that we used the same factory o-ring in the past and it still leaked. The Nissan dealer did nothing different than we did, the vehicle just has not been on the road that long. I stand by our original diagnosis that the housing is an ongoing problem. That being said...our original offer remains. When it begins to leak again we would be willing to install the housing free of labor charges, you would only be responsible for the part. I have worked tirelessly to build a good honest reputation in this industry, and we bend over backward to help our customers in any way that we can. It was clear from your responses that you do not see it that way and for that I am truly sorry.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I tried to be patient with repairs but when not done correctly and dealer tells me that it was done wrong and now it is fixed idont feel that I can ever trust you to work on my car again after all ive been threw I wasn't just told by Nissan I was also told by another company.so I don't except the offer you gave me because I cant evr trust your workmanship again because it wasn't only the housing you messed up

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Tire Repair, Auto - Fleet Maintenance, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel, Tire Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/01/2002Business started: 07/01/1995
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Paul (Casey) McGowan (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Tire Repair, Auto - Fleet Maintenance, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel, Tire Dealers


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Casey's Independent Auto Inc has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 5 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Casey's Independent Auto Inc

11610 NE 65th St

Vancouver, WA 98662-5519

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 11610 NE 65th St 

    Vancouver, WA 98662-5519(360) 253-7111

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Casey's Independent Auto Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.