BBB Accredited Business since

Ron Tonkin Honda

Phone: (503) 743-8975 300 SE 122nd Ave, Portland, OR 97233 http://www.rontonkinhonda.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used auto sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ron Tonkin Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ron Tonkin Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Ron Tonkin Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1980 in OR Business started locally: 01/01/1980
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brad Tonkin, Co-President Mr. Ed Tonkin, Co-President Mr. Danny Dragomir, Digital Marketing Director Ms. Lisa Nichols, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa Nichols, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. Brad Tonkin, Co-President
Principal: Mr. Ed Tonkin, Co-President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ron Tonkin Honda has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 300 SE 122nd Ave

    Portland, OR 97233 (503) 743-8975

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I purchased a new 2015 Honda Civic in December of 2014. We purchased GAP insurance as well as an extended warranty and a GPS tracking system. On 4/28/2015 my wife began attempting to contact someone to cancel the GAP insurance as well as the extended warranty and to see if cancelling the GPS system was possible because we have not had it installed and have decided we do not want it. On 4/28/2015 my wife ****** ******* left a voice mail message for the finance manager named Jess she did not receive a return call. She called again on 4/29/2015 and 4/30/2015 and again left a message for Jess and never received a return call. I called on 5/1/2015 at approximately 9:30 am and left a message for Jess and never received a return call. My wife then called again and asked to speak directly with someone and was transferred to a sales manager. I called again on 5/1/2015 at 8:30 pm and spoke to someone named Winfred who advised me that Jess was with a customer and would either return my call that night or he himself would call call me back to let me know if Jess could not return my call. As of 11:58 am on 5/2/2015 I have not received a call. Both the GAP insurance and warranty cancellation credits are refunded por-rata and every day they do not cancel these are costing me money.

Desired Settlement: I want both the extended warranty and the GAP insurance cancelled and refunded as of 4/28/2015 and I would like to have the GPS tracking system, that was never installed due to my scheduling conflicts, cancelled and credited as well as a phone call from this dealership.

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau
Attn: ******* **********
PO Box 1000
DuPont, WA 98327

5/11/15

Re: Case# ********, **** ******* *******

Dear Ms. **********,


Ron Tonkin Honda is in receipt of Mr. **** ******* ********* complaint dated May 2,2015. Before
receiving the Better Business Bureau complaint, we had already been in contact with Mr. *********
wife, ***** *******,and resolved the issue regarding the cancellation of products purchased when
the *******s purchased their new Honda. I appreciate this issue being brought to my attention so
that we can make improvements at the store level so that other customer's don't endure the same
frustration.
On Monday, May 4th, 2015 Brenda in our business office emailed the request for cancellation of their
GAP, extended warranty and GPS Tracking Systems to Mrs.******* with instructions and Mrs. *******
returned the completed forms to us via email. The cancellation of the products is now in process
and can take up to eight weeks. Mr. and Mrs. ******* will be receiving a letter from the
lienholder stating the loan has been paid off and closed. Mrs.******* will email that letter to us so
that when we receive the funds, we can send the refund directly to Mr. & Mrs. *******.

Ron Tonkin Honda apologizes that Mr. & Mrs. ********* calls were not immediately returned. We only
had one Finance Manager on duty that week as the other Finance Manager was on vacation and we were
extremely busy. We will be reviewing processes with respect to incoming calls to our Finance
Department to determine how we can ensure customer's calls are returned in a timelier manner.

As the General Manager of Ron Tonkin Honda, please know that my staff and I strive to provide
superior service for our customers and are always looking for ways to make improvements. We look
forward to serving Mr. and Mrs. ******* again in the future.

Please do not hesitate to call me if you have any questions. 

Sincerely,
Brent B*******

General Manager

Ron Tonkin Honda

2/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2005 Hyundai Tucson on September 19,2014 for the main purpose of transporting my client. Since my purchase the car has been back and forth to the to the service department at Ron Tonkin Honda. The first time I returned the car for repair because it would just shut off with no warning upon stops.I wasn't offered a loaner a had to use my old car as a means of transportation and transporting my client. The second time I had to insist that they provide me with a loaner they did but it was not a SUV type which is what I had in the shop for repair.They loaned me a Honda civic. The third time they loaned me the same car this time it wasn't detailed they just put gas in it and handed me the key. After being in repair three times over and this time was the longest period of time over a week also two weeks my mother rented me a vehicle that better suited my needs. I decided after being in the shop for repair of the same issue three times in the six weeks after my leasing the vehicle and no word from the salesman ***** ***** that sold me the vehicle, no "how's the car working out for you", no " I'm sorry your car has needed such repairs. " NOTHING. I feel like the treatment of the dealership with this matter has been way less than standard. Honestly I truly feel like because my credit isn't the best they treated me and this deal as such.

Desired Settlement: I returned the second key and the loaner car and key to the dealership to the salesman that sold me that vehicle on November 7,2014. Letting him know I wanted out of the deal because the vehicle was a lemon and I had not had the vehicle in my possession since leasing the vehicle for a period no longer than two weeks. I also informed him that his salesmanship was not superior and was not pleased with this deal and I wanted OUT THIS DEAL. He began to tell me that I would have a repo on my credit because I am returning the vehicle. I just want out this deal and for my down payment to be refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 7, 2014/12/08) */ ****************** purchased a pre-owned 2005 Hyundai Tucson from Ron Tonkin Honda on September 19, 2014. The vehicle had 172,269 miles on the odometer at the time of purchase. One week later, on September 26, ************ returned to Ron Tonkin Honda stating that the vehicle would run roughly then stop running while driving up a slight incline. The event would occur after approximately 20 miles of driving. Our technician drove the vehicle for 21 miles and was not able to duplicate the concern. ************ returned thirteen days later on October 9, stating that the vehicle would die intermittently at stops, but that she was able to restart the engine without any problem. She also indicated that it only would occur after the vehicle had warmed up. We replaced the crank sensor at no charge to the customer. The technician then drove the vehicle and did not experience any problem. We provided her with a complimentary loaner vehicle. ************ mentioned in her complaint that the loaner car she received was not an SUV like her Hyundai Tucson. Unfortunately, we are unable to accommodate every customers request for the type of loaner vehicle they desire. We must rely on what is in our loaner inventory at the time. On October 29, 2014, fourteen days after picking up her vehicle from her last date of service, ************ brought her vehicle in and stated that she was again experiencing the same issue. Again, we provided her with a complimentary loaner vehicle. We were not able to duplicate her concern and did not find any stored codes on the vehicle's computer. We took the vehicle to **** ************** for diagnosis. While under ********************* care, the vehicle died once. They found a loose vacuum hose and repaired the leak. ******************* kept the vehicle for six days and drove it at random times trying to duplicate the problem. The vehicle operated without incident. Again, we did not charge her for any repairs. ************ returned to Ron Tonkin Honda on November 7, 2014 to pick up her Tucson and return the loaner vehicle. She did not drive her Tucson, but instead handed the salesman the keys to her car and said she did not want it and was leaving it. He voiced his concern about her decision, indicating that the voluntary repossession would damage her credit. She stated that she did not care and left her vehicle at Ron Tonkin Honda. ************ had owned the vehicle for 49 days. The mileage on the Hyundai Tucson increased 1,290 miles during this period of time. In ************s Better Business Bureau complaint, she requested that her down payment be refunded. ************ signed a contract that she broke by abandoning her vehicle at Ron Tonkin Honda. We cannot arbitrarily refund ************s down payment because she decided she no longer wants to be bound by the terms of the contract. Ron Tonkin Honda technicians worked diligently to find the issue each time ************ brought her vehicle in for service. ************ was never charged for service. We deeply regret that we were unable to satisfy her. Please do not hesitate to call me if you have any questions. Sincerely, ************** General Manager Ron Tonkin Honda Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/12/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept the terms of this agreement . I do not feel that ***** ***** nor any of the sales managers did every thing that were within their ability to resolve this situation. I just want to be let out of this contract so I can preserve my credit. The vehicle was purchased for the primary purpose to transport my clients. So there was 1,000+ miles on the vehicle when I returned the keys to the dealership. The vehicle was in the shop being repaired majority of the time I owned it and that doesn't service me or my clients with no reliable vehicle to transportation. I'm just requesting at this point that I be let out of the contract. I am truly exhausted with this terrible business deal and I really don't want to the next level and file a law suit but I will if needed. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/02/03) */ ****************** purchased a pre-owned 2005 Hyundai Tucson from Ron Tonkin Honda on September 19, 2014. ************ returned her vehicle to the dealership several times to have it serviced. We resolved all issues and repaired the vehicle without any charge to ************ and provided her with a loaner vehicle each time her vehicle was in our care. ************ returned to Ron Tonkin Honda on November 7, 2014 to pick up her repaired Tucson and return the loaner vehicle. She did not drive her Tucson, but instead handed the salesman the keys to her car and said she no longer wanted the car and was leaving it. The salesman voiced his concern about her decision, indicating that the voluntary repossession would damage her credit. She stated that she was not concerned about her credit being damaged and left her vehicle at Ron Tonkin Honda. In ************s Better Business Bureau complaint, she requested that her down payment be refunded. After careful consideration, we decided to refund ************s down payment of $300 as well as request that the lender not report her voluntary repossession to the credit bureaus. We have been assured that her credit will not be adversely affected. ************ visited our dealership on Monday, January 26, 2015 to sign the rescission document, which will reverse or erase the purchase of ************s vehicle. She also claimed her check for $300 which she had paid as a down payment. ************ is pleased with this outcome and we consider this case closed. Please do not hesitate to call me if you have any questions. Sincerely, ************** General Manager Ron Tonkin Honda ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 16, 2015/02/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SATURDAY: 12/13/2014 9:15 AM:APPOINTMENT AT ***** RON TONKING MAZDA - CHANGE SUMMER TIRES TO SNOW TIRES - NEW BRAKES - REGULAR MAINTENCE OIL. SUNDAY: 2:30 SERVICE COMPLETED, DROVE CAR HOME. 12/14/2014 DROVE CAR TO PICK MY DAUGHTER UP FROM **** HOSPITAL. RIGHT BEFORE THE ROSS ISLAND BRIDGE THE SENSOR LIGHT (TMPS) CAME ON I PULL OVER ON 12TH & SE POWER. GOT OUT OF THE CAR. THE LEFT REAL TIRE WAS COMPLETLY FLAT AND ALMOST OFF THE RIM, THE TIRE WALL WAS BLOWN COMPLETLY OUT. I CALLED XXX - XXX - XXXX ****** SERVICE DEPARTMENT AND WAS TOLD THERE SERVICE DEPARTMENT WAS CLOSED AND WOULD BE OPEN AT 7:30 MONDAY AND TO CALL BACK MONDAY. IT TOOK THREE PHONE CALLS BEFORE I GOT A LIVE PERSON. HOWEVER IT DID LEAVE A VOICE MESSAGE TWICE. I ENDED UP CALLING MY INSURANCE COMPANY AND THEY CAME OUT AND PUT THE DOUNUT ON MY CAR SO I COULD GET HOME. THE GUY HOW CHANGE THE TIRE THOUGHT THE TIRE WAS DEFECTIVE. MONDAY: 12/15/XXXX X:XXAM I ARRIVE AT ***** MAZDA AND THE GUY THERE LOOKED AT MY TIRE AND SAID HE HAD WORKED FOR THIRTY YEARS AND NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE THAT HE ALSO THOUGHT THE TIRE WAS DEFECTIVE. 8:30AM THE LADY FINALLY CAME OVER AND I SIGNED A PAPER THAT SAID NO COST. AROUND 9:30 OR 10:00 SHE CAME BACK AND SAID IT WILL BE $140.00 for the new tire. I TOLD HER I PURCHASED THOSE SNOW TIRE HERE AT THIS DEALERSHIP IN 2013 THERE SHOULD BE SOME TYPE OF GAURENTEE? SHE SAID NO THERE IS NO RECORD OF YOU PURCHASING THESE TIRES HERE AT ALL. I TOLD HER I REMBERED BUYING THESE TIRES HERE ON ***** & ********* SHE CHECK THE OTHER SIDE ON TOYOTA AND CAME BACK AND SAID NO THERE IS NO RECORD OF YOU PURCHASING TIRES HERE AT ALL. I LOST MY TRUST I COULD NOT FIND MY RECIEPT RIGHT THEN AND THERE I THOUGHT THEY WOULD HAVE IT ELECTORNICLY SAVED. SHE SAID NO, WE CANNOT FIND A RECORD OF THE SALE.I TOLD HER THAT THE TMPS WAS ON WHEN I DROVE OUT OF RON TONKING THE DAY BEFORE, HOWEVER SHE DID NOT SEEM TO REGISTER WHAT I SAID. I WAS UPSET FOR SURE, I BROUGHT MY CAR TO *** ******* ALSO ON ********* I PURCHASED A NEW TIRE FOR $10.00 LESS AND WENT HOME. 12/16/2014: I STEPPED OUT TO DRIVE MY CAR TO WORK AND LO AND BEHOLD MY TIRE WAS FLAT AGAIN! SAME SIDE SAME LEFT REAR. *** ****** CAME RIGH OVER PUT AIR IN MY TIRE AND I FOLLOWED THE TECH BACK TO *** ******** THEY TOOK THE TIRE OFF AND FOUND THAT THE SENSOR A(TMPS) WAS MALFUNCTIONING. THEY CORRECTED THE PROBLEM AND DID NOT CHARGE ME. I IN THE MEANTIME DID LOCATE MY BANK STATEMENT, AND DID FIND THE PURCHASE ON FILE FOR THE TIRES AFTERALL, I PAID $356.00 AT RON TOKIN TOYOTA FOR, FOUR SNOW TIRES ON 1/27/2013. I CALLED BACK TO RON TONKIN MAZDA, AND TOLD THE SAME WOMEN THAT I NOW HAD PROFF THAT I DID PURCHASE THOSE TIRES THERE JUST LIKE I SAID I DID. SHE IN TURN SAID SHE WAS HAVING A MEETING WITH HER MANAGER RIGHT NOW AND THAT THEY WOULD CALL ME RRIGHT BACK. DO DATE NO ONE HAS CALLED ME BACK. 1/27/2013:I PAID $356.00, FOR GUARANTEED TIRES WHICH ONE FLAWED TIRE BROKE OR WAS MADE TO BREAK BY A FAULTY SENSOR. 12/13/2014 LESS THAN ONE YEAR LATER FROM PURCHASING SNOW TIRES AT RON TONKIN, I PAID $120.00 FOR THE SNOW TIRES TO BE MOUNTED AND BALANCED. I ALSO PAID $275.00 FOR THE BRAKE JOB. 12/14/2014: I PAID AN ADDITIONAL $135.00 FOR A NEW SNOW TIRE AT *** ******** I LOST TWO DAYS OF WORK MONDAY AND TUESDAY. I AM ASKING FOR AT LEAST $135.00 BACK ASAP. THIS IS THE CHRISTMAS HOLIDAYS, I LIKE A LOT OF OTHER PEOPLE IN THIS TOWN GO PAY DAY TO PAY DAY. $135.00 MAY NOT BE ALOT TO YOU ORGANIZATION, HOWEVER, I CAN'T MAKE THE CHRISTMAS DINNER I WAS PLANNING FOR MY GRANDCHILDREN. I WOULD LIKE TO BE REIBURSED BEFORE CHRISTMAS IF THAT IS POSSIBLE. I GUESS I WILL JUST HAVE TO EAT THE TWO DAYS I LOST AT WORK, THAT WILL HURT ALSO. PLEASE CALL OR RESPOND BEFORE CLOSE OF BUSINESS DAY 12/19/2014. ***** ******* XXX XXX XXXX.

Desired Settlement: REIMBURSEMENT FOR TIRE THAT I HAD TO REPLACE $135.00 TWO DAY LOST WAGES $400.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/05) */ We are in receipt of ******************* complaint dated 12/17/14. As ************ stated, Ron Tonkin Mazda mounted and balanced a set of the Pacemark Snowtrakker ST2 snow tires on December 13, 2014. ************ stated that she purchased the tires from Ron Tonkin Toyota in January of 2013, however, we have not been able to find any evidence that the tires were purchased from our store. On the morning of Saturday, December 14, 2014, ************ stated that her driver's side rear tire blew out due to malfunctioning tires. It should be noted that our service technicians are always diligent about thoroughly inspecting tires for any defects before mounting and installing tires. Ron Mazda technicians saw nothing that caused concern. Ron Tonkin Mazda felt comfortable letting ************ leave the dealership with the newly-mounted and balanced tires. We, at Ron Tonkin Mazda do not believe we are at fault for ************ tire malfunction. However, as a goodwill gesture, we offered a check to ************ in the amount of $135 to cover the cost of the replacement tire that she purchased at **********, as well as a $50 gift card. Per the phone conversation I had with ************ on December 19, 2014, she is completely satisfied with the reimbursement of the tire she purchased at ********** as well as the gift card. Ron Tonkin Mazda considers this case closed. We value ************* as a Tonkin customer and look forward to continuing to serve ************ in the future. Please do not hesitate to call me if you have any questions. Sincerely, ************* General Manager Ron Tonkin Mazda

12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Ron Tonkin Honda
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart