BBB Accredited Business since

Jiffy Lube #2048

Phone: (503) 775-9577 View Additional Phone Numbers 2525 SE 82nd Ave, Portland, OR 97266 http://www.jiffylube.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides automotive oil changes and lubricating service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jiffy Lube #2048 meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jiffy Lube #2048 include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jiffy Lube #2048
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1999 Business started: 08/01/1999 Business started locally: 08/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mrs. Leva Umphenour, HR Manager Mr. Allan Engelmeyer, Corporate Officer Mr. Jamie Hall, Corporate Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Leva Umphenour, HR Manager
Business Category

Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Lubricating Service - Automotive Automotive Oil Change and Lubrication Shops (NAICS: 811191)

Alternate Business Names
Doorknob Enterprises LLC

Additional Locations

  • 2525 SE 82nd Ave

    Portland, OR 97266 (503) 582-0505

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 22nd our jeep diesel liberty experienced mechanical failure approximately two blocks from our house. After taking the Jeep to ** ****** of Portland it was discovered that the oil filter had seam crack resulting in a loss of oil causing the jeep's turbo diesel to fail. ** ****** observed that the seam crack appeared to be the result of an improper tool used to replace the oil filter and suggested I contact the shop where the oil had been changed last. The last oil change had been approximately 5-months past at Jiffy Lube located on **** ** **** *** in Portland, OR, where the Jeep has had it oil changed may times. Since the diesel jeep requires a special filter for each change, the oil filter was purchased by Jiffy Lube that day from *********** A call to ***** ****** the day after the jeep failure was reported to me, was very helpful in that *** ***** assured me that we would find out the cause of the failure and informed me that standard procedure for replacing an oil filter was to use a tool that could not cause stress on the filter. To determine the cause of the oil filter failure ** ****** submitted the oil filter (part number XXXXXEN2 18:32 *** X XXX XXXMGL8316) to ********** ***** ****** who submitted a parts claim to the manufacture. I also observed the part. As an engineer I am very familiar with metal fatigue and modes of failure of equipment under pressure and thermal changes. A properly operating filter, with no damage, is design to last far more than 5 months. The causes leading to failure may have occurred at the time of manufacturing, during installation, or during the operation of the vehicle after the oil change. It is important to determine how and why the filter failed to determine how to proceed. On January 9, 2014 you were able to track down the filter which was submitted to the wrong store. After a talk with Stein Hudson, the proper store was identified and the filter was re- submit and supposedly analysis to be expedited. On February 11, 2014 I was informed the ********* representative had changed positions and no information was available about the filter. It has now been four months since the incident. Regardless of warranty, poor workman ship or a poor produce sold to me was at fault and I would like resolution.

Desired Settlement: Expedite a fair solution.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/03/04) */ In response to *** ******'s claim regarding his 05 Jeep Liberty, we do not feel we are responsible for the product failure of the oil filter. ******* from *** ****** stated that he wasn't able to discern that filter damage was related to the installation during original service. This is backed by my personal observation of *** diesel and two separate employees attempting to remove a new filter they had installed on the 05 Jeep. Neither was able to remove the filter by hand and had to remove it with a tool, crushing and damaging the new filter. We believe that this is third party product failure and we have attempted to get product analysis but have failed to receive any information from the product supplier. Upon receiving the call from ** ****** I immediately went to work to help him receive a speedy resolution. After inspecting the vehicle with ******* and determining the filter installation was the cause for engine failure we agreed the next step was to have the filter tested. ******* sent the filter out to their respective company for testing and was informed that they would not be able to test it. Upon receiving the filter back ******* contacted me again and I helped him locate ********** to send the filter out for testing. *** ****** who is representing *** ****** as his repair facility was responsible for expediting the testing of the oil filter. After receiving little to no response from ********** regarding the test results, ** contacted me to see if I could help. I personally contacted ***** ****** who informed me that they needed to know the purchase date and store that purchased the filter. I provided all the necessary information and ***** assured me that would be able to expedite the testing with the correct information. After no response I contacted ***** multiple times with no update on filter testing. He has not contacted me since. Again today on 3/4/14, I attempted to contact ***** ****** from ********** **** ***** with no success. After calling their corporate number (XXX-XXX-XXXX) given to me by the local store I wasn't able to contact either ***** ********* DM or ***** ***** RM. I left a message with the secretary to have them contact me stressing the urgency of my attempts to provide the customer a resolution. We are willing to work with *** ****** and *** ****** to resolve the issue thru ********** (the parts supplier) and ***** ***** (the parts manufacturer) in regards to the part failure. Thank You, ***** ***** Area Manager doorknob enterprises XXX-XXX-XXXX