BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/29/2011

Castle Rock Auto LLC

Phone: (541) 206-8455Fax: (541) 344-41471415 Mississippi Ave, EugeneOR 97403-2745 Send email to Castle Rock Auto LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers used automobiles for sale.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/29/2011

BBB has determined that Castle Rock Auto LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Castle Rock Auto LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Castle Rock Auto LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
06/23/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a 2005 mazda rx8 on jan 22 2014 for 7995.00 which included a 3000 mile or 3 month drive train warranty. Upon leaving car lot and having to stop and get gas the car would not start I immediately thought this was something I had done wrong because I had just bought the car and tried again and this time the car started . after leaving the gas station I took the car to get the oil changed and fluid checked and had starting issues once again . after continuing to have issues I decided to take the car to my mechanic and see what he said and he said because of the rotary engine I should take it to the mazda dealer so I made an appointment for diagnostics on tues the 28th. I than called ***** the owner of castle rock auto to tell him what was going on and he refused to answer my calls or return my messages . After running diagnostics I was informed the car needed not only a new starter , battery and 02 sensor but a completely new engine for a grand total of 6700.00 and that when the mazda dealership called the warranty company they had no record of me having a warranty . I finally got a hold of ***** and he told me he was waiting on a call from the warranty rep and would call later that day , he never called , after repeated attempts to contact ***** I finally contacted someone at the warranty company myself and as of today feb 7th 2014 I am still getting the run around from everyone involved. The car was never inspected prior to sale and there has been no attempt on castle rocks part to rectify the situation
Product_Or_Service: mazda rx 8

Desired Settlement
I want all repairs paid for in full

Business Response
I thank you for the opportunity to respond let me sure with you the situation with pertaining to ***** **** and here complaint against me and my business. *** **** had made several statements and brought up a couple issues that I would like to address and give you a better clarification on the facts.
I first wanted to apologize for the delay and slow response to this complaint. Due to the circumstance, I was involved in a car accident in late January and it has limited in my all aspect of my business.
On January 22, 2014. ** **** purchased a 2005 Mazda RX-8 for the selling prices of $7,995. Prior to the purchase. She came by my place of business and test drove the vehicle twice. Once on the 21st and the second was the 22nd, just before purchasing it. Both of those test drives were around 20-25 minutes in time. ** **** was very please with the performance and condition of the car so see decided to purchase the vehicle. I explained to her that I purchase the vehicle at the Portland auction and that I drove it down from there. I also mentioned to her that I drove it around town for a couple days and I was very please with the way it drove and performed. The vehicle drove perfect.
On January 29, 2014 I get a call from ** **** that the car was in the shop and that the mechanic claimed to this that the engine had a low compression and that it needed to be repaired at a cost of around $6,700. She claimed to me that the day she drove it off my lot it broke down and needed to be taken to the shop. I seriously felt that she wasn't being honest with me on when and how it truly broke down and also I felt a bit suspicious on the delay of the call. It know as for me, If I purchase a car and the same day it would of broke down. I definitely would of call the dealer Immediately and resolved the issue. As I mention to my customers and to all other parties of interest. "I have No Control on how someone handles, drives or takes care of a vehicle after it leaves my dealership."
When *** **** purchase the vehicle I explained to her that the vehicle did come with a 3 month/3,000 drive-train warranty through an independent warranty company but the vehicle was being sold to her as-is through the dealership and that she had the right to have the 2005 Mazda RX-8 pre-sale inspected by any mechanic of her choice. She understood the facts of purchasing the vehicle and he signed all the forms and agreed to all terms of the purchasing agreement. ( I've included copies of the Purchasing order, Buyer's guide, consumer awareness form and warranty contract.)
The only issue and delay we had was processing the payment for the contract at an earlier time. I always explain to my customers that I usually process and pay for the warranty contracts several weeks after the purchase of the vehicle, all due to the credit card processing with the warranty company. It's also made clear that the warranty is effective the day the contract is signed by the customer, which is in this case was January 22, 2014. *** **** did contacted me about the concern with the warranty and the payment prior to her knowing the status on her vehicle. Unfortunately I was in a car accident on January 31, 2014. Due to the injury I sustained, I was unable to communicate with *** **** beyond that time. I did contact the *********** warranty company and explained to them the situation. They had no problem with the issue and advised me that the contact was still valid but they needed payment to process the claim. I then sent them a check on the 18th of February and when I contacted them later in the week then confirmed the warranty was active and in their system.
I do understand *** **** frustration on the warranty issue and on the situation with her 2005 Mazda RX-8. I did everything I needed to do to resolve the issue with the warranty company. As for the issue with the vehicle. I do not feel that I am to blame for the mishap on her vehicle. As I mentioned before...... I do not have any control on how a customers drives and maintenance their vehicle after leaves my dealership. Especially a 2005 Mazda RX-8. Because those rotary engines are so unusual and different from a normal engine. There could be many things that could have caused the vehicle to loss compression. I do know that if the compression was bad before I sold it to her. There wouldn't no way I could have drove that vehicle back from Portland and have it on a couple test drives without showing significant issues with it. That 2005 Mazda RX-8 drove excellent as *** **** stated prior to her twot extensive test drive and before purchasing it.
As for ** ***** She did contact me a couple times with the issue with her car. Her priority was to have make me completely responsible for the total cost of the repairs. Especially knowing that the warranty coverage cap was at $1,500.00. She also sent me an email demanded me to pay her an elaborate amount of $10,000 by March 3, 2014 or she would sue me. An amount +that she believed I owed her because she felt she lost time from work because she didn't have a vehicle. I believed her demands were irrational. Because her choice not going to work was her own. Especially when we have a great source of public transportation in Eugene. After receiving those emails from her. I truly felt that her demands were excessive and unethical and a form of exploitation. So I decided to discontinue any contact with her pertaining to this issue.
As for me being the owner of Castlerock Auto, I've been in business for over 10 years. I've always try to do my best in running a well establish and respectable business. I also have tried to be fair and accountable for my actions when I believe I need to, but I also expect the same from the customers I deal with. Finding resolution and closure to problem is always something I'm willing to do but I not gonna take full responsibility for something I truly had no control of. That's something the customer also needs to understand.
I hope this letter and my explanation give you a better clarification on the situation with this case. If there's anything else you need to know and/or explain in better detail. Please contact me anytime @ XXX-XXX-XXXX. I look forward in hearing back from you and to put a closure to this situation. Thank you

****** *******
Castlerock Auto, LLC


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Here are the facts... I test drove the car once and was pleased with the performance not knowing the issues would not start until the engine had been fully warmed up. I was also told by both mr ******* and an employee of his on the lot that they had personally driven the car down from Portland just two days before I bought the mazda. This story was than changed after I started having issues stating it had also been driven around for awhile, which means they should have noticed the starter issues, the battery issues and the compression issues. As for mr ******** claim that the engine failure was due to my driving of the vehicle I would like to point out that the warranty denied my claim for repairs stating that the problems with the car were pre-existing. Which would make his accusations of me false . I also would like to point out that as of today i have still not received the title or registration for the vehicle. I also am fully aware of his car accident and this is why i have not filed the law suit as of yet. As for the amount that i am demanding, The cost of the vehicle ... 7995.00 , compression check ... 225.00, towing charges ... 80.00 , maintenance that had to be done the day i bought the vehicle because the dealer did not which included oil change , filer and inspection ... 150.00 , missed work and cab fares due to the fact that i work nights and had no transportation ... 1550.00 and now i am having to pay for repairs and i will be adding these costs. I would like to also say that i have spoke with many others about the cars he sells and the fact that he does absolutely no inspection of them and than sells a warranty that will not cover anything and while i should have had the compression checked before purchasing the car i took his word that the car had been checked and the safety net of the warranty at face value.

Final Business Response

I'm writing to response back to ***** ******* recent complaint and to clarify any misleading and/or false accusation brought against me and my business. As a business owner and a member of the Better Business Bureau. I believe I have always conducted my business in a fair and ethical manner. I also believe that some of the customers that I deal with in previous situations have found ways to not take any accountability or responsibility for their own actions.

With the situation with *** ***** I truly believe that she has falsify the facts, and discredit my business. She would rather play the role of a victim then take any accountability for her own action with the vehicle she purchased.
In ***** ******* last complaint response letter. She tried to represent some facts in which they were quite false and misleading. She claimed that she only drove the vehicle "once" when the truth she test drove it "Twice". The first day she drove it she came in and left me a $1,000 deposit and then she came in the next day and drove it again. Both times she was gone for more the 20 minutes and both time she express to me how well it drove and that she was excited in buying it. She was also given the option to take it to a mechanic of her choice. She decline to do so, as stated in the "consumer awareness form" she signed.

She also claim that she has talked to "many" people about the cars I sell and that "I absolutely don't do any inspections on my vehicle and that I sell a warranty that will not cover the car" First of all. If you look at all the vehicles I purchase for my dealership. It's quite evident that I purchase good quality cars. All of them get inspected by either the auction prior to them being purchase or I will inspect them myself. I do believe that with over 15 years of buying and selling vehicles, I have a great knowledge of the mechanical condition of a vehicle. As for the situation with the warranty. I typically don't sell them. They are given to my customers prior to purchasing a vehicle. It's a basic 3-month/3000 mile drive train warranty. They a creditable warranties by creditable nationwide warranty companies. It's so absurd for ***** **** to make such a ridiculous statement about how "I sell a warranty that will not cover anything". I've been using these warranties for over 6 years and I have been very pleased on the great service these companies have provided to some of my previous customers.

It is unfortunate that the warranty company that ***** **** was dealing with denied her claim. There's always two things I have no control of prior to selling a vehicle to a customer. The first, how's a customer drives, handle and maintains their vehicle and the second, how's the warranty company gonna handle a claim for a customer. I believe both of these situations is a big issue with ***** ***** It's fairly simple for a warranty company to claim a vehicle could have an pre-existing problem. Especially a compression issue. Knowing when a vehicle loses it's compression is quite difficult. As for the Mazda RX8. It's also difficult . The one fact that I do know is that the Mazda RX8 is a rotary engine and that an indication of a low or no compression engine would have been very apparent when driving and starting this vehicle. An issues that never happen when I purchased and drove the vehicle down from Portland (150 miles) and/or when ***** **** test drove it twice prior to purchasing it.
I truly believe that because ***** **** had no knowledge of the Mazda RX8 and the maintenance of those engines. A good reason to believe she cause damage to the vehicle prior to purchasing the vehicle. She claimed that the vehicle broke down the same day she purchased it but I never heard from her until 4-5 days later. She claimed it died on her while she was getting gas and then she had to get it towed to the dealership and which they told her that the battery, starter where dead and she lost compression in one of the cylinders. YES!! Those are the Facts..... The truth of the matter is that with the rotary motor in the Mazda RX8. They are prone to flood. Why? Because the spark plugs lay on the bottom of the motor. If you pump on the pedal to much. It will flood the engine. This is the Most Common Mistake new RX8 owner's make with these vehicles. That's why her battery and starter got fried and that's quite possible how the compression in the engine went. She sat in her car and couldn't get it started. So she panicked and continued on trying to starting it by pumping on the gas pedal and turning the ignition. That's exactly what I believe what happened because it consistent to the condition of the vehicle and the repairs that are needed .
As for me, Running an ethical and respectable business has always been a top priority. I believe I have worked with and handled all types of situations with my customers. I've stepped up and taken responsibility and accountability for the problems I had to deal with. That's why I've feel it's so important to be a member of the Better Business Bureau and work with customers in many types of circumstances. I also believe that I have to protect myself and the creditability of my business. I truly believe that ***** **** has made unreasonable and ridiculous demands for compensation for her lost and Is hoping to benefit from the problems that she created with the mishandling of her vehicle.
I hope you understand my situation and also had the opportunity to look at the Facts I've brought fourth in this letter. If you have any other questions and/or would like to discuss this matter in more detail. Feel free to contact me anytime @ XXX-XXX-XXXX. I look forward in hearing back from someone soon and hopefully close this matter soon. Thank you

***** *******
Castlerock Auto, LLC

04/01/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When purchasing the car , the agreement was that to make sure the Air Condition was in working due to that it was blowing warm air. According to his own mechanic, he said there were problems with it, but the dealer choose to fill it with coolant and told me that it was all fixed. His mechanic wanted to charge me $320.00 just to look at it. I had my own mechanic fixed it for $502.37.

After having the car for only a week, the check engine light came on. Had it check ($47.50) and they said that the catalytic coverter needed to be replaced. $720.95.

The trip permit was due on 10/21/2013. My wife called him and he went off on her by using extreme abusive language. I went down to the *** and got a replacement plates. ($34.00) We feel threaten by him and do not want to deal with him personally.

Desired Settlement
Air Condition $502.37
Catalytic coverter $720.95
Check Engine light $47.50
License plate $34.00

Total $1304.82

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **************@yahoo.com
I writing the letter in response to the complaint issue against me and my business by a previous customer *** ***** *****. I believe that many of the claims that *** ***** made are untrue and exaggerated to portray him as a victim. That's why I feel very fortunate that I have the opportunity to explain all the details and fact of our business transaction.
** ***** purchase a 2003 Subaru Outback wagon from Castlerock Auto on the 27th of July 2013. He came in the previous day and test drove it and informed me that he wanted to purchase the vehicle for his wife. After the test drive he told me that the air condition was blowing hot air and would If I would be willing to refill the air conditioning system so that the air conditioning would work. I agreed to do so and took it straight over to my mechanic shop. The mechanic **** **** informed me that I system was out of freon and he recharged and filled the air conditioning system. The next day *** ***** came over and I informed him the the air conditioning system was charged and it was blowing cold air. ** ***** inspected it again, he was happy with the result and then decided to purchase the vehicle. There was NEVER any other agreement about fixing and/or replacing the air condition system after then. Why would there be since the air conditioning worked prior to purchasing the vehicle. If there was any agreement made.... It would of been noted in the purchasing order, just like they are noted with all other customers. In this case. NOTHING NOTED. "Please refer to copy of the Purchase order I've submitted"
*** ***** purchased the 2004 Subaru Outback on the 27th of 2013. It's clearly noted in all the documents submitted to you that he signed. The vehicle was sold to him AS-IS through Castlerock Auto. The Purchase order, Buyer Guide and Consumer Awareness Form support those statements and are clearly verified by his signature. He was also giving the opportunity to have the vehicle inspected my a mechanic of his choice. He declined to do so...... It's obvious this issue of the purchase of this vehicle is not an unethical problem. It was a very clear transaction with everything done through the dealership as fair and clearly representable. It's just a customer who feels that he is entitled for some reimbursement for repairs to his vehicle a couple months later after purchasing it and feels that if he plays the "victim role" in the process, that he doesn't have to be accountable for the financial responsibility of actually owning a vehicle.
*** ***** also contacted me on the 5th of September while I was out of town. He mention to be about his issue with his air conditioning system and I told him that I was working when he purchased the vehicle and I believe that I had no financial responsibility to accept any of the expenses. He then lied to me and stated that my mechanic told him that the system was already broken prior to him purchasing the vehicle and that my mechanic will charge him $350.00 just to inspect the system. Which is absolutely FALSE!! **** ********** charges a rate of $50.00 an hour and the shop rate time to diagnosis an air conditioning compressor is less then an hour. So it's obvious that his statement was a lie. I also know when I talked to him on that day. He did mention to me that the 2004 Subaru Outback was running great and everything else about the vehicle was satisfactory to him. One week later....... He states that the check engine light came on and he took it to a local mechanic shop and was told that the catalytic converter went bad and that he had replace it. *** ***** then told me that the check engine light actually came on one week after he purchase the vehicle but yet he never mentioned that to me on any of our previous conversation, so it's obviously FALSE. The only reason he said that was to try to hold me responsible for some or all of his expense in replacing the Catalytic Converter in September.
The truth of the matter is quite simple and I will explain it in true mechanic terms...... It completely unfortunate that he took his 2004 Subaru outback to mechanic who was very willing to take full advantage of *** ***** and mislead him in believing that his catalytic converter was actually bad and not simply tell him the truth that All he truly needed was a pre-catalytic oxygen sensor. It's "The Biggest Scam that Most Mechanic Do" Why??? Because a mechanic will make far more profit in replacing the a catalytic converter then a simple $60 oxygen sensor. *** ***** clearly explained to me on Sept 5, 2013 that his Subaru Outback was running great and the ONLY thing he was concern about at that time was the air conditioning system. If the catalytic convertor was bad at that time, he Definitely would have mentioned it to me at that time..... And why do I say that??..... Well the catalytic converter to a car is like what lungs are us. Imagine not getting oxygen throughout your body. When a catalytic converter is bad in a car, it runs extremely bad because there's no oxygen. That's the facts and there's no way to dispute that......an oxygen sensor can be bad but the car will still running properly because all it is, is a sensor.
It unfortunate that *** ***** was taken advantage of on his mechanic repairs for the 2004 Subaru outback but I'm not in anyway financially responsible for his own decision of those repairs he did. That's why a dealer always protect themselves from ridiculous situations like this by selling the vehicle to their consumers AS-IS. Just as stated on all the forms submitted to the Better Business Bureau for your viewing. I hope with all the documents that I've submitted and my view of the occurring situations. That this matter can be resolved and this case can be closed at soon as possible. Please feel free to contact me anytime if you have any other questions or concerns.

****** *******

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I'm not going to draw out a long story. The Bottom line is that I paid almost $10,000. for this car, and yet he choose to sell it to me, knowing that there were things wrong with it. Being that it is a car dealership, you would think that there would be some kind of trust there.

Thank you for your help
***** *****

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/26/2011Business started: 07/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE
Salem, OR97314-5000
(503) 299-9999
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Norman Gardner (Member)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Hours of Operation

Monday - Friday 9am - 6pm and by appointment


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Castle Rock Auto LLC has received 4.72 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Castle Rock Auto LLC

1415 Mississippi Ave

Eugene, OR 97403-2745

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1415 Mississippi Ave 

    Eugene, OR 97403-2745(541) 206-8455

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Castle Rock Auto LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.