This business is not BBB accredited.

Kuni B M W

Phone: (503) 748-5400 View Additional Phone Numbers 10999 SW Canyon Rd, Beaverton, OR 97005 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.kunibmw.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sale of new and used automobiles.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kuni B M W include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Kuni B M W
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 07, 1996 Business started: 04/01/1970 Business started locally: 04/01/1970
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Shane Ohanrahan, General Manager Mr. Greg Goodwin, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shane Ohanrahan, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Hours of Operation
Sunday - Saturday
9:00am - 7:00pm
Alternate Business Names
Kuni Beaverton Motors Kuni Cadillac Saab LLC Kuni Enterprises Inc Kuni German Motors LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Kuni B M W has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10999 SW Canyon Rd

    Beaverton, OR 97005 (503) 748-5450 (503) 748-5451 (503) 828-0936 (503) 828-0937 (503) 748-5400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

I intitially filed a complaint against KUNI BMW on 2/12/2015 ID # ********. The complaint derived from ***** a salesman running a credit inquiry and dropping my credit score 9 points when I was unaware he was running my credit. The company responded saying I got cold feet about the purchase, they said I was unhappy about the appraisial given on my vehicle, they said I test drove a car and wanted to purchase a Lexus that was the reasoning for running my credit. As I stated in the initial complaint the employees at KUNI are dishonest and untruthful. I never stated I wanted to purchase a vehicle, I never test drove or even sat in a vehicle. The paperwork was "supposed" to be simply for an appraisial on my BMW, since I was already there for servicing. The response to my initial complaint was KUNI could not remove this inquiry from my credit report I would have to contact **********. I contacted ********** in writing and provided an attachment to BBB. This has uncovered another LIE by KUNI. The only resolution to this issue is to remove this inquiry from my credit report and per the correspondence from ********** KUNI has to remove this....Please see attached. I accepted the response and my other case was closed, I should not have closed my initial case before finding out if this was true which it is not. I am so angry about being lied to and deceived by KUNI. ********** does not remove this per my request KUNI HAS TO!!!

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Desired Settlement: I want this inquiry removed from my credit report. This has caused a drop of 9 points in my credit score.

Business Response:

I have calledd ******* and I will call the reporting agency's once she scans the letter from them to me.  We are mutually trying to correct this issue.

Thanks

***** **********

3/18/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to KUNI to pick up my car after mechanical services. While waiting I walked around the lot looking at used cars. A salesman ***** came out and showed me "1" car a Lexus. I told him I had went online to Autotrader and had been contacted by KUNI to bring my car in for apprasial so since I am here I wanted the apprasial done. He then said lets go inside and start paperwork to get that done. After I filled out the paperwork since it contained financial questions I told him at that time I am not looking to buy a car today my brother is in the hospital and when he wakes from Anesthesia I will need to go pick him up. I am not in a position to buy today. ***** took my paperwork and I never saw him again. My car was done in the service department I paid I left because the hospital called as well. Mind you I never sat in a car test drove a car or selected a car. I actually never even saw all of the inventory I didn even make it half way through the lot before he stopped me and told me to come in for the "APPRAISAL" paperwork. ***** called me later offered $1500 for my car I told him I would take no less than $5500 in the mean time I get an email alert that my credit had been ran. FOR WHAT!!! I wasn buying a car and we were not even close to being to the point to request a credit score. Like I mentioned I never test drove, or sat in a vehicle. I then spoke to **** and was advised this hard hit on my credit report could not be reversed my credit score dropped 9 points because of this. He offered $4500 for my vehicle and I felt as though I had no other choice but to buy from them since they ran my report and I didnt want another lender to hit my report further reducing my score. I set an appointment to go in and once I thought about the bad business they had already conducted I elected not to go. I will not do business with a company that does not keep the customer informed on processes, and has them fill out credit applications under false pretenses such as " apprasial"- Why fill out a credit application when you have no reason to? I had no reason to believe my credit was going to be ran there was no reason to I had not selected ANYTHING. He had no reason to run my credit NONE!!!

Desired Settlement: I want the hard hit causing my credit score to drop 9 points to be reversed with the credit bureau. I believe there is something they can do to reverse it but they are trying to railroad me into feeling obligated to do business with them because like I mentioned in the complaint I dont want another lender to hit my credit causing it to drop another 9 points. **** also told me that it was just an "inquiry" no it wasnt it was a hard hit on my report I cannot deal with dishonest companies.

Business Response: **** ******* came into the store while her car was in our service department. ***** found her roaming the lot looking at vehicles. She went for a test drive in the Lexus. Once we found out she wanted to know about values of her trade and possibly buy the vehicle we spoke about all of her options. She then filled out and signed a credit application (all on her own) which is still in our possession. We then ran her credit to see which vehicles she qualified for (she had mentioned her credit may have issues)so we could structure a deal for the bank.

We then ran her credit and formulated a plan with potential vehicles to show her. When ***** went back to speak with her about her options she had left. We reached out to her and that is when she callled ****.

She was upset about her trade value, but as **** told her the service department had just given her an estimate for almost $4500 to get it fixed.

She then was upset about her credit being run, **** apologized but told her many guests have us run their credit before finding a vehicle so as to help in the shopping process. **** did mention we never sent a structure to the bank so the inquiry will not show that she was shopping past our inquiry. We then offered her more money for her trade and she set an appointment with **** to come in and shop again. She missed the appointment.

We are very sorry for the miss communication but we feel we did nothing wrong. It is our belief that she was informed about what was going on and got cold feet and then left before we could explore some viable options.

Thank you for your time in this matter.

Regards,

***** **********
General Manager

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did not test drive a Lexus as I stated before I had not even sat in a car I have a witness that was with me to confirm that!! I cannot believe you would say that I test drove a car when I did not that just goes to show how untruthful your employees are. I was told that the paperwork was for the appraisial process which would make sense if you were actually going to buy a car which I advised ***** I would not be in a position that day. No one ever formulated a planI did not ask him to formulate a plan -- Once again I told him I would not have time to purchase a vehicle. I never mentioned or showed being upset about the service departments estimate from the service department just because THEY said it does not make it true. From this response I can see how untruthful KUNI really is. I was insulted by the offer of $1500 of course give me a horrible service report so you can low ball me on the appraisial. I set the appointment with **** because I felt that I had no choice if I go somewhere else they will hit my credit again and lower my score. Once again the untruful KUNI staff told me it was an inquiry but it was not it was a hard hit on my credit lowering my score 9 points. I was not informed of the process and **** said he would talk to *****. I didnt get "cold Feet" I had told them my brother was at the hospital and I would need to get him when he awoke from the anesthesia. I have documentation of this KUNI staff are liars. I had told them when the hospital called I needed to leave and thats what I did. Also for my car to need so much work done on it, its awful funny I had nothing done it was a key issue and once I bought my spare key my car started right up and I have had no problems since. The service department and sales are frauds and I will never do business with them on any level. I never even sat in one car let alone test drove. I have emails from Kuni from months ago asking me to come in for an appraisial.

Business Response:

While we did obtain written permission in the form of a signed credit application, along with a signed privacy notice by the customer; it appears the client did not desire us to make a credit inquiry. We have attempted to contact ********** to explain there was a miscommunication in the customer's intent for us to pull credit. The credit provider advised us to have the customer contact them directly to file a dispute. We are amenable to assisting her with the purging of the inquiry via her dispute.

We have contacted *** ******* and avised her of this as well.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* *******

5/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 1st, 2014, I sold my 2009 BMW 550i to Kuni Auto Center in Beaverton, OR. Since I reside in Seattle, WA, they provided me with a rental car to drive back to Seattle, WA. Before I left Kuni Auto Center, I made sure that the rental car is in good condition (no physical damage) and also noticed that the gas level was at 50% mark. ***** **** from Kuni Auto Center also mentioned that I do not need to pay for the gas. The exact word that she used was that I do not need to worry about the gas and that she would pick up the gas charges. A couple days later, I noticed that ***** charged me $157.69 for the rental car. I immediately contacted ***** **** and ****** and ***** **** agreed that I should not be billed for it. On 5/12 (about 6 weeks after I sold the car to Kuni), I received a refund in the amount of $85, which is $72.69 less than what I was charged for. I was told by ***** and ***** **** that I should be expecting another refund in the amount of $20.99, and the remaining amount ($51.70) was gas charges. I contacted ***** **** again, and this time she insisted that it is my responsibility to pay for the gas charges. She also insisted that the car came with a full tank of gas. Please note that in the rental car agreement that ***** **** prepared, she did not mark the gas level at the time of the pick-up which leads me to believe that I do not need to fill up the gas back to its original level.

Desired Settlement: I would like Kuni Auto Center to cover the gas charges in the amount of $51.70 and also expedite the process of the $20.99 refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/20) */ Dear *** *******, I apologize for the confusion on your rental charges. I have requested a check from our office to be sent to you in the amount of $72.69 to cover the balance of rental and gas charges. Please let me know if I can be of help in any other way. My cell phone is (XXX) XXX-XXXX. My e-mail is **********@kacpdx.com. Sincerely, *** ******* Operations Manager, Kuni Auto Center Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/05/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

5/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I leased a car through Kuni that I am completely dissatisfied with primarily due to the sales person complete incompetence and Kuni's dishonest sales practices. They didn't inform me of features that should have been disclosed and gave me false information about the vehicles in order to get me to purchase another car. They also lied about the lease deal and said I had to pay extra for features that should have been included. I immediately contacted them within a week of the car arriving to let them know of my dissatisfaction. **** *****, the President, said that Kuni would swap my vehicle for me and get me into the car I actually wanted. Then they stalled and back-tracked on every single thing they promised and said until "too late to cancel the contract and recontract on another vehicle."

