BBB Accredited Business since

Newberg Ford

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 538-2171 Fax: (503) 538-8478 View Additional Phone Numbers 3900 Portland Rd, Newberg, OR 97132 http://www.newbergford.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and pre-owned auto sales, auto service, parts, body shop and detailing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Newberg Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Newberg Ford include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

17 Customer Reviews on Newberg Ford
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 17
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 17

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 2002 Business started: 04/01/2002 Business started locally: 04/01/2002 Business incorporated 12/27/2000 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim Corliss, President Mr. John Kerekanich, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Corliss, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Detailing Auto Repair - Mobile New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Hours of Operation
7:00am - 8:00pm Monday - Friday
8:00am - 7:00pm Saturday
11:00am - 6:00pm Sunday
Alternate Business Names
CEW Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Newberg Ford has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3900 Portland Rd

    Newberg, OR 97132 (503) 538-8008 (503) 538-2171

  • PO Box 310

    Newberg, OR 97132 (503) 312-4006

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My elderly parents are on a fixed income with little money and no credit. One of their "salesmen" talked my mother into spending over $19,000 on a car she cannot afford on March 16th. She went in for some promotion about spinning a wheel to win something, and was taken advantage of. She was told she had good credit, I just came from their bank (they are now out of money), and found out they have no credit. The sales team had to know this. I feel they took advantage of an elderly woman. When my 90-year old dad wanted her to take it back, the dealer would not do so. I am very angry with the way they treated my mom. We cannot afford to help them and I would like them to take the car back and void the sale, otherwise my parents will have no income for food and gas, as she will pay the bill first.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to take the car back, void the sale, and refund any money they have already taken from my mom.

Business Response:

To: Better Business Bureau

Re: ld # ********




This regards the subject case that was filed with your offices on 04/14/2015. The complaint was
actually submitted by the daughter of the couple that purchased a used vehicle from our dealership
on 3/16/15. The customers visited the dealership as result of a promotional program that ran from
3/11 to 3/16.
They chose a vehicle that attracted their attention decided to test drive it and began the
negotiation process.

They advised us that a payment of $350 a month would fit in their budget and that they had $1500
that could be used as a down payment. We submitted the application to some financial institutions
and as a result of the credit scores were able to receive a favorable rate which resulted in a
payment of $332 per month. The couple advised us that they were very pleased, loved the vehicle
and agreed to the purchase.

Subsequently, on 3/19 they returned to the dealership and expressed concerns about keeping the
vehicle because of the impact of the $1500 down payment on their near term financial situation.
They were very frustrated because they wanted to keep the vehicle but were under pressure due to
an alleged questionable financial transaction by a family member. On further questioning, in an
effort to help, we learned that they were $800 short of covering their near term situation and that
if they had put
$800 less down on the purchase that they would be ok.

In the interest of customer relations and given the circumstances the couple found themselves in,
we decided to refund $800 to them. We did not restructure the deal or refinance it. We simply
gave them the money and kept their payment and term intact. They were very satisfied with the
outcome.

Their situation worsened, however, when a separate and non related incident occurred. They were in
an accident costing approximately $3000 in damage to the front end of the vehicle. They brought it
to our dealership body shop for repairs, which are underway.

There is however some issues involving insurance coverage on the vehicle since the owners may not
have advised their insurance company of the additional vehicle within the required time frame. We
were also able to clarify questions on gap insurance which in this case, with a late model vehicle
involved, was appropriate.

We are currently assisting the customers with the negotiations with their insurance company. There
is also some confusion regarding assignment of fault relative to the accident but our role there is
limited. We will consider additional assistance for these people pending developments. We and they
are hoping that ******** ********* ******* is as interested in helping as we are.

Hopefully, this will enable you to close this case. Please contact us with any questions or need
for clarification.

 

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my engine replaced in my 2003 Ford Mustang Cobra by Newberg Ford and I received my vehicle back on 8/21/2014. When I got my vehicle back I noticed that the clutch in the car didn't feel right it was harder to push in that when I took it in to them and got really hard close to the bottom of the travel and I notified the service Manager **** ****** He sad give it some break in time. The clutch that was in the car was brand new and had about 4,000 on it. It also had a brand new pilot bearing, throw-out bearing and flywheel. And it has worked perfectly for over a year. The more I drove the car the worse the clutch got. It started making more noise and started having problems when taking off in first gear like not disengaging all the way. I notified **** ***** again about the problem and he said that there were some burn spots when they put it back together on the clutch and it was not their problem even though I said it worked perfectly when I brought it to them. About 1200 miles later on the way back from a trip in the car. The Clutch started to get hard to shift and was really squealing now. So I took it back to Newberg Ford and **** ***** and told them that something was wrong with the clutch. It sat in there service dept. for a week and they wouldn't do anything about it. I told one of my friends about it, who knows the owner of Newberg Ford and they sent me a check for $250 and still stating it wasn't there problem. I had another Mechanic take the driveline, exhaust, transmission out of the car so we could find out what was wrong with it. He found out that whoever reinstalled the clutch system at Newberg Ford had not put any grease on any of the moving parts in the clutch system and 2 of the 6 bolts that holds the pressure plate and clutch plate to the fly wheel were so loose that you could unscrew them with you fingers. These bolts are supposed to be tight and Torqued to specifications. These bolts being loose cause the throw-out bearing to sit flush against the pressure plate fingers which that and no grease wore the throw-out bearing out prematurely and made the clutch harder to push in and it also wore a grove on the input shaft of the transmission where it slide back and forth on. We Notified Newberg Ford service manager **** ***** by Phone and by email about the incompetence of who ever reinstalled the clutch system and they have still not done a thing.

Desired Settlement: I think I should be compensated for the number of hours of labor for replacing a throw-out bearing with long tube headers on the car which takes much more work to and the cost of parts. I had bought another brand new clutch, throw-out bearing, Pilot bearing and flywheel and had it all installed by this other mechanic, since we had it apart anyway and I didn't know before what we were going to find bad once we got it apart. My cost on labor and parts to fix their problem was over $1200. So the $250 they gave me doesn't ever cover half of the labor cost and none of the parts.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/12) */ I have contacted the customer. He is emailing me receipts and we have come to a mutual agreement. This concern has been resolved. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/11/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Yes Newberg Ford contacted me and reimbursed me some of the money I had to pay out to get the issue fixed.