BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1989

Ron Tonkin Acura

Phone: (503) 292-0662Fax: (503) 291-51989655 SW Canyon Rd, PortlandOR 97225-2909 Send email to Ron Tonkin AcuraView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1989

BBB has determined that Ron Tonkin Acura meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Ron Tonkin Acura's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Ron Tonkin Acura

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
05/27/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I own a 2010 Acura TL, SH-AWD with Tech Package. The vehicle is equipped with Premium Milano leather on all seating surfaces. On the driver's side upper seat bolster, the taupe leather is wearing away. Likewise, on the lower driver's side seat cushion(area closest to entry/exit), the leather is loosing it's shape. The vehicle only has 27k miles and I meticulously maintain my vehicle and condition the seats on a regular basis. According to Ron Tonkin Acura, this is "normal wear & tear" and is not covered under the vehicle's warranty. I've owned multiple Acura's in the past with factory leather seats and have never had this problem. As a loyal Acura customer, I'm asking that the kleather on thedriver's seat be repaired.

Desired Settlement
I'm asking that the driver's side upper seat bolster and lower seat bolster (both areas closest to exit/entry)be replaced.

Business Response

Better Business Bureau
Attn: ******************
PO Box 1000 DuPont, WA 98327

May 20, 2014

Re: Case # ********, ***********

Dear **************:

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to respond to ********** concern regarding the condition of the leather on his 2010 Acura TL.

At this time we are in the process of arranging a meeting with********** and our Acura District Service and Parts Manager for the date of May 23, 2014.

It is typical for a four year old vehicle to perhaps show signs of wear in this area of the seat. However, to ********** point, if he feels this is excessive we will certainly advocate his cause and request assistance from Acura under the Manufacturers Warranty, or as a Goodwill gesture.

We do recognize********** as a longtime, loyal Acura client. It is our intention to find a resolution that is satisfactory to**********.

Sincerely,

*********
General Manager
Ron Tonkin Acura

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I've been contacted by the Service Manager at Ron Tonkin Acura and he has informed me that a replacement driver's side leather seat cover has been ordered for my vehicle and will be installed under warranty. The seat cover should arrive next week. At that time, I'll take my vehicle in to have the seat cover replaced. I'm very hopeful that this will resolve the problem. Once the seat cover is satisfactorily replaced, I will then end my complaint with the Better Business Bureau.

Final Consumer Response
I've been contacted by the Service Manager at Ron Tonkin Acura and he has informed me that a replacement driver's side leather seat cover has been ordered for my vehicle and will be installed under warranty. The seat cover should arrive next week. At that time, I'll take my vehicle in to have the seat cover replaced. I'm very hopeful that this will resolve the problem. Once the seat cover is satisfactorily replaced, I will then end my complaint with the Better Business Bureau.

07/10/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I recently purchased a used Chevy Tahoe. It was advertised that it had the "Towing Packing". There is 1 towing package available on this car. I also was told by the sales person (***** ****) that the car did have this option. After taking the car home, I checked the owners manual, and found this car did NOT have the towing package. This is an important issue, since it increases towing from 5100lbs to 8200lbs. I called them within 3 hours of buying the car to see if I could return the car, or have the option added. The absolutely refused to take the car back (even though they lied and misrepresented the product).

Desired Settlement
I would like them to take the car back, or pay me the difference for me to trade it in to get a car with the towing package.

Business' Initial Response
We have, by customer request, taken the vehicle back (rescinded the transaction). That happened on 6-17-2013.

The vehicle was equipped with a tow package. What we did not know, since we are not a Chevrolet dealer, is there are two options for a tow package:
* + / - 5200 lb capacity
* + / - 8000 lb capacity
This particular vehicle is equipped with the 5200 lb package, and the customer needed the higher capability. We investigated further to see if the additional equipment could be added to upgrade the capacity, but it could not be. Therefore, we rescinded the transaction.

It should be noted that calls to four different Chevrolet dealerships generated different responses to our questions regarding tow capacity.

Please let me know if you need any further information.

Thank you,

*** *****
General Manager

Consumer's Final Response
Hi

The business did resolve my complaint (let me return the car). It was only after I hired an attorney.
Thanks
*****

04/02/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1989Business started: 01/29/1986
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE
Salem, OR97314-5000
(503) 299-9999
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv

Contact Information
Principal: Ed Tonkin (Co-President)Customer Contact: Ms Lisa Nichols (Complaints)Mr. Danny Dragomir (Digital Marketing Director)Mr. Brad Tonkin (Co-President)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ron Tonkin Acura

9655 SW Canyon Rd

Portland, OR 97225-2909

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 9655 SW Canyon Rd 

    Portland, OR 97225-2909

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ron Tonkin Acura is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.