Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Herzog-Meier Auto Center

Phone: (503) 644-9121 Fax: (503) 372-3210 4275 SW 139th Way, Beaverton, OR 97005 http://www.herzogmeier.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Herzog-Meier Auto Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Herzog-Meier Auto Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Herzog-Meier Auto Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1989 Business started: 02/01/1957 in OR Business started locally: 02/01/1989 Business incorporated 12/23/1957 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Tom Herzog, General Manager Mr. Chris Meier, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Herzog, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Additional Locations

  • 4275 SW 139th Way

    Beaverton, OR 97005 (503) 644-9121

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have taken my car into Herzog Volkswagen NUMEROUS times regarding a fuel issue and over heating issue. The fuel pump was replaced however the released the car to me THREE different times leaking gas. I had to bring it back in each time because they failed to replace necessary hoses ect. which were leaking gas. That is an extremely dangerous situation. Not once did anyone apologize. Months later my car over heated and there was something leaking near the driver's tire. They told me I was leaking coolant and replaced the coolant box and some hoses but neglected to listen to me when I showed them where I saw fluid. After getting my car back the car kept leaking so I brought it back. The service rep told me it was just water and left it at that. Finally after tasting the liquid I brought it back in AGAIN and told him it is NOT water! They then inspected my car and said I needed a new radiator. I don't know why this catch that the first time so I had the radiator replaced. After getting my car back that time the hood is no longer aligned with the car and couldn't be opened. I brought it back AGAIN and they greased the latch. They still did NOT align it. They felt it was fixed by greasing it and now my heater in the car does NOT work. I'm not sure why. I've had everything thing replaced in the cooling/heating system including the thermostat. Every time I leave my car with them and then pick it up, something else is wrong.

Desired Settlement: I want my car FIXED and returned without new problems. I want a different mechanic to work on it, not the crew that has been. I want my heater to work and the hood aligned with the car (they way it was when I brought it to you!). I also want a partial refund of the money I've paid. I've given Herzog over $5000 for my repairs and want $1000 of that back for the numerous trips and headaches you've caused me.

Business Response:

It is never our intent to provide such a poor result. If it is possible, we would like to pick up the car, drop off a complimentary loaner vehicle and find out what’s going on with the heater and fix the hood release problem. We will consider the reimbursement request once we get a clearer picture of what it’s going to take to finally repair the vehicle. We will reach out to ****** directly.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: considering reimbursement after looking at my car AGAIN is unacceptable. The fuel issue was fixed after 3 visits (I have kept ALL paperwork and you endangered myself and passengers). The heater stopped getting hot after the radiator was replaced but I decided I just wouldnt use it because I didn't want to come back to Herzog after the ongoing problems. I had no choice when the hood wouldn't open. Remember the radiator was replaced AFTER I came in showing you where my car was leaking and telling you it was over heating. Now that it's cold I realize I have to have my heater working. I am willing to allow them to pick up my car and drop off a complimentary loaner but there must be reimbursement for the numerous visits as well as a different technician working on my car. The fact that this wasn't even offered during the problem itself is unacceptable. I've had no choice to keep going back to Herzog because they did the original work and were paid. Clearly the work hasn't been done correctly the first or second time because I have a stack of service orders that are coded as N/C. I'm tired of constantly contacting you regarding problems. I've wasted a lot of my time going in there for problems that should of been caught the first time and service from the employees is horrible. Please stop treating me like this is my fault and apologize for your mistakes.
Sincerely,

****** ********

Business Response:

A resolution has been reached with ****** whereby Herzog-Meier has flushed the Heater Core and re-aligned the hood at no expense and an agreed-upon refund will be issued.

