BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used auto sales and service.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Larry H Miller Honda Hillsboro
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 12, 2006 Business started: 12/01/2006 Business started locally: 12/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Karen Miller, President Mr. Pat Brown, General Manager Mr. Larry Miller, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Pat Brown, General Manager
Principal: Ms. Karen Miller, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service Auto Services Auto Services - Oil & Lube

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 7:30am - 9:00pm
Saturday 8:00am - 9:00pm
Sunday 10:00am - 7:00pm
Alternate Business Names
Larry H Miller Corporation Oregon

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Hillsboro, OR 97123 (503) 735-7300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We went to the Larry H Miller Honda dealership to look at a 1999 Chevrolet Blazer advertised on their website. We ultimately purchased this vehicle. During the time of negotiation we repeatedly told them that we were senior citizens and that we couldn't afford to purchase a vehicle that would require a lot of repairs. We noted that the drivers door didn't close properly and that a handle was missing from the drivers side front seat, both of these things we agreed to take care of after we purchased the vehicle. Then we went on a test drive, which was round 3-5 miles. During the drive we heard a loud sound, which we attributed to the vehicles new tires. We mentioned this to the salesman,and he agreed that new tires are often louder than they are after they have been driven for awhile. It turns out that the loud sound is the front wheel bearings, which will have to be replaced at a cost of around $466.00. Also, on our test drive it was pointed out to us that we were getting a full tank of gas. This turned out not to be true, as the gas gauge doesn't work properly and by the next day we discovered we were almost out of gas while driving in the mountains above Cougar, WA. I coasted down the mountain and made it to a gas station. Had we run out in the mountains we would not have had any way to call for help as cell phones are not usable in that area and there are few people around. As senior citizens we would have had to walk many miles to reach help. The repair for the gas gauge will be around $800.00. Finally, on the same trip, as the one where we almost ran out of gas, I noticed that whenever we went over a bump the automobile would sway side to side. One time, as we came around an unexpectedly tight corner, where there was also a flaw in the road, the car leaned way over and I was barely able to keep the car on the highway. It felt like it was going to flip over on it's side. We since have learned that the shock absorbers are shot. This will cost an additional $600.00. NOTE: Odometer read 95,138 miles at time of purchase. We were told that Larry H Miller had safety inspected the vehicle, but they did not disclose any of the issues listed above. We feel at the very least they should have revealed these problems, since we are senior citizens on a very limited budget. As I stated before, we revealed to them a minimum of at least 3 times, that we couldn't afford costly repairs. We believe we were duped into believing there were not any big expenses in relation to this vehicle. Since the purchase my husband called numerous times and then finally went to the dealership when he didn't get a good response. They ultimately offered to pay for half of the wheel bearing issue, which amounts to $233.00, but their overall response was that they will loose money if they make any other repairs on the vehicle, so they will not make them.

Desired Settlement: We want all of the problems not revealed to us at the time of purchase to be repaired, as we cannot afford to pay for them. If they don't want to repair the vehicle we want them to take the vehicle and give us our money back. NOTE: We paid top Kelly Blue Book price for the automobile, which is $4,258.00 (we paid $4,250.00). Also, during the negotiation time they showed us what they said was the Kelly Blue Book value for our vehicle - $5,300.00+. Obviously that was not the truth either. (I was afraid to go back and add the "NOTE" to the complaint, because I didn't know what would happen if I tried to open it again).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2013/12/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ********** Contact Email: ***********@lhm.com Please give me a few days. Our business was sold and I just got your letter, My email is ***********@LHM.COM Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 22, 2014/01/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) My husband *** and I want to thank L H Miller Honda for the resolution of our claim. They have agreed to make the necessary repairs on the vehicle in question at ******* ***** in Hillsboro. We are very thankful for their commitment to customer satisfaction. Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2014/01/27) */ We fully appreciate that the 15 year old vehicle may require some maintenance and the ******* claim to not be in a financial position to afford to repair the vehicle. It is in that light, and the our desire to have happy customers, and contribute to the communities in which we do business, that we would be willing to pay for the discussed repair bills up to the estimated $1866 for a period of thirty days from today's date. We would require that the repairs to be performed only at the dealership where the vehicle was purchased, now named ****'s ***** of Hillsboro, so that the cost may be monitored. We will forward an additional document, which must be signed prior to work being performed, stating that this is purely a one-time goodwill repair and we are not implying or providing warranty. We appreciate your business and please contact the Service Manager directly to set up an appointment.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Larry H Miller Honda Hillsboro
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)