BBB Accredited Business since

Royal Moore Buick GMC

Phone: (503) 648-1153 Fax: (503) 648-2717 View Additional Phone Numbers 1380 SE River Rd, Hillsboro, OR 97123 http://www.gmc.royalmoore.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Royal Moore Buick GMC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Royal Moore Buick GMC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Royal Moore Buick GMC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1971 Business started: 01/01/1967 in OR Business started locally: 01/01/1967 Business incorporated 11/17/1965 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jennifer Moore, Director of Operations Mr. Royal Moore, President Ms. Shirley Moore, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jennifer Moore, Director of Operations
Principal: Mr. Royal Moore, President
Principal: Ms. Shirley Moore, Secretary
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Royal Moore Buick GMC Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Royal Moore Buick GMC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1380 SE River Rd

    Hillsboro, OR 97123 (503) 648-1153 (503) 648-1153 (503) 648-4787 (503) 640-5181

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/31/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Royal Moore advertised a 2014 Nissan Rogue with 5,110 miles on it. Through an auto broker in Washington, I purchased the car based on representations in the ad at an agreed-upon price, putting a deposit on it on Friday, March 13, 2015. The car was delivered to me (also part of the agreement/price) on Wednesday, March 18, 2015. The odometer read 9050 miles. Even accounting for the 190-mile drive from Hillsboro to Seattle, the miles were more than 30% higher than advertised, obviously affecting not just price but remaining warranty. My broker immediately complained via telephone to the RM manager, asking him to take money off the price, as the car was not what was advertised/bargained for. He rudely responded that he would not as he "had lost money on this car, anyway," that he "didn't know" one of his salespeople was driving it as a demo, and that my only recourse was to return the car to him. As my car already had been traded-in and the deal was done, from all the way in Seattle, he knew he "had me" and I was stuck. I kept the Rogue. My broker felt horrible and reimbursed me for her fee I'd paid, but Royal Moore did NOTHING. This is such a classic case of used-car-dealer false advertising. I have attached the ad. I also have a photo of the actual miles, but I can't seem to upload two documents.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of some of my purchase price to reflect what I actually received vs what was bargained for based on that advertising. I see from web research that miles on demo cars should be valued at approx 33 cents per mile. This car was advertised at 5,100 miles. Adding 190 miles for delivery, I bought a car based on advertised mileage of 5,290. The car had 9050 miles, for a difference of 3,950. At 33 cents per mile, I would like a refund of $1,300.

Business Response: We investigated the customers claims.  Upon completing the investigation it was found that the said vehicle in question was correct in the dealerships  DMS system with the correct mileage.  An outside source is contracted to mine our websites and post our inventory to sites that are not run by our dealerships. ( the customer and her broker viewed the car from a site that was not ours).  In the process of doing updates,  the outside vendors software failed to capture changes made to the mileage field.  We have notified the outside vendor to make this correction.  Neither the customer's broker nor our internet sales discussed mileage.  The customer was credited a refund for the amount requested.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I commend the BBB for fast action, and also commend ******** ***** and Royal Moore for swift response, showing ethical customer service.

Sincerely,

**** ******

3/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: agreed to purchased the extended warrentee but before the car was sold or finalized I chaanged my mind and asked for a cancelation of this offer I was told to finish with finance and would get a refund of money I live in washington and had to pay 8.1% tax on the cost of warrentee $2495.00 plus 8.1% they asked me to fax a request for the refund the first time I sent the fax requesting a refund was 9/26/2014 they said they lost it the last time I faxed the request was 12/12/2014 with no response.Today 1/21/2015 I called ans spoke with ****** the person whom the faxes were directed to and informed her there has not been a refund issued at this time I informed her I will not be able to use the service contract purchased I tryed to use the service contract by making an appt online but was canceled by Royal Moore so I went elsewhere also I can not schedule future appts with Royal Moore service as I am leaving for boot camp in Georgia on 1/27/2015 and would like a refund for the service contract also ****** said she has been busy and would have to call me back later

Desired Settlement: A refund of the extended warrentee and service contract plus the 8.1% sales tax I had to pay as they stated if I paid it they would reimburse it

