BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Town & Country Dealerships

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
01/10/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 10/23/13 I searched Town & Country's website for a 2014 Jeep Wrangler and found one that I was very interested in. On 10/24/13 my husband and I went to the dealership to look at the vehicle for possible purchase and the vehicle was not the same as advertised. The stock number and VIN both matched, but the pictures and description did not. Luckily I printed the original advertisement and after we got home from the dealership yesterday I looked up the ad again and they had changed the picture and description.

Also I work for ******* ****** ***** ******* and we receive a corporate discount on Jeep vehichles. Our discount is 1% below factory price. When I asked for the discount pricing I was informed that we would only receive $1000 off the price of the vehicle. I do not feel the salesperson and dealership were being completely honest with us and we refuse to shop there again.

Desired Settlement
We would like for the dealership to be held accountable for their actions and not mislead potential customers with false advertisments. If need be I have copies of both advertisments.

Business Response
Dear *** *********

Please let this letter serve as ********** ******** **** ******* ("Dealership") Response to the Complaint filed with the Bureau by *** ********* ****.

The Dealership would open by apologizing to *** **** and her husband for any inconvenience that they encountered on October 24th. That said, the Dealership would like to point out that they very recently purchased the assets only of Town & County Chrysler Jeep Fiat, and the Dealership did not take over operations until November 1, 2013. As a result, any of the activities that may have occurred would have been prior to the Dealership's operation.

The above said, the Dealership would like to take this opportunity to do whatever they can to earn *** ****'s business. The Dealership is new to town, and of course looking to make new but lifelong friends and customers. To this end, *** **** can bring this Response in for one free oil change (all she needs to do is to show this Response to the service writer that assists her upon arrival).

Further, if *** **** is still in the market for a vehicle (new or used), then the Dealership would like to point out that the Dealership has two other sister stores at virtually the same location (ie ********** ********* and ********** ********* As a result, the Dealership should be able to more than accommodate *** ****'s sales and service needs.

Given the above, it is the Dealership's hope and desire that the Bureau close this matter with a finding of no fault on either Party's behalf. Further, it is the Dealership's hope that *** **** sees that the Dealership has never interacted with her and that she does not hold anything that Town & Country may have done to her, and that she give the Dealership an opportunity to earn her sales and service business going forward for many years to come.

Sincerely,

**** ** ****
For the Dealership

06/11/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
01/29/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
To Whom It May Concern,

I would like to file a complaint or try to come to a resolution with Town and Country Jeep/ Chrysler in Milwaukie, OR. Located at XXXXX ** ********** ********** Milwaukie, OR 07276. They, along with ***** are failing to fulfill their end of a contract; a lifetime engine and power train warranty that came with my 2007 Jeep Patriot.

In October 2007 I bought the vehicle and the main selling point was that it came with a lifetime engine and power-train warranty. At the time of purchase, the dealer failed to explain the terms of the warranty, nor did they provide me with any warranty information. At the time, I did research and according to ********* website the warranty covered me for as long as I owned the vehicle so I felt I was covered. The dealer that sold the vehicle went out of business and they stopped sending correspondence, including any updates on the warranty. Since buying the vehicle it has always had service done at a **** dealer and no notices regarding the warranty were ever sent. The consequence of **** failing to notify me is that they have stopped to continue the lifetime warranty, claiming that a 5 year inspection needed to be performed. Of course since **** never notified me that an inspection needed to be performed, it never got done. I keep on the maintenance of my vehicle and would have acted quickly on any notice to get an inspection done. The warranty should be extended to me.

In September 2012 I had a catalytic converter replaced at Town and Country Jeep. That would have ben the time for the 5 year inspection to continue the warranty. At that point no one mentioned it to me nor did I receive any notices in the mail, not from Town and Country nor ***** nor the dealer where the vehicle was purchased. In September 2013 I made an inquiry about the warranty and Town and Country put me in the direction of ********* ******** put me back in the direction of Town and Country. After several phone calls, in the third week of October 2013, ******** informed me that ****** ****** at Town and Country claims to had sent me three notices in September, October and November of 2012. I never received any notices. I asked them to produce proof that they sent the notices back in 2102. Three employees at ******** (including a supervisor, ******, ******* refused to send me any proof that notices were sent in those three months of 2012. As of the last week in November ****** ****** is not returning any phone calls. It seems strange that ****** claims to have mailed three notices in 2012 but failed to mention it until late October 2013 and refuses to provide proof that the three notices were sent. So the issue of Chrysler/Town and Country breaching their contract is failing to get resolved. Please help me get the goods and services I bought and were promised to me.

Thank You
****** ********
(XXX) XXX-XXXX

Timeline

October 2007 - purchase 2007 Jeep Patriot

October 2007 - November 2013 vehicle has regular service at **** dealers and no notices are given regarding a 5 year inspection. The selling dealer goes out of business and they do not send any notices

September 2012 - catalytic converter is replaced at Town and Country and they fail to inform me that an inspection for the warranty is necessary

October 2013, ******** informs me that Town and Country did send 3 notices in 2012 yet fails to produce any evidence. ****** ****** at Town and Country refuses to communicate. (4 phone calls, 2 emails and stopped by in person twice)

Desired Settlement
To have the warranty that was promised at time of purchase

Business Response
Dear *** *********

Please let this letter serve as McLoughlin Chrysler Jeep Fiat's ("Dealership") Response to the Complaint filed with the Bureau by *** ********.

The Dealership would open by apologizing to *** ******** for any difficulties he has had with any of the individuals he has dealt with. That said, it is important to note that the Dealership did not come into existence (ie purchase the assets of Town & Country) until November of 2013. As a result, all of the individuals/entities *** ******** dealt with in the past had no affiliation with the Dealership.

However, as the matter currently sits the Dealership is working with *** ******** and ******** to see if there is any way that they can facilitate any assistance that may be available to *** ******** and attempt to garner some goodwill with *** ********.

As a result, as can be seen above, the Dealership is not the Party with whom *** ******** had been dealing with; and therefore should have their predecessor's actions held against them either in fact or in perception. To this end, the Dealership would encourage *** ******** to continue working with them in hopes that together they can have Chrysler do some goodwill work and get *** ********'s issue resolved.

It is the Dealership's hope and desire that this Response will allow the Bureau to close this matter with a finding of no fault on either Party's behalf. Should additional comment or documentation be required please do not hesitate to call or write.

Sincerely,

**** ** ****
For the Dealership

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
According to ***** Town and Country does have a role in the whole situation since I was getting my vehicle serviced at Town and Country at the time my vehicle was due for inspection. I received no notifications via email, phone or via US Mail. My service representative at Town and Country, ******* told **** that she sent me three notices that my vehicle was due for it's warranty inspection. I did not receive any notices and when I asked ****** to provide documentation that she sent me notices she ignored all of my phone calls. When I went to Town and Country in person to ask them to provide documentation that they sent notices that my vehicle needed to be inspected, the service manager there could not provide any proof that notices were sent. It is my opinion that no notifications were sent by Town and Country to let me know that my vehicle needed to be inspected and it is my opinion that ****** stated otherwise. So, even though **** is the one not honoring the warranty, according to **** it due to the fact that Town and Country failed to notify me. The fact that that ****** at Town and Country says she notified me, yet no one can provide proof and the fact that I say Town and Country did not notify me is a key issue. The end result is that I am not getting my warranty that was promised to me when the vehicle was purchased so no the issue has not been resolved.
Thank You

Final Business Response
Please note that the prior response was NOT from Town & Country Jeep or any other Town & Country entity. Rather, the response was from McLoughlin Chrysler Jeep. This is a completely different corporate entity from Town & Country, has different owners, and purchased only the assets (as opposed to the liabilities) of Town & Country Jeep.

The above said, the Dealership (McLoughlin Chrysler Jeep, NOT Town & Country Jeep) is interested in preserving goodwill and trying to make *** ******** a customer for life. To this end, McLoughlin Chrysler Jeep will continue to work towards seeing if there is any way they can accomodate *** ********. Again, the Dealership does think it important to note that they have had no role whatsoever in this whole process. They did not sell the vehicle to *** ********, they did not ever service the vehicle, nor did any of their employees ever even speak with *** ********.

If *** ******** would be so kind as to verify the VIN of his vehicle, I will personally make sure that ******** is informed of the matter (local employees say that ******** is aware, but I can personally make sure that is accurate).

Sincerely,

**** ** ****
For the Dealership

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.