Mike P******

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ********

12/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 2016 mazda cx5 in for a headlight issue. They had 2 techs look at it determined nothing was wrong. Upon dropping my car off i specifically told service not to wash it for personal reasons. They called me said my car was ready to pick up.. drove out there and they said nothing was wrong with the headlight and they had washed my car putting swirl marks in the paint. Unacceptable so i contacted hq and they had me bring the car back to Herzog mazda. This time i was greeted by Mike P******. I brought up the scratches in my paint and basically I was told that was from the "wax" I used. Funny car had never been waxed and I have pictures of what the car looked like before. They kept my car overnight and did determine the drivers side was defective headlight unit. They ordered a new "oem" part installed and came and picked up my car. Thinking that a reputable dealer installed it I thought it was fixed. Later that night several co-workers saw and signed a note that I had written. So now my previous problem with 1 headlight being a different color, now my LED DRL light was yellow compared to the one they didnt replace. So i picked up my car thinking it was fixed, but was actually worse. The loaner car they gave me was dirty, poor wiper blades and car was way low on oil. I paid money out of my own pocket to fix these things on the loaner car. They took copies of reciepts. I went back last Saturday to show how bad my car was and was basically shoved away and Dave was rude and pawned off any decisions on Mike P******. I gave this dealer all last week to contact me and they never did to resolve both these issues with the scratches and with my bad headlight.

Desired Settlement: Depending on the outcome of this complaint. Im taking this matter very seriously. I want refunded for the following, no questions asked before I hire an attorney. 1. The oil and wiper blades I replaced on the loaner car. 2. 299.00 I was quoted for a detail shop of my choice for the exterior or I will do it my self and buy the supplies. 3. I wont accept an offer from them for their detail guys to do the work. I will be taking my business elsewhere from now on.

Business Response:

Herzog-Meier wishes to extend a sincere apology for Mr. ******* poor experience with our Mazda business. Of course Herzog-Meier is more than willing to repair/remove any swirls marks we may have accidentally caused. It is unreasonable to request that we compensate Mr. ***** for that service at an outside vendor that is out of our control. We are also very appreciative for such good care that was taken of our loaner vehicle. We will gladly process a reimbursement to Mr. ***** for the wiper blades and oil he purchased once we have the receipts.

Also, the headlight system is working as designed and a slight difference in tint is not abnormal. Herzog-Meier Mazda is more than willing to replace/repair any failed component using the manufacturer warranty should there exist a failure during the manufacturer warranty period but Herzog-Meier is bound by the Policies and Procedures of Mazda USA. This would not be a claim that would be honored at this time by Mazda under the current Warranty guidelines.

Mike P******
Fixed Operations Director
Herzog-Meier Auto Center

10/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 27, 2015 I traded in my 2012 VW diesel car at the above car dealership out of great disappointment and frustration due to the recent Vw diesel scandal and also under pressure by sales supervisor Jesse who then offered a maximum of 3 days (till 9/30) for me to decide and take the deal. I wasn't happy with the offer (felt the trade-in value was too low) but decided to take it and traded in my car and leased a 2016 VW. I found out a few days later that ** ** ******* offers $2000 in loyalty bonus to customers who own or who live with someone in the same household who owns a VW car and buys or leases a new VW with or without trading in the old/used car. I contacted the dealership, left several voice messages for Tom Herzog General Mgr. He has never called me back. Then I left messages for Chris Sales Mgr. Finally he called me on 10/7 and promised to find out what he could do for me the next day. He clearly expressed it to me that he was willing to get me, if not the whole $2000, at least part of it. After 2 days of useless waiting I decided to visit the dealership and try to resolve my issues. I had other issues that I didn't want to bother to resolve but decided to mention them now. (My salesman Mickey K***** told me I would get a 3-year free maintenance package with the new car, exactly what I had with the old car but again, after a few days I had to find out that the new car doesn't come with free maintenance. Also I didn't like the fact that he asked for my drivers license 5 times during negotiations and took it away and took photo shots of it with his phone and never explained why. I was and still am worried about ID theft. And also my windshield wipers worked unacceptably bad and the service dept didn't want to replace them, so I had buy a new one at ********!) On Friday,10/9/15 I was only able to talk to Jesse, Chris Sales Mgr was unavailable! He promised me he would call me back Monday but he hasn't. Today I called and new S. Mgr refused to help me.

