BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers new and used car sales.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ron Tonkin Dodge meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ron Tonkin Dodge include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ron Tonkin Dodge
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1995 Business started: 09/01/1995 in OR Business started locally: 09/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Brad Tonkin, Co-President Mr. Ed Tonkin, Co-President Mr. Danny Dragomir, Digital Marketing Director Ms. Lisa Nichols, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa Nichols, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. Brad Tonkin, Co-President
Principal: Mr. Ed Tonkin, Co-President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Ron Tonkin Dodge Inc

Additional Locations

  • 122 NE 122nd Ave

    Portland, OR 97230

  • 19300 Mcloughlin Blvd

    Gladstone, OR 97027 (503) 258-5800


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 18th at 8pm. My fiancée and I called earlier in the day to schedule a drive on a 2008 jeep advertised for $25,432. There were a few issues with it but we were told that the tire on the jeep would be replaced due to it being a safety and ruined. We were assured that it would get changed out as I'm a woman and drive children small around. This was promised to us by the finance manager as well as the floor manager. The finance system was down so the salesman Bronson said they would plug our names in first thing in the morning and call us. The 19th returned and decided that we were going to buy the Jeep. The salesman brought us a paper to sign saying as is. We said after the tire was changed we would sign it. The management stated that they would not honor that and refused to change the ruined tire. We could not believe after promising us to fix there issue we ended up leaving the dealership after putting the jeep on our insurance. Later that day the priced was raised almost $3000 then what it was advertised to us for. This is a horrible practice. I will tell all of my friends and family to never go to this dealership.

Desired Settlement: I want this company to honor what they promised us. I walked away crying from this dealership hoping I could finally get what I always wanted and the car manager and dealer screwed my over and lied to me after I had done so much to get it. I want an apology and this company to honor the agreement and reprice the jeep at what we were to buy it for. I hope this is posted. People must know how corrupt this dealership is. I spoke to two other dealerships about this and they were so ashamed that this company would do that to a single mother, not even caring to keep here safe on the road.

Business Response: Re: Case# ********,****** *. ********

Dear Ms. **********:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Ms. ********** letter.

On September 18,2015 Ms. ******** came in to test drive a 2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon SUV
VIN# *****************. As our salesman and Ms. ******** were inspecting the vehicle, it was noted
that there was some slight tread damage on one of the tires. The manager on duty agreed to replace
the tires if it posed a safety issue. Our customer agreed to a purchase price of $25432.00 and was
to come back the next morning to finalize the sale. The following morning we had our technician put
the Jeep up on the rack to inspect the tire. The technician indicated that the tread damage was
minor and was not a safety issue.

Still the customer insisted that a new tire was necessary for her to complete the purchase. Since
the tires are used and tread depth needs to be uniform on all four tires we could not just replace
just one tire.

On September 21, 2015 I reached out to Ms. ********, and offered to honor the price of $25,432 that
was previously discussed. As an act of good will,

I also offered to replace the existing 20" set of wheels and tires with an 18" set of wheels and
tires from another Jeep. After speaking with Ms. ******** and her fiance **** ******, I felt that
they were very pleased with my offer. Should they decide to purchase the vehicle, Ron Tonkin Dodge
will be
happy to have ****** and **** as our valued customers.

As far as changing the price, to stay competitive in the market we use a system that indicates
whether we should raise or lower the price based on similar inventory being advertised online. The
purchase price being charged to Ms. ******** was never in question. Ron Tonkin Dodge honored the
price agreed upon when the customer returned on September 19 and the
21,2015 and never tried to alter the original amount discussed on
September 18, 2015.

Ms. ******** opted to have the vehicle inspected on September 22, 2015 by a Jeep dealer who
informed her that other than the Tire Pressure Monitoring System light being illuminated (due to
the oversized tires) everything was satisfactory. The Jeep dealer did indicate that the illuminated
light would cause the Jeep to fail DEQ. That information has been proven incorrect as we had already
DEQ tested the vehicle and it passed.

Ron Tonkin Dodge would never knowingly compromise the safety of our customers or their families and
feel that we made a genuinely fair offer to Ms. ******** and Mr. ******. We hope to serve ******
******** and her fiance,**** ****** in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you
have any questions.
Sincerely, Roger K****
General Manager
Ron Tonkin Dodge

5/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1st issue I and my partner bought a new truck Ram Echo diesel last June, 2014. On Sunday, March 22nd my family and I and two of mine elderly parents were on our way to Belknap OR, pulling our RV (6500 lb) by Dodge RAM truck, when in about 60miles from our home on I-5 freeway our truck made a very loud noise and the engine died. I immediately pulled over and I made a call to Customer One Care and explained my situation, as our truck is under warranty. The representative sent us a*** ****** ******* to tow our truck and RV back home. The representative explained that because this happened on Sunday and no one is available to process the claim that day and we must pay all expenses and then request reimbursement after vacation. The next day on March 23rd, we went to a Dodge dealership and asked for the rental truck to go on vacation as we already had a reservation that could not be cancelled in a short time period and we took the time off from our work. They provide us the truck and asked us to pay for the rental. We had to drive to Tualatin and pick up the rental truck from ********** ****** **. The dealer having my truck in the shop since 03-22-15 and they still not able to fix the problem. It is 34 business days passed. The ******** case manager (Michelle ph. ************) called me just three or four times. I talked directly to her just two times, and every time she has no updates and just keep saying that they still working on it. I am looking for a reimbursement (cash) for this truck. 2nd issue I am requesting that you reimburse me for the amount that I had to pay for the towing RV and my truck and for rental truck. I have included all receipts and the title of my truck. I am hoping to hear back from you and get results regarding this request of mine. • Towing Truck $130.00 (I received this amount only) • Towing RV trailer $273.00 • Extra miles $141.00 • Rental truck $70.56 • Total amount $484.56

Desired Settlement: 1. I am looking for a reimbursement (cash) for this truck. 2. I am requesting that you reimburse me for the amount that I had to pay for the towing RV and my truck and for rental truck.

Business Response: Re: Case# ********, **** *********

Dear Ms.**********:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Mr.*********** letter.

Mr. ********* and his partner purchased a 2014 Dodge Ram 1500 from our dealership on June 12,

On March 22nd, 2015 Mr. ********* had the vehicle towed to our lot by B.C. Towing. At that time we
arranged for a rental vehicle for Mr. ********* at the ********** truck center in Tualatin as that
is the closest location to our dealership. The amount ********** charged Mr.********* for the truck
rental was the overage, which was not covered by ******** Manufacturer Warranty.

Since the return of that rental vehicle on March 27, 2015, Ron Tonkin Dodge has
provided one of our company vehicles free of charge for Mr. *********** use as a gesture of

We regret to inform Mr. ********* that his ******** Manufacturer Warranty does not cover
consequential damages and the bill ($273.00) to tow the RV will not be reimbursed. We were unable
to verify the charges for the extra mileage totaling
$141.00. Mr. ********* has since sent an email to Ron Tonkin Dodge rescinding his
request for reimbursement of this charge.
Ron Tonkin Dodge will reimburse the customer for the overage on the rental truck of
$70.56 and the bill to have the truck towed of $130.00 for a total of $200.56 as a goodwill

I apologize for the length of time to repair Mr. *********** vehicle. The magnitude of the repairs
coupled with the availability of the new-style diesel engine has unfortunately prolonged the
necessary time for the vehicle to be in our shop.

Mr. ********* has requested a reimbursement of the full purchase price of his vehicle. According to
Mr. *********,******** has offered to replace the vehicle instead. We are not privy to the exact
terms or involved in this agreement as it is between ******** and Mr. *********. We are merely
relaying the current status of the situation as stated by Mr. *********.

Although we are not at fault for the mechanical issues that Mr.********* is facing with his Dodge
vehicle, we can understand his frustration. As a multi-line dealer, we are happy to work with Mr.
********* to place him in a vehicle other than a Dodge if he would prefer. We will reach out to our
customer to see if there is anything else we can offer to him, once Mr. ********* and ******** come
to an agreement.

At present, we are in the final stages of repairing the vehicle and will wait for a decision to be
made by ******** and Mr. *********. We would like to resolve this issue and get Mr. ********* back
on the road in his vehicle or in a new vehicle. Although we feel this complaint should have been
made directly to ********, we look forward to assisting our customer to the best of our ability.

Please let me know if you have any questions. Sincerely,

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


**** ** *********

****** ******


5/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a 2007 Toyota Highlander from this Dealership. We initially saw the ad on craigslist and it was a 4 wheel drive. We were looking for 4 wheel drives only. We drove 40 miles to look at the vehicle and liked what we saw. Our Salesman at the time was Joseph (He no longer works there) He was a nice guy and answered our questions. There was one question we had asked, he wasn't sure about. Where is the 4 wheel drive button? He had made a phone call (in the middle of the test drive) to find that out. He told us that it was full time 4 wheel drive so hence the no button situation. Ok fine with us, we just wanted 4 wheel drive. We made a deal and bought the vehicle. Part of the deal was that they would get us another key at a discounted price through the toyota dealership because we only had one key and there was no fob. Joseph made a phone call to the toyota dealership to see what our price would be. He said about $45. Ok sounds good. Except later it ended up being $500 because the key we had was not an original, it was a vallet key. Who sells a vallet key as the only key for the vehicle? Also a week later we realized the vehicle they sold us was only a 2wd, NOT 4wd. False advertisement and a misleading salesman has shorted us as a family a lot of money. I have tried to resolve this on my own but never got anywhere

Desired Settlement: What we really want is a 4 wheel drive vehicle without having to do a trade in and lose more money. A vehicle that has 2 keys, 2 fobs, and an owners manual. Not a vallet key.This is what we wanted and thought we would get as part of our original deal!

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau
Attn:******* **********
PO Box 1000
DuPont, WA 98327


Re: Case# ********,****** ********

Dear Ms. **********:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to *** ********** letter.

****** & ******* ******** purchased a pre-owned 2007 Toyota Highlander from Ron Tonkin Dodge on
January 6,2014. Because there was only one key to the vehicle, both parties agreed that Mr.
******** would only be charged our company cost of $34.45 for a second key and
$95.00 for each key fob. Shortly after the sale, it was discovered that the only key was actually a
valet key and not an original key. Without an original key, the price to program a new key rises
substantially, adding approximately $300 (for three hours of labor) to the original $34.45.Our
General Sales Manager, Brian B***** offered to pay $224.45 for the new key and two fobs if Mr.
******** would pay for the three hours of labor (approximately $300.00) to program the
key. Mr. ******** refused the offer and unfortunately the matter was not resolved at that time. Ron
Tonkin Dodge had not been contacted by Mr. ******** until the BBB letter was received over one year

Following the receipt of the BBB letter, Brian B***** phoned Mr. ******** to address his concerns
regarding the key programming price and the four wheel drive. We believe that there may have been
a misunderstanding regarding the abbreviation of FWD (Front Wheel Drive) versus 4WD (Four Wheel
Drive) commonly used in automobile advertising. While reviewing the file, a Carfax report describing
the vehicle in question as a Front WheelDrive was discovered. The Carfax report was signed by
******* ********. Please see Exhibit A. We believe that full disclosure regarding this vehicle was
made at the time of sale and we consider this matter closed.

Mr. B***** offered to provide Mr. ******** with a newly programmed key at our expense as a gesture
of goodwill. We have scheduled an appointment on April 23rd for Mrs. ******** to
bring in the Highlander and have the new key programmed to the vehicle. Further, a vehicle will be
provided for Mrs.********'s use during her scheduled appointment on April 23rd. Mr. ******** has
indicated to Ron Tonkin Dodge that he is satisfied with this outcome and we are happy to resolve
this matter with our valued customer.
Sincerely, Roger K****
General Manager
Ron Tonkin Dodge


4/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 22, 2015 we bought a 2013 Certified Used Dodge Dart under warranty from Ron Tonkin Dodge, Gladstone, OR. On March 21, 2015, we called Ron Tonkin to get the car in and they argued with us about bringing the car in, after multiple talks with them they finally said they ‘would look at it, we then took the car back to Ron Tonkin because of the Check Engine Light and the AirBag Light coming on and the car dying while being driving. We don’t live locally as my husband is in the Navy and stationed in Bremerton **********. They said they did a diagnostic test and reset the computer. On March 24, 2015 I had to call roadside assistance and have the car jumped because it died yet again while being driven. I called Ron Tonkin on March 25th to get the car in because of it dying again while being driven and having to get it jumped. They argued with me about giving me an appointment, they claimed that I had not brought the car in before, but when I told them that I had the receipt from it being in on the 21st of March, they finally gave me an appointment for April 2nd. Then on Monday, March 30th I had to call roadside assistance again to have the car towed to Ron Tonkin, as it was dead and wouldn’t start. I talked with Ron Tonkin telling them what was going on with the car and why I had it towed to them. They said they would check it out and see what was going on with the car. Then I get a phone call from them telling me that it will cost me $214 for labor. But when I said that the car is still under warranty they tried informing me it is still my problem. Then they decided I would only have to pay half. They didn't fix anything they unhooked the amp and gave the vehicle back to me. My husband is out at sea and I am the one handling all this, it seems like they view me as a child/female so they believe they can get away with treating me this way.

Desired Settlement: I would like Ron Tonkin to accept responsibility for this problem, since they sold me the vehicle with a problem and I want them to fix it. In less than 30 days my car has broke down multiple times and that shouldn't be on me. I would also like an apology for the way I have been spoken to by the Service Lady and Multiple Managers, this is no way to keep a customer. I fell discriminated against and Ron Tonkin needs to fix it!

Business Response: Better Business Bureau
Attn:******* **********
PO Box 1000
DuPont, WA 98327

April 9, 2015

Re: Case # ************** * ******* *******

Dear Ms. **********:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Mr. and Mrs. ********* letter.

Mr. and Mrs. ******* purchased a 2013 Certified Dodge Dart from Ron Tonkin Dodge on February
22,2015. On Saturday, March 21,2015,Mrs. ******* ******* phoned Ron Tonkin Dodge regarding her
vehicle dying intermittently and the illuminated "Check Engine" and "Airbag" lights. One of our
Service Advisors,******* ********* attempted to explain to Mrs. ******* that our services are
limited on Saturdays and that they would be better served by making a weekday appointment when more
technicians are available. By no means do we  argue with our customers regarding making service appointments, but we do try to mitigate the
possibility of multiple visits if we foresee a complicated issue that potentially requires the
experience of a seasoned technician on a weekday. Mr. and Mrs. ******* decided to bring the vehicle
in to our shop that Saturday. The technician on duty scanned for codes and found no issues while
inspecting the vehicle. He then cleared the codes and test drove the vehicle himself. The codes did
not return nor did any other codes appear. Mr. and Mrs. ******* were
not charged for this service.

On April 2,2015, Mrs.******* arranged to tow her vehicle to our service center because her vehicle
continued to power off while driving. Our service center determined that a stereo amplifier was
drawing excessive power from the battery causing the failure. The amplifier was an aftermarket
amplifier, meaning that the previous owner installed the item after purchase, making the item not
covered under warranty. The technician disconnected the amplifier. The diagnosis and labor charge
were absorbed by the company as an act of goodwill to our
customer. Ron Tonkin Dodge was unaware of Mrs. ********* unhappiness until receiving the complaint
letter from the Better Business Bureau.

On April 9,2015 Ron Tonkin Dodge had a conference call with Mrs.******* concerning the aftermarket
amplifier. We suggested that ***** ****** at *** **** evaluate the amplifier to see if it could be
connected properly so that it would produce sound and not draw excessive power from the battery.
Mrs.******* made an appointment with *** **** on April10, 2015 to have the amplifier evaluated and
repaired at the expense of Ron Tonkin Dodge. On April13,
2015,Mrs. ******* reported to us by phone that the stereo amplifier had been repaired and
had not had any further issues. To be clear, Mr. and Mrs.******* were not charged at all for any
services since the purchase of their vehicle. We apologize to Mr. and Mrs. ******* for any
misunderstandings and wish them the best in their newly purchased vehicle. We look forward to
serving Mr. and Mrs.******* in the future.


3/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We test drove a 2013 Cadillac in Feb.2015 my wife asked about the navigation option because the vehicle was advertised with navigation and if it worked.Because the Cue system was not working when we test drove it, make a long story short we were told a lot of money was spent on the system and the navigation worked ,we came back the next day talked about the Cadillac we were told the vehicle was as is and no discounts because they were not making any money on the vehicle and assured us the navigation worked .We paid full price cash got it home trying to get the Cue system to work it did not.I called the sales person a few times ,finally took it to Cadillac service we were told the vehicle was never set up at all with navigation ,so it needed to many codes and parts to set it up .We also had to have the front panel replaced because some indicators stopped working as soon as we got it home.There additional service fee was $3200.00 which we did not buy.

Desired Settlement: To provide navigation as advertised and assured us worked , Cadillac navigation needs to set up from a service that works on Cadillac's

Business Response:

Re:  Case#********, ** ****** ******

Dear ** **********,

We are in receipt of ** ******** Better Business Bureau complaint and appreciate the opportunity to respond to his concern.

** ******** purchased a pre-owned 2013 Cadillac SRX from Ron Tonkin Dodge on February 1, 2015.  Unfortunately, the navigation system was not properly set up for the customer.  A part has been ordered to set up the system and should arrive at our dealership within the next ten days.  Once the part arrives, it should only take a few hours to properly set up the navigation and there will be no charge.  We expect a satisfactory conclusion to this issue at that time.  ******** has been provided alternate transportation for his use.

I sincerely apologize to ** ******* for our oversight.  We will endeavor to take corrective action so that this never happens again at our dealership.  We appreciate the fact that ** ********* brought this to our attention so that we could rectify our mistake.  We thank ** ******** for his patience and look forward to serving him in the future.


***** *****

General Manager

?Ron Tonkin Dodge

Consumer Response:  To the BBB ,
Mr. ***** of Ron Tonkin Dodge did a great job in complying to our response to the navigation issue from the purchase of one of his  vehicles .
We are very pleased with the out come ,he was very nice and took care of my wife's needs   with a loaner vehicle during the repair .
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


****** *******

12/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: was charged for a throttle body cleaning and was not done or done improperly. found out by taking to different dealer.

Desired Settlement: refund of cost of service. $219.87 plus rental charge from other dealer of $15.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 7, 2014/11/13) */ Better Business Bureau Attn: ******* ********** PO Box 1000 DuPont, WA 98327 October 31, 2014 Re: Case # XXXXXXXX, ***** ***** Dear *** *********** Thank you for the opportunity to respond to *** *****'s letter. *** ***** ***** brought his 2002 Dodge Ram 1500 to Ron Tonkin Dodge on 8/14/14. *** ***** explained that his vehicle would oftentimes bog down or lose power. A throttle body service was performed due to extreme carbon buildup. We were unable to duplicate the "bog down" after the throttle body was cleaned. *** ***** took his vehicle to ** **** ******** ***** on 10/22/14, stating that since having the TPS Sensor replaced, the vehicle would sometime die. ** **** ******** ***** performed another throttle body cleaning, this time removing the throttle body from the engine. After researching the present situation and making contact with the repairing dealer we have found our diagnosis to be accurate. Extreme carbon build up was causing the vehicle to stall. Ron Tonkin Dodge did in fact perform the throttle body service which was the necessary repair for this vehicle. Our service manager believes that some carbon may have dislodged over time and that after performing the throttle body service, some of the displaced material may have clogged the idle speed motor port causing the vehicle to continue stalling. Ron Tonkin Dodge will in good faith refund our valued customer $117.85, the amount charged by Beaverton Chrysler to perform the throttle body service. Sincerely, ***** ***** General Manager Ron Tonkin Dodge Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/11/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The symptoms of the truck never changed. There was never an improvement after the service. I made repeated phone calls back to Tonkin to tell them they did not fix the problem. However, they never responded to any of them! Due to this, I then took my truck to ** ***** To my surprise they recommended a throttle body cleaning also. I explained to them this had already been done by Tonkin. I have written records from ** ***** stating; "Throttle body was not taken off engine and idle speed motor port in the throttle body was not cleaned causing vehicle to stall at times". In person, they told me it was either done improperly or not at all. Due to this information, I am still requesting FULL reimbursement from Tonkin, for a sum of $219.87 plus rental charge from other dealer of $15.00. Thank you, ***** ***** Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/12/02) */ Better Business Bureau Attn: ****************** PO Box 1000 DuPont, WA 98327 November 25, 2014 Re: Case # ********, *********** Dear **************: While we understand the concerns of our customer, we do not agree with ********** insistence that we refund the full amount of his service. By reviewing the time lapse between the first throttle body cleaning done by Ron Tonkin Dodge and the second cleaning done at *******, it is evident that there was sufficient time for loose particulates to clog the idle speed motor port. More than two months passed between the first and second cleaning. Also, according to the ******* repair order the customer stated to the technician, "After having the TPS sensor replaced, the vehicle started to die again after driving the vehicle for one week". Ron Tonkin Dodge did not replace the TPS sensor so it can be concluded that a third repair facility was used in between the aforementioned cleanings. ********** own statement leads us to believe that the vehicle was repaired at some time and then started failing again. Although we maintain our position as being correct, we value our relationship with ********* and the Better Business Bureau. Rather than continue to dispute the matter, we will be happy to reimburse ********* for $219.87, the total service fee charged by ******* . Because ******* verified that ********* was not charged for his rental car, we will not reimburse for the $15.00 rental car fee. We value ********** opinion and hope to continue to do business with him. We trust that reimbursing ********* for the service completed at ******* will resolve the matter to everyone's satisfaction. Please let me know if I can be of further assistance. Sincerely, *********** General Manager Ron Tonkin Dodge ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 14, 2014/12/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept the the resolution and refund of money but,to be clear they did replace the said part and they did charge me for the rental and i will gladly show receipts to prove so if needed.

11/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brought truck in for service of a/c unit which was affected from previous repair at this location. Showed up for appt and repair was not completed instead received a call stating the truck could not leave the dealership because the truck rotors were in poor condition and had to be replaced. I do not feel a truck should be held hostage and being told we have to do anything. Showed up to pick up the truck and had to wait over an additional hour after closing to get my truck and found that they never did the ac stating that they parked the truck on the other side and it was inconvenient to move. Was charged over $900 for rotors when I would not choose to have them done at your location but was forced to allow it to get my truck back.

Desired Settlement: I would like reimbursed the difference of what I would have paid at the mechanic I use for such repairs. I would also like my a/c fixed which is under warranty but I would like it fixed on the appointment date first thing in the morning not put off till later in the day.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 5, 2014/10/31) */ Better Business Bureau Attn: ****************** PO Box 1000 DuPont, WA 98327 October 28, 2014 Re: Case*********, *************** Dear **************: Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Mr. ***************'s letter. ************ brought his 2012 Dodge Ram 2500 (a commercial vehicle with a crane) to our dealership on September 23, 2014 to have a recall completed. At that time, Ron Tonkin Dodge completed a software update for the powertrain control module. Sometime after that update, the air conditioner in ************'s truck failed. ************ brought the truck back to Ron Tonkin Dodge on October 14, 2014, assuming the failure was caused by the software update. At that time, he also requested the front and rear rotors be resurfaced and brake pads be replaced. After machining the front rotors and brake replacement, the technician found the rear rotors to be below minimum thickness. According to manufacturer specification, this minimum calls for replacement of the rotor assembly as dictated by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. These conditions are safety issues that we as a dealer cannot ignore. The customer was contacted and informed of the condition of the rotors. ************ requested we wait for him to personally inspect the vehicle at which time we honored his request. ************ arrived around 4:00 pm and viewed the rotors with our Service Advisor, ******* ********* and agreed they were unsafe and thanked ******* for bringing this matter to his attention. After being given verbal authorization by **************, our technician stayed after department hours to replace ************'s rear rotors and brakes. ************ declined to have us proceed with a diagnosis of the air conditioning issue due to time restraints. In summary, our service department took appropriate steps to ensure the safety of ************ and other drivers. ************** was informed at every step and made all decisions regarding his vehicle. ************** was not overcharged. In fact, Ron Tonkin Dodge absorbed additional labor required due to the size of his commercial vehicle as a goodwill gesture. At no time was his vehicle "held hostage"; ************ was simpl informed that Ron Tonkin Dodge was liable for any repairs performed and would not complete the job in an unsafe manner. As a goodwill gesture, we will diagnose his air conditioning concern at no charge but cannot guarantee coverage under his extended warranty until an accurate diagnosis has been performed. We will do our best to accommodate ************'s schedule along with the schedules of our other customers. Sincerely, *********** General Manager Ron Tonkin Dodge

4/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle on February 1st from Ron Tonkin Dodge. My husband and I were told there were no mechanical issues with the vehicle. 22 days later the vehicle is not longer running and needs a new transmission. The service department said it wasn't anything we did it's something that occurred over time with the vehicle. Now I am being charged $2,100.00 for a vehicle we had for 22 days. We asked them to work with us since we had the vehicle for such a short period. We're being told there is nothing they could do. This is our only vehicle. We cannot afford this as we just financed the car. So now we have monthly payments on a vehicle we cannot fix or drive. Ron Tonkin did not disclose the mechanical problems.

Desired Settlement: Make a deal/settlement on the car repair that is fair since we were sold a broken car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 26, 2014/03/28) */ Better Business Bureau 1000 Station Drive, Suite 222 Dupont, WA 98327 March 28, 2014 Re: ***** **** - XXXXXXXX Dear *** *********** On February 1, 2014, ***** **** and ***** ****** purchased a 2005 Dodge Durango with 126,761 miles on the odometer. They had signed all documents including the buyers guide, purchase order and Finance Contract stating that the vehicle was sold "as is" and that the dealer assumes no responsibility for repairs. All of our vehicles have a used vehicle inspection and safety check along with a Vehicle History Report pulled prior to sale. If a vehicle does not meet our requirements, we will not sell the vehicle to a retail customer. This vehicle met the requirements and was sold to ***** **** and ***** ******* The customers were presented with mechanical breakdown insurance options which they declined. On February 24, prior to our knowledge of a complaint filed, the vehicle was brought in to our Service Department. At that time, we installed a pump and converter in the transmission. On the morning of March 17th, our Sales Manager, ***** ****** contacted the customer to ensure their satisfaction with the vehicle. After confirming that they were satisfied, ***** asked them to contact him directly if they have any further issues. The issue has been resolved and we consider the case closed. Sincerely, ***** ***** General Manager Ron Tonkin Dodge ************ ******@******.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 28, 2014/03/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) It took over a week for Ron Tonkin to even discuss repairs on our vehicle. Only after I stated complaints had been filed did Ron Tonkin start listening to our complaint and concerns. But yes repairs have been made and we have a contact person should other issues arise.

1/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned a car I bought after two weeks because I realize it didn't have air conditioning which is one of the things I requested when I was talking to the sales person. I felt I was pressured into buying a second car I didn't want. They said that was I best they could do because of my budget. If they couldn't give me what I wanted the first time they should of told me. They got my trade in and $1500.00 and I felt very pressured and now I have a car that's more money than I wanted to send and I don't like it. They need to stand by what they sell.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back or to get a car that I want that's in my budget.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/19) */ Better Business Bureau of Oregon Re: BBB Complaint Case# XXXXXXXX Customer: ***********, ***** December 17, 2013 To Whom It May Concern, ***** *********** purchased a new Dodge Dart from our dealership on November 25, 2013. At the time of purchase she paid a down payment of $1500.00 and traded in a 2004 Kia Optima with 130K miles on it. When she purchased the New Dodge Dart, she reviewed and signed (see attached) a copy of the VIN summary which shows all the equipment on the vehicle. We were not aware that *** *********** was unhappy with her decision to purchase the vehicle until she returned to our dealership on December 9, 2013 stating that she wanted a vehicle with Air Conditioning. She traded in the Dart and purchased a Factory Certified Pre-Owned 2012 Dodge Avenger that she chose as it did have Air Conditioning. **** ******* our New Car Sales Manager told *** *********** on a couple of occasions that we want her to be completely satisfied and if she didn't like the Avenger, we can find her a different vehicle that may suit her wants and needs. Throughout the entire process working with ****** ******** the Sales Consultant, **** ******* New Car Sales Manager and ** ***** Finance Manager, *** *********** showed a lot of excitement about the Avenger and made the decision to purchase the vehicle. We have not heard from here since she purchased the Avenger until we received this complaint. Our General Sales Manager, ***** ******* upon receiving the complaint, called the customer in an attempt to resolve the matter and left a message for her to call him back. At this writing, he has not received a response back from *** ***********. Sincerely, ***** ***** General Manager Ron Tonkin Dodge Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/12/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was not happy with the vehicle that they had chosen for me after I had return with the car I bought that didn't have air conditioning. I told them several times in the almost five hours that I was their trying to fix this problem that I didn't like the Dodge Avenger it was to big and I didn't feel comfortable driving it and it was more money than I wanted to spend. I wanted to keep my payment around $250 a month now the second car was going to cost $316 a month. They said that was the best they could do. I asked again before signing the paperwork if I had any other choices they said no again at this point I didn't feel I had any other choice I needed a car and they already had my trade in and $1500 cash. I left very upset and in tears and I didn't show a lot of excitement as Shun Cooper has stated in his reply. I'm still not happy and I'm sure how to fix this mess. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/01/06) */ BBB Complaint Case # XXXXXXXX Customer: ***********, ***** December 30, 2013 To whom it may concern, We are more than happy to assist *** *********** in acquiring a vehicle that meets her satisfaction with regards to size, options and payment. Unfortunately, since we are trying to keep her payments as close as possible to her budget we are limited in vehicle choices that is equipped how she wants and is the size she wants. As stated in our previous response, ***** ****** contacted *** *********** and invited her to come into the dealership to see if we could get her into a different vehicle that would make her happier. Sincerely, ***** ***** General Manager Ron Tonkin Dodge

5/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service