BBB Accredited Business since

Capitol Auto Group

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 888-1391 Fax: (503) 365-3704 View Additional Phone Numbers 783 Auto Group Ave NE, Salem, OR 97301 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers automobile sales and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Capitol Auto Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Capitol Auto Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Capitol Auto Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1971 Business started locally: 01/01/1971 Business incorporated 04/14/1971 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Carrie Casebeer, Director of Marketing Mr. R Scott Casebeer, President Mr. Bob Myers, COO Mr. Brian Schindler, Manager of Business Development
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Carrie Casebeer, Director of Marketing
Customer Contact: Mr. Bob Myers, COO
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - New Cars Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Alternate Business Names
Capitol Scion Capitol Toyota, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 783 Auto Group Ave NE

    Salem, OR 97301 (503) 399-1011 (800) 888-1391

  • PO Box 7550

    Salem, OR 97303


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/11/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a leased 2012 Toyota Corola , on August 24th, 2012. During the final paperwork , to purchase the lease. The finance person sold me a warranty/ pre-paid maintenance program for $540.00. In which I paid on that date. After the two year Toyota Care expired, I went to use my pre-paid maintenance program, and I was told I purchased a 30,000 and 35,000 mile service maintenance program. The person that sold this to me explained that it would cover" all" maintenance, oil changes, for the next three years or 35,000 miles. Everything is covered" Even down to a light bulb", he claimed. In May of 2015 I went to Toyota to get necessary maintenance and was told that I would have to pay for it and that I was not allowed to use my pre-paid maintenance program until the car reached 30,000 miles. I found out from the service Manager that the pre-paid maintenance program for $540.00 , could actually have been purchased for only $280.00. Without even purchasing the maintenance program. I contacted the Dealer in June , 2015 and spoke with Rochelle & Charlie E. They told me all the finance guys no longer work there, and refused to refund my $540.00. This will be the last time I purchase a car from Toyota or use their service department. Note: this was our 7th Toyota purchase from Capitol Toyota. My lease is up in August and I was going to trade-up to a Camry. But have decided to share my story and buy from another dealership. Thank you, **** ***** Local business owner

Desired Settlement: Refund my $540.00

Business Response:

 Capitol Auto Group will refund the entire $540 dollars per his request..Check will be mailed by the end of the week 7/3/15

5/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went into Capitol Auto looking for a vehicle found on their website. Already pre-approved thru a location Credit Union (****-https://www.******.com) and setup on the CUDL (Credit Union Direct Lending) program. Asked that they not run my credit and we had financing taken care of and to use the CUDL program.Only to find out in the morning that my Credit Alert Monitors (****** *****, ******* ***) show a Hard Inquiry form ******* ***** and that the Sales Manager **** had sent it out to try and get a better "rate". This is a horrible business practice as now the Hard Inquiry is on my credit score for 2 years and we did not authorize any such Credit Inquiry and was ILLEGALLY obtained.

Desired Settlement: That Capitol Auto produce a better Policy and Procedure for their Sales managers on what constitute the right to pull a credit inquiry and the impact it has on their buyers. An investigation into their current practices to see if they violate other clients personal information protected by law.

Business Response: We have contacted ******* ******** and Capitol Auto feels that we have come to a resolution that is agreeable to both parties. ******* stated that he is happy at this point and that this matter is closed. We apologized to ****** for any confusion on our policies to obtain Credit information and we are working with our staff to better explain those policies in the future. We will continue to communicate with ******* on any other concerns that you might have moving forward. Thank you 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


******* ********

3/5/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase a truck, have a contract sign for it, truck was never delivered , no one flowed up on it, customer service at its worse!!

Desired Settlement: I don't want this to happens to anyone else, I want Capitol Chevrolet to pay for my time and fuel invested in the effort to purchase ta truck!!

Business Response: All contracts are subject to financial approval and Unfortunately we were unable to secure financing on said vehicle. The financial institution we were working with to Secure the loan required income verification.The income verification we received was not satisfactory to the financial institution to secure the loan for Antonio. Capitol Chevrolet called ******* ****** to explain the situation and has since apologized for the inconvenience. Capitol Chevrolet would be happy to send ******* ****** a Gift card Understanding in no way does this make this process any easier.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:they customer service was the worse I ever experience, and what really makes me wonder, why? The they didn't give a choice for the purchase, I was willing to pay cash for it!! Very poor customer service!! They didn't wanna do businesses with me!! 


