BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales, service and leasing of Volkswagen vehicles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dick Hannah VW of Portland meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dick Hannah VW of Portland include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dick Hannah VW of Portland
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 08, 2011 Business started: 12/01/1949 in OR Business started locally: 12/01/1949 Business incorporated 05/24/2010 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jason Hannah, VP Ms. Jennifer Hannah, VP
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Hannah, VP
Customer Contact: Ms. Jennifer Hannah, VP
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Dick Hannah's Volkswagen of Portland

Additional Locations

  • 12345 E Burnside St

    Portland, OR 97233 (503) 802-1900 (800) 731-0494 (503) 256-3700

  • PO Box 1679

    Vancouver, WA 98668

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my car serviced at Dick Hannah. Thereafter, while driving down the road, my entire wheel came off. My car kept sliding down the street without the wheel and I had to apply my emergency brake to get the car to stop. Because DH did not properly secure my wheel back onto my car after rotating the tires, my car now has thousands of dollars in damage.

Desired Settlement: Reparation for vehicle damage.

Business Response: Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to resolve this concern. I have spoken to Mr. ****** and we have inspected his vehicle. While it is almost impossible to determine the exact cause of the wheel coming off the vehicle (the vehicle was driven almost 500 miles since we serviced it), as a matter of goodwill we will be repairing the vehicle at no cost to Mr. ******.
Regards,
**** **********
Parts and Service Director
Dick Hannah VW/HY of Portland

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** ******

4/18/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought my car new at Dick Hannah 2010. I was told that if I have all my services done at the same dealership I would receive new tires (Loyalty Rewards Program). I have had all my services done at the same dealership since I bought my car at Dick Hannah of Portland. I was denied tires based on one missed oil changed. I was told that if I could provide paperwork for the service they would review my claim. I know that I did not miss my oil change (the oil change in question would have been a no charge service)I cannot provide paperwork. On 2/20/14, I called the head service manager and explained to him my problem. He proceeded to lecture me on the importance of getting my oil changed and that it is more than just an oil change. I asked him if this is all that he could do for me. He told me that if I could not provide the paperwork, then he could not help me. I felt that he talked down to me because I am a woman. I felt that he was very rude and not willing to help me or find a compromise. I feel that there is a complete lack of customer service at Dick Hannah of Portland.

Desired Settlement: I have taken my car for ALL services at Dick Hannah of Portland, I would like new tires.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/03/12) */ RE: BBB complaint case #XXXXXXXX ***** ******** To Whom It May Concern: Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to resolve this concern. I have spoken to Ms. ******** regarding her concerns. Our no charge Loyalty Rewards Program states that we will replace your tires when they are worn to 3/32 of an inch or less due to normal wear and tear as long as you are maintaining your vehicle at a **** ****** Dealership as recommended by the manufacturer. Ms. ********'s vehicle is due for normally service every 10,000 miles. Ms. ******** completed her 10,000 and 20,000 mile carefree maintenance services with us, but we have no record of her having the 30,000 mile service performed. When she came in at 43,000 miles for her 40,000 mile service, we inspected her tires and submitted a claim to the program administrator for tire replacement as the tires were at the 3/32 wear mark. Unfortunately due to the missed 30,000 mile service, the claim was denied. Ms. ******** has stated the she had the service done with us, but after checking our files, neither we nor ** of ******* has any record of this service having been completed. If Ms. ******** can provide proof that the service was done at a **** ****** Dealership, we will gladly reconsider this claim. Regards, **** ********** Parts and Service Director **** ****** VW/HY of Portland Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/03/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I really feel that Dick Hannah has pulled a bait and switch on me. They have not offered any compromise or willing to meet me somewhere in the middle. Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2014/04/14) */ Customer's name has been removed from our address list per the customer request. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2014/04/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) On 4/1/14 I returned **** from ** of ******** call. **** informed me that they could not find any record of my oil change. But they could sell me tires at the employee discount. I informed **** that I already bought tires. Resolution not resolved. Just please have Dick Hannah remove me from their address list. I will not be going back to any Dick Hannah dealerships. Thank you

4/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been attempting to get new tires for my vehicle. I have had over 10 phone calls to accomplish this task over the last two weeks. The process is dragging on and is unnecessary and puts Dick Hannah responsible for untimely repairs to my vehicle. Here is a brief timeline of events over the last two weeks: 20MAR I brought my car in due to a flat tire. I'm told my tires have zero tread and I need new tires. I ask **** to order them. I am a part of the customer's for life program. 21 MAR I call Dick Hannah to verify when my tires will be available to make an appointment. I'm told to talk to ***** **** does not call me back. 22 MAR I call Dick Hannah to inquire and am told **** will call me back. I explain that I drive to Salem regularly to for work and worry about the lack of tread on the tire. ****** tells me to talk to **** and that he will call me back. I let her know that I was told the same yesterday and received no call. 24MAR **** calls me and tells me he has been busy and put the order in for my tires and will follow up by the next day. 26 MAR I call **** because he did not return my phone call as stated. **** calls me back and tells me has not heard back and will follow up. 1 APR. I call in because I still do not know the status of my tires. **** calls me back to tell me the Order had not gone through and he will contact a manager. He calls back later to tell me he ordered 235/40 R18 95H tires. I am replacing my wheels, so I call the wheel manufacturer and he tells me that is the wrong size tire. I call **** back and ask him why I am getting 18" tires, when I currently have 17" tires. **** tells me he will call me back by the end of the day. He explains he knows nothing about tires. 2APR **** calls me to tell me I am getting a 17" tire. I explain that my tires are 235/45 ZR17 95H, which is a 17" tire. **** tells me both are 17" and he talked to his parts guy. I called back and spoke with *** in parts. *** tells me that the number I gave him is an 18" and will not fit my wheels. I ask him to verify what was ordered, and he tells me to talk to service. He transfers me to ******* ****** tells me I should talk to parts to verify the tires that were ordered. She offers to transfer me to a service guy, and I ask for anyone but ***** **** calls back and apologizes for any confusion, and asks for my tire number (for the second time) and that he will look into the problem. He explains I might have the wrong tire on there currently. **** calls me back and leaves me a voicemail asking for my VIN. I called back and ***** told me she would have **** call me because he was unavailable. I was unable to leave my VIN in the message for him. My gripes: 1). I purchased my card through Dick Hannah. I have had all service here, you should already have my VIN. 2. This should be a relatively easy process. I have a stock 2012 EOS, which has 17" tires. I am ordering 17" wheels for those tires. 3. This is my second vehicle through DH. My first was through ** in Vancouver and I never had a problem with service or obtaining tires through the CFL program. 4. **** helped me on one other occasion when I dropped my car off to get washed. I said I was not in a hurry (my fault). I waited 2.5 hours and when **** brought me my keys, he said he **** did not tell him I was waiting and he apologized. He told me it was ready 2 hours earlier. 5. I would like to get the 17" tires that belong on my vehicle and installed in a timely fashion.

Desired Settlement: Timely replacement of tires under CFL. Also to notify me of the tire so I can order wheels that fit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/14) */ RE: **** ****** Case#XXXXXXXX To Whom It May Concern: Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to resolve this concern. We have replaced ****'s tires under our Loyalty Rewards Program. We have apologized for the confusion regarding the tire replacement and our timeliness in getting this resolved. We have offered to fill ****'s fuel tank as a goodwill gesture. Regards, **** ********** Parts and Service Director Dick Hannah VW/HY of Portland Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My car went in for service and the tank was not filled. I spoke with **** regarding this.

4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I PURCHASED MY KIA SPORTAGE FEB 5TH. I NOTIFIED ****** AND ***** AT DICK HANNAH THE FOLLOWING WEEK THAT THE SEAT BELT WAS BROKEN IN THE BACK SEAT. THEY ASSURED ME THE SEAT BELT WOULD BE REPAIRED AT NO COST. I STOPPED BY THE SERVICE CENTER SO THEY COULD REPLACE A FRONT MARKER LIGHT THAT WAS OUT WHICH THEY ALSO SAID WOULD BE AT NO COST. I ALSO TOLD THEM ABOUT THE CENTER CONSOLE LIGHT THAT WAS OUT. I WAS THERE FOR OVER 30 MINUTES FOR THEM TO DECIDE THAT THE MARKER LIGHT BULB WOULD TAKE 3 HOURS TO REPLACE AND FOR THEM TO WRITE DOWN THE INFO ON THE SEAT BELT SO THEY COULD ORDER IT. I LEFT WITH THE UNDERSTANDING THAT THEY WOULD CALL ME WHEN THE SEAT BELT CAME IN AND THAT THEY WOULD FIX THE MARKER LIGHT BULB AND THE CENTER CONSOLE LIGHT AT THE SAME TIME. TWO WEEKS WENT BY AND I NEVER HEARD FROM ANYONE. I CALLED THE SERVICE DEPT AND THEY DIDN'T KNOW WHAT I WAS TALKING ABOUT. THEY TRANSFERRED ME AROUND UNTIL I FINALLY HUNG UP AND CALLED THE SALES DEPT. I WAS FINALLY ABLE TO REACH ****** AND HE SCHEDULED AN APPT FOR THE FOLLOWING TUES MARCH 4TH FOR ME TO BRING MY CAR IN. I BROUGHT MY CAR IN ON MARCH 4TH AS SCHEDULED. THEY PROVIDED A RENTAL FOR ME. I APPRECIATED THIS. **** TOLD ME THEY WERE SENDING MY CAR TO THEIR SUBARU LOCATION IN VANCOUVER BECAUSE THEY WERE THE ONES THAT ORIGINALLY INSPECTED THE CAR AND THAT IT COULD TAKE UP TO TWO DAYS. ON WEDNESDAY I CALLED TO FIND OUT THE STATUS. APPARENTLY THE SUBARU LOCATION WAS THE WRONG PLACE SO THEY HAD TO SEND IT TO THE CHRYSLER LOCATION. I TALKED WITH ****** ABOUT IT, EXPRESSING SOME OF MY FRUSTRATION. HE APOLOGIZED AND SAID HE WOULD MAKE SURE I HAD A FULL TANK OF GAS AND A CAR WASH FOR ALL THE TROUBLE. I CALLED AGAIN ON FRIDAY. THEY HADN'T LOOKED AT MY CAR YET, BUT THEY WERE GOING TO LOOK AT IT THAT DAY. I CALLED AGAIN ON MONDAY. THEY TOLD ME THEY ORDERED THE PART ON FRIDAY AND THAT IT WOULD BE 4-5 MORE DAYS. REALLY? I ASKED WHY THE PART WASN'T ORDERED WHEN I TOLD THEM ABOUT IT IN FEBRUARY? OR AT THE VERY LEAST IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN ORDERED WHEN I SCHEDULED THE APPT. SO I CALLED AGAIN ON FRIDAY. THEY SAID THEY JUST GOT THE PART IN THAT MORNING AND THEY WERE GOING TO WORK ON IT THIS AFTERNOON. AT THIS POINT, I'M BEYOND FRUSTRATED. I'VE TRIED TO BE PATIENT KNOWING THAT EVERYONE MAKES MISTAKES, BUT THERE WERE SEVERAL THINGS I NEEDED MY CAR FOR. I NEEDED TO TAKE MY CAT TO THE VET AND I NEEDED TO TAKE MY SON DRIVING AS HE IS IN DRIVERS ED AND IS GETTING HIS LICENSE NEXT WEEK, AND I NEEDED TO HAUL SOME STUFF THAT I COULDN'T HAUL IN THE SMALL RENTAL. I DECIDED TO STOP BY THE DEALERSHIP ON MY WAY HOME. I TALKED TO ***** IN THE FINANCE DEPT. I ASKED FOR MY MONEY BACK ON THE 3 YEAR EXTENDED WARRANTY I PURCHASED. THERE IS NO WAY I WILL EVER RETURN TO THIS DEALERSHIP. I SIGNED THE PAPERS AND I'M HOPING THAT THE MONEY COMES WITHOUT A PROBLEM. WHILE I WAS THERE I ASKED FOR MY LICENSE PLATES. THEY LOST THEM. THEY SEARCHED FOR A HALF HOUR, BUT COULD NOT FIND THEM. I LEFT TELLING THEM THAT I HAD TO HAVE MY CAR BY MONDAY. ABOUT 7PM FRIDAY NIGHT I GOT A MESSAGE FROM **** SAYING MY CAR WAS READY TO PICK UP. I CALLED BACK, **** HAD LEFT BUT MY CAR WAS READY. I ASKED WHAT HAD BEEN FIXED AND THEY DIDN'T KNOW. THEY ONLY KNEW IT WAS READY. I WENT DOWN TO PICK IT UP IMMEDIATELY. I FILLED THE GAS TANK OF THE RENTAL AS AGREED. WHEN I GOT TO MY CAR I FOUND THE LICENSE PLATES WERE ON THE CAR, THE SEAT BELT WAS FIXED AND THE CONSOLE LIGHT. THAT WAS GREAT. I ALSO FOUND THAT THE FRONT MARKER LIGHT WAS NOT FIXED, THE GAS TANK WAS EMPTY, THE CAR WASN'T WASHED, AND THERE WAS PAPERWORK IN MY CAR FOR A DODGE CHARGER. I GAVE THE PAPERWORK TO ONE OF THE SALESMEN AND ASKED THEM ABOUT THE GAS TANK. HE DIDN'T KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT IT BUT SAