BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto sales and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Northwest Chrysler Jeep Dodge meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Northwest Chrysler Jeep Dodge include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Northwest Chrysler Jeep Dodge
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1979 Business started: 01/01/1975 Business started locally: 01/01/1975 Business incorporated 10/06/1987 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert McGrain, President Mr. Robert McGrain Jr, Sales Contact
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert McGrain, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Radiators - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Air Conditioning Equipment New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Beaverton Dodge Bee Rent A Car Bryan Bickmore Dodge Inc Northwest Jeep Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Northwest Chrysler Jeep Dodge has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10600 SW Canyon Rd

    Beaverton, OR 97005 (503) 646-5111

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took our van for brake issues and loss of coolant issues on 4 different occasions. The initial visit came back as needing new brake pads and a supposed visible leak. we declined services and had other services done. After replacing brake pads the issue was still there and we could find the leaks. We took it back. There was actually an issue with the brake calipers and they fixed that without charging since they admit they missed it. Hoses were also replaced. As soon as we drove off the same issues were still there. We called them to let them know. They asked us to return. We were told there was nothing wrong and the smell and burning was residual and they washed off the engine and hoses. 3 weeks later we were still smelling coolant, losing it, and seeing it burning. We send photos to service manager who asked us to take it back. This time it turns out the engine had been damaged due to being over heated and now we need it repaired they estimated a job at over 3000 dollars. Service manager than said he would work with us and charge 2900. They blame it on not getting the hoses changed the first time but clearly changing the hoses didn't fix the problem. They missed the problem all together. We took it to another repair shop for a second option and it turns out we don't need to repair the engine we just need a new freeze plug. it passed a block test 3 times. Northwest dodge said it failed it.

Desired Settlement: We wold like our money back for the services we paid for. Had we known this information from the very first visit we would have used the money for a down payment on a new vehicle from NWJCD. I had already received an approval for a new vehicle from Nick in sales.

Business Response:

 

The *****’s brought their vehicle in on 02/11/2016 with 122,422 miles. The last time we saw their vehicle prior to that was 5/5/12 when it had 51,738 miles on it.   They had multiple oil leaks, a tuneup was required, and it smelled coolant. We noticed that there was non-factory hoses installed that someone one else did.   They agreed to do majority of the work except for the coolant leak. The next time we saw their vehicle was on 03/23/2016 with 123,662 miles. The customer  was requesting us to replace the hoses.  On 03/28/2016 with 123991 miles on it, the vehicle brakes are making noise and still smelling coolant. Our techs could not find a leak, but found residue on cross member bar. On 04/19/2016 with 125,000 miles on the vehicle, coolant reservoir had to be filled twice. Tested for gases in coolant, found gases in coolant, which is either from a head gasket or possible cylinder head. We found freeze plugs, timing cover leaking. Heater hoses are not on a routine maintenance schedule, we replace a set per week because they leak. The Customer drove the vehicle after we recommended fixing the leaks. NW Jeep feels the overheating of their vehicle is due to the driving performed after our recommendations and the aftermarket hoses also contributed to the vehicle overheating.

 

3/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2015 Chrysler 200s in 2014, brand new at this dealership. Within the six months of having it i ran into issues with all the lights in shifter coming on and it seizing up. I live in ******. The dealership asked me to bring it back to them to look into. They gave me a car to use while they had mine in the shop. I had to leave my car for a week. This happened again and i had to take it back to Portland, a 2 hr drive for me. I had to pay gas for my car back and forth, and the rental refilled when i returned it. This happened 4x my car was there anywhere from 1-3 weeks each time. They had problems finding out the issue. My car was returned 2x real dirty, and low on gas from when i dropped it off. I contacted the dealership regarding these issues, no one ever called me back, i left several messages with the manager in the maitenance department after this happened each time. No calls ever were returned. I talked to the person working with me Aaron N***** in the shop about the manager never calling me back, he said the manager told him to deal with it. However he never addressed my car being left so dirty and low on gas both times. I then said will someone cover my gas expenses since i have had to bring my car back to Portland so many times over the same issue. He said he would talk to the manager. Aaron then told me they said they would cover gas if I sent in all my receipts. So I did that. I waited amd waited, nothing. I contacted Aaron he said they were looking into them that someone should be calling me, they never did. Then i contacted the main manager via email, he replied and said they would look into it and someone would contact me. No one ever did, so I called and left a message at front desk, no call back. I then sent out yet another email to the owner, and manager. I have to this day never heard back from anyone. This was a couple months ago. My car was found to be a lemon through the Chrysler head dealership. I have emails for proof.

Desired Settlement: Refund for the gas they promised, the money for gas they used and never replaced while test driving my car, and a credit or money for a detail since 2 of the times I left car for up to 3 weeks it was returned horribly dirty.

Business Response:

BBB,

The customer purchased a vehicle from our dealership. There is a Chrysler dealership in ****** where she lives.  She had the option to drive her vehicle there for any warranty work.  She decided to take her vehicle to our dealership to look at her concerns and passed several dealerships along the way. When the problems of her vehicle persisted, we worked with the manufacturer to get her into a new vehicle, which she purchased at the dealership where she lives.  Northwest Jeep Chrysler Dodge did not promise her any refunds for gas or money for a detail during the period in which we were assisting getting her vehicle bought back.   

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I have emails stating they said if i got them the receipts they would pay for the gas. I was told by that dealership to bring my car there. Thats why i was so frustrated. Why would i drive 2hrs if i did not think i had to. I have witnesses, and they left my car a mess 2x.. They are being dishonest.
Sincerely,

****** ****

Business Response:

The email correspondence we had was to reach out to the manufacturer and see if they would reimburse her for gas.   FCA declined reimbursement. 

Our dealership will always invite our customers to come back and service their vehicles at our store

and she has stated that she doesn't feel comfortable bringing her vehicle to her local Chrysler store for service.  We didn't state that she has to bring her vehicle back to the store she purchased it from in order to receive service or assistance in exchanging the vehicle. 


Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

****** ****

3/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I relied on the expert in the field, my local Jeep dealership, to maintain my 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. I was diligent in maintaining recommended service appointments, and no issue was ever brought to my attention that needed further action, on my part. On January 17, 2016, about 1,000 miles after my last service appointment, my engine seized, from lack of oil. Actual experts in the industry have advised me that my particular engine starts to burn oil at about 65k miles, and at about 100k miles, needs the oil level checked between service dates. None of this, nor the fact that my oil was low every time I brought it in for service, was ever communicated to me. Further, my oil gauge started behaving very strangely, about two years ago. I brought this to the attention of NW Jeep. They couldn't determine the root of the problem, and said that it wasn't doing it anymore, after being serviced. I experienced this same problem each time I got close to my service date. NW Jeep is now saying that they never diagnosed that issue. True, it was never diagnosed, but should have been. NW Jeep never documented that they attempted to diagnose. My engine is now being replace at a catastrophic cost of a minimum of $8,300.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement for replacement of engine.

Business Response:

Customer ***** started bringing her Jeep into our service department on August 17th, 2013 with over 130,000 miles on it.  She continued to bring her vehicle in for oil changes and regular maintenance items.  On four different times in our shop we noted that there were oil leaks underneath her Jeep.  We noted on 9/6/14 and 1/24/15 that the leaks were in a status of “yellow” meaning that it will require attention in the future. On 7/2/15 and 10/10/15 the leaks were in a status of “red” meaning we recommend that action be taking immediately to prevent any future concerns.  Our Service department noted that there are oil leaks four different times and recommended that we diagnose the leaks. We need to pay our technicians time to diagnose the leaks. It is up to the customer to decide whether or not they want to proceed  in fixing the items we recommend to them.  Northwest Jeep Chrysler Dodge is not responsible for engine replacement.

11/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my jeep here for a 60K checkup. After they had it for two days I was informed that there was now a clicking sound and I would need to replace the lifeters ($1500). I took my Jeep home and contacted them to look again as I was dissatisfied, upon a second look they said I needed a completely new engin ($5500). I brought my jeep to another repair shop and was told that it was most likely 'dry ran' (without oil) and that blew the engine. My insurance adjuster agreed so insurance paid for the majority of the repairs ($5500), but I still had to pay almost $2000 out of pocket. Considering all proof and expert opinions, I'd expect a reimbursement for my out of pocket expenses.

Desired Settlement: reimbursemnet for out of pocket expenses due to this mechanics negligence.

Business Response:

**** ****** purchased his vehicle from Dick Hannah on 08-09-2009, which at that time had a lifetime warranty on the powertrain items. First time NW Jeep had seen the vehicle was on 03/15/2013 with 43,842 miles on the vehicle.A 30,000 mile maintenance had not been performed. We performed a 30,000 mile service and replaced the rear brake pads and rotors. The next visit was on 05/04/2015 with 59735 miles on vehicle, which came in for a  60,000 service. We had not seen his vehicle since his 30,000 mile service.  When draining the oil, the oil was black and only 2 ½ quarts of oil came out. After filling the oil there was a ticking noise coming from the motor, which was noted on the repair order. **** ****** contact our service manager, Dennis T**** regarding the issue in July and we reinspected the vehicle and we suggested a replacement engine. His girlfriend picked up the vehicle. Dennis T**** told his girl friend to have **** provide me with oil changes over the last two years in an attempt to help get the engine covered under the lifetime warranty.  They could not at that time. We did not hear from **** until 11/09/2015 saying he has sent us to BBB and will take us to small claims court.  After hearing from Josh, Dennis T**** called him back with Rob F******* from Chrysler and Ron H*********, our shop foreman in his office. **** mention that we must have started the motor up dry
without oil in the engine. Our records show that no oil changes had been performed for 15,893 miles.  We asked that he provide oil change receipts to try and get the engine covered and he said didn't need to produce them.  

Vehicle engine is known to burn oil every 1000 miles, Per technical asst case # ********.

Owners manual states to check oil every time you add fuel between oil changes.

Customer did not follow Life Time warranty coverage 5 year warranty inspection. Life Time Warranty is voided because the customer did not have his vehicle inspected through July 9th, 2014 to October 9th, 2014.

This issue would have been covered under warranty if **** ****** had 5year powertrain warranty performed and provided us oil change receipts.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I have pictures of my engine which were faxed showing that all parts of my engine have been taken care of.  There is not now, nor was there ever 'sludge' in the engine (again, I have pictures showing how pristine it looks).  As well, I have a reputable mechanic that is willing to testify in court that in his professional opinion the engine was dry ran and that's what caused the damage.  Insofar as my 60K checkup went, I was never told of any 'ticking' prior to services because it happened after the service was performed.  It even states this in the invoice.  I don't have copies of all my oil changes.  Sorry, but that's beside the point.  My car worked perfectly fine, I brought it to this business, and when they gave it back, it was broke.  That's it.
Sincerely,

**** ******

9/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a brand new 2015 Jeep Cherokee. Shortly after purchasing this vehicle we started experiencing issues which lead us to questioning the rather large purchase we made. Within the last week, we have received a safety recall in the mail. This recall states that the power lift gate control module electrical connector(s) could allow water intrusion and cause the module to become inoperative and/or cause a fire. There is one more safety recall on our vehicle, which is exploitation of the software vulnerability which may result in unauthorized remote modification and control of certain vehicle systems, increasing the risk of a crash. We are a single income family and we purchased this brand new Jeep to ensure the safe travel of our new born child and one year old daughter, not to have the strain and constant worry of what could happen. Over the last three months we have experienced issues with the transmission on our Jeep Cherokee. My Fiance and I looked into the recalls your company has had on the transmission of these vehicles and noticed a lot of other people having the same issues that we have been experiencing while driving this vehicle. This vehicle takes longer than necessary to make the gear changes at lower residential speeds, traveling up a step grade, and traveling at low parking lot speeds. It also has a very jerky feeling when going through a gear change. The transmission takes way to long to get into gear while driving into our place of residence which resides beyond two lanes of oncoming traffic and its a busy street, this has happened multiple times now and my family is stuck in the oncoming lanes where my daughter would get hit first if the transmission completely failed. We are aware of the current steps in place through the Jeep dealerships to replace parts etc, but we are not interested from the reviews we have read from many other Jeep owners experiencing similar issues. We have studied *******.com to obtain knowledge of other consumer issue

Desired Settlement: Our little boy is expected to join our family October 10th, 2015 and I would like to have this vehicle bought back from us as soon as possible at full MSRP price of $33,670 plus $5,000 for this inconvenience and constant worry on my family. I will not have my new born child in this vehicle with all these arising issues. We would prefer to handle this concern with your company first hand but if further action is needed, we will take the steps to ensure the safety of our family.

Business Response: There
are two recalls on Mr. ****** 2015 Jeep Cherokee.   The R27 recall or
the power liftgate control module currently does not have parts available to
fix the recall.  Fiat Chrysler will contact Mr. **** by mail when the
parts become available.  The second recall is a flash that our dealership
is able to complete.  Mr. **** states that for three months his Cherokee
has experienced issues with his transmission.  However, we have never seen
his Cherokee in our service department to address these issues.  We are
willing to schedule a time to diagnose his Cherokee and if the issues persists
we can speak with Chrysler about opening a case for some assistance.  But,
again we haven’t seen his Cherokee in our Service Department and would need to
in order to start the process. 

 

Mr. ****** desired settlement is full MSRP of
the Cherokee which was $33,670.  However, he purchased the Cherokee for
several thousand dollars less than MSRP.  Northwest Jeep Chrysler Dodge is willing
to diagnose his Cherokee and contact Chrysler if there are problems with his
transmission however we are not willing to refund Mr. **** for a vehicle he has
driven for 4 months plus an additional $5,000 for his
inconvenience. 

8/29/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 7/25/2015 I drove up from Eugene Oregon to Beaverton Oregon to purchase a 2013 dodge Dart. I worked with Salesman, James S***** and his Finance Manager Doug. I made it VERY clear that I would be getting my loan from ** **** with my pre-approval. Doug had me sign some paperwork claimed it was procedure, and then I out $ 500.00 as well as my trade. Doug told me that my file would be put on hold, beings that the money for the car would be coming from my banker who issued the pre approval. As it turned out Doug did process that paperwork after I left, and now I have two separate loans in my name for the same car. I've called the dealership many times to get this resolved and no one is calling me back.

