BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used automobile and truck sales.  Also service maintenance and repair.  Tires and Ford parts.  Auto body repair and paint.  Full detail ship.  Rental cars for the day, week or month.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Landmark Ford Lincoln meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Landmark Ford Lincoln include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Landmark Ford Lincoln
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1979 Business started: 08/01/1979 in OR Business started locally: 08/01/1979 Business incorporated 09/05/1985 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim Corliss, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Corliss, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Products & Services

Landmark Ford Lincoln sells the following brand(s): Ford, LIncoln

Alternate Business Names
Ford Rental System Landmark Ford Landmark Ford Parts Landmark Ford, Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Landmark Ford Lincoln has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 12000 SW 66th Ave

    Tigard, OR 97223 (503) 639-1131

  • PO Box 23970

    Portland, OR 97281

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased what I was told was a certified used 2010 GMC Denali from this dealer in Feb. I was told it had new tires and the breaks were almost brand new. I had asked for the record from service when it was looked at. i was never given this info. I then had an Oil change at my dealer and they advised me that the breaks in from were bad and may have a caliper that is sticking. The dealer that did my oil change advised me this is not something that just happens this has been going on for a while. The front drivers side was at 4mm and the pass side was at 2 mm. I then called Landmark and spoke to service who pulled up the record from when the vehicle was looked at and never were the brakes checked. Then spoke to the customer service manager and he said this is not something they will help me with. I was quoted 631 to fix. I then called and left a VM for Jim C***** the owner and he again said this is something we need to look at and can maybe offer a discount on. but he states that this must have just happened. I dont spend 30,000 on a vehicle to then in 4 months have to spend 631 to fix brakes that should have been done before someone purchased. This is a safety issue. To me I think they should be fixing this not offering me a little discount.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to replace my front brakes including the rotors and calipers on both sides.

Business Response:

The customer purchased the used GMC Yukon on February 5, 2015. It was not a certified vehicle and we do not certify any non-Ford used vehicles we sell. The vehicle was sold as is. After we had taken the GMC Yukon in trade from the previous owner, we performed a used vehicle inspection. The tires were at 9 to 10/32nds of an inch tread, which is almost new. The brakes were 4 to 6mm which is in the safe area but not new. There was no evidence of a sticking brake caliper. We have no idea who the customer spoke to that she said we did not check brakes as we check brakes on 100% of our used vehicles. A sticking brake caliper is not uncommon, can happen at any time and is not a normal maintenance item. During the four and a half months the customer owned the vehicle the caliper problem occurred and typically, once a caliper is stuck the brakes can wear out or be damaged within a few hundred miles or even less. The customer was offered an opportunity to purchase an extended service contract at the time of sale but declined. Calipers would have been a covered repair of the extended service contract. When the customer called, we offered to inspect the problem and give a substantial discount for the repair in our shop. That offer is still open. We are sorry it had a problem, but it was not a problem at the time of sale.

 

Jim C******

President

Landmark Ford Lincoln



5/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our trucks check engine light was on and it was stalling when idled. We took it into the service department at Landmark Ford and Lincoln on 5/5/15 and received an estimate for the repairs which we approved. They fixed the truck then said it was all ready to be picked up. We picked it up that night. The next day the service engine light came back on. My husband called Landmard Ford service center and spoke with **** ***** who stated, "bring it in we"ll take a look at it for free since you just had it in here". Due to other commitments we weren't able to take it in until 5/11/15. On 5/11/15 my husband took the truck in to **** ***** and confirmed there would be no charge to look at it. **** said, "usually if the code is new we charge but since you were just in here we'll cut you a break". They preceded to check the truck and then **** came in with the estimate for repairs. We told him at this time we would have to wait to do the repairs. When our name was called to get our keys another associate stated the charge was $102. My husband told him that **** said it would be free since we were just in. He then called **** in who changed his story and now said we had to pay. He also stated he tried to get it done for free but the technician said, "it was alot of work to check it". My husband had no choice but to pay the $102.

Desired Settlement: We would like to be refunded $102

Business Response: After receiving BBB concern, dealership attempted to contact
customer 5-13-15 (approximately 8:10 am) via phone to discuss concern however
after caller identified them self, phone immediately disconnected.

We apologize for the concern and as a gesture of goodwill
have refunded the customer $102.00. The refund transaction has been placed to
the card upon which it was charged. Refund receipt available should customer
request a copy. Again, we apologize for the concern.

11/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm a first time car buyer, and boy did they take advantage of that! They presented almost $5,000 worth of additional fees and services as a mandatory part of purchasing a car. When looking at the final break down I even asked specifically about charges that seemed unnecessary like a $2,100 service package and was told "That's the service plan we talked about that you need". The key is that he said 'That you *need*'. I realize he can claim it was because he was trying to help me do what was 'best for myself', or something silly like that. They also presented an options sheet for maintenance plans. It had four options of varying degrees. With the 'lowest too' called 'Standard' and 'Economy'. Again, this was presented as though the 'Economy' was included in the price of the vehicle, since when he had me choose which one I wanted with my vehicle. It was never made clear that there was a fifth option of 'none of the above'. I ended up signing up for another $990 of 'included' maintenance. It never sat well with me, so I just took a look at the paper work, and I see that hidden deep in it there is one line that says "Optional" that they sneakily had me sign amongst the flurry of other signatures. An extra $5000 in 'services and fees' on a $17,000 car. I'm a big dummy, but they 'technically' never did anything wrong. Just plain not honest people.

Desired Settlement: I would like to cancel and be refunded the $2,100 'service plan' that was presented as mandatory, along with the $990 maintenance plan.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/12) */ I personally called the customer to discuss the complaint. Appologized for the miscommunication with our business manager and explained that all of the policies they purchased were cancellable now or anytime in the future until they expire. I sent a cancellation form to the customer to sign and return for any of the products they want cancelled, and we will promptly cancel and send the proceeds to the lienholder. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/11/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) After filing the complaint I stopped by the dealership to try and resolve this myself. I was told I would need to return when a different sales manager was in the office. There may have been a legitimate reason for this, but it felt like gamesmanship at the time. Shortly following that interaction I received a call from the business owner. I was very pleased with the conversation with the business owner. His call was prompt and the engagement was polite. I certainly assumed the worst going in to this. I'm glad to have been proven wrong. I will consider Landmark Ford in the future when I need another vehicle.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on Landmark Ford Lincoln
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart