BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ron Tonkin Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ron Tonkin Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ron Tonkin Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1988 Business started: 02/21/1980 in OR Business started locally: 02/21/1980
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brad Tonkin, Co-President Mr. Ed Tonkin, Co-President Mr. Danny Dragomir, Digital Marketing Director Ms. Lisa Nichols, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa Nichols, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. Brad Tonkin, Co-President
Principal: Mr. Ed Tonkin, Co-President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Ron Tonkin Toyota Scion

Additional Locations

  • 750 SE 122nd Ave

    Portland, OR 97233 (503) 255-7016

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: November 30, 2015 TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN; I would like to file a complaint in regards to a charge of $962.32 at Ron Tonkin Toyota in ******** ** on November 15, 2015. The requested service was to isolate and repair a noticeable noise coming from the rear chassis heard by both me and the mechanic at the time I dropped it off during our mutual test drive. I was informed per the mechanic and service department it needed front and rear U joints. On the day of the original charge I returned to pick up the car and was informed by Jack Lord that “we misdiagnosed you’re car.” I was then informed by Jack L. that the real problem now was “frothy rear differential fluid.” After the rear differential fluid was changed, I was then informed that “the noise is still present resulting in a second misdiagnosis”. I was not charged for the second misdiagnosis. I was then informed that their correct diagnosis was to “replace the differential assembly at a cost between $1600.00 -$2500.00.” At this point, I was seriously considering trading my car in. As it was in their shop, I had it appraised there and was offered only $4000.00. (Kelly Blue Book lists my car in fair condition between ($10,000-$15,000)) The dealership was well aware of the two previous misdiagnosis and offered me no fair bilateral solution. I asked them to cease work and if the car was drivable which it was. I paid the aforementioned bill and left their premises to which I immediately regretting doing so as the noise was much louder and now the car was shifting roughly and this was not a problem prior. I received a courtesy call regarding my “service experience.” I informed them of the above issues prior to trading in the subject vehicle at a competitor dealer. I had fully expected Ron Tonkin Toyota make right their error. I received no phone call and received no additional offers. I have since traded in the car. But on the bright side for the next new owner, it has new U joints which it obviously didn’t need. In my opinion, the service department was just shooting in the dark with multiple failed attempts to repair my car as evidenced by the attached receipts. I was NEVER offered or viewed the old U Joints which were replaced by their misdiagnosis. In closing, I have always had my car repaired and serviced by Toyota dealers nationwide including service experiences at the subject dealership. I have always have had stellar service until now and never one “misdiagnosis.” I feel I am owed the entire summed paid by me. Please share this with whomever you feel it may benefit. Sincerely, **** *. ******, *** **** NE **** Drive ***  *** **, *********, ** *****

Desired Settlement: Full refund for parts replaced and not seen by me and full refund for services performed which failed to fix the issue due to multiple misdiagnosis

Business Response:

Dear Ms. **********,
Ron Tonkin Toyota is in receipt of Mr. **** ******** Better Business Bureau complaint.
We empathize and completely agree with Mr. ******** concern. Our Service Advisor,
should have directed Mr. ******** concern to a Manager so that we could have
immediately resolved this issue. We regret the frustration that Mr. ****** endured.
Evan M., Service Manager, spoke with Mr. ****** and apologized on behalf of Ron
Tonkin Toyota. Ron Tonkin Toyota has refunded Mr. ****** the full amount of
$962.32. Mr. ****** is satisfied with Ron Tonkin Toyota's resolution and considers this
case closed. (Please see the attached settlement agreement.) Ron Tonkin Toyota has
been able to use Mr. ******** complaint as a training example and we have altered
our procedures regarding misdiagnosis.
Mr. ****** has vowed to come back to our store for future service and we look
forward to serving him in the future. Please do not hesitate to call me if you have any
questions.
Sincerely,
Chad E.
General Manager
Ron Tonkin Toyota
THE RON

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Ron Tonkin's response letter states " I have vowed to return as a customer, etc etc etc." Please see their copy and pasted response below. Those words were NOT spoken by me nor included in my signed release. I feel mostly financial whole. However, if Ron Tonkin would have diagnosed my car correctly the first time, I am quite sure I would have gotten an additional trade in price and / or been able to sell it personally for a higher value. The only way I would return to Ron Tonkin is if they were giving away free Toyotas. At this point, I would not recommend their services to others. Especially after reading Evan's response below. To resolve my complaint fully I expect a retraction of his written response and an apology phone call from his superior.

Sincerely,

**** ******

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

 

10/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Initially brought the car in for the oil consumption recall, after 3 weeks they gave it back to be, but in 36 hours the engine died, after towing back to the dealership was held for 4 months until parts could come in. but after having the car back for less then a month the oil consumption problem still persists and the front main pulley (Harmonic balancer) fell of while driving down the road

Desired Settlement: paid settlement

Business Response: Re: Case# ********,**** ********


Dear Ms. **********:


Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address the concern brought to us by ****
********.


Upon calling Mr. ******** to discuss his Better Business Bureau complaint, he quickly informed me
that his complaint is against ****** ***** ******* and not Ron Tonkin Toyota. According to Mr.
********,he was prompted to file a complaint against the servicing dealership since he was unable
to file a complaint against the manufacturer.

Mr. ********'s complaint arises from an oil consumption recall on his 2007 Scion TC, VIN
****************. The recalled part needed to complete the repair was on national backorder which
resulted in Mr. ********being without the use of his Scion for four months. It should be noted that
a complimentary vehicle was provided while Mr. ********'s vehicle was inoperable. Once the recalled
part was installed, Mr. ********'s oil consumption problem still persisted and consequently his
Scion was towed to Ron Tonkin Toyota. It was at this time that Mr. ******** submitted his complaint
to the Better Business Bureau.

Ron Tonkin Toyota has reimbursed Mr. ******** $140.00 for his tow bill and is currently serving as
his ambassador while he continues discussions with ****** ***** *******. Mr. ******** is satisfied
with Ron Tonkin Toyota's actions and considers this BBB complaint closed.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any questions. Sincerely,
Chad E*******
General Manager
Ron Tonkin Toyota

9/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a pre-purchase inspection done on a Toyota vehicle that we were considering purchasing through a private seller. We thought we were playing it smart by choosing a Toyota Dealership to give us a thorough inspection. They did the inspection and told us a few things that needed to be done for normal maintenance and that the AC should be recharged but overall it was in "good" condition. If we did it all it would come out to be around $1500 or so. So we proceeded forward and purchased the vehicle. When we went to a shop closer to our home to get AC recharged they said it needed to be replaced completely so we took it back to Toyota for a 2nd opinion and diagnosis. During this time they found some other issues so they re-did the inspection then told us it needed $6,500 worth of repairs and that "we (Toyota) were negligent, didn't do you due diligence, and am not sure how it made it off our lot like this the first time". Ken in the service department is awesome but had to refer me to Aric S*****. He was by far the most unreasonable and straight up mean person I have ever had a discussion with. He said they will do nothing although the two inspections are completely opposite in every way shape and form. One of many problems is that there are fluids leaking on our engine, and it is not safe to drive. For some reason they couldn't have told us there was $6,500 worth of work to do on a vehicle we were paying $8,500 for. Aric says, it's completely our fault we placed our trust in their inspection initially, we purchased the car, not them and because there was 2 wks in between inspections then there's no telling what could have been done to the vehicle. (Because obviously we'd damage are own car and put my 2 babies at risk?). I could go on with all the harsh things he said but that is enough. We even asked to purchase a newer vehicle off of their lot if they'd give us a decent discount for a down payment. They are not reliable and don't stand behind their inspections.

Desired Settlement: It would be nice if they offered to give us the difference between the work needed on the 2 inspections as we were not aware the vehicle needed all of that work after the pre-purchase inspection was completed. Or even put some of the money we lost on the vehicle toward a down payment on another vehicle on their lot.

Business Response:

Re: Case# ********,

******* ********


Dear Ms. **********,


Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Mrs.********** Better Business Bureau complaint. Ron
Tonkin Toyota apologizes to Mrs. ******** for any confusion involving the service provided on her
2004 Toyota Sienna on August 1,2015.


Mrs.******* ******** and I have spoken numerous times regarding her concerns. am pleased to report
that we were able to reach a mutually agreeable solution for all parties. As a good will gesture,
Ron Tonkin Toyota (RTT) has offered Mrs. ******** a credit to be redeemed at RTT Service and Parts
department. In lieu, Mrs.******** agrees to completely absolve RTT from any damages or claims
regarding the 2004
Toyota Sienna,VIN # *****************.


Ron Tonkin Toyota appreciates the opportunity to resolve this issue and now considers this matter
closed. Ron Tonkin Toyota looks forward to earning Mrs. ********** future business.

Sincerely,



Chad E*******

General Manager

Ron Tonkin Toyota

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* ********

8/26/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought used Toyota Prius at Ron Tonkin Toyota for $16488.00. When i looked online the car it says there is backup camera. I didn't payed attention when i was at the dealer, there is not backup camera I payed attention just on next day. I came back to the dealer after a couple days and told i want to change the car. The Dealer said-Ok you should trade in the car-, and they put the price $14500.00 I said you sold me the car which doesn't match advertising, you should get it for the same money you sold it to me. I don't need all money back, i just want to exchange it, even more expensive car. They didn't want to do nothing.

Desired Settlement: Exchange – of products that were not as promised or were unsatisfactory in some other way. Refund – of the amount paid for products or services if they were not delivered or were unsatisfactory.

Business Response: Re:Case# ********, ****** *******


Dear Ms. **********,

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Mr. ********* Better Business Bureau complaint. Ron
Tonkin Toyota apologizes to Mr.******* for the confusion involving the stated equipment on his 2012
Toyota Prius.

Prior to Mr. ********* purchase, the vehicle was advertised online as having a backup camera, when
in fact, it did not. This was a simple error by one of our employees who mistakenly checked a box
that should not have been checked. I have personally coached our Used Car Manager to double-check
that the equipment listed online is correct. I am confident that this error will not be made in the
future.

While we cannot go back in time and correct the mistake that was made, we can offer to make amends
by installing an aftermarket back-up camera on Mr. ********* Prius. I discussed this option with the
customer and he accepted our offer. Mr. ******* visited Ron Tonkin Toyota on Monday, August 10,2015
to drop off his vehicle to have the back-up camera installed. We offered him courtesy
transportation overnight while the installation was taking place. He returned the following
day, inspected the installation and was pleased with the back-up camera.

We again apologize to Mr.******* for the confusion and we look forward to earning his future
business.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The Dealer is scammer. He gave me to sign the papers before I looked on the camera. I never thought that they could install the camera like they didn't even try, and make hole in the car body, and gave me to sign faster the papers do not come back anymore.   I never thought that they could do so. When I checked up the camera, I told them to install the camera on special space where it should be, but not on the licence plate frame. Also I told them to gave me the paper  back, I will sign it when they will done everything  and they didn't want  to give it back.  So I declare that, the paper and my signature is not valid, because it was obtained by fraud.

Sincerely,

****** *******

Business Response:

Re: Case# ********, ****** *******


Dear Ms. **********,


Thank you once again for allowing us to once again respond to Mr. ********* complaint. Before I
address Mr. ********* claim that Ron Tonkin Toyota left a big hole in his car, I would like to
share all of the facts regarding the purchase of his vehicle.


Prior to Mr. ********* purchase of the 2012 Toyota Prius on July 31, 2015, Mr. ******* was well
aware that this vehicle did not have a backup camera. Mr. ******* pointed out our advertising error
as soon as he looked at the 2012 Prius. Jason B*** (Sales Associate) and Mr. ******* had multiple
discussions about the pros and cons of backup cameras. Mr. ******* told Jason that the vehicle
would be for his daughter and he thought it would be best not to have a backup camera because it
would help teach her to look behind her before backing up. Mr. ******* drove multiple cars with and
without backup cameras before ultimately deciding on the 2012 Toyota Prius.

A week after the purchase of the 2012 Toyota Prius,Mr. ******* came into Ron Tonkin Toyota and
asked if he could trade his 2012 Prius for a new Toyota Corolla. Brad O****** (Sales Manager) and
Jason B*** assisted Mr. *******. When Jason B*** presented the trade appraisal numbers to Mr.
*******,Mr. ******* became very irate. Mr. ******* demanded Jason give him $16,500 for his trade
because that is what he paid for the car a week prior. Brad and Jason attempted to calm Mr. *******
down, however Mr.******* became verbally hostile toward Brad and threatened to post negative
reviews about Ron Tonkin Toyota if we did not acquiesce to his demands. It should be noted that
there was no discussion about a backup camera. The next morning
I was greeted with multiple negative reviews on sites such as ******** as well as a letter
from the Better Business Bureau (BBB). When I received the BBB letter I reached out to

Mr. *******. I asked him about the backup camera and he said he wanted to trade his
2012 Toyota Prius for a Toyota Corolla and receive the same trade value as what he paid. I again
inquired about the backup camera and told him I would rectify his complaint by installing a backup
camera at no cost to Mr. *******. Mr. ******* agreed to bring his vehicle to the dealership and
have the backup camera installed. Knowing Mr.********* true intentions, I asked our legal counsel
to prepare a release of liability to be signed by Mr.******* once he approved the installation of
the backup camera. Ron Tonkin Toyota provided complimentary transportation while the backup camera
was being installed in the vehicle. Once the camera was installed, Mr. ******* was notified and
arrived at the dealership to pick up his Prius. During the inspection of the camera, Mr. *******
did not like where the camera was installed so we kept Mr. ********* car overnight to have the
camera reinstalled. The following day Mr. ******* did a thorough inspection of his vehicle and the
reinstalled backup camera. He was satisfied with the placement of the camera.

I prepared a response to the BBB and was going to email it the next morning. However, I received
second notification from the BBB the next morning that Mr. ******* was now stating that he had a
big hole in his car. I called Mr. ******* to ask about a hole left in his car. He said he wanted to
trade his car for the same amount he had paid. I
told him we are discussing his complaint of a hole left in his car. He continued his tirade about
the trade value. The "big hole" left in his car is a hole measuring a quarter-inch in diameter
filled in with a rubber grommet, located behind the license plate. Mr.
******* removed the four screws that hold the license plate in place to see a small hole
for the wiring of the backup camera. This small incision is not visible unless the license plate is
removed.  Driving a vehicle without the rear license plate is a traffic violation.
Ron Tonkin Toyota has fulfilled its agreement with Mr. ******* and considers this case closed. Mr.
******* signed documents stating that Ron Tonkin Toyota has fully complied with its contractual
obligation and Mr. ******* agrees to release, acquit, and forever discharge Ron Tonkin Toyota from
all claims, demands, and damages.

Sincerely,



Chad E*******

General Manager

Ron Tonkin Toyota

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

****** *******

From my side i would like to explain my bad experience regarding the purchase of my vehicle. Like for me, a back up camera is not important, but I bought the car for my daughter.  She just turned 16, and this is her first car. She want to have back up camera. That is why I came back to the dealer and asked about back up camera. I have never been in this situation, and I didn't know how to resolve it. I just thought i can  exchange the car like in any other store . After 4 days I came back to the dealer, and I asked Jason B*** if I can exchange the car. He said yes, and didn't explained any details. After I wasted about 3 hours, i chose a new Toyota Corolla. Just in that moment Jason B*** told me about the trade in, and offered $14000 for the Prius, I was confused because i payed $16500 for it.  Jason and the sales manager told me that they couldn't pay me back the same amount for it, I didn't agree to their offer and asked about the backup camera. He said they cant install it, i was upset because just after 4 days the car became $2000 cheaper and they didn't want to install a backup camera.  When i came home, i wrote a complain on BBB, on the next day i got a call from the general manager, Chad E*******, saying they could install the backup camera. When i came back they took my car a few hours and installed the backup camera. When i got my car back, i didn't look at it and signed the papers because i assumed the job was done well. After i went to look at the car and was shocked to find the camera in back installed right on the license plate and it was loose and wobbly. First thing i thought of is it breaking off as soon as enter a car wash. I showed the general manager their job and he agreed to re-due it and install it on the proper spot for a backup camera, and i also asked for the manager to return the papers i signed but he refused, he just told me they will place the camera in correct spot. I left the car for them again and came the next day and the camera was in the right spot and I was fine with it, but when i looked at the spot where the camera was installed in the first place, there was hole 1/2 an inch in the car body. I showed the hole to the associate who was returning the car to me, she said its fine and that the license plate will hide it. i understand that the hole will not be seen but its still in my car and i know about and i don't like that.  If i made a hole in someones car and hide behind something and say its fine because you cant see it, i don't think anyone would like that.  Right now their saying that they fulfilled their agreement with me. Yes, i agree they fulfilled their agreement about the camera but we didn't agree to them leaving holes in my car.  The paper i signed about claims, demands, and damages regard to before i bought the car, not made by the dealer in the future. 

5/18/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My boyfriend and I recently purchased a used CERTIFIED 2011 Toyota Rav4 with around 20,000k. We decided to opt for the extended warranty, and now that I have learned that the warranty is useless I am unsure why. Directly after we drove the vehicle off the lot, we learned the front passenger tire was low. We also learned that the radio reception was not clear and some stations were unbearable to listen to. We discovered several cigarettes in the vehicle hidden between the seats as well! We scheduled an appointment with the service department right away to further assist in providing a vehicle that meets the advertised and promised certification standards: AKA AM/FM radio reception and functional tires (non flat/low). Not only did the Service Department employees (one of which identified himself as a manager)display a condescending and spiteful demeanor, they determined my claims were illegible and the tire was "fine" as was the radio. They stated that "radio reception is fuzzy, as are all similar Toyotas on our lot We took the vehicle to an alternate Toyota dealership to diagnose our concerns. They validated my concerns and educated us on the front passenger tire. Turns out there was a nail in the tire which had "clearly been in place for an extended period of time". The also confirmed that the radio reception is far from clear and even compared my vehicle to various vehicles on their lot. They confirmed that my vehicle IS NOT similar to comparable models. I was under the impression my certified vehicle would meet specific standards related to functional tires and a working/audible radio. In truth the Toyota certification standards are low and deceitful as my vehicle did not meet the advertised standards which were promised to me. Again, audible am/fm radio and functional tires. I bought a lemon- nails in tires and non-working radio. So much for standards.

Desired Settlement: Tire replacement. Radio/antenna/reception replacement.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:nothing has been resolved. 
 Radio does not work.  They refused to fix tire.
Sincerely,

******** *******

Business Response: Re: Case# ********,Ms. ******** *******


Dear Ms. **********,


Ms. ******** ******* brought her Toyota RAV4 to Ron Tonkin Toyota with a concern regarding radio
reception and an illuminated tire pressure light. Our Service
Department inspected the tire and found no laceration. The technician then inflated the tire which
switched the tire pressure light off. Our Service Department also replaced Ms.********* antenna.
However, the antenna did not properly address Ms.********* reception concern.


Ms.******* took her vehicle to another Toyota dealership who ordered a new radio as well as a
tire, both covered under warranty. I apologized to Ms.******* for the misdiagnosis and offered her:
a complementary detail and rental vehicle. Ms.******* brought her RAV4 to Ron Tonkin Toyota on
February 7, 2015 for a complimentary detail.

After her vehicle was detailed, Ms.******* reported that she was satisfied with the resolution and
considers the BBB complaint to be resolved. Ms. ******* is pleased with this outcome and we
consider this case closed.

Please do not hesitate to call me if you have any questions.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Ms. ********* most recent letter regarding BBB Case#
********. In her letter, Ms. ******* brings up several items that I hope to clarify regarding the
vehicle that she and Mr. ***** ***** purchased on November 23,2014. Ms. ******* takes issue with
three separate items regarding her 2011 Toyota Rav4: low pressure in the right front tire, poor radio
reception and an unclean vehicle.

Prior to Ms. ********* purchase, a "UVI" (vehicle inspection) was performed and no lacerations or
nails were found in the tires. The UVI took place before the dip in cooler weather. Ms. *******
brought her vehicle to us on December 2,2014 stating that the tire pressure light on
the dash had become illuminated. We inspected all tires and found no nails or lacerations at this
time, either. Cool weather can cause tire pressure to decrease. We believe that low tire pressure
due to cold weather, not a nail, was the cause of Ms.********* illuminated tire light on the dash of
the vehicle.

Ms. ******* also asked that we address her concern with the radio reception on her December
2,2014 visit. We encountered some minor static but were not able to remedy the problem.


After we inspected Ms.********* vehicle in December and found nothing wrong with the radio nor the
tires,Ms.******* called and told us that her tire and radio were being taken care of at *********
******. We thought that both items, the radio and the tire, had been covered at no charge to Ms.
******* at ********* ******. It was after our last letter to the Better Business Bureau, that we
learned that Ms. ******* had been charged for the tire replacement. Ron Tonkin Toyota denied Ms.
********* request for reimbursement of the tire because we did and still do not believe that a
nail was in the tire when we performed both of our inspections.

It is worth noting that Mr. E******* did try to meet with Ms. ******* several times in early
March, prior to our last response to the Better Business Bureau. This was an item that Ms. *******
brought up in her most recent letter to the BBB, stating that General Manager, Chad E*******'s
comments were false regarding trying to connect with Ms. *******. Soon after we submitted the last
letter to the BBB,Ms. ******* brought her vehicle in for another diagnosis of the radio on March
21, 2015.

On March 21, 2015 Ms. ******* returned with her vehicle to look into and diagnose her radio static
concern. Ron Tonkin Toyota drove the vehicle, tested radio operation and contacted Toyota for
technical assistance. We noted that the radio was replaced recently by ********* Toyota. Toyota
Technical Assistance suggested that we try replacing the brake switch and disconnecting the blue
logic Bluetooth from the system. We did so and then released the vehicle to Ms.******* and asked
for her feedback.

As Ms. ******* did not hear an improvement in radio reception, we asked that Toyota engineer, John
K******** inspect the vehicle on April 27, 2015. John test-drove the vehicle and compared
it to like models. The static heard in both the test vehicle and Ms. ********* vehicle was identical
based on signal strength from the radio station. John performed signal tests on the antenna of the
vehicle and confirmed that there was no problem with the radio. John took the vehicle on a 6 mile
test-drive to inspect the radio while driving. John's conclusion was that the audio system is
working properly with no abnormal static. We explained our findings with Ms. ******* and released
the vehicle back to her.

Ms.********* third and final complaint is regarding the cleanliness of the vehicle when she took
delivery. We apologize that a more thorough cleaning of the vehicle was not performed. Mr. E*******
offered a complimentary detail to Ms. *******.Ms.******* accepted the complimentary detail on
February 7,2015 and thanked Mr. E*******. Ms. ******* stated that she was satisfied.

Although we do not believe that there was a nail in the tire when Ms. ******* purchased her Toyota
Rav4,nor do we believe that her radio was faulty, we presented Ms. ******* with a check in the
amount of $339.00 on May 8,2015. The check amount covers the $189.00 tire she purchased at Toyota
of ********* as well as an additional $150.00 given as an act of goodwill. Ms. ******* has
graciously accepted our offer and considers this case closed.

Please do not hesitate to call me if you have any questions.

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******** *******

5/1/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom may it concern,On May 18, 2014 I purchased a new Toyota Prius from Ron Tonkin of Portland. I had this car for a total of 5 months. I returned to Tonkin dealership to explore my options of returning this car for a different model which would be cheaper and break this contract. I was given several options, so many different figures that I truly became confused. The salesman tried to sell me a new car which is not what I came for! The salesman explained to me about the lease option plan which was not what I really desired. Again I was pressured by this salesman. He then asked me to purchase a new car. My language barrier was concern at this time too. I was placed into a leased Toyota corolla. This was not really what I desired. The next day I talked about the situation I was in and I was not happy and I wanted my Prius returned to me. I explained I felt pressured into this deal. I was told they cant do anything. Then I went to the dealership to speak to the manager. He told I cant get my car back unless I pay $4500. Then I talked to the general sales manager and he told I had to pay $4000 to return back my car. Then when I told him from the beginning I didnt understand their explanations, and I was asking clear explanation from them. Ive been disrespected, humiliated, and totally confused over this treatment. Then I talked to the general manger he told not only I cant get back my Prius but I have to purchase or lease another Prius. Again, I talked to general manager he told if I want to return back my Prius I have to pay $4700. This was the options he gave me. And now Im so confused, frustrated, Ive lost a lot money and all I want is to be treated fairly, not gouged financially into purchasing a new car or leasing. This would cause a hardship for me. I await any assistance you can give me in this matter. Sincerely,****** ******* Product_Or_Service: Toyota Corrola 2014 Account_Number: ********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want to cancel the lease and return the my Prius without financial harm to me.

Business Response: Re: Case # ********, ****** ********

Dear Ms. **********:

Around 1p.m. on Wednesday, October 22, 2014, Ms. ****** ******* along with a gentleman named *****
visited Ron Tonkin Toyota and asked for a sales associate. Yen T******, one of our sales
associates, greeted ****** and ***** then asked how he could assist. ****** told Yen, "I can't see
very well out of the back of the Prius
and would like to look at other cars." For the next couple of hours, Yen proceeded to demonstrate
multiple cars and financial options. At 3:49p.m., Steve B*****, Ron Tonkin Toyota Sales Manager,
spoke with ****** and *****. Steve shared with ****** and ***** his concerns about the negative
equity in ******** Prius. Since ****** had just recently purchased a new Toyota Prius and had
only made 4 or 5 payments, she owed $20,700 on a vehicle which appraised for $17,200. Steve
suggested that ****** keep her Prius and continue to make payments in order to reduce her negative
equity. ****** and ***** told Steve they wanted to go to
dinner and think about options. ****** and ***** returned to Ron Tonkin Toyota at
6:56p.m. and stated, "We are trying to get something done tonight." On Wednesday evening, ******
completed the lease transaction and took delivery of her new 2014
Toyota Corolla.

On Saturday, October 25, ****** and ***** returned to Ron Tonkin Toyota and asked to rescind the
lease agreement. Steve B***** initially met with ****** and ***** to discuss options. Steve
explained to ****** the new Toyota Corolla she purchased had been registered with the state and
the dealership has already been paid by the lienholder (****** ********* ********). Hence, the
2014 Toyota Corolla
is no longer considered a new vehicle and if ****** wanted to trade her Corolla then
we would be glad to assist. ****** and ***** again demanded the dealership to return the 2014
Prius and that Ron Tonkin Toyota take back the 2014 Toyota

Corolla that ****** had leased. When Steve was unable to satisfy ****** and *****'s request they
asked to speak with some above Steve's position.

BJ N*****, General Sales Manager at Ron Tonkin Toyota, reiterated what Steve had previously told
them. BJ also provided many options such as purchasing the formerly owned 2014 Prius, other
pre-owned vehicles, as well as a purchasing or leasing another new Toyota. At this point, *****
became emotionally embroiled and began using inappropriate language toward BJ. BJ asked ***** to
calm down or he would be asked to leave. ****** and ***** calmed down and asked to speak with BJ's
supervisor. BJ stated that Chad E*******, General Manager, would be in the office on Monday
October 27th.

On Tuesday, October 28, I spoke with ****** and *****. The conversation began by ****** and *****
sharing their experience. I am empathetic to their situation and offered to assist. We explored
many different scenarios over the next hour and a half. I felt that ****** and ***** appreciated
the time and effort. They left the dealership and asked if they could come back on Wednesday to
make a decision. I told them to take their time and that I would see them the next day.

On Wednesday, October 29, ****** and ***** returned to Ron Tonkin Toyota. When I met with them,
they told me they didn't want to purchase a new or pre­ owned vehicle. Instead, they wanted me to
tear up the lease paperwork and give them back the 2014 Prius. I spent the next two hours with
****** and ***** attempting to explain negative equity. When ****** traded her 2014 Prius, she
owed $20,700 which appraised for $17,200. Consequently, ****** rolled the $3,500 negative equity
into her lease agreement. Also, ****** did not want to use money out of pocket for the 2014 Corolla
lease so she applied her service contract cancelation refund as her cash down. After much time,
both said they understood and we set an appointment for November 6th to make a decision.

On November 6, I received a phone call from ***** that ****** was not feeling well and asked to
reschedule their meeting with me for November 13th at 3pm. Later
that day, I received a BBB complaint activity report. On November 13th, ***** called explaining
that something had come up and they needed to reschedule our meeting again. We have rescheduled our
meeting to Monday, November 17th at 3 pm.

We value ****** ******* as a Tonkin customer and look forward to assisting ****** in any way
possible that will satisfy both parties.


Please do not hesitate to call me if you have any questions. Sincerely,
Chad E******* General Manager Ron Tonkin Toyota

Consumer Response:

Dear Ms. **********

In the letter that Ron Tonkin Toyota sent you there is so many points that show how these people are dishonest and how they take advantage of me and other people. In the letter the general manger mentions that the sales manager offered me to keep my car. That’s not true. If he offered me to keep my car why he came with the numbers and leasing new car option. He never talk to me about keeping my car, instead the salesman explained to me about the lease option plan and convincing me that if I lease the new car I would not lose more money but if I keep my car I would lose a lot of money because most of the money I was paying would go into interest, and in long term I would lose a lot of money. Then he asked me to purchase a new car which was not what I really desired, and then asking me that I put my monthly income $3500 a month in the checking the credit while I was

telling him that my income is only 1200 a month.  I wanted something cheaper and used one, I didn’t want walk away from there again with similar or a little bit higher payment.

General Manager says my friend ***** started telling bad language. It’s totally incorrect. He got upset when general sales manager insulted me. My Friend mentioned that nobody is telling the truth here. Everybody says different things, because first the financial manager told that they can’t do anything, then sales manager told that I have to pay 4500 and then general sales manager told that I have to pay $4000 to return back my Prius. and when I explained I felt pressured into this deal and when I purchased my Prius you guys added a lot features without clearly explaining to me, the general manager told me that “you know if I go to Iran and buy a car I definitely would take an interpreter, and that they don’t have interpreter for Persian people, and that they have a high population of Hispanic people, and there required to have an interpreter for them, and you’re not Mexican. Indeed he made me out to be a stupid person, who needs to bring an interpreter along with me. Then he asked me to shake his hand and when he saw that I refused to shake his hand he dearly told me that I should leave there right away. I could not control myself and my tears fall all over my face and I started crying, and I thought oh my gosh what kind of business

is there that they not only don’t take care of the  situation but also do insult you too. My friend and sales person came to me, and they told they are sorry about that.

Other big not true point here is that the general manager mentions that I came back to dealership after having my dinner, and mentions that I told the sales person that I wanted to make a deal that night. My question is if I wanted to make a deal that night why did I keep telling the sales person I’m not ready to make a decision, and I can sell my car by myself and for more than $17000 on craigslist. The reason we came back again to dealership was my friend wanted to ask question about the Tacoma pickup that he also talked about to the salesman for himself, he wanted to know how long the deals was good for on. Then, the salesman changed the subject back to my case, and asked me what decision did you make? I told him I’m going to sell my car on craigslist by myself. Then he started distracting me again by explaining to me how hard it is to sell my car by myself, and I would be dealing with the customers and spending my money on inspections to sell the car and that they do all of that for the customer here at the dealership, and he told me that they have more advertising and more opportunity to sell the car. He took me to go look at the computer, and showed me Kelly Blue book value of my car. I explained to him whatever he

shows me I can sell my car for more than $17000 and I want sell my car by own. I told him I’m losing a lot money if I trade my car here. He tried distracting me more while he put the contract in front of me, and kept telling me don’t hesitated sign it, sign it. He made me more confused and put me in a situation that I wasn’t mentally ready for, and asked me to sign the paper which I did not want.
My Question is if I was ready to make a deal don’t you think there shouldn’t  be  any reason the salesman needed to push me or pressure me, and keep telling me don’t hesitated . If I was ready to make a deal what was the hesitation. If I was ready when I came back to the dealership we should go straight to make a deal without distracting me, pressing me or any other things.
All I want is to be treated fairly, not gouged financially into purchasing a new car or leasing. This would cause a hardship for me. I’m stressed out and it costs me my health. I got panic attack on November 6th that required 911 to visit my house, asking to take me to the ER. I can’t stand this situation anymore, and I’m using pills to cope with stress. And I’m asking for help from you. I await any assistance you can give me in this matter. This is not the first time they do this matter to someone.  If you google the Rip-off Ron Tonkin Toyota, you can see the other peoples cases. The only thing people could do is they write and most of the time they walk away because they think nobody can help them or they prefer just walk away and don’t deal with the situation anymore. But how long should this dealership continue their fraud? Taking advantage of people with

confidence nobody would speak out against them because they think that they are so more superior to people like me, that we can’t do something about it.  Don’t you think it’s time these people should get punished, and take responsibility for their actions that they put me and other people through??


Sincerely,

Business Response:

Re: Case# ********, ****** ******** *******


Dear Ms.**********:

Dear Ms. *****,

In response to Ms. ********* letter dated December 11th 2014, Ron Tonkin Toyota dealership stands
by the response submitted on November 25th 2014.In addition, Ron Tonkin Toyota offered several
purchasing/leasing options to Ms. ******* and vehemently denies allegations of asking Ms. *******
to falsify a credit statement. I would like to reiterate that the dealership has not engaged in any
illegal or unethical conduct with regards to this transaction.

Ron Tonkin Toyota has been notified by Ms. ***** ********** of *******
**********, *** she will be legally representing Ms. ******* is this matter.
Ron Tonkin Toyota is represented by *** ******* ******* of *** ******* *** ****. Ron Tonkin Toyota
is working with each respected attorney to explore options for Ms. *******.

Please do not hesitate to call me if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Chad E*******

General Manager

Ron Tonkin Toyota

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: its not my satisfaction and its not what I expected  from the dealership. I expected from that dealership to take care of the situation in a professional and fair way, and  not tell me there is nothing they can do or giving me more expensive options, and because I signed the contract  under their employees misrepresentation,  taking advantage of my trust, and fooling me and putting pressure to sign the contract,  however, I contact them less than 24 hours and I told them this is not what I wanted, they refused to  remedy the situation. From that day until now they just manipulated me and told me nothing they can do.  Now, I'm more unhappy, upset, and angry.

Sincerely,

****** ******** *******

4/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a 2015 Toyota Corolla from Ron Tonkin Toyota. I also bought a 3m clear bra to help protect the front of the vehicle. The first time they installed the clear bra, whomever washed the vehicle left wash surface scratches and swirl marks on the the vehicles painted surface and installed the clear bra over the blemishes and the clear bra itself had blemishes as well. I then talked to the GM(Chad) and the customer service manager about the situation. We came to agreement that I would drop the vehicle off the next day for RT Toyota to buff(detail) the exterior of the corolla and re-install the clear bra. I came in the next day and the corolla was not done. The asst. service manager advised me that it would be done the next day. I then came in the following day. As I got to my car, I noticed that it was still dirty on the outside and just the hood and fender was washed off. The new clear bra was installed and the exterior was not buffed(detailed) at all, except for the hood and it still had swirls. There was also a new scratch on the drivers side passenger door that was not there when I dropped it off. I showed the asst. service manager and the customer service manager. The asst. manager asked if I wanted someone to look at it, but I was scared at this point for anyone to touch the vehicle. When I asked the customer service manager why it didn't get cleaned, she had no answer for me. The clear bra still has some issues, but I am more concerned with the lack of customer service and my 2015 corolla which I bought with only 7 miles on it has scratches on it that were caused by the dealer. I just want it fixed. I paid for a product/service in a contract and they have not honored that product/service to this point.

Desired Settlement: 1) Remove Clear Bra2) Full detail on exterior of the 2015 Toyota Corolla(remove scratches and Swirls)*****When done, there should be no wax in any crevices, no swirls, no wax residue on exterior of vehicle or crevices, vehicle should be smooth to back of hand touch, etc.******3) re-install the clear bra

Business Response:

Re: Case # ********,*********** *****


Dear Ms. **********,


Ron Tonkin Toyota is in receipt of Mr. ******* Better Business Bureau complaint. We appreciate the
opportunity to respond to his concern.

Mr. *********** ***** purchased a 2015 Toyota Corolla from Ron Tonkin Toyota on
February 7,2015. Mr. ***** then returned to our store for 3M Clear Shield installation
on said vehicle. The installation of the 3M product did not meet Mr. ******* satisfaction. The 3M
Clear Shield was installed once again and it did still did not meet Mr. ******* satisfaction. I
apologize for the poor workmanship and for wasting Mr. ******* time.


I personally spoke to Mr. ***** on March 6th regarding his BBB complaint. We met at Ron Tonkin
Toyota later that afternoon. I apologized on behalf of Ron Tonkin Toyota's Service Department and
assured Mr. ***** that we would be able to resolve his concern with regard to the scratches as well
as the inadequate 3M product installation. I offered to provide complimentary alternative
transportation while his vehicle was being repaired, removal and replacement of the 3M product, a
complete detail, and a check in the amount of $110.00 for Mr. ******* time. Mr. ***** agreed to
Ron Tonkin Toyota's offer.


On March 11th, Mr. ***** returned to Ron Tonkin Toyota in order to inspect his 2015
Toyota Corolla. After a thorough inspection, Mr. ***** accepted the 3M Clear Shield installation and
detail work as satisfactory. Mr. ***** agreed that Ron Tonkin Toyota had fully complied with its
contractual obligations under the motor vehicle purchase agreements. Mr. ***** considers this BBB
complaint as being resolved.

We are thankful that Mr. ***** brought this issue to our attention so that we could rectify the
situation. Please know that I will be using this situation as a learning experience and an example
of what not to do, so that no other customer experiences this again. It is our goal to satisfy every
one of our customers. We believe that Mr. ***** is satisfied with the outcome and we consider this
BBB case closed. Ron Tonkin Toyota looks forward to serving Mr. ***** in the future.

Please do not hesitate to call me if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

7/9/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a wheel lock key two months ago by walking in and ordering the part. I was told 2-3 weeks. I was never called. I phoned the company parts department and the person who ordered my part had been moved to another location but was told the part was on order. They would look into the matter and get back with me. No call back. I then waited another week and was told that the part is not in but it should be in at any time we will call you and I waited another week. I called again and was told that yes the part has been ordered but we will call the part maker and find out what is going on and call you back. Another week goes by and still no call. I call again and am told well lets reorder the part. The person waiting on me told me that it should only take a few days since he will put a rush on the part order and that he would call me when he was off the phone with the part dealer. I waited and again no call from them. So I waited another week and called again. I was told again well lets order the part again. They have constantly asked me for my information which I have given each time. So finally after two months I call and ask to speak to a manager. I was told the manager was gone. So I called the company again today and asked for the service department since now it has become a service issue in my opinion. I complained. I did get a call back finally from the parts department telling me that they need to reorder the part and need the part number. So I told them the part number marked on the part and was told that was not what they needed. Now when I first went in I had the auto with me and the part. So why was this not dealt with originally. Why was this not dealt with during the previous calls. I then finally looked up on line and I could have ordered the part on line and get it with in 2 to 7 business days. I have now done this. I find this to be very poor service on the Ron Tonkin parts department. I have been waiting for 2 months now for a part I could have ordered on line and received with in one week. I want other people to know that this shop offers offer services and their follow up stinks. It is not how a company does business even if it is only a part under $15.00. They have an F rating in my book. Failure to provide service and failure to provide adequate communication. Failure... Failure...Failure.

Desired Settlement: I would greatly enjoy for the company to pay for my part but at this point I would be happy for everyone to know what poor service they offer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 6, 2014/06/26) */ Better Business Bureau Attn: ******* ********** ** *** **** DuPont, WA 98327 June 24, 2014 Re: Case # XXXXXXXX, ****** ********* Dear *** *********** Thank you for the opportunity to respond to *** *********'s complaint regarding the part that she ordered at our Toyota store, but never received. I called and spoke with *** ****** ********* on June 20, 2014. After a thorough investigation, I determined that Ron Tonkin Toyota Parts Department failed to communicate properly with *** *********. Since then, we have revamped our Special Parts ordering process and implemented changes in our follow-up procedures. I deeply regret any frustration that *** ********* endured while waiting for her part. *** ********* informed me that she had recently visited Ron Tonkin Toyota and ultimately received the wheel lock at no cost. *** ********* stated that she considers the issue "resolved". We value *** ********* as a Tonkin customer and look forward to serving her in the future. If you have any further questions, feel free to contact me. Warm Regards, **** ******** General Manager Ron Tonkin Toyota

4/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been waiting for the title and registration for this car for four months I have called them four times and I still have no papers.

Desired Settlement: I want them to get me the title and registration this has gone on to long.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 5, 2014/04/08) */ Better Business Bureau Attn: ******* ********** PO Box 1000 DuPont, WA 98327 April 6, 2014 Re: Case# ********, ******* ******* Dear ** **********: ** ******* has not yet received the title and registration to his vehicle. I called our DMV contact, ******* ********* and learned that *** ********** was very familiar with *** ********* title issue. *** ********** informed me that DMV is currently 30 to 45 days behind their normal schedule and ** ********* title is "in process" and should be mailed within the next 10 business days. In addition, *** ******* offered to speak directly with *** *******. On April 3rd, 2014, I spoke with ** ******* regarding his title and registration issue and gave him the most current update. On April 3rd, 2014, I received a voicemail from *** ********** letting me know she spoke with ** ******* and explained that DMV will be issuing a title within the next 10 business days. I plan on following up with ** ****** after 10 business days to insure he has received a title and registration. Sincerely, **** ******** General Manager Ron Tonkin Toyota Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/04/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) When I receive the title I will be satisfied. I think it took to long to get this problem resolved.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ron Tonkin Toyota
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)