Desired Settlement: I just want this loan reversed and my name and SS# cleared from being responsible to pay this loan. I plan on staying with ** ****, they've offered me a better rate and term. Plus the finance manager TOLD me this file would be put on hold, and my banker *** ******* told me that ** has sent a check for payment on the car.

Business Response: Doug S***** has spoken to the customer and had the  loan reversed and her name and SS# cleared from being
responsible to pay this loan. The loan is through ** ****. 

8/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We started having trouble with the transmission when we first bought the jeep. I thought it was just the way it shifted but after complaints from my daughter and wife I took the jeep in at around 6000 miles. After two times in the shop they put a new transmission in the jeep,and some other parts that had been redesigned and on its third generation of that part. After the new transmission and new computer updates it shifted and ran good for about 200 miles and started doing the same problems that it was doing before.When we got it back the fourth time it started to shake in the front end at speeds between 30-40 miles per hour. This was a problem that started when we first bought the jeep but not as bad.After a test drive from the service department to make sure it was safe to drive they said it was ok to drive but the drive shafts would need to be replaced. He said they are putting 5in diameter instead of 2 1/2in drive shafts in to solve the problem.We have had great customer service with the dealership and customer care but simply dont want this jeep any longer. After talking to two different service managers they both said the cherokee was brought out to soon and all the bugs were not solved.The jeep has spent around a total of 30-40 days in the shop.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the jeep returned and the loan paid off in full and any monthly payment refunded from the first time we started bringing the car in.

Business Response:

We are currently working with the customer and our Factory Rep to resolve the customer's concerns with the vehicle.

****** *******

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,
***** ********

8/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from them for cash. They had me sign papers to purchase the vehicle. They told me the papers i was signing were the purchase agreement and title docs. They had me sign a paper for a credit check with out telling me that is what it was. They did not need to do a credit check on me due to the fact that I was purchasing for cash. They all new this in advance and had instructed me where to go to get the cashiers check. I was contacted by my credit monitoring company that they had done this. When I contacted them about it they tell me that it is their policy to satisfy the federal law. They by law have to disclose if they are going to do a credit check. They at no time did they inform me that they intended to do a credit check. At no time did they ask to do a credit check. At no time did they tell me they were giving me a paper to sign giving them permission to do a credit check. They were deceptive in the whole procedure. I have excellent credit. That is not the point. They had no legal right to do a credit check. I ask them to contact ******* to have the inquiry removed and to copy me with the letter. The letter they sent says that I authorized them to do the check but now want it removed from my credit history. This is not factual. I want the inquiry removed because I did not authorize it and it was completely unnecessary. This practice is deceptive and completely wrong. It took 3 calls and a face to face just to get them to respond at all.

Desired Settlement: That they admit that they did not tell me they were going to do a credit report and get the inquiry removed from my credit report.

Business Response: It is our Company Policy to obtain minimal information on all of our
customers.  We received a sign credit application from the customer with
the intent on not running his credit.  There were several errors in
communication while working this transaction.  Our Owner called the customer on
August 17th, 2015 and have sent a letter to ******* to request that his
inquiry be expunged.  

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I have not seen anything in writing to ******* yet. This doesn't mean that it has been expunged.
What errors of communication? Trying to get answers from the people responsible has been extremely hard. If it is company policy to do credit 
reports on all their customers then they need to disclose that up front. If not then there should not be a credit application given to the 
customer unless they are requesting credit. The sales manager should tell all customers what they are asking them to sign, also a COPY OF
ALL DOCUMENTS that they are asked to sign should be given to customers. My information was miss handled and then the response was to
blow it off as "what's the problem, this is company policy to satisfy Federal Requirements. The responses that I have received so far are not
acceptable until the expunging is complete and a proper explanation of how and why it happened is received.   

Sincerely,

**** *******

8/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2014 Chrysler Town and Country from this dealership on 08/13/2014. The whole transaction was done over Email and phone as I was in NY. I received all the paperwork via *****, I signed and sent back.One item that was sold to me was the Mopar Essential Care Plus plan for $299, I was told over the phone by the sales/finance manager, **** ******** that this program covered ALL SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE for the vehicle for 36 months. I was never given any specific information about the program in writing, other than the fact that I paid for it.I took possession of the vehicle on 08/26/2014, the salesperson, ********* ****** handed me the keys and all the paperwork, which again, did not include any details about the Essential Care Plus Plan. I asked for that information and Jonathan ****** said that I should talk to **** ******* about the details. I left the dealership as **** was with another customer and called **** the next day and left him a voice mail, he never returned the voice mail.About 30 days later, around 09/30/2014, I called and left another voice mail for **** ******* and it was never returned.Two days ago, I went to make an appointment with a Chrysler Dealership for my first Oil Change. I asked the service department what my Essential Care Plus Program covered and they informed me, that it only covered 6 oil changes, no tire rotation or any other scheduled maintenance.I also found out that the oil change service costs approximately $35 at all local area Chrysler dealerships. Thus, I paid $300 for 6 oil changes, resulting in $50 per oil change and if I had just gone into a dealership without having paid for the Essential Care Plus Program, it would have cost me only $35 per change. I essentially was charged $120 extra for a service. Why would I have Pre-Paid MORE for a service? I have attempted in good faith to get from **** ******* the details of this program and to date, he has not provided the requested information.

Desired Settlement: I believe that **** ******* sold me this program and subsequently refused to provide me with the details of said program in poor faith. I made a good faith effort multiple times to ascertain this information from **** within 60 days of purchase but was never helped. I was informed today that Chrysler would have canceled and refunded the full price of the program within 60 days but now it's too late. I would have canceled if I were ever given the details. I would like a refund for the program.

Business Response: I have spoken to **** about ******* complaint. Our dealership has provided documentation outlining what the Essential Care Plus Plan covers to *****. We are willing to refund the full disputed price to the customer. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I would like to point out that the information I had requested from the dealership was provided to me AFTER I filed the BBB complaint.

Sincerely,

***** *****

Consumer Response: Refund has been received, complaint resolved.


11/13/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I PURCHASED A 2014 DODGE AVENGER ON 10/16/2014 WITH 5470 MILES ON IT. I WAS TOLD I WAS THE FIRST BUYER OF THE CAR, IT HAD BEEN ONE OF THE DEALERSHIPS RENTAL CARS. I ALSO PRCHASED A EXTENDED WARRANTY FOR THE CAR TO 100,00 MILES. ON SATURDAY I GOT A FLAT TIRE DUE TO ROAD HAZARD (NAIL) MY TIRE CANT BE REPAIRED. I WENT TO ******** BECAUSE THATS THE MAKER OF TIRES. THEY TOLD ME THEY DO COME WITH 10,000 MILE ROAD HAZARD WARRANTY FOR NEW CARS BUT YOU HAVE TO GO TO THE DEALERSHIP. I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THEY DONT GIVE THE BUYERS OF THE CARS THEY USED FOR RENTALS THE MANUFACTURED WARRANTIES, SO I NEED TO BUY A NEW TIRE FROM THEM AT THE COST OD $247. I SAID THAT IS NOT TRUE I GET ALL THE WARRANTIES AND HE JUST TOLD ME SORRY HE CANT HELP ME AND HUNG UP. SO I CALLED SALES MANAGER AND HE SAID HE KNOWS NOTHING OF SERVICE AND TRANSFERED ME TO A SERVICE MANAGERS VOICE MAIL WHERE I HAVE LEFT SEVERAL MESSAGES AND HAVE HEARD NOTHING.

Desired Settlement: I JUST WANT MY 1 TIRE REPLACED

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/10) */ Northwest Jeep Chrysler Dodge RAM has spoken to Miss **** and have already replaced her tire prior to the case open date. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/11/13) */ my complaint has been resolved. They replaced my tire. When I told them I filed a BBB complaint. *****

11/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife responded to an ad for a vehicle. **** a salesman, called in response and after a few exchanges of voicemails, I spoke with him. I explained to *** that we had a car in mind and were likely picking it up the next day. He told me, "since this is the end of the month, my manager has made it clear that no reasonable offer will be refused... So we can hit our goals." Clearly, this is a common line, but he promised to call me the next morning by 10 AM with the details of the vehicle since he was out of the office as we spoke. He was clear that he had a better deal than what I had explained to him. The next morning, I didn't hear from him, so I sent a text message as we agreed. He directed me to his colleague, ****. **** called and left me a message, then we spoke by phone. I explained exactly what I wanted and he said he could meet my request. He urged me to go to their website and file a credit application, though I already have an approval through my credit union, claiming he could get a better rate and get the process started in advance. I had let him know I wasn't willing to buy the car at the advertised price, just as I had with ***. Both assured me they could beat the price and that we'd arrange something for me by the end of work. Now, I have dealt with many car dealers. I have bought several cars. This is my first complaint. The reason I'm complaining is this: Though I filed my credit application at 12 PM, **** did not get back to me. I messaged *** to see what is going on after I messaged ****. Then **** replied to say "Great!" Hours later, no response. Finally, after 6 PM, I got a voicemail as I ate dinner. I sent **** the requested information even though it was mandatory on the credit application I completed online. Then, a bit later, he messaged me, again, asking for the same information! At this point, my wife was getting quite nervous and me, too. As of 9 PM, **** had ignored my text messages and phone calls, as did ***. I can assume they sold the car, but to handle someone's personal information in this fashion is absolutely unacceptable. Like I said, this is my first complaint regarding any dealership and I have dealt with truly dishonest people-I consider it part of the deal. But this is the first time someone, let alone two representatives from one company, has handled my personal information so carelessly.

Desired Settlement: I would like to speak with the owner of the business to be certain this matter is taken seriously.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/10/21) */ Mr. ******** filled out a credit application online on the last day of the month. Our traffic increased in the afternoon and evening resulting in 17 sold vehicles. Our staff spoke to Mr. ******** the next day and informed him that the vehicle was still available for sale, and did not share his personal information with any person, institution, or company. As a company, we take very seriously customer's credit and personal information. We do not share customer's information without their consent. We apologized for not getting in touch with him earlier in the day. Mr. ******** ended up purchasing the vehicle that he was interested in buying and told us that he would go online and update the review regarding Northwest Jeep Chrysler Dodge.

10/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i bought a 2006 MAZDA6 through NWjeep in april 2014 On September 10 the transmission died (drive shaft seperated completely from transmission. I had it towed back to their service department and they told me to take it to ******************* service in beaverton told me they dont work on Mazda's. Technicians there diagnosed the problem stating the drive shaft came off and damaged the transmission. They said that there were issues for a long time more than likely before i even bought it. I had a 90 day warranty as well as a buy as is. I realize there is not much i can do legally for compensation. i am aggravated that they sell inferior quality products. I went to talk to *** ***** (used car sales man at NW jeep on September 11, 2014. I asked if you could at least consider reembursing me for the diagnostics fee at mazda. he was rude in the way he handled it. saying that here is nothing he can do about it. i said I would contact the BBB and he said "so what"

Desired Settlement: I know i will probably get nothing but i would like to have the diagnostic fee of $138 and towing fee of $110. Mostly i want them reprimanded for selling inferior products to avoid this from happening to others.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/29) */ The Mazda 6 had over 96,000 miles on it at the time of delivery. Our company had offered an extended warranty on the Mazda, however the customer declined. The 90 day warranty had expired prior to the customer coming in to speak about his transmission. With that amount of miles it is difficult to forsee any problems mechanically with a vehicle. In regards to the customer's desired resolution, we recognize that we are not legally obligated to pay for any of Mr. *********'s charges, however as a gesture of customer good will, Northwest Jeep Chrysler Dodge will reimburse him for the diagnostic fee and the towing bill, equalling $248.

5/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It was a pleasure meeting you Friday. I was very pleased with the Jeep we looked at. Unfortunately, when it came to discussion about the financing, you continued to insist that you would have to run a credit check to do financing, even though had brought an approved bank check that I only had to write the amount of the vehicle on. The reason you gave for having to check my credit to see if I was on a "Terrorist Watch List" just a pretext to push a loan through your dealership. I have contacted made the authorities aware of your "Terrorist Watch List" pretext. They said that they will look into you and your dealership. I have also contacted************, who issued the bank check, and informed them that you would not accept their check, and you stated that your dealership has had problems getting the money from ***** and that you were pushing a loan through Northwest Jeep. I have put 20 years of my life defending the Constitution of the United States in both the Military and Civilian sector, I felt insulted by your dealership when you asked to run my credit report to see if I am was on a Terrorist Watch List. I have clearance to work for officials in the White House and any port here in the United States, but I can't buy a car from your dealership without you running my credit to verify a "Terrorist Watch List." Which a credit report will not show anyway.

Desired Settlement: Accept the check that I have from *********** for the vehicle I test drove the day this all went down.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2014/05/19) */ N.W.Jeep offered Mr. ********* several different options never stating we would not except a******** *** check. Mr.********* was unwilling to provide us any information about himself other than a Florida drivers license. There were several hurdles we needed to overcome to try to complete the transaction and he was unwilling to make any effort in resolving these concerns. Negotiations on the said vehicle were never completed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 16, 2014/05/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This response is them trying to misdirect they salesman wording of why they have to run a credit check. "To Verify I am not on the Terrorist Watch List". This along with the reason for not accepting my *********** check "It takes to long to get the money." The only information that I did not give them was my SSN, they had everything else they need to run the checks that they needed to run. When someone keeps asking you to fill out the credit application you tend to get a feeling that they are a push towards there benefit and not yours. Which is what they are trying. One would have to question this. This is a totally unprofessional car dealership. I have gone to other dealerships and have been treated total opposite from this dealer. I would not recommend this dealership to anyone. This compliant can be closed. I have moved on.

12/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new truck from the dealership. While signing the papers there was a charge added to the contract for Secure Etching. I asked the Finance manager why it was on there? I didn't want the service, and not to charge for the $399.00. Bill stated I had no choice it was on the truck and the Dealer installs it per their insurance policy. The charge is what they pay so there just recovering the cost. I still argued the point and was told if I didn't want it he couldn't sell me the truck. I just spent four hours working a deal on the truck I wanted. He was very stern about not selling it to me if I didn't pay the 399.00 I didn't want to argue to the point and loose the truck. I figured I could get a refund or talk to his manager later. However I have been given the run around about this problem.

Desired Settlement: refund the $399.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2013/12/19) */ Northwest Jeep Chrysler Dodge RAM is discussing solution with the customer. We are willing to refund entire ($399) for etch. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 16, 2013/12/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Once the upper management found out about the complaint it was handled very quickly and professional.

12/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I believe this complaint goes in multiple categories, (including bad bus practices, failure to reply to customers, ethics, etc) Placed here to best serve the public. On 05.13.13 I was notified that Northwest Jeep Inc ****** ** ****** **** Beaverton, OR 97005, ************* hard pulled my credit on 05.11.13 through Equifax directly, not from the dealership. I purchased a car from them sometime in early 2000 but had not been back since to purchase. We tried contacting the dealership multiple times over a period of the next couple of weeks. The finance adviser, ***** *** indicated that it did happen and laughed about it being a silly mistake and there was nothing to do about it. We were not satisfied and pushed to speak to the owner or manager. The *** ** said he would have that individual call. Neither called back. We were able to look up the manager as ****** (***) *******. We left several messages for him it was not until the week of the 27th of May that he returned any calls. He indicated that he did not want to return our calls until he had all the information about the issue. We let him know that it does not take 2 weeks to get that information and it should have been the appropriate course to call and let us know that immediately. He did not apologize. Then he went on to say that he was sorry that the credit was pulled and it was an error. We asked what he had learned in the last two weeks and he said that was it. Thoroughly disappointed I said that we were not pleased but didn't want to ruin our relationship. He said he would call back with more information. We called almost every day and would get random responses back indicating that we should call him back or that he was going to be unavailable for a week because he was going out of town. He does not return calls promptly, does not handle issues well, does not have compassion. Most recently he said that he wanted to provide a service credit to retain relationships and that we were supposed to call. We have called every other day since that time and have had no response. Our complaint is against, the person who pulled the credit (unknown but assumed to be ***** **** Northwest Jeep, Inc, and ****** ******* (owner and manager)

Desired Settlement: 1. A full letter indicating what happened and why the credit report was pulled without permission, who pulled the report, what is being done so that this does not happen to other parties, signed by the owner/manager. 2. We do want the hard pull on the credit report to be removed. 3. Fullest sanctions possible against NW Jeep and individuals involved. 4. Damages or reparations. (Manager indicated willingness to provide by never followed through with details.)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2013/09/09) */ From: ****** ** ******* (mailto:********@nwjeep.com) Sent: Monday, September 09, 2013 9:37 AM To: ****** ***** Subject: case #XXXXXXX This is my 3rd response to this complaint. Hopefully you will receive this and act accordingly. Bo and ******** ****** had purchased vehicles and had them serviced here prior to this visit. As such, we had credit information on file on both of them. At write-up ***** information was entered, however, the credit information on ******** came up. Our Sales Manager who is responsible for obtaining credit bureau information mistakenly ran her bureau report. He realized his mistake and should have advised *** ****** but did not. I have spoken to *** ****** ( he did not want me to talk to his mother ), apologized for the mistake and had reached a resolution to the mistake. Later, I got the complaint from the BBB. As I previously stated, this is my 3rd response. We have reviewed our process for obtaining credit information so that this does not happen again. As previously stated, I had offered to *** ****** a maintenance agreement on his mother's vehicle. He said he would check with her and get back to me. I have heard nothing until your correspondence. Please advise me of your receipt of this response and of any additional action you feel is necessary. *** ******* Northwest Jeep Chrysler Dodge Sprinter Inc. www.nwjeep.com ********@nwjeep.com direct: XXX-XXX-XXXX fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 29, 2013/11/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) this would not resolve the entirety of the complaint and the requested resolution. At this point it has been 4 months (just shy) of going through this process. NW Jeep has created a history of non responsiveness and using the timelines of BBB to it's advantage. In four months, there should be much more completed resolutions than a request for SSN-- especially from a 5star Company and a A rated BBB company. No other requests have been addressed. I respectfully do not accept the response and respectfully request a formal judgement. Final Business Response /* (1010, 27, 2013/10/21) */ In order to remove ******** ******* information from the Credit Bureau, they are requesting we submit her social security number and address. At this point we are requesting this information from *** ******.

9/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from n.w. jeep and being from redmond oregon I was making decisions quickly. I forgot to check if the a/c unit was working. It was not until the heat hit that I first tried the system and it was obviously not working. I took it to my mecanic hoping that it just needed freon. He said it was full and he suspected that it was an internal door that was not opening fully. Of coarse to get to the door involved tearing apart the entire dash which was estimated at 6 hours of labor.I then had my wife ****** contact the dealership to see what we could negotiate. This was going to be about a 400 dollar problem and we both feel strongly that the unit was not working at the time of purchase. ****** first spoke to a sales manager *** whom was pleasant and seemed happy to help. He said he would check with the inspection report and call me back. five days go by, no phone call back. ****** left a message and 3 days go by, no phone call back. Feeling frustrated by the customer service or lackthere of she called again. This time, *** was not so pleasant and eager to help. He said that he looked at the inspection report and said the unit was in working order that we were wrong. I explained that we had not even turned it on until the weather turned hot, how could something "break" without touching anything in 5 weeks? He was rude, and unsympathetic to say the least. I suggested when we go to the coast on aug 8th we drop the car by and they could repair it. *** then said and I quote, "how do you expect me to pay for this ******? I have to pay the shop, I cant pay for this" I felt like *** was trying to play stupid,he is in management and could make these decisions if he wanted.What happened to customer service and trying to do the right thing? We had just spent over l6 thousand dollars on a vehicle.****** chose to end the conversation saying that she would have her husband call. **** tried calling immediately after learning how his wife had been talked to. No one in the dealership would allow him to talk to ***. A woman said and I quote " I have been told to tell you that the car has a 60 day warranty and that time has passed" To not even allow **** talk to *** was not only rude, unprofessional and just shocking. We both now have made a promise to never buy a vehicle in Portland again. This would never happen in the Bend/Redmond are. We are completely shocked and dissapointed how a problem is resolved by this dealership. It's they are right, you are wrong, and now we will cut you off and not even accept a phone call from you. The ironic thing is we love our car. friends/family ask where we got it and now because of this unfortunate experience we will encourage our friends and family and friends to stay local, DO NOT go to the valley. Stay Local where dealerships still care!

Desired Settlement: We are forced to get our air conditioning unit fixed costing 400 dollars. We are asking the dealership to reimburse this money to us. We feel strongly that the unit was not in working order at the time of purchase. Regardless of the "60 day warranty" an exception needs to be made. We turned on the unit one week after the 60 days were up. Were asking the dealership to do the right thing and also encourage a refresher course to your staff on customer service. It has made our experience with this dealership very dissapointing

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2013/09/06) */ Customer purchased 2008 Chrysler 300 with 58,000 on 4/21/13 My initial contact with the customer was in July. She stated that she had purchased the vehicle from NW Jeep and discovered that the A/C was not working properly. She stated the she had her mechanic test for Freon and that was not the problem. She was advised that there was a problem with the blend door and the dash would have to be disassembled for diag. I told her that we inspect all of our vehicles and one of the inspection points is the functionality of the heat and A/C systems etc. I told her that I would do some research and look at the tech's notes and return her call. A day or two may have passed with some phone tag going on. When we she called me or I called her (don't remember) I went over the inspection list and there was no indication of any A/C problems in the UVI. I told her she purchased a vehicle "AS-IS" and stated that I was confident in our inspection process but mistakes can happen. The "Blend Air Door" functions in all temperature ranges, and is not limited to the A/C functioning properly. The customer drove the vehicle for over three months before contacting the dealership. The customer would have experienced no heat or cooling during that timeframe. The customer told me she lived in Redmond and wanted to drop off their 300 on the way to the beach for their vacation. She expected NW Jeep to just "fix" the problem and they would pick the car up on their return. I told her that I cannot have her drop off the vehicle and expect the A/C system to be repaired when I was not aware of the extent of the repairs. I told her that I have to pay a technician to look at the vehicle and diagnose the problem(s). I expressed that there is an expense involved in her request. I told her I was willing to take the time and expense for NW Jeep to look at her vehicle, but I would not guarantee that we would fix A/C with no participation on their part. At this point in the conversation the customer sounded frustrated and angry with me and the dealership. I would not give in to her repeated attempts at a blank check repair, but offered her a service visit to determine the extend of the problem. At that point she said that her husband would call me to resolve their problem. I was at my desk for the next 45 minutes or so expecting a call from her husband. No Calls. I never received a call from either party. I should have made a follow up call to check with the customer but did not. At no time did I say that we have a 60 day return policy or that calls from them should be diverted from me. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 19, 2013/09/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Well, we can play this game all day long.My husband tried calling within 10 minutes and a person diverted the call not allowing him to talk to the manager.The receptionist said and I quote "I have been instructed to tell you that we have a 60 day warranty on used vehicles and the time has past"I am done with this, I no longer wish to deal with this company that will not own any part whatsoever of this unfortunate situation.We will never recommend this dealership to friends and family. This company had the chance to make a mends by reimbursing the $400 that the repair cost us. Considering we paid almost l7 thousand dollars for the vehicle, you would think that a mere 400. dollars would assure them that we felt treated right.We were not treated right and now we are done.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Northwest Chrysler Jeep Dodge
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart