BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers sales of new Chevrolets and preowned vehicles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wentworth Chevrolet Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wentworth Chevrolet Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wentworth Chevrolet Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1926 Business started: 01/01/1903 Business started locally: 01/01/1903
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Business Management
Mr. Bob Wentworth, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Wentworth, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Wentworth Chevytown
Products & Services

Chevrolet sales, service, parts, body shop and detail.

Additional Locations

  • 107 SE Grand Ave

    Portland, OR 97214 (503) 232-2603 (503) 232-2823 (503) 232-3017 (503) 232-2000


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I were in the search for a newer used vehicle and we went to this dealership since they had the car we were looking for and it looked to be a great one. It was a 2012 Chevy Traverse. They were a Certified dealership so it made us feel more comfortable. Well then we took it to our mechanic to have looked at (Called: ****** *** of Gresham) for any mechanical issues. They found one major issue along with a few other minor issues. The major issue is something they should have known prior since they check their vehicles there at Wentworth prior to putting it up for sale. Since we had to pay for the service to get the vehicle checked out in the amount of $107.00 US dollars. We understand there are minor issues that come with used vehicles, but this is not an EXPECTION. We then approached the dealership with these issues and they said they cant give us a refund. The reason this is an issue is because they should have been aware of this issue prior to listing it for sale. Down the road it can be a larger expense for next the person who decides to purchase this vehicle without knowing the problem. The major issue was: Extreme amount of dry mud up in the under carriage along the entire vehicle, most if not all the pipes were rusted and the later problem down the road could be corrosion to all pipes affected.

Desired Settlement: Like I mentioned up above we asked the sales guy Vernon for a refund and he said he would talk to his sales manager, and they said no we cant do that. Really it was $107.00 and I would of given a refund since they are a big company. I'm filing this complaint due to we are owed money for something that should of never of happened. Now if we took the car to have checked out and it had a few minor issues that's different, but not with a major issue it along with a couple of minor issues as well.

Business Response: We are refunding customer $107.00 as she requested.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


****** **********

2/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new 2014 impala from ******* ***** in medford or. they had said they would pay to have car detailed at local dealership because when i got the car shipped to me it was dirty under the hood and trunk, it needed a good detailing done to it.i made a appointment with wentworth chevrolet and took it in. They got the approval for payment for a FULL Detail. The description they gave for a full detail all the dirt issues should have been fixed. When i picked up the car from them i walked around the car, they had missed the full strip on the passenger side of the car. i told the guy and he took it upstairs for approx. 5 mins then pulled it back down and returned it to me, I then wanted to make sure the trunk and under hood was cleaned since when i entered the car i realized it had not been vacumed or cleaned at all except the floor mates. Touch screen still had fingerprints all over it and dust was present everywhere, little rocks in the creases of the floor and marks on the inside of the door, the dirt was still in the trunk and under the hood looked greasy and still had dirt to. when i asked the guy he tried to say they did not give him approval to do a full detail witch is a lie when i called and confirmed with the other dealership the lady said they said to do what i wanted done they'd have to take off my bumpers, i never was told anything like this and did not know that a full detail would entail this so the lady said she told him to walk around the car with me, witch he never did, and find out and fix whatever i ask. so not sure where the big confusion was but I wanted a FULL Detail done on my car and got a half done hear and there buff, i dont even think they washed the car cause the part that was missed did not appear to have had water on it at all.

Desired Settlement: I would like my car cleaned or detailed as it was supposed to have been in the first place, all things they say on there web site done, and done right!

Business Response: It was our understanding & we called again after
receiving this complaint and talked to ********
********** (sp?) and she said they only authorized
a wash & vac and if the customer wanted it detailed they would have to take it to them (the dealer they purchased it from). I understand it was purchased from ******* **** & it was transported down to Portland area. Left the customer a message that if the wash & vac was
not done properly just call me and we will get it done properly.