Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Tom Denchel Ford Country

Phone: (541) 567-3291 Fax: (541) 567-0034 View Additional Phone Numbers 555 S Highway 395, Hermiston, OR 97838 http://www.fordcountry.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used vehicles for sale.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tom Denchel Ford Country meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Tom Denchel Ford Country include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Tom Denchel Ford Country
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 09, 2007 Business started: 12/01/1971 Business started locally: 12/01/1971 Business incorporated 12/30/1971 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tom Denchel, President Mrs. Janel Emede, Customer Relations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Denchel, President
Customer Contact: Mrs. Janel Emede, Customer Relations
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Hours of Operation
Monday - Saturday 7:30am - 7:30pm
Sunday 10am - 7:30pm

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Tom Denchel Ford Country has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 555 S Highway 395

    Hermiston, OR 97838 (541) 567-3291 (800) 345-3068

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a brand new car from this dealership. 7 months after purchase the vehicle I purchased started to have problems. I called the dealership and was told to bring the car in. I took the car in and gave very specific and detailed examples of the problems, and at what speed the problem was occurring. The lady said that she would call me once it was finished. I never received a call from her, rather I had to call her. She told me that there was nothing wrong with my car after the service technician took it for a test drive. I assured her that there was a problem and that I would be there shortly and I would take the service technician for a test drive. Once I did this, the technician said that he did feel the problem but it was probably just wheel balance or alignment. I disagreed with him. We returned to the dealership, I was told I would have to bring the car back in again for them to test drive the vehicle a second time. I also ordered factory ambient lighting from the dealership to install. The lady said she would do both once I returned the second time. I returned a again, this time the service lady made me feel as though I didn't know what I was talking about saying "ya you think there's a problem with your car, we will call you once we finish". Once she called me, she said that they did find a problem with the transmission or the engine but I would have to bring it back again for a different tech to look at. She said she wasn't sure when someone could fit it in and would contact me. With no contact, I went back into the dealership. She blamed not contacting me on me saying I sad that I didn't know my schedule. Untrue. We made a third appointment for someone to "diagnose" the problem, then I will have to make a fourth appointment to hopefully have it worked on. All the while, she still want's me to drive it. To top it off, the lights that were ordered and installed were not factory, and they drilled holes in my vehicle without permission, and left stains.

Desired Settlement: I want the factory ambient lighting installed the way that it was supposed to be, and the parts that were drilled and scratched to be replaced as well as be reimbursed for taking my car to a different business to be cleaned since apparently it was not an urgent matter to have the grease stains that they made be cleaned. I have also spent numerous hours driving 3 hours to bring my car back and forth to the dealer ship (I work in Portland, Oregon) not being provided with a rental car in the meantime nor being offered one, and having spent numerous hours waiting for my car just to tell me there is nothing wrong or to re-schedule again. My time is just as valuable as the next person's and I have a family that depends on me, a son that I needed to pick up from school and take to practice, a full time job and I feel as though I should be compensated for their in-accuracies.

Business Response: Tom Denchel Ford Service Manger has met with Mr. ****** to address his warranty claim concerns. Tom Denchel Ford will be replacing a trim piece for the ambient lighting.  Tell us why here...

5/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the day of the 19th of March me an my fiance and kids went to Tom denchels Ford country to see about maybe getting financed for a car with my car as trade value which is a 2004 Honda civic lx.our sales person was James,very nice but persistent. We were their for a total of about 3 hours an tried to leave because the kids were ready to go home and he would not let us go . We finally agreed on trading my car in for 1900 trade value with a 0 down payment for a 2008 Pontiac g6 gt that was priced at 9,900. I signed a contract that said my payments a month was 255 with a 24.99 percent interest rate but Jane's said they still had to find someone to finance me but was letting me drive home the new car.I then noticed the total price on the contract was raised from the original 9,900 to about 17,00 almost double which I thought was odd but James didn't really explain it to me that made sense.I then made it clear with James an he stated that my car(2004 Honda civic lx) would not be sold until I got financed an everything was final an that if it didn't work out they would give me my car back. On the day of the 24th of March I still hadn't heard of I got financed but as I was running errands I noticed my 2004 Honda civic lx sitting at a business called Aaron's and I confirmed it was mine an the stereo had been ripped out an it was very dirty . I then called Tom denchels Ford country an talked to the service lady and told her what I had just seen an she stated "oh" an I then asked to talk to James an she stated he was out sick an I then asked if I was financed cuz they already sold my car an she said she didn't know and that she would have their finance person call me back. I didn't get a call back until Saturday the 26th and a text from James saying they had good news. I called James an he said I had gotten financed finally an wanted me to come down to Tom denchels an bring a proof of address piece of mail. I arrived at toms and they changed the contract an had sold my car .

Desired Settlement: They sold my car before I got financed leaving me to feel like I had to agree to the new contract they wrote up an did not have any explanation as to who or why they sold my car before I got financed an also would not let me get a family discount that they offered my mother. I am now paying 291 a month instead of the 255 from the original contract which I have an my interest went from 24.99% to 29% I feel like they sold my car to make me feel as if I had no choice but to sign the contract or I'd be without a car an I want something done.

Business Response:

Hi *****,

My name Cyndie D and I am the Customer Relations Manager here at Tom Denchel Ford Country in Hermiston.  Thank you for sharing your concerns, I'm sorry to hear that we missed to meet your expectations.  I will be contacting you today to learn more about your transaction so I can share all the details with our General Manager, Juan O.

If you should have any questions, please feel free to contact me directly at *************

 

Sincerely,

 

Cyndie D

Customer Relations Manager

6/25/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a brand new car and I did not receive the correct and complete amount of floor mats. The "brand new" car seems to also be damaged in the hood and bumper during transportation from the factory. I was also suckered into buying an extended warranty. That warranty costs 3 times the amount my insurance company offers.

Desired Settlement: The correct and right amount of floor mats. I am also seeking that Ford fix the bumper and hood that were damaged during transportation from the factory. I did not buy a used car, it was sold as "brand new". I am also seeking that the extended warranty be voided since I was not clearly explained.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/11) */ Mr. ******, Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced in respect to the purchase of your 2014 Ford Fusion. We take pride in ensuring our customer's satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet youror our ownexpectations. I would like to personally invite you to meet with me so we can discuss the damage that is on your vehicle. In the meantime, we have ordered floor mats and we would be more than happy to cancel the extended warranty. We deeply value your relationship with Tom Denchel Ford Country.com and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best. I look forward to hearing back from you soon. Please contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, **** ***** Tom Denchel Ford Country.com General Manager

4/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product Had sign in window saying $16,599 and Then after signing paperwork they put it at full asking price.... which was $18,190.00

Desired Settlement: I am requesting they make it right and minus it off the loan.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/15) */ To whom it may concern, I would like to forward an apology for the miscommunication between our store and Mr. ***** on the sale of the 2014 Ford Fiesta. The sale price was supposed to be $18,190, minus a $1500 rebate for a final price of $16,690.00. However, Mr. *****'s understanding was that the sale price was supposed to be $16,690.00, minus the rebate of $1500 with a final price of $15,190.00. Because we value Mr. *****'s business, as a good will gesture, we will honor his requested price. I would welcome Mr. ***** to contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX to setup an appointment to rewrite the contract at his requested contract price. Sincerely, **** ***** General Manager *** ******* Ford Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/04/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I would like to thank tom denchel ford for sticking by their word. I would do business again here because this company respects and understand their customers. Thanks again ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Tom Denchel Ford Country
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart