BBB Accredited Business since

Ron Tonkin Mazda

Phone: (503) 258-3560 750 SE 122nd Ave, Portland, OR 97233 http://www.rontonkinmazda.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ron Tonkin Mazda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ron Tonkin Mazda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ron Tonkin Mazda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1989 in OR Business started locally: 01/01/1989 Business incorporated 12/29/1988 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brad Tonkin, Co-President Mr. Edward Tonkin, Co-President Mr. Ali Bulgasem, GM Mr. Danny Dragomir, Digital Marketing Director Ms. Lisa Nichols, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa Nichols, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. Brad Tonkin, Co-President
Principal: Mr. Edward Tonkin, Co-President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Additional Locations

  • 750 SE 122nd Ave

    Portland, OR 97233 (503) 258-3560

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have new Ron T***** for 50 yrs. and had his two grandchildren **** and ***** in my class at Lake Oswego. I need a new car so I contracted **** and left a message that I need to new car mine was dying. He sent a message back I'll send a car for you. This is the kind of response Ron would have out.Feb. 26, I went to the dealership after work and meet with Adam, Brett and Lance(sale mgr.) told them what I was looking for we got on the computer and found a Nissan Sentra that met my needs. Took car out for a drive looked ok and drove fine. Went in side settled on a price told them I would be back in two day to pick the car up. This gave them time to detail the car before I picked it up, right? I came to pick the car and it and garage In the door grease on floor matts, dirty smeared up window. The car hadn't been touch. I drove the car to ******************** shop and had the car check out and it had been wrecked. The Bondo was pealing off the door. The decal from a previous were still on the doors an truck. The doors were a different colors. The told did not reveal to me that the car had been wrecked ( carfax reports only show if car has been totaled). I went to my Bank and told them what had just happened they hadn't seen the contract yet so back to the dealership and ask them to "resend" the contract and pick out a different car. I made an appt. with the Sales mgr. (he was late by the way) after is days off. I took the Owner of ******************** with me to point out that this car had car been wrecked, decals showing through and dirty interior. I told what him what my bank had said he said he could not possible do that he would have to use this as trade it and I would lose a lot money! (now I'm feeling threated) when asked why that car was not detailed out before I picked it up his response I can't afford that. I went back inside to tell **** what was going on and his response was I'm on a call and you will have to deal with him. I reported this to ******* ******

Desired Settlement: An apology for a bad, bad job on there part. This not the Ron Tonkin way of doing business,

Business Response: Re: Case# ********,***** *******


Dear Ms. **********,


Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Ms. ***** ********* Better Business
Bureau complaint.


***** ********* complaint regarding her purchase of a 2012 Nissan Sentra (VIN#
*****************} on February 26,2015 at Ron Tonkin Chevrolet does not reflect the sales practices
of this dealership nor the employees therein. Mrs. ******* was assisted during the sales process by
Adam T***** (General Manager),Lance N**** (General Sales Manager),Steven G****** (Finance Manager)
and Wyatt Da**** (Sales Consultant}. Our staff worked diligently to address her vehicle needs well
within her time frame and budget.


The Nissan Sentra left our facility in detailed condition consistent with that of our company's
mandate. The vehicle's history report via Carfax did not reflect any previous total loss,
structural damage, airbag deployment, odometer rollback, manufacturer recalls or additional
accidents/damages. The extent of the use of Bondo on the Sentra was for minor cosmetic dent repair
during its previous ownership.


Ms. ******* returned to Ron Tonkin Chevrolet days following her purchase with buyer's remorse.
She did not elect to look at alternative vehicles and was unwilling to trade the Sentra for a
different vehicle after speaking with Adam T***** and Lance N****.

We hope to continue our relationship with Ms. *******; however we feel the unsubstantiated claims
against our staff and the treatment of this client are not consistent with the service we provided.
We would be happy to offer alternative inventory options at any of our family of dealerships
should Ms. ******* give consideration to trading her vehicle in.


Please do not hesitate to call me if you have any questions. Sincerely,



Adam T*****
General Manager
Ron Tonkin Chevrolet

12/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took the van within 2 weeks of buying it back to the dealer because the check engine light came on & the transmission was slipping. After 4 hours they said they didn't know why the check engine light was on all systems checked out. If it occurred again take it to the local Oldsmobile repair shop. The check engine light came on again & I took the van to the local shop as advised. They found issues w/the tranie, the window & other leaks. The extended warranty co. would not cover them because they said the dealer had previously repaired these same issues before I purchased the van. However I know owe 278 to the local repair shop and no one wants to pay for it. I feel if the dealer habeen honest and told me they had repaired these issues before I would have ale not to them from the begin

Desired Settlement: I believe that the dealership should have to pay the repair cost of 278 in order to have my van released because had they told me they had repaired the vehicle before for the issues I'm currently having I would have taken it back to them instead of the local repair shop. I also want them to repair any current issues that are ongoing with the van. I never would have taken it into the local repair shop had I known these issues had been worked on before.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/03) */ After several failed attempts at reaching the customer due to disconnected and inaccurate phone numbers, including the number listed for the customer in this complaint (the actual working number is ************** the customer was contacted for more information. The vehicle is in storage at ***** ***** ********* in Warrenton, OR and Ron Tonkin Mazda has agreed to pay the customer's $278 bill and have the vehicle towed to Portland at no expense to the customer. After evaluation of the vehicle a determination will be made as to what repairs, if any, are needed and if additional repair assistance will be provided either by the dealer or the extended service contract provider.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ron Tonkin Mazda
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)