Business Response: The Extended Warranty purchsed by ***** ******** has been cancelled with the company providing the extended coverage. The refund check has to be sent to the Finance Institute carrying the contract for this vehicle. They will in turn apply that payment to the contract owed by the customer. As far as the 8.1% tax the customer was charged by the State of Washington, we will contact the customer to inform him we will send him a refund check for that amount. This is a case closed situation.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It will do no good to forward the money to the lender as the car has been paid in full so there is no lender the money needs to be paid directly to me Also the service contract
IE: oil changes and such has also been canceled
the car is in storage and will remain there for 3 years therefore there will be no need for a service contract so a refund for the extended warranty the service contract and the 8.1% tax should be refunded directly to me I was told by Royal Moore staff that it takes a while for the refund and if I was going to pay off the car that they would refund plus tax that I had to pay on the aforementioned

Business Response: We have since found out the vehicle was paid in full with the lender. We received the check back we forwarded to the lender in the mail on 2/12/15.
Attached you will see a copy of the check for $3095.00 made payable to the customer. This check is going out in our 2/12/15 mail directly to the customer. Royal Moore will not be reimbursing the customer the 8.1% tax he is requesting as the State of Washingon has verified with us that the customer did not pay 8.1% tax on the above mentioned service/extended warranty policies. This is considered a case closed situation as of the mailing of the refund check.

10/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We received an offer, in email form from Royal Moore for a new 2014 Prius at a price of 21,566, this offer was based on us asking them if they could price match an advertised deal from ******** ******* We sent them the link to the advertisement and they responded that they would sell us the car for 21,566 (300 higher than the advertisements price). We agreed to that price. The next day when we went in to purchase the car we were told that they had looked at ******** ********* fine print and because ******** ****** was basing their offer on a $1500 rebate from the manufacturer, that Royal Moore would also only do that. However, the link to the price match we sent says nothing on the page about it being based on the $1500 rebate, you would have to click on a separate page to find that, and we had informed the salesperson when we initially looking that we intended to use the 0.0%Apr option, which is not available if you opt for the $1500 cash back. Furthermore, Royal Moore made it clear (also in email form) that they did not read that fine print until after they extended their offer, so it was not their intention that the offer would include that fine print. Royal Moore extended an offer and we excepted the offer, we consider bad business practice to then renege on the offer. My husband went into the dealership today with the printed out price quote and the email chain conversation to talk with a manager and give them a chance to live up to the offer made, Royal Moore still refused.

Desired Settlement: We would like Royal Moore to sell us the 2014 Prius that they offered to sell us at the price they offered to sell it for. If they do not want to sell us the vehicle, we request that they pay any difference in costs that they same car would be from a different dealership.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/09/25) */ We sold Ms. ********* the Prius at the price that she was quoted on 9/21/2014. We consider this case closed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2014/10/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I had posted a response on 9/21/2014, stating that I was withdrawing the complaint, I apologize to Royal Moore that it did not post. We are withdrawing the complaint because Royal Moore Toyota Management contacted us and lived up to the deal, treating us in a professional and courteous manner. Thank you for clearing up the issue, we left very satisfied.

7/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchasing new car, and told we were required to purchase the Theft Protection Program for the vehicle, although we did not want it and asked if it was negotiable.The price was $349.00. We were told "no it's not negotiable and every car has it.' After several other high pressure tactics and the changing of pricing and paperwork, we signed all paperwork including the contract for the Theft Protection Program. In the fine print, at home, we read "The Theft Protection Program is completely voluntary. There is no requirement that you purchase TPP as part of purchasing the vehicle." I sent a certified letter to the company explaining our experience w/them and requested follow up and a refund of the $349.00. This was sent on 5/16/14, and we never heard anything from the company.

Desired Settlement: We want a refund of $349.00 for the Theft Protection Program, and we will tear up the warranty contract we have.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/07/02) */ In an effort to address our customers concern, we have refunded the cost of theft code to Ms. *********.

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cancelled the service contract on october 21st, i was informed by the service contract company that the reinbursment check was going to be sent to the dealer then sent to the bank that financed my vehicle. I have been in contact with royal moore manager ***** ****** multiple times asking when the check would be sent to the bank and they keep informing us that the check has been sent to *********** to go towards the amount i owe on the vehicle. this check has not been received by the bank yet and it has been almost 3 months since i cancelled the contract. I spoke with ************ over a week ago and he claimed they sent the check to *********** but *********** has still not received the money.

Desired Settlement: I want the check sent to the bank so I am not paying interest on it any more. I would like it to be sent right away.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 5, 2014/01/28) */ BBB, Complaint response for case # XXXXXXXX Business: Royal Moore Buick GMC Inc **** ** ***** ** Hillsboro, OR 97123 XXX-XXX-XXXX Consumer Info: ******* ****** XXXXX ** ********** Portland, OR 97220 XXX-XXX-XXXX In an effort to resolve our customers concern, we agree to refund the cost of the service contract she purchased, as well as roughly two times the accrued interest on the balance of $1958.69. With interest charges of $22.05 over a period of 75 days, plus $27.95 for customer satisfaction, we get a total of $50.00. We are refunding $2008.69 to ******* ******. ***** ******* Royal Moore Toyota

12/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While I was purchasing a new Mazda on 8/28/2013, ***** ****** sold me the extended warranty ($1,195.00) and Trident coverage ($399.00) packages with a promise that if I changed my mind within a month of purchasing them I could get a full refund posted as a credit against my auto loan. I contacted him via email on 9/18 to request a cancellation and refund of these services, and included the car's VIN in my request. He responded the next day to say he'd be mailing the cancellation form for me to fill out. On 9/25 I still hadn't received the form, so I reached out to him again and told him as much. I did not hear back, so I emailed and called him again on 9/27--he told me not to worry about the deadline and that he'd push it through himself since it wasn't my fault that it was going to be late. I then received an email with a scanned version of the form on 9/30, which I filled out requesting a cancellation and refund of both services, wet-signed and mailed back immediately. After checking back several times over the next few weeks about the status of the cancellation/refund, I received an email from ***** to say that they'd sent the refund check to ***** on 11/05 and my auto loan account would be credited by my next statement. My account has since been credited, but only in the amount of $1,145. It should have been credited for $1,195 + $399 = $1,594, so I emailed ***** on 11/20 to ask about the remaining $449 that is owed to me, and I have not heard back from him.

Desired Settlement: A refund of the remaining $449 owed to me, whether as a credit on my auto loan or as a direct refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/05) */ After reviewing the customers concern, we feel the right thing to do is to comply with the customers request. We have issued a credit sufficiant to make the customer 100% whole. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/12/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you.

11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Taken vehicle in twice to repair issues with Cruse Control. Cruse Control is still not functioning.*** ********* ***.********* gmail.com9:49 PM (38 minutes ago)to ****** **************, ******* Hi ******* wanted to thank you for your help and support. I came to pickup the car and the paint looks great. except some residue on the window. I will try to clean the residue and hope it will come off with soap and water. The window has some residuals that I don't know what it is, I will try to clean it.I am still having a the same problem with the Cruse control!I had one of the Service reps look at it and she verified there was an issue!!! This is the second attempt at fixing the issue with the cruse control.The 2nd time that this issue has been turned in and Toyota has been unable to fix the issue.Please let ******(service) know and his colleague can verify this issue she observed today. Please let the service department Manager know, the service representative, verified the issue exists and it has not been fixed.I have a Sequoia that the cruse control works well and I drove the corolla today and was able to operate the cruse control with no issues. I also drove the Camry over a week ago and the cruse control functioned properly and as expected. The cruse control on my 2013 Prius is not working properly.Please escalate this to your management and to the service manager since Toyota will have to deal with the Lemon law after the next attempt on fixing this issue. I have no grace on this issues and will use the this law very directly and expeditiously.I will also notify Toyota Motor credit/ Financial services of the issue and ask the different organizations work together to resolve the issue.Having to deal with a defect is placing a strain your resources and on ours? Please escalate and advise Royal More management to be cognizant of the situation so there are no surprises. When can we schedule an appointment to fix the cruse control issue. The cruse does not set Product_Or_Service: 2013 Toyota Prius III with add-ons

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Lemon Law help, Dealer unable to make a new car, 2013 Toyota Prius purchased on 9/24.Based on service records the dealer has had two attempts to fix the vehicle. Dealer unable to fix the car. I have requested a third attempt and would like require this to be final attempt and to invoke the Oregon Lemon Law if the third attempt is not successful to my satisfaction.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/29) */ Royal Moore Toyota has never made a repair attempt on customers vehicle. Customer showed up two different times to show our service technicians, technicians test drove and verified cruise is working as designed. Customer made appointemnt 10/25/2013 and customer pointed out to service manager and staff the cruise will not work in the "B" mode on the Prius, must be in "D" for drive mode for cruise to operate properly. We believe customer is satisfied and happy.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Royal Moore Buick GMC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart