BBB Accredited Business since

Ron Tonkin Acura

Phone: (503) 292-0662 Fax: (503) 291-5198 View Additional Phone Numbers 9655 SW Canyon Rd, Portland, OR 97225 http://www.rontonkinacura.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ron Tonkin Acura meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ron Tonkin Acura include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ron Tonkin Acura
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1989 Business started: 01/29/1986 in OR Business started locally: 01/29/1986
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brad Tonkin, Co-President Mr. Ed Tonkin, Co-President Mr. Danny Dragomir, Digital Marketing Director Ms. Lisa Nichols, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa Nichols, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. Brad Tonkin, Co-President
Principal: Mr. Ed Tonkin, Co-President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Additional Locations

  • 9655 SW Canyon Rd

    Portland, OR 97225 (503) 291-5195 (503) 292-0662

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/27/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I own a 2010 Acura TL, SH-AWD with Tech Package. The vehicle is equipped with Premium Milano leather on all seating surfaces. On the driver's side upper seat bolster, the taupe leather is wearing away. Likewise, on the lower driver's side seat cushion(area closest to entry/exit), the leather is loosing it's shape. The vehicle only has 27k miles and I meticulously maintain my vehicle and condition the seats on a regular basis. According to Ron Tonkin Acura, this is "normal wear & tear" and is not covered under the vehicle's warranty. I've owned multiple Acura's in the past with factory leather seats and have never had this problem. As a loyal Acura customer, I'm asking that the kleather on thedriver's seat be repaired.

Desired Settlement: I'm asking that the driver's side upper seat bolster and lower seat bolster (both areas closest to exit/entry)be replaced.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 5, 2014/05/21) */ Better Business Bureau Attn: ****************** PO Box 1000 DuPont, WA 98327 May 20, 2014 Re: Case # ********, *********** Dear **************: Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to respond to ********** concern regarding the condition of the leather on his 2010 Acura TL. At this time we are in the process of arranging a meeting with********** and our Acura District Service and Parts Manager for the date of May 23, 2014. It is typical for a four year old vehicle to perhaps show signs of wear in this area of the seat. However, to ********** point, if he feels this is excessive we will certainly advocate his cause and request assistance from Acura under the Manufacturers Warranty, or as a Goodwill gesture. We do recognize********** as a longtime, loyal Acura client. It is our intention to find a resolution that is satisfactory to**********. Sincerely, ********* General Manager Ron Tonkin Acura Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I've been contacted by the Service Manager at Ron Tonkin Acura and he has informed me that a replacement driver's side leather seat cover has been ordered for my vehicle and will be installed under warranty. The seat cover should arrive next week. At that time, I'll take my vehicle in to have the seat cover replaced. I'm very hopeful that this will resolve the problem. Once the seat cover is satisfactorily replaced, I will then end my complaint with the Better Business Bureau. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2014/05/27) */ I've been contacted by the Service Manager at Ron Tonkin Acura and he has informed me that a replacement driver's side leather seat cover has been ordered for my vehicle and will be installed under warranty. The seat cover should arrive next week. At that time, I'll take my vehicle in to have the seat cover replaced. I'm very hopeful that this will resolve the problem. Once the seat cover is satisfactorily replaced, I will then end my complaint with the Better Business Bureau.

7/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased a used Chevy Tahoe. It was advertised that it had the "Towing Packing". There is 1 towing package available on this car. I also was told by the sales person (***** ****) that the car did have this option. After taking the car home, I checked the owners manual, and found this car did NOT have the towing package. This is an important issue, since it increases towing from 5100lbs to 8200lbs. I called them within 3 hours of buying the car to see if I could return the car, or have the option added. The absolutely refused to take the car back (even though they lied and misrepresented the product).

Desired Settlement: I would like them to take the car back, or pay me the difference for me to trade it in to get a car with the towing package.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/06/26) */ We have, by customer request, taken the vehicle back (rescinded the transaction). That happened on 6-17-2013. The vehicle was equipped with a tow package. What we did not know, since we are not a Chevrolet dealer, is there are two options for a tow package: * + / - 5200 lb capacity * + / - 8000 lb capacity This particular vehicle is equipped with the 5200 lb package, and the customer needed the higher capability. We investigated further to see if the additional equipment could be added to upgrade the capacity, but it could not be. Therefore, we rescinded the transaction. It should be noted that calls to four different Chevrolet dealerships generated different responses to our questions regarding tow capacity. Please let me know if you need any further information. Thank you, *** ***** General Manager Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 6, 2013/06/20) */ Hi The business did resolve my complaint (let me return the car). It was only after I hired an attorney. Thanks *****