BBB Accredited Business since

Jiffy Lube #1004

Phone: (503) 245-6763 8655 SW Barbur Blvd, Portland, OR 97219 http://www.jiffylube.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides automotive oil changes and lubricating services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jiffy Lube #1004 meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jiffy Lube #1004 include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jiffy Lube #1004
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1999 Business started: 08/01/1999 Business started locally: 08/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mrs. Leva Umphenour, HR Manager Mr. Allan Engelmeyer, Corporate Officer Mr. Jamie Hall, Corporate Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Leva Umphenour, HR Manager
Business Category

Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Automotive Oil Change and Lubrication Shops (NAICS: 811191)

Alternate Business Names
Doorknob Enterprises LLC

Additional Locations

  • 8655 SW Barbur Blvd

    Portland, OR 97219

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Oil change advertised at under $30. I authorized an upgraded oil change to synthetic oil. My car takes 6 quarts of oil. I was charge for 6 additional quarts of oil at 8.50 ea. It is reasonable for their to be an up-charge per quart, not 6 additional quarts. On top of that, I was charge $40 for a "full syth oil up-charge". In total I was charged $82.49 for 6 quarts of oil, one filter and 15 minutes worth of labor. None of this pricing was disclosed during my visit. Only at the counter after the work was already done.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a credit for all cost over the advertised price plus a reasonable increase for synthetic oil and filter. The labor is the same and should be covered in their advertised price

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/24) */ The Oil change advertised is for conventional motor oil up to five quarts, If there is more than 5 qts required to fill the crankcase there will be an additional charge. There is a disclaimer on the advertising and on the PMM screen the customer sees while selecting the service. Mr ******* AUTHORIZED synthetic motor oil to be used. The CSA reviews the service requested by the customer, the cost with the customer and approximate time it will take to perform the service. Also, there are four employees who service Mr ******* and his vehicle, so the 15 minutes is acutely 1 labor hour. If a customer bought his/her own product/part into the shop we would charge $24.99 per book hour of labor required to perform the service. Additionally we top of vital fluids including antifreeze as part of the service. At ******** the advertised price for a quart of ******** Synthetic motor oil is $9.19 a quart. An oil filter cost $4.19. If Mr ******** bought his own product/parts in the oil change would have cost him: $9.19 X 6 = 55.14 oil $4.19 X 1 = 4.19 filter $24.99X1 = 24.99 labor Total $87.32 not taking into consideration his time and cost to purchase the product. We feel our prices are very competitive and a great value. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This business has a long and documented history of withholding the actual cost of services until the services are completed trapping unsuspecting customers at the register. This is not new. The real new issue this time is the cost of service. An oil change takes less than 15 minutes. If they can advertise an oil change for under $30, how can changing to synthetic oil more than double the price. This business model is a scam. Add me to the long list of dissatisfied and angry former customers. Not only will no one from my family ever set foot in a Jiffy Lube, neither will any of business or personal associates.

4/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my vehicle in for an oil change and was asked to change my front and rear differential fluids. I agreed and was charged $139.99 for the rear and $59.99 for the front. I was ready to leave the station and my brakes line was hooked up reversed and I had no brakes! they apologized and corrected it. the next day my vehicle wouldn't start for vacation trip. I had to borrower a vehicle. It started after my return. I was having trouble with transmission fluid change from another Jiffy Lube so I took it to a mechanic and mentioned that I take good care of my vehicle and have changed the differentials. He looked and said your bolt has never been removed. They could not have changed your fluids.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for the charges of $139.99 plus $59.99 so that I may really get my differential fluids changed by a reputable service.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/04/20) */ My name is *********** Area Manager for said Jiffy Lube; I do sincerely apologize for any inconvenience to you in this matter. I have checked your records and Verified that Differential services were done on March 18th 2011 at XXXXXX Miles 2 years ago. On your vehicle Front Differential Transfer case have drain plugs. On your specific vehicle rear differential does not have drain plug service is performed thru Check & Fill plug there is no need to take any covers or plates off for fluid exchange. Your vehicle manufactures severe service recommendation for differential fluid changing is 2 years or XXXXX miles which ever comes first which according to our records you are due for the service again. We would be glad to perform that service for you. Thank you *********** Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/04/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Even though this location did NOT respond to the complaint, ***** is taking care of this service by offering another rear and front differential service for my vehicle.