Desired Settlement: At minimum I would expect to receive some respect and appreciation for being a customer and at least I expect all employees, especially managers to keep their words and call me back when they promise to. I don't wish to concern myself with looking to find resolutions for my smaller issues. It is obvious I don't have any 'rights' at Herzog-Meier as a customer! But I demand that ** ** ******* (through the dealership) refunds me the $2000 because I have been a VW customer and I still am, so I feel I am eligible for the loyalty bonus a 100%! I am losing a lot more ( not just money) due to the scandal and a bad trade-in deal! Thank You.

Business Response: Herzog-Meier Volkswagen nor any other dealer in the US has any control over ********** ** ******* (****) incentives or programs. At the time of Mr. ******** transaction, **** was offering a $500 Owner Loyalty program and this was included in the transaction. Additionally, Herzog-Meier allowed $1000 over the actual trade-in value of Mr. ******** vehicle in an attempt to assist in the unfortunate nature of the transaction. Despite the fact that the EPA has stated that the affected vehicles are safe to drive and further that ****
has on record indicated that a remedy will be made available that will have no effect on vehicle fuel economy, Mr. ****** felt it necessary to replace his TDI-equipped vehicle immediately after hearing the news of the Emissions situation. Herzog-Meier respects and appreciates Mr. ******** business and regrettably has no provision to accommodate his request at this time. Purely as a Goodwill gesture by Herzog-Meier, Mr. ****** was offered a VW Care maintenance package that would cover the maintenance during the contracted vehicle Lease. Mr. ****** has spoken to no fewer than three managers at Herzog-Meier and they have all kindly taken the time to explain the Emissions situation to him as best understood at the time. Herzog-Meier has also offered the contact information for ********** Customer Care.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:the stated $1000 extra trade-in value is false information, also I didn't receive free maintenance from VW or the dealership. When I see them written down I will accept the resolution.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Business Response:

Mr. ****** would have received the information regarding VW Care via e-mail. Confirmation of the contract is attached.

 

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

9/18/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am from the San Francisco Bay area and found a VW GTI I wanted to purchase up in Portland and before flying out there, I wanted to get a Pre-purchase inspection done for the car. I called Herzog and scheduled an appointment with them and they notified me that the car also is due for a DSG transmission service, along with brake fluid flush. I told them that I would not like to proceed with those services unless the car checks out clean with the inspection. When Joshua (my service adviser) called me back, he stated everything was great with the car. I then specifically asked him "has the car had any repainted panels or signs its been in a collision" and he told me "no it has not, the mechanic would have notified me if it has". So I went ahead and did the services, total costing me around $750. I flew out to Portland the next week to go get the car, only to find extremely obvious signs its been repainted. Passenger fender is not OEM VW, and signs of repaint from the hood, both fenders and blended into both doors. I called Herzog back to ask about this and Joshua told us "well the mechanics typically don't check for signs of repaint or collision", despite him specifically telling me that it has not been in one. I paid for a $250 inspection that i COMPLETELY do not trust anymore due to the fact that he lied about checking if its been in a collision. Then I went ahead and paid $500 for the services that I shouldn't have because if it showed signs I wouldn't have said okay to the additional services. My call with Joshua dropped and I was not able to get a hold of him again that day after multiple attempts and messages left to other people. Today, 5 days later, he still has not gotten back to me. He not only lied about the inspection to me but now will not return or answer my calls. I had to fly back to SF which costed more money as well.

Desired Settlement: I want a complete refund of the Inspection, DSG check and brake fluid flush totaling to about $750-$800 along with the flight back to San Francisco which I shouldn't have had to pay for.

Business Response: Herzog-Meier has reached out to Ms. **** and will be refunding the amount paid for the services performed on the vehicle.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* ****

9/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new Volkswagen from Herzog-Meier on 3-16-15. I agreed to an add-on ******** insurance policy with the option to cancel after reviewing the policy. I was told I had 60 days to cancel. On 4-19-15 I emailed Lonnie B***, the Business Manager, expressing my desire to cancel. He acknowledged the cancellation in an email. It did not happen. I have since, emailed three times requesting it be cancelled. The first two were answered but with no result, the last, sent 7-3-15 was ignored completely. In addition they lie and cheat and are a shoddy company to do business with.

Desired Settlement: Cancel my policy, per agreement, and credit my balance with ********** *******

Business Response: This request has been processed. Lonnie is no longer with Herzog-Meier which may explain the lack of response however what Mr. ***** explained is both unacceptable and uncharacteristic of our operation. We deeply regret the frustration Mr. ***** has experienced and hope to regain his trust enough to have an opportunity to earn his business in the future. We also have attempted to reach Mr. ***** unsuccessfully to apologize and work to resolve any outstanding issues. Herzog-Meier has been serving the community for almost 58 years and we strive to provide excellent experiences and customer interactions. We appreciate Mr. ******* business and though ******** processing the cancellation may cause a small delay, we can confirm that ********** ****** will have the refund as quickly as possible.  If Mr. ***** has any future concerns or questions he can contact Chris L*** (General Sales Manager) at***** *********

Business Response: The cancellation was immediately process and Herzog-Meier remitted Check #****** dated 7-30-15 payable to ** ****** in the amount of $2495.

8/26/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle on 7/31/15 from the dealership at closing. I was told that the Blue Tooth was fully functional in the vehicle, which was a large part of the purchase decision. During the purchase process, the Finance Manager assured me that if there were any issues with the vehicle that the company would take care of the issues as long as I let them know about it in a timely manner (his words were "not two weeks later, but as soon as possible"). I contacted the dealership the following Tuesday about my concern with the vehicle. It has now been a week and the most recent update I got was that they would not honor what I was told unless the Finance Manager was willing to pay for it himself. Each time I have called I was assured a call back the same day, that has never happened.

Desired Settlement: Repair, or pay to repair the Blue Tooth so that it is functioning as advertised during the purchase process.

Business Response: We have reached out to Mr. ******* and have made arrangements to meet to review the vehicle equipment and diagnose any Bluetooth-related concerns. According to Acura, 2004 TL models were all equipped with this feature. Herzog-Meier regrets any inconvenience Mr. ******* experienced with this situation.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I would like to change my response as I was not able to respond in time.

 

It took some time to get my car into the dealership and for them to be able to complete the work. However, the work has since been completed and the complaint is resolved. I would like to include that Mike and Jordan were great, but I still received some hostile behavior from other employees at the dealership which will keep me from being a customer in the future.

 

Thank you,

 

***** *******

 




7/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brought my like new 2013 CPO VW Jetta TDI into the Herzog Meier VW service center to diagnose a check engine light. After they had my vehicle for a 1.5 days I picked it up and found it to be in working order however much to my surprise there were dirt marks on both front seats, steering wheel, INSIDE the center console on my belongings, and grease smudges on the headliner of the door frame near the dash. Not long after I noticed a strange haze on the instrument cluster and upon further inspection noticed tons of tiny speckles which looked at closely were actually pits in the plastic. I've had the car for over 6 months and without a doubt the damage was not there before they serviced it. After trying several times I was able to schedule an appointment to bring it in for them to look at it. When I did the service representative tried to tell me that there was nothing he could do because they "didnt really" work around that area, just under the dash. So I asked to talked the service manager Bryce. He too tried to tell me they couldn't do anything because they "didn't really" work in that area but this time he said they didn't even work inside the car! (Ok, so how did the cabin of the car get so dirty?) I told him I wasn't going to let this slide and the plastic needed to be replaced. He then tried to tell me they couldn't do that BUT if I wanted to have it fixed I could buy a new cluster. I continued to press that they were clearly at fault and were responsible for replacing the piece. Finally he offered to polish the piece like he was doing me a favor. I hesitantly agreed after he insisted that it would be like new again. A few days later I brought it in to be fixed and they had the car overnight again. I picked it up expecting it to be all fixed but wouldn't you know it they polished the plastic but the damage was STILL there! Not only that they managed to cause even more damage by scratching up the dash! I left Bryce a voicemail but haven't heard from him since.

Desired Settlement: I would like the plastic lenses on my instrument cluster to be replaced WITHOUT causing any further damage to my car and for the scratches in my dash to be professionally repaired. I don't think that's asking too much.

Business Response: Herzog-Meier has a meeting scheduled with **** this Tuesday at 10am where a vehicle inspection will be completed.

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Please see attached document.

Sincerely,

**** *****

You can now close the complaint. After HM VW took care of an personnel issue we were able to work together to reach a satisfactory repair and resolve the issue. 

Thanks, 

**** *****

 

5/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited with 104k miles and paid cash. I too was made to pose in front of the car with an "AS IS" sign in my hand so they could take a photo. The only redeeming part about the vehicle turned out to be the "fairly new tires". So far in the first month I've had to have the front differential rebuilt, and replaced a defective catalytic converter. I took it back to my local mechanic for a bearing noise in the rear axle, when they opened the differential metal fragments were laying in the case and some of the gears were missing big chunks of metal. So far the grand total for this Jeep POS is $2500 plus the original purchase price! Dealership pushed the Carfax as sole information and did not inform me of the vehicles mechanical issues during the sale.

Desired Settlement: They need to accurately list "all of the defective mechanical issues" of the vehicle they are selling. They misrepresented the vehicle and any repairs that are needed.

Business Response: Mr. ******* purchased a pre-owned vehicle from our ****** used vehicle inventory. These vehicles are older higher mileage units, and are sold strictly as-is. The customer is advised in no uncertain terms of that fact, from the window sticker to the disclosure signed in the business office. In addition, we take a photograph of the customer to ensure their complete understanding of the AS-IS nature of these vehicles. It is this very nature that results in the often significant price difference between these vehicles and market value.

We perform a basic safety inspection only on these cars, and do a short test drive to ensure that there are no evident issues. At the time of the inspection and also at the time of delivery, the vehicle operated properly.

Our pre-owned manager reached out to Mr. ******* on 23-Feb-15 to try to better understand the nature of his concern and to reach a satisfactory conclusion. Mr. ******* indicated he agreed and understood the disclosure and the offer to have the vehicle inspected.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It was evident in my discussion with ******* **** that he and his dealership would not accept any responsibility for neglect in the deceptive practices regarding the safety condition of the vehicle I purchased. He claims I purchased a ****** vehicle when in fact I purchased a typical previously owned (used) vehicle from their lot. In my discussion with him I described the drive train defects with regard to both the howling front differential, and the chewed up gears of the rear differential. Both issues in themselves taken separately would have at least seized up at freeway speeds, or at worst caused injury and possible death. His reaction was not to really care if that were to happen or not. His position was that he sold me a vehicle and I accepted the terms of that sale and that was all. Then he went on to tell me that they sold me the vehicle for $3,000 less than blue book. He said they performed an inspection on vehicle and a drive test, if that's true then they knew the issues regarding this vehicle and were negligent in dealing with them by not repairing them such as a howling noise from the front differential at 10mph and above cause by worn bearings and seals, and a squeeling noise from the rear end that could only be heard once the howling noise from the front was repaired. A busted catalytic converter that rattled because it was old and worn out. Bad A arm bushing and Shock absorbers on the front end. So they did an inspection of the vehicle? Really? Safety issues don't seem to be their concern, deception and profit is! Herzog Meier will not accept responsibility for their actions with regard to this sale because it profits them not too!

Sincerely,
*** *******

Business Response: We appreciate the concerns brought up by Mr. *******, however, we offer these ****** vehicles as-is as a means of keeping the price low to the consumer. We do not make huge profits on these cars, they are simply an opportunity to offer a solution for the overwhelming number of people who approach us with a limited ****** and needing an inexpensive vehicle, even if that vehicle might need repairs. We clearly and unequivocally disclose the as-is nature of these cars in no less than 3 different paper documents, and further ensure understanding by taking a photograph, which Mr. ******* acknowledged. These documents and processes exist not just to help protect the dealership but also as opportunities for the consumer to express concern about the vehicle thus allowing us to explain again and possibly switch to a different vehicle (perhaps one that has had full reconditioning performed). We do NOT do an inspection on mechanical condition or possible issues, so we don't have information to provide on these items. This is also disclosed. We check safety related items only (lights, brake function, seat belts). The road test is simply to ensure that the brakes function correctly and car will stop safely. Finally, all documents provide that the customer may take the car for an inspection at the mechanic of their choice BEFORE the purchase. A decision to NOT do that is a decision made solely by the consumer.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

They're just repeating the same response they gave previously!! They "still" express a careless attitude about selling "deathtrap" vehicles. It's like selling a vicious animal without telling the buyer it's a possible health threat, there response is "we took a picture of the buyer and the animal with a sign that says "as is" before the animal attacked him so it's not our fault, he wanted a cheap animal". It' absurd, eventually this dealership will go out of business if they run out of buyers from the bad reviews they keep getting on *********** and Yelp.com. They seem to have no problem paying straw review websites to only have positive reviews for them by deleting customer complaints and negative reviews against them.

Sincerely,

*** *******

2/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was quoted one price to diagnose what was the problem with my car,125.00 for an hour.The service man Josh called me with diagnoses in less then hour .When my wife pick up the car,he charged her 250.00 dollars and told her that I approved.But I did not approved this.He said that there is recording with my approval and I called him few times to get this recording but he is telling me that he is going to have his manager look at it and call me back.That is not happening and I told him that I will take different action,so I am asking for your help.

Desired Settlement: Because of diagnoses for one repair that need to replace switch for windshield defrost for 645.00 and replacing the fuse only actually solve this issue,I suspect that other diagnoses are not honest as well.So I will have to go somewhere else to get opinion because now I am very suspect about their practice . Now because I am not satisfied and probably will have additional expense I should have all my money back.

Business Response: We have been in contact with Mr. ***** and have resolved his concern by agreeing to refund $125 as a one-time goodwill gesture.

2/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told when I bought a used car there that my mechanic couldn't look at the car before the purchase, but that their mechanic had already checked all the things our mechanic would have checked. After I got the home and realized that oil and coolant were leaking (which was verified by my mechanic), I called Herzog and I was told by Nick and by Mike that their mechanics only check lights and brakes. This is a direct contradiction to what the sales people told us when we were buying the car. We would not have bought the car if it had been honestly represented.

Desired Settlement: I would like to return the car for a full refund.

Business Response: Herzog-Meier has been in contact with Mr. ****** and has reached an agreement that resolves her concerns with the vehicle. The vehicle is being repaired.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The vehicle is currently in herzog's shop for the second time (in four weeks) because it seems to have major fluid leakage. My concerns are not resolved at all because a- I doubt the car is really being fixed this time and b- I was lied to before purchasing this car, which is not something businesses should be allowed to do to people. I really just want a refund on the car.

Business Response: It is not uncommon for Volkswagens of this generation (or any car, for that matter) to develop leaks at gasket points in the engine. This is not an indication of anything other than needed maintenance. As a Goodwill gesture, Herzog-Meier has replaced both the Valve Cover gasket and the cam adjuster seals, cleaned the engine and verified that no leaks remain. As of the 6th, Herzog-Meier had cleaned the engine and was performing deep-cycle driving tests to determine the source of any additional leaks after having repaired the valve cover gasket. Once the cam seal leak was identified, Ms. ****** was notified and the work was completed by the 8th. Ms. ****** did not return to pick up her vehicle until the 10th. Herzog-Meier has made attempts to reach Ms. ****** but to the best of our knowledge she is satisfied with the repairs.

Consumer Response: The issue has been settled and I am happy to drop the complaint.

11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Car shut off on me while driving 45 mph Found they knew of defects and failed to disclose car would require said maintenance before I purchased the car. Car was unsafe and not roadworthy in as is condition I want to return the car "as-is" for a full refund. Car died within 72 hours of purchase however the dealer I purchased from was closed and the time of need to rescind contract. Product_Or_Service: BMW

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want to be able to return the car so I can purchase a safe and roadworthy car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/10) */ Ms. ******* reached one of our sales managers on the evening of the 9th and made an appointment to return on Sunday to resolve this issue. Though Ms. ******* purchased the vehicle as-is (and signed a disclosure as such), Herzog-Meier is glad to work with her as a Goodwill gesture to replace the vehicle with something else that meets her needs. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/10/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) "As Is" is only relevant in terms of warranty, which does not mean the buyer is not entitled to relief. Under UPTA or ORS 646.608 covers the failure to disclose material defects of goods. The car was defective and the price was for a usable vehicle in excellent condition which means mechanically not just visibly. If the car was not properly inspected prior to being taken in as dealer inventory, then it was not in a sell-able state should be able to rescind the sale based on a voidable contract. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/10/28) */ Members of the ******-***** staff have attempted to make contact with Ms. ******* in an attempt to resolve this matter but no calls have been returned. Most recent attempt was 10/17 at 5:27pm by ******* ****. Attempts were also made to replace the unit with something else but were unsuccessful. In addition, Ms. ******* signed an as-is document and took a photo by the vehicle indicating her understanding of the disclosure. Specifically, that the vehicle being purchased may need repairs and that all sales are final. If Ms. ******* would reach out to ******* **** at (XXX) XXX-XXXX we would be willing to discuss options for resolving this matter.

8/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a new car from herzog Meier last year with an extended warranty. I traded the car in recently, and have been trying to get a refund on the extended warranty, because I only had the car for 9 months. I call the dealership numerous times and the receptionist puts me through to the finance department where I get put to voicemail. I leave messages by phone and email and no one contacts me. I finally got a hold of someone in the finance department and he told me to submit some forms. I have submitted the forms. Now I have tried to get an update on whether they have recieved the cancellation request and no one responds. don't see why I can't get a response from someone telling me what is going on.

Desired Settlement: My refund on the extended warranty. And a response.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/18) */ **** has been contacted and a cancellation/refund is in process. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/08/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The business contacted me and informed me that my refund would come in 6-8 weeks. I am still very dissatisfied with herzog meiers customer service. If they wouldn't have been ignoring me I would have received my refund already. I initially requested a cancellation 2 months ago. Now I have to wait another 2 months to get my money. It's sad when you have to make a complaint through BBB just for a business to contact you.

8/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In January 2012, I leased a new VW Jetta wagon from Herzog Meier. During the sales process, my husband and I were exhausted after a very long and tiring negotiation process. During the sales process, the sales manager and the finance manager both stressed repeatedly that because we put such a large downpayment ($11,000) on the lease, we MUST purchase the car at the end of the lease term. It's always been our intention to do so. At the time we signed the paperwork, we were told that we should purchase an extra policy for excess wear on the car. It was represented to us that we could use this policy to fix all dings, dents, replace tires and chipped glass before the end of the lease and the eventual purchase. They continued to press us to purchase this policy and stated repeatedly that his would be a good idea for us. Now that the end of the lease time is near, I've tried to contact Herzog-Meier multiple times about this policy. I received one call back from the finance manager, after leaving several messages. He said he would call me back with the phone numbers and process to file a claim. That was in June 2014. It is now August and I never heard back. I contacted VW on my own and they explained to me that I can only use the policy to repair these items if I TURN THE CAR IN. Not if I purchase the car.

Desired Settlement: Since I am not able to use the policy as described and sold to me (for over $900), I would like the price of the policy refunded to me in full. It's only fair - they completely misrepresented to me the policy in order to sell me an additional product that I didn't need and couldn't use - which they knew as they were the ones insisting that I plan to purchase the car at the end of the lease term.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/12) */ Herzog-Meier will be refunding the full amount. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/08/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I am pleased that they are willing to refund the full amount of the policy to me. To date, they have not returned my phone calls to inquire about actually receiving this refund. I have left several messages, but am not getting a return call.

7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased two Mazda 2, last Aug 2013. One for my daughter and one for me. As I was about to drive mine from the lot, my daughter saw that the left front hub cap wasn't on right. They bumped it into place. Also as an extra side note: mine had dents that I discovered when I got home and went back the next day and discussed this with repairing them and then was dismissed as I tried to follow up. After many calls they had what I would call a Bully call me and try to pin me. I gave up. Back to the issue at hand......the left front wheel. Yesterday I went in (only because they offered a free oil and check as a thank you for buying from them) they said that the front left wheel was not a Mazda wheel. This is what they offered. They would "let" me pay half of a Mazda wheel and they would not charge for service. I walked out before I said something I would regret. A few minutes ago, I called the service dept and asked if they used only Mazda genuine parts and they said yes. They are quick to tell me that they are not a part of the Herzog-Meier sales.....soooooo, what .....they get away with this? I want a new Mazda wheel to go with my new car....don't you think?

Desired Settlement: I want a new Mazda wheel to go with my new car....don't you think

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/07/15) */ Herzog-Meier regrets the inconvenience and sincerely appreciates the opportunity to correct this issue. Herzog-Meier Mazda will order a wheel for this Mazda 2 and replace the one mismatched wheel as a goodwill gesture. It is believed the vehicle somehow arrived to Herzog-Meier from Mazda with a mismatched wheel though there is no way to be certain... all that matters is that the vehicle have four identical wheels. **** ****** the Mazda Service Manager will be in touch with Ms. ******. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2014/07/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I purchased two Mazda 2, last Aug 2013. One for my daughter and one for me. As I was about to drive mine from the lot, my daughter saw that the left front hub cap wasn't on right. They bumped it into place. Also as an extra side note: mine had dents that I discovered when I got home and went back the next day and discussed this with repairing them and then was dismissed as I tried to follow up. After many calls they had what I would call a Bully call me and try to pin me. I gave up. Back to the issue at hand......the left front wheel. Yesterday I went in (only because they offered a free oil and check as a thank you for buying from them) they said that the front left wheel was not a Mazda wheel. This is what they offered. They would "let" me pay half of a Mazda wheel and they would not charge for service. I walked out before I said something I would regret. A few minutes ago, I called the service dept and asked if they used only Mazda genuine parts and they said yes. They are quick to tell me that they are not a part of the Herzog-Meier sales.....soooooo, what .....they get away with this? I want a new Mazda wheel to go with my new car....don't you think? Consumer's Desired Resolution: I want a new Mazda wheel to go with my new car....don't you think I accept them offering to replace a non madza wheel with a genuine madza part in this case a wheel.

6/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is about the unethical business practices I experienced at the Herzog-Meier Mazda dealership in February 2014. At approximately 5:30 pm, the sales manager agreed to lease me a vehicle for a price that was equal to the invoice price. By the time I sat down with the finance person to sign the papers, it was approximately 8:30 pm. Somehow, the invoice price we agreed on disappeared from the paperwork and MUCH higher figures were shown. I told the finance person that I didn't remember seeing or discussing those higher figures during the negotiation process. He responded with (not exact words) "these are the figures they already discussed with you". I was pretty sure those WERE NOT the figures that the sales manager and I discussed but since there were so many figures flying around at that point, and it was almost 9:00 pm, I went ahead with the deal. During the next few days I reviewed the documents (lease agreements) more carefully. They contained several "mystery" figures and the invoice price was not identifiable. As best I could determine, I paid about $3000 more than I should have. It was clear that Herzog-Meier Mazda took advantage of me (bait and switch tactics) so I pursued getting it resolved. About two months later, I received a check from Herzog-Meier Mazda for a little over $500 with no explanation. This tells me that 1) they admit to overcharging me; 2) they are unable/unwilling to explain the "mystery" figures in the documents or confirm that I paid the agreed-upon price; 3) they are still displaying unethical business practices by sending me a check for a little over $500 when it should be around $3000. Product_Or_Service: 2014 Mazda CX-5 Touring AWD Account_Number: Lease number XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a CLEAR explanation of what I paid (leased) the vehicle for. If it was more than the agreed-upon invoice price, I would like a refund for any/all fees, charges, etc. that exceed that price. In addition, I would like to be compensated for the time and energy I have put into getting this matter resolved.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/28) */ **** had been working with ****** to help resolve this matter and ******-***** reached an agreement with ****** in the amount of $533 which ******-***** understood concluded this matter (and explains the check to the customer). ****** prefers the Dealership NOT reach out to the customer. I have spoken with **** today, explained all of the numbers and will follow-up with an e-mail providing greater detail as agreed upon. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I'm happy to report that the General Manager of Herzog-Meier contacted me immediately and provided more detail about the transaction. Although I am still concerned about how the purchase price and other figures are presented in the documentation (which led me to believe that I was over-charged) I do appreciate the General Manager's response.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Herzog-Meier Auto Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)