BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/18/2012

Newberg Ford

Find a Location

Phone: (503) 538-2171Fax: (503) 538-8478View Additional Phone Numbers3900 Portland Rd, NewbergOR 97132-7283 Send email to Newberg Ford

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and pre-owned auto sales, auto service, parts, body shop and detailing.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/18/2012

BBB has determined that Newberg Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Newberg Ford's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

17 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Newberg Ford

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 17
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 17 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
11/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had my engine replaced in my 2003 Ford Mustang Cobra by Newberg Ford and I received my vehicle back on 8/21/2014.
When I got my vehicle back I noticed that the clutch in the car didn't feel right it was harder to push in that when I took it in to them and got really hard close to the bottom of the travel and I notified the service Manager **** ****** He sad give it some break in time.
The clutch that was in the car was brand new and had about 4,000 on it. It also had a brand new pilot bearing, throw-out bearing and flywheel. And it has worked perfectly for over a year.
The more I drove the car the worse the clutch got. It started making more noise and started having problems when taking off in first gear like not disengaging all the way. I notified **** ***** again about the problem and he said that there were some burn spots when they put it back together on the clutch and it was not their problem even though I said it worked perfectly when I brought it to them.
About 1200 miles later on the way back from a trip in the car. The Clutch started to get hard to shift and was really squealing now. So I took it back to Newberg Ford and **** ***** and told them that something was wrong with the clutch. It sat in there service dept. for a week and they wouldn't do anything about it.
I told one of my friends about it, who knows the owner of Newberg Ford and they sent me a check for $250 and still stating it wasn't there problem.
I had another Mechanic take the driveline, exhaust, transmission out of the car so we could find out what was wrong with it. He found out that whoever reinstalled the clutch system at Newberg Ford had not put any grease on any of the moving parts in the clutch system and 2 of the 6 bolts that holds the pressure plate and clutch plate to the fly wheel were so loose that you could unscrew them with you fingers. These bolts are supposed to be tight and Torqued to specifications. These bolts being loose cause the throw-out bearing to sit flush against the pressure plate fingers which that and no grease wore the throw-out bearing out prematurely and made the clutch harder to push in and it also wore a grove on the input shaft of the transmission where it slide back and forth on.
We Notified Newberg Ford service manager **** ***** by Phone and by email about the incompetence of who ever reinstalled the clutch system and they have still not done a thing.

Desired Settlement
I think I should be compensated for the number of hours of labor for replacing a throw-out bearing with long tube headers on the car which takes much more work to and the cost of parts.
I had bought another brand new clutch, throw-out bearing, Pilot bearing and flywheel and had it all installed by this other mechanic, since we had it apart anyway and I didn't know before what we were going to find bad once we got it apart. My cost on labor and parts to fix their problem was over $1200. So the $250 they gave me doesn't ever cover half of the labor cost and none of the parts.

Business Response
I have contacted the customer. He is emailing me receipts and we have come to a mutual agreement. This concern has been resolved.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Yes Newberg Ford contacted me and reimbursed me some of the money I had to pay out to get the issue fixed.

12/04/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Detailing, Auto Repair - Mobile, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Body Repair & Painting

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/01/2002Business started: 04/01/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE
Salem, OR97314-5000
(503) 299-9999
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 2000, OR

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Jim Corliss (President)Mr John Kerekanich (Vice President)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Detailing, Auto Repair - Mobile, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Body Repair & Painting

Hours of Operation

7:00am - 8:00pm Monday - Friday
8:00am - 7:00pm Saturday
11:00am - 6:00pm Sunday

Alternate Business Names
CEW Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Newberg Ford has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 17 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Newberg Ford

3900 Portland Rd

Newberg, OR 97132-7283

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3900 Portland Rd 

    Newberg, OR 97132-7283(503) 538-2171
    (503) 538-8008

  • PO Box 310 

    Newberg, OR 97132-0310(503) 312-4006

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Newberg Ford is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (503) 538-8008
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.