Desired Settlement: I want my lease discounted to the original amount of $279 p/m or my car swapped.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/10) */ ***** is correct, in and effort to address her complaint, we did extend the offer to exchange her vehicle for the one she wanted from our inventory with an agreement that she would pay the difference in price. The customer did not respond to our emails and calls in a timely fashion and by the time she did respond, it was too late. I am sorry, but there is nothing we can do at this time. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) That is not true. I responded, it was in fact their lack of follow through and ineptness that resulted in the delay and one of the reasons for my complaint. I notified Kuni within a week of the lease that i was dissatisfied with the car, that the info they gave me was false and misleading. **** called and told me soon after that they would swap my car for one i liked. it was after that part that all service on their end ceased. i called multiples times per week, left messages and never got a call back. i finally called around to find any "manager" at the location to talk to. The other guy, assigned to me had "been calling the wrong number" this is unacceptable excuse as they had my file with contact and email, neither of which were utilized. i was first told to let them know what features i was looking for and that they would FIND me the car. i also specifically asked if there was a time constraint that i needed to be mindful of and was informed there was NOT. after a week of no follow up i emailed and asked what the status was. i was presented with cars that were 10,000+ more than my original car and with none of the features i asked for. i reiterated what i was looking for and was told to wait. then after another week passed, i was very frustrated with their lack of ability to help me whatsoever and asked if they intended to help me at all. it was in this conversation that they recanted what was already promised to me and said i needed to choose a car from their lot. and was also told that they would NEVER get a car like anything close to what i wanted. so i then asked what they could do to make this right, possibly write down my lease amount and that was rebuffed. basically EVERY option they ever put forward was later recanted and rejected. Kuni never intended to help me or provide me with a vehicle that i wanted. their sales rep COMPLETELY missed the mark, withheld info, lied about info, swore profusely, condescended me and my mother, etc. and the management team did nothing to rectify this. I'm completely disgusted with Kuni. I've filed a formal complaint with BMW of USA and their finance team said that Kuni could have rewritten my lease agreement at any time. that is what i expect at this point. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/04/18) */ In reply to consumers complaint in reference to her lease on a 2014 BMW 320i purchased at Kuni BMW on 11/27/2013, The General Manager, General Sales Manager and New Vehicle Sales Manager had offered to exchange the consumer into a vehicle with leather instead of SensaTec leather. This exchange would have a cost to the consumer, a stand-alone leather vehicle was not available, and so she would have to go to a premium package vehicle (all leather equipped vehicles in the 320i model had the premium package which is a $3100 option and includes leather). The consumer did not want to pay the difference in the price for any of the 5 vehicles that we offered to exchange for her. In the month of December she was personally called over 10 times (5 times unfortunately to an incorrect number which was not known about until we spoke to her) and she was emailed and corresponded back numerous times rejecting all of our offers, the consumer wanted a 320i with leather as the only option, in December 2013, the 320i was in very short supply across America and not a single dealership ordered leather in a 320i as a stand-alone option, so we had no vehicles to choose from for her, so we offered her more expensive vehicles with leather. She could have ordered one from the factory but it would have taken 60-90 days and the consumer wanted the car right then. We found another dealership that had a vehicle in her color schemes and we showed her the vehicle build, which she agreed to. The vehicle arrived from the other dealership and she took delivery on 11/27/2013. She was shown the build sheet on the vehicle that we obtained for her, and she agreed on the pricing. In December and January, we offered to exchange her out of the car into another unit and she still refused, she wanted us to give her the $279 per month payment that she did not pay for and wanted the BMW Protection Plan thrown in as well. The consumer rejected these exchanges due to the difference in what she would have to pay for a more expensive vehicle. Here are the facts of the sale: the lease payment advertised by ***** was $279 per month with $3495 due at signing plus state fees, sales tax (if required) and any dealer fees or additions. The consumer chose a vehicle similar to the lease ad vehicle, she put down less than the down payment amount required by the ad, and she purchased a BMW Lease Protection Plan. We actually structured the lease to the same specifications of the lease ad, of course with less money down and a more expensive vehicle plus fees. Her payment was $311 which equated to $32 per month more than the lease ad with all state fees and dealer fees included just as the ad stated would happen. The client then purchased a $1295 BMW Protection Plan which raised her payment to $353 per month. Kuni BMW gave the client every opportunity to obtain a more expensive vehicle and only pay the difference in the value she rejected every attempt. The least expensive vehicle that we could acquire in a 320i or a 320xi was $3800 more expensive, she declined. The consumer was given the opportunity to drive the vehicle before she went into the business office to sign paperwork and she did not have a complaint until 14 days after she took delivery which is when we first were made aware of her dissatisfaction in the vehicle she purchased.. The client advisor has been with Kuni BMW for over 10 years and we have never had a complaint that he swore or was abusive to any client.

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my BMW X3 in July of 2011. Since then I have had it worked on 7 times and they have had my car over 72 days. Three of the problems reoccurred twice!

Desired Settlement: I would like them to buy it back from me. The number or repairs for a brand new luxury car is outrageous!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/02) */ We are sorry that *** ******* has been experiencing warranty issues with her X3. It is always our hope that the BMWs we sell are as trouble-free as possible. As a BMW dealer, our primary responsibility after the initial sale is administer the terms of the manufacturer warranty and to provide vehicle servicing. We are not the decision makers on BMW buy-backs. If BMW decides to buy back a car, its ussually due to a lemon law concern. As you know, Lemon Law cars must experience a VERY high level of issues within the first 12 months of ownership. Most of *** *******'s issues have occurred after 36 months and have been repaired at no charge under the manufacturer's warranty. Accordingly, BMW has rejected buying back the car. Nonetheless, we have negotiated with BMW to provide *** ******* a complimentary 84 month/100,000 mile extended service contract. We conveyed this to *** ******* today and she expressed that she was satisfied with the outcome. Please let me know if you require any more assistance with this complaint. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The Oregon lemon law states the problems need appear during the two year period following the date of the motor vehicle's delivery to the consumer of during the period ending when the motor vehicle mileage reaches 24,000 miles. I had issues with the window regulator and it had to be replaced in July of 2012. In January of 2013, I had trouble with the window regulator again and it had to be replaced as well as a steering malfunction that required BMW Assist to pick up the car and take to BMW of the Tri-Cities. My mileage happened to be26,274 miles. My car has visited the shop 5 more times to have the steering malfunction fixed again, the window fixed a third time, and various battery issues. I am appreciative of the extended warranty, but feel *** *** has not really "fixed" the problem. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/04/09) */ *** ******* has stated that she is appreciative of the extended warranty that Kuni BMW has provided with assistance from *** of ***** ******** Kuni BMW as a dealer is committed to providing excellent customer service and quality work. Both of which we have and will continue to provide *** *******. We are unaware of any pending or unresolved issues with *** *******'s vehicle. We do value *** ******* time and thank her for her business. If there any continuing or new issues with her X3, we are here to address them. Any ownership issue she may have would need to be resolved with *** of ***** ******** Please find the attached documents showing the most recent service visit with the goodwill extended warraty note. Also see attached BMW Warranty Vehicle Inquiry showing the extended warranty as active under the name *******. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2014/04/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) KUNI has been very helpful. My issues lie with *** ****

4/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: What I thought was an awesome company staffed with great employees was only too good to be true. Here's my story, on the morning of January 25th 2013 I go into kuni auto center with my husband to look at buying a new car. As we pull in I find my dream car, couldn't live without it and had to have it! Wasn't going to leave without it. Little did I know this was suppose to be a great day, buying a new car my dream car, only to turn into my worst nightmare! As we test drove my now 2004 vw touareg v8, we came across a few things that needed to be fixed so before I signed paperwork I said I want these things fixed before I sign and they said no problem! Here's what was wrong, the car had a bad smell, burning smell mainly when u turned on the heat and actual smoke did eventually appear after I had it a couple days as well as some electrical issues. What I thought would be an easy fix turned into my car being in their shop for 4 weeks. Kuni's manger **** said he would make my first payment because I didn't have my car since I bought it. Then 2 days after I bought it the smell came back and it was worse and dash lights an CD player were not working so I take it back, we're now in feb and its in the shop for 3 more weeks and then I get it back towards the end of feb. well again I had it for 3-4 days and my car was smoking and dash lights were coming off and on, irritated at this point I take it back and they say they will fix it. So now were 2 weeks into march and they say oh we're waiting on parts and never really made any contact with me the entire time. So I just think there busy so coming into the 3rd week I'm fed up I call **** there service guy and say what's going on with my car. His response is well we can't get the smell to repeat itself we fixed dash lights tho. So I'm annoyed and fed up I ask **** what do I do about this burning smell something is burning his response is "it's drive able and no effecting how its driving". You best believe I hope no one goes to this place to ever buy a car!! Product_Or_Service: 2004 vw touareg

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I am asking that kuni auto center either fixes my car, and actually fixes it instead of telling me they fixed it, and make my car payment for April since I have only had my broken car for maybe a week, and its due April 11th.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* Contact Phone: ********** Contact Email: ******.*******@kunibmw.com We have the vehicle currently in our repair facility. We have reimbursed the guest in the amount of one and a half car payments. We have also provided alternate transportation while the intermittent concern has been diagnosed not only at our facility, but also another Volkswagen location. We have been in contact with the customer to address her concerns.

1/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service