******* ******, 

2/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am in a bad credit situation, I told this from the very beginning and they assured me they could help me out that I needed to come in. So I gave all my information via an online credit app and came in to test drive the vehicle. The salesman I originally communicated with unfortunatly seemed to be to busy to deal with my situation and pushed me off onto another salesman who was only employed there for 6 months. Obviously do to his short time there he wasn't able to answer questions well or help me much basically took info and passed it on. They gave me a ridiculous amount for my trade in KBB for the dealership trade in value shows 3800 on the paper the salesman showed me yet only offered me 1500 barely enough to cover the new tires I just put on it which means basically I was giving them my vehicle for free. They said I would have to roll the extra 4k I owed into my new loan and therefore I needed a huge downpayment of almost 6,000 dollars. I then told them a second time what I could afford for a down payment and the manager went to his office only to come back and say his computers had crashed and I needed to go home and they would call me the next day. As I was walking out I noticed other people on there computers so seemed like a lie to me just to get me to leave. Then nobody called me the next day at all. When I called to get info they had no clue who I was or what was going on with my deal yet said I needed a co signer or alot of money down. I feel as if i was lied to chewed up and spit out on the concrete in the parking lot. For a business that claims to treat fairly and with respect they sure do not show that at all. I am in a credit situation due to my father having a cardiac arrest it was medically caused. Its embarassing enough to walk in with bad credit let alone to be treated so horribly by the staff thru the entire process. I would rather be treated with respect and been given honest information. Tell me you can't help me from the get go do not give me the run around!!!! I think other people in my situation should know NOT to go to capitol toyota as they will not be helped unless they have alot of money, they will be lied to, they will be given the run around because the company does not know how to treat fairly and be honest. Now if this issue is because I am gay I will be even more upset and I hope that is not the case of why I was treated in this manner.

Desired Settlement: I am not sure what the company can do at this point. All I know is I am very upset and feel something should be done about this.

Business Response: We make every effort to help customers with poor credit situations and know that bad things happen to good people. We are the customer advocate and work very hard to find them financing options but at the end of the day the financial institution has the right to ask for additional down payment or refuse to grant a loan. I do offer an apology for not returning a phone call the following day to let you know the status of our efforts. I will also tell you that we are a company that is an equal opportunity employer and do business the same way. Please let me know if i can assist in any way in the future.



Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Seems like I am yet being pushed aside even more here. When I spoke to Justin the original salesman I asked yet a second time for the Internet manager to contact me regarding my complaint which I also expressed via phone I was told the woman whom is the internet manager would contact me. She never contacted me so I'm really feeling like Capitol Toyota has no care whatsoever about the way I was treated and how I feel my experience was at your dealership!!! I don't feel as if you hAve been a so called "customer advocate" for me at all. You mad excuses to push me off instead of being honest in the beginning. Saying a fake computer crash incurred to get me to leave the building after the finance manager jokingly states he needs 6,000 dollars down when I said I could only afford 1,000. Then only offering me 1,000 for a limited edition 4Runner without even bothering to even look at it or drive it. Kbb clearly states are of 3600 and the paper was right on the salesmans desk of which he showed me!!! Nobody communicated anything to anyone thru the entire process instead humiliated me from the instant I walked in the door like I was some joke. I work for salemhealth and will make sure all my conworkers family and friends know how I was treated and will make sure nobody else goes to Capitol Toyota to purchase a vehicle!!! How about you tespond to my actual complaints instead of avoiding the issues and pushing me aside.

Business Response: We appreciate your credit situation and make every effort as an advocate for the guest to help find a bank that will offer financing. As we are not the bank we do not have the ability to gurantee financing and this process does take some time depending on the severty of the credit. I agree with you that our process of follow up with you was poor and can be improved in the future and thank you for bring this to our attention. We make every reasonable attempt to make this process as seamless as possible and apoligize for any inconveience this has caused you. We will be better in the future because you bringing this to our attention and appreciate your feed back.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Your sales manager made up a fake excuse to make me leave instead of just saying we don't want to work with you. You are not acknowledging my actual complaint here!!! Quit avoiding what happened. I'm understand every credit situation is different that is ONCE AGAIN NOT MY COMPLAINT!! My complaint is that you lied to me and shoved me aside because of my sexual orientation or because I have bad credit. Instead of lying to me to get me out the door staff should have been honest and treated me fairly with honesty and respect!!

1/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested that you not contact me via email for anything other than vehicle delivery date. You then put me on 6 email and 6 phone spam lists. I unsubscribed. You then gave my information to other dealers in your auto group, who have put me on spam lists. This is a violation of my expressed wishes, both in writing and in person.

Desired Settlement: Leave me alone. Remove me from all marketing lists, contacts, and/or networks. I will never buy another car from you as long as I live. I want you to respect my privacy and leave me alone. Effectively immediately.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/07) */ In respect for Mr.**** and his request..Capitol Auto Group has removed him from all our systems effective immediately. The last contact was on 10/3/14 which came from Capitol Auto Group wishing him Happy Birthday..One note is that he will still recieve information from the manufacturer, Capitol Auto group has no control over the correspondents that comes from the manufacturer. If he should recieve anything further please have him contact me so we can investigate..

11/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We responded to an ad for the lease of a 2014 Camry LE for $1,300 down and $99 per month. The salesman told us that both the advertised cars (specific stock numbers) were sold but he had been authorized to honor the deal on any 2014 Camry LE on the lot. We test drove a car and agreed to lease it. We provided driver's licenses, social security numbers and signed an authorization for a credit check. We clarified the terms of the deal several times in our conversations with the salesman. After a couple of hours I suggested we could just come back the next day if it was going to take much longer. He said that would be great and he would have all the paperwork ready and the car washed and ready to go at 1100 the next morning. We would sign the papers in about 30 minutes and be done. The salesman called as we were enroute the next morning saying he had a family emergency and another salesman would help us. The floor manager got involved and we were told that the two advertised cars were already sold and it would be $1,000 more and the lease price would be $146 per month. We insisted that the advertised price had been OK'ed for the car we had selected. We were told they could not sell the car at that price. I contacted the Sales Manager for the business the following day and we exchanged e-mails all day. In the end he suggested I do business elsewhere as he said he did not believe our account of the agreement because his salesman and floor manager were telling him a different story. I would attach that e-mail string to this complaint for a complete record of our complaint and Capitol's response but cannot see an option to do so. I would like to send it, along with another document for your file if you will provide an e-mail address to send them to. The other document is a copy of the written response from Sales Manager *** ***** to the Attorney Generals Office where I initially filed the complaint. The AG's Office did a superficial investigation by sending a letter and receiving a response from Capitol and concluded there was insufficient evidence to follow up with a criminal action. I knew that was likely as it was our word against theirs as we had not got anything in writing on the day we made the agreement. We understood that the deal was good and we would sign paperwork the next day and we didn't think we needed anything more as we were confident Capitol would honor their offer. I wanted the complaint on record at the AG's Office and I'd like it on record with the BBB. Please let me know the best way to forward the documentation we have to you.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to honor the agreement they made with us for a new 2014 Camry LE for $1,300 down and $99 per month. Had they told us from the beginning that the advertised cars were gone (we later heard that one of them was still available on Sunday) we would have left and figured we had just not been quick enough and we missed the opportunity for a good lease at a great price. Short of that, I'd simply like this complaint to be on file with the Better Business Bureau. I'm convinced their actions were a deliberate attempt to entice customers (my wife and I) into paying more than the advertised price for a like vehicle. They "baited" us with an offer for any Camry LE at that price and then "switched" the price at the last moment, suggesting it was a "misunderstanding" or outright deception on our part. I'm sure it works some of the time and even when it doesn't the angry customer's leave and don't file a complaint with anyone. I want the complaints on file for future reference and as a foundation for future complaints of a similar nature. Capitol Toyota does not deserve the A+ rating that BBB has given them. I noticed you have other complaints on file that have similar "misunderstandings" between Capitol and their customers. I'd bet there are many more who simply didn't complain and I'm forced to conclude that as long as their practices generally make money rather than cost them a profit, they seem happy to continue with these deceptive practices.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2014/10/29) */ We have all ready responded to the AG office and they have cleared Capitol Toyota and found that there was no evidence of his claim. In all of our advertising we specifically note that their would be no exchange of vehicle or rain checks at this sale price. I did this trying to eliminate any question of which vehicle would be sold for $17,990. We make ever attempt to make the car buying process easy and transparent and will use this example to make us better in the future. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 17, 2014/10/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They state the sale only applied to the two vehicles listed in the ad. I understood that from the beginning. The problem arose when the sales person said that although those two vehicles were gone (though one was reportedly still available the next day), that he was advised by management that they would honor the sales price on any 2014 Camry LE on the lot. This is not an unheard of practice and we took the test drive, agreed to the terms, and spent hours of our time honoring our part of the agreement. Capital Toyota backed out of the deal the following day when we went to sign papers and pick up the car. The salesman we had dealt with had a sudden "family emergency" so he was not present. I believe the offer to honor the price on any Camry LE was simply a gimmick used by Capital to bait a customer and then switch the pricing with the alleged misunderstanding in hopes of selling more cars at a higher price for the dealership. The complaint to the AG's office was declined simply because there was not sufficient evidence to pursue a criminal case, not that there was no evidence of our claim. They did have evidence of the claim - the testimony of two customers who Capital attempted to deceive. I believe the Better Business Bureau has sufficient evidence to pursue this as a poor business practice and rate the business accordingly. At a minimum, the complaint should be on file for other consumers to view. An ongoing pattern would serve to assist others in prevailing against Capital if they continue to treat customers this way. While this is not an acceptable resolution for us, I am realistic enough to see they cannot be compelled to honor the agreement they originally made with us. For me, I will never do business with any of Capital Auto Groups dealerships - there are plenty of others to choose from. I appreciate the efforts of the BBB.

11/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I arrived to the Capitol Toyota around 10:50am. we want it to buy a RAV4 XLE 2014 that we saw previously in the website for $23,735. After riding the car I notice that the mats were missing, I said to the salesman: I want the car with the mats, he said": I'll make it happen, but I need to talk with my manager. The manager told us that he couldn't give us the mats for the same price, that we needed to pay $99 dlls more. We didn't agree and we left. I really liked the car,so we came back and accepted to pay the extra money. We started doing the paperwork, numbers, information, SSN, etc. After 2 hrs, when we finished everything the manager took the papers, i guess to the Finance Manager. He came back and told us: OHH that car was sold 30 minutes ago" Really?? I said, "you should told me that 2 hrs ago.... He said: don't worry go outside we have a few more, just another color, pick one and I will give you the same deal, I said same price? he said: yes. The salesman went out with us and showed us a nice dark blue with navigation system, the manager came and said: is just a $100 dlls more. We agreed and started doing the paperwork AGAIN. We finished the paper work about at 5:00pm. The manager came and told us, is just a $100 dlls more. The salesman kept telling us, is a good deal, is a better deal than the other one. We were happy and exited. After waiting about 45 mnts more for the financial manager, finally we got inside his office for the final signatures. I had already the manuals, the keys, my iphone was set up already in the car. We started signed the DMV, insurance, etc etc. I was tired and hungry because it was already 6:30pm. When the financial manager gave the last paper to sign, I noticed that the price was not the same that we talked about all day long. They were charging over 25,000 dllrs to my credit. I said, wait a moment this is not the correct price; He called the manager and the salesman, and they looked each other. They didn't know what to say. At that moment I felt so bad and stupid, of course i didn't agreed to pay more, i asked for all my paperwork with my personal information and they didn't want it to give to me.

Desired Settlement: My husband is a physician, he earns $135 per hour, I want $810.00 for the hours that we wasted there, for the frustration and the impotency. They were lying to us all the time,they thought we were not going to check the final price because we were so tired with paperwork the whole day?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/15) */ I have attached 2 copies of the build sheets of the two vehicles that are in question. We have an advertisement running currently for the 2014 Rav4 and it's $3500 off MSRP after $500 factory rebate. The first vehicle that they were interested in has an MSRP of $27,285 and the price after discount is $23,785 + Lic and title and floor mats. The second vehicle has an MSRP of $28,385 and the price after discount is $24,885 +lic and title but all ready has floor mats. I'm not sure where the miscommunication came in but we would and still will honor the discount on any in stock 2014 Rav4. I would offer to deliver any in stock vehicle to them in Springfield so they would not have to make the drive back up to Salem. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

9/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called on a vehicle we saw posted online. I called to confirm vehicle was there, waited while **** checked to make sure, made appt. to see vehicle for next day. Got chance to get off work that evening so husband and I drive over and walk into dealership and asked for ****. New guy, didn't recognize the name, but said let me find him for you...comes back with ***** As they approach I say, You must be ****, as I look at the name tag and read ********** reply, no I am ***** I tell him who I spoke with and what vehicle I was there to see. **** tells ****** to get the golf cart and go find we all load up and take a tour of the lot, which we had already driven through to get there to begin with. Hmmm can't find it, drive, drive... maybe it was sold, hmmm, drive, drive. Was there another vehicle you were interested in? Yes there was, so we then go touring around on the lot hunt again, no luck. We go back to the office to see what we can find out. **** says we found out who **** is, he is over in the Toyota side. We are the Chevrolet side. I asked if that is where I should go? No we still can't find the car. ****** puts us in an office and then **** swoops in looks at the computer and says huh, we can't find it. Its probably sold. So we got up to leave, and well wait let us do some checking. Poor ****** was left in the office to try to placate a very frustrated couple. **** walked outside, looked around, came back in and sat down with another gentleman at a computer. We wait....and wait... Finally ****** gets up and says I am going to go see if I can go light a fire or something...and left. Came back a bit later to say the car was sold, yesterday. I said, it was sold yesterday, but I called today and was told it was here. I am supposed to see the car tomorrow, I have an appointment...with ****. I asked, so if I show up tomorrow to see the car that we now know is no longer available, when was I going to be called? No, better to let me come down. play dumb and then offer me another vehicle. I came down to see a particular vehicle that was advertised and instead of simply being told the vehicle was gone we apologize for not taking it off the internet posting,we were lied to and led to believe it could still be here, or perhaps at one of our other "stores". Husband is recently deaf, so we chose the online process to avoid being in a dealership trying to converse when you can no longer hear is tremendously stressful. This process we thought would be less stressful but were put into the very situation we were so desperately trying to overcome. We were so wrong.

Desired Settlement: The value of the vehicle we were interested in, $5,000.00. Our time, fuel and duress could be compensated in that amount.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2014/09/11) */ We appreciate that when a vehicle is sold prior to visiting the dealership it is frustrating. They came in after the vehicle was sold and we have two different system to monitor inventory and it takes 24 to 72 hours to clear vehicle out of the system. We are working on ways to speed up the process so this dosen't happen in the future. This was a honest mistake and we wish them good fortune in the future. We have apologize many times only to get very negative and hurtful language in return. We have considered this matter closed.

3/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please look at the following e-mail thread: Awesome sounds good...To avoid confusion with the retail sales floor when you come in head to the front desk. When you get there ask for me ****** and I will come down. thanks! ****** ----- Original Message ----- FROM EMAIL: **************** TO: ******** Sent: 2/26/2014 3:42:42 PM SUBJECT: RE: Trade information I will bring all the stock parts I have, the car will be pretty full. Partial finance, I will have an additional $9,100 on top of the trade to put down. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- From: ******** To: **************** Date: Wed, 26 Feb 2014 16:36:27 -0700 Subject: RE: RE: Trade information ***, Thanks any parts will help...are you financing or paying cash? Also we have a great lease option as well. ----- Original Message ----- FROM EMAIL: **************** TO: ******** Sent: 2/26/2014 3:12:43 PM SUBJECT: RE: Trade information Great thank you ******* I may be there a little later than 6:30 depending on traffic. I am leaving Milwaukie at 5:30 or so. Is there any stock parts you would like me to bring? I will of course bring all my paperwork, keys, and title. Thanks, *** -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- From: ******** To: **************** Date: Wed, 26 Feb 2014 16:00:34 -0700 Subject: RE: RE: Trade information Yes perfect I will be here and ready. Im actually going to grab the car right now and put it out front for you when you show up. My direct number is XXX-XXX-XXXX ----- Original Message ----- FROM EMAIL: **************** TO: ******** Sent: 2/26/2014 2:57:42 PM SUBJECT: RE: Trade information Hey ******* I am not affected by the layoffs, so good news for me. Are you still available tonight at 6:30ish? Thanks, *** -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- From: ******** To: **************** Date: Wed, 26 Feb 2014 12:21:41 -0700 Subject: RE: RE: Trade information ***, Yes it is here, it is on the ground at Capitol. 630 works great for me! ----- Original Message ----- FROM EMAIL: **************** TO: ******** Sent: 2/26/2014 11:02:43 AM SUBJECT: RE: Trade information Hey ******* I could come in as early as this evening probably around 6:30ish. But do you have an asphalt monogram in auto trans in stock? Thanks, *** -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- From: ******** To: **************** Date: Wed, 26 Feb 2014 11:54:01 -0700 Subject: RE: RE: Trade information ***, We are in your range ...I can't put a final number on it without seeing it in person. I know your pictures are great and it looks to be a great car. I think we can come together when do you want to come in? ----- Original Message ----- FROM EMAIL: **************** TO: ******** Sent: 2/26/2014 10:42:44 AM SUBJECT: RE: Trade information Hey ******* A no brainer for me would be 9k plus the 1k off MSRP of the car (the fr-s auto monogram would be 28.2K). The best deal on my end at this point is from a subaru dealership up here trying to clear out a new 2013 BRZ premium (which is basically the same car) they offered my 9.5 with 2k off the car (it would be 27K). However, I would like to stay with scion and dont mind paying a little extra to do so. I have been to half a dozen dealerships and the trade in values range from 7.5k-9.5K. Just trying to get the best deal, which I am sure you understand. Thanks, *** -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- From: ******** To: **************** Date: Wed, 26 Feb 2014 11:25:20 -0700 Subject: RE: RE: Trade information ***, Thanks for the information just one more question. In the online department we are straight shooters and dont want to waste your time. We normally used kbb trade in value for our appraisal on vehicles. Do you have an amount that is a no brainer for you? ----- Original Message ----- FROM EMAIL: **************** TO: ******** Sent: 2/26/2014 10:17:46 AM SUBJECT: RE: Trade information Hey ******* Great thank you. If it helps with value at all I would be willing to do a deal ASAP, if the trade in value is high enough. Like I said in the craigslist ad I have all the parts receipts and 90% of the stock parts. It is not a spec or release series. It is very similar to the release series 5.0 except it has more TRD parts. Compared to the RS 5.0 it additonally has the TRD short shifter, TRD Sway Bar, TRD Radiator Cap, TRD Cold Air Intake, and TRD Strut Bar. Please let me know if there are any other questions regarding my tC I can answer. Thanks, *** -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- From: ******** To: **************** Date: Wed, 26 Feb 2014 11:06:23 -0700 Subject: RE: RE: Trade information ***, Ok we have the Asphalt Monogram in stock and it is $1000 off...Let me double check ***, We have the car in asphalt and it is $1000 off. Im trying to get my manager to give you more for the trade because of all the trd extras. Is it by chance a release or spec series? ----- Original Message ----- FROM EMAIL: **************** TO: ******** Sent: 2/26/2014 9:47:45 AM SUBJECT: RE: Trade information Yes, Asphalt is the only color I would be interested in. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- From: ******** To: **************** Date: Wed, 26 Feb 2014 10:44:39 -0700 Subject: RE: RE: Trade information ***, Fair asphalt the only color you prefer? It came across your email as ***** so that is why I said that.. ----- Original Message ----- FROM EMAIL: **************** TO: ******** Sent: 2/26/2014 9:37:43 AM SUBJECT: RE: Trade information Hello ******* I do not need montlhy payment estimates at this point. I would just like to know what the trade-in value estimate would be to see if it is competative with other dealers. How long would it take for your dealer to get an asphalt monogram fr-s (automatic transmisison) in stock? Thanks, *** -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- From: ******** To: **************** Date: Wed, 26 Feb 2014 10:34:00 -0700 Subject: Trade information ***, I have the trade information you requested. Would you like monthly payments estimates? What are your goals so we can help put this together for you? thanks, ****** ********* Online Client Advisor XXX-XXX-XXXX This email was sent to: **************** From: Capitol Toyota Scion *** **** ***** **** Salem, OR 97301 Update Preferences - to update your communication preferences. Remove - to choose which lists to be safely and instantly removed from. Report Abuse - to safely report abuse and to stop all future email communications XXXXXX-XXXXXX . This email was sent to: **************** From: Capitol Toyota Scion *** **** ***** **** Salem, OR 97301 Update Preferences - to update your communication preferences. Remove - to choose which lists to be safely and instantly removed from. Report Abuse - to safely report abuse and to stop all future email communications XXXXXX-XXXXXX . This email was sent to: **************** From: Capitol Toyota Scion *** **** ***** **** Salem, OR 97301 Update Preferences - to update your communication preferences. Remove - to choose which lists to be safely and instantly removed from. Report Abuse - to safely report abuse and to stop all future email communications XXXXXX-XXXXXX . This email was sent to: **************** From: Capitol Toyota Scion *** **** ***** **** Salem, OR 97301 Update Preferences - to update your communication preferences. Remove - to choose which lists to be safely and instantly removed from. Report Abuse - to safely report abuse and to stop all future email communications XXXXXX-XXXXXX . This email was sent to: **************** From: Capitol Toyota Scion 783 **** ***** **** Salem, OR XXXXX Update Preferences - to update your communication preferences. Remove - to choose which lists to be safely and instantly removed from. Report Abuse - to safely report abuse and to stop all future email communications XXXXXX-XXXXXX . This email was sent to: **************** From: Capitol Toyota Scion *** **** ***** **** Salem, OR 97301 Update Preferences - to update your communication preferences. Remove - to choose which lists to be safely and instantly removed from. Report Abuse - to safely report abuse and to stop all future email communications XXXXXX-XXXXXX . This email was sent to: **************** From: Capitol Toyota Scion *** **** ***** **** Salem, OR 97301 Update Preferences - to update your communication preferences. Remove - to choose which lists to be safely and instantly removed from. Report Abuse - to safely report abuse and to stop all future email communications XXXXXX-XXXXXX . This email was sent to: **************** From: Capitol Toyota Scion *** **** ***** **** Salem, OR 97301 Update Preferences - to update your communication preferences. Remove - to choose which lists to be safely and instantly removed from. Report Abuse - to safely report abuse and to stop all future email communications XXXXXX-XXXXXX . This email was sent to: **************** From: Capitol Toyota Scion *** **** ***** **** Salem, OR XXXXX Update Preferences - to update your communication preferences. Remove - to choose which lists to be safely and instantly removed from. Report Abuse - to safely report abuse and to stop all future email communications REF_VXXXXXX-XXXXXX_NO. © 2014 Microsoft Terms PrivacyDevelopersEnglish (United States) ****** ****************@hotmail.comjoseph ****************@hotmail.comBccCcTo Frequent contacts Cc Frequent contacts Bcc Frequent contacts People and faces Add a subjectBIU Address: Arial Calibri Comic Sans MS Courier New Franklin Gothic Medium Garamond Tahoma Times New Roman Verdana8 10 12 16 20 24 30Rich text Edit in HTML Plain textWhen: Where: Action: Message body Add a message© 2014 Microsoft Terms PrivacyDevelopersEnglish (United States) New subfolder Rename Delete Mark all as read Empty folder Reply Reply all ForwardMark as read Mark as unread Delete Archive Junk Not junk Move View message sourceSend email Find email Move all from... Delete all from... Schedule cleanup Rename Delete Color code view Mark all as read Empty view Manage categories Add a new folder Manage rules Add a new category Manage categories Manage rules (0) This message is too wide to fit your screen. Show full message People Calendar OneDrive Word Online Excel Online PowerPoint Online OneNote Online Inbox Calendar Contacts Send email Documents Photos Recent docs Shared Groups Photos of you New Word document New Excel workbook New PowerPoint presentation New OneNote notebook (0) (0)(2) (0) So I show up at 6:30 sharp to meet with ****** at Capital toyota/scion. I left work early to drive nearly 2 hours to get the new car looking at roughly $9,000 for trade in because he said (in the e-mail thread listed) they are in that range. Only to fill out all the financing paperwork and wait and wait I was at the dealer for nearly 2 hours to say nope the best they can do is $6,500. Which is not what he agreed to in the e-mail. ****** directly lied to me just get get me in the dealership. He said they were in the range I was looking at getting for my trade only to not be anywhere close to what I had offered from other dealerships. I spent 6 hours of my rare free time to get lied to and decieved. I also spent $30 in gas and ran up another 150 miles on my car for no reason what so ever. An agreement was made over the e-mail saying I will at the bare minimum get $7,500 for my trade only to get offered $6,500. It is not directly said by implied I would be getting much more towards the $9,000 trade in value. I do not apprecaite my time, money, and effort be wasted for no reason except to try and be scammed.

Desired Settlement: I want $30 in gas money. I should be billing for my time as well.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/04) */ I will send you a gas card for $30. I just need your address tosend you the card.

9/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2012 Toyota from capital Toyota, I was told that car was number 1 on the list for being stolen and it would cost me $100 .00 to do oil changes. I called my mechanic and found that it does not cost that much, and it's not number1 on the list for being stolen I called 2 police stations. Because **** lied to me when I was buying this car I purchased extra oil changes and something that was supposed to help find the car when stolen. I have called capital and tried to get them to help me and they won't to take these off my contract. Can you help with this? Thank you *** *******

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/09/06) */ We have meet with *** ******* and have given her all of her money back for the oil change program and for the etch. She told us that she spoke to the police and Toyota vehicle are not stolen and that her mechanic can give her a better deal on oil changes. We galdly gave her the money back and were sorry for the confusion. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/09/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They did not give **** credit union my insurance information. I will try to take care of this myself. Thank you for your help. *** *******

6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband & I purchased a Toyota certified used 2012 Prius C w/3909 miles on it, owned 7 months or less. It was outside when we checked it out. We didn't want to go into debt, just pay cash for anything over our trade-in, but the salesman and team leader both assured us that there was 0% financing on this car. Some time later they let us know that, actually, they needed to look at the windsheild and, oh by the way, it's 1.9%. Exhauted by now and well into the process--purchased car anyway. Drove it home, put in the garage (warm). Opened the door to get in the next a.m. and realized it had been owned by a smoker. I drive a lot for my job--am a Home Health Aide. Loved the car, but by afternoon when the sun is good and warm the smell is worse. By evening I have a headache. Husband calls dealership. They take car for 2 days to give it a "treatment." I pick up the car 2 days later and it now it smelled like a bleach bottle. Drove car full day and took it back to the dealer. They took it for another day and said they would put it on the ozone machine. I picked the car up the next evening--hardly, if any, noticable difference at all. By now I dread even getting in the car. Take it home and didn't drive it the next day (Saturday). Decided to return the car Sunday--one week from purchasing it. I had had the car in my possesion less than 4 full days and had owned it for hours short of a week. Dealer charged me $1500.00 (wanted $3000.00) for this. Stating that they had to make money too. I assured them they had made money a week ago on our purchase. They told me they hardly made anything and had also had assured us the week before that our trade would be difficult to sell and they wouldn't get much for it. They told us that they were basically writing us a check for $1500 by only charging us that much and that the money they weren't getting from us was going to have to come out of "someone else's peice of the pie." Husband and I decided that since we're in debt now we will at least get 0% financing and purchase a new Prius on sale. While in process of purchasing this car we find out they've sold our first trade in within a week. (It was an emaculately kept 2009 Hyundai Sonata--5 speed.) Went home and found dealer had advertized for $15,000 on website. We didn't pay that for it new. They gave us $6500 for it on a trade-in. So they had made good money on our previous purchase if they sold our trade-in for anything in the ballpark of the price they were advertizing. We do not mind a dealer making money--they have to in order to run a successful business, but everyone we've talked to about this is appauled and many of them are amazed. Some have commented that we were robbed, others have said things like this is why car dealers have the reputation they do. Some have said worse. The people at the dealership were all very polite, but it seems we were politely lied to and robbed. We do like our new car and it gets great mileage, but this has been the worst car buying experience we've ever had.

Desired Settlement: We would simply like the $1500.00 we had to pay to get a car we could live with when they were done with their fixes on the first one we'd bought. When we pointed out to them that they had made good money on our first purchase/trade-in they denied it, but this cannot possibly be true. If they sold it anywhere near the $15,000.00 they advertized it for then they made several thousand dollars. The fact that they did well is fine, maybe better than they thought, but they have to have known that when we brought the problem car we'd bought back to them. They made the car worth less with their fix than it was when we bought it, and then charged us $1500.00 for owning it hours short of a week, possessig it three to four days depending on how you calculate it, and actually only driving it two work days besides to and from the dealership. Then they told us they were going to have to take the other $1500.00 out of someone else's peice of the pie because they were making so little out of our purchases.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/06/07) */ In every situation we make concerted effort to accomediate our customers. In this situation we made 2 attemptes (at our cost including rental car) to fix the smell that the customer complained about. We give every customer a chance to drive and spend time with the vehicle they are picking out to avoid problems like this one. As far as the pricing the vehicle we sold first has a retail sale price of $24,020 and was sold to them for $20,000. When they choose to trade that vehicle in we gave them $18,500 because we have the exspense of saftey inspection, Toyota certification and detail. That trade value was against a sale price of $24,179.42 on a vehicle that had a MSRP of $27,180. That a $4020 discount on the first vehicle and a $3001 discount on the second vehicle. The total proffit for the combined transaction is -710 and that does not include the cost of trying twice to remaove the smell form the original vehicle. I feel we made ever attempt to fix the problems and try and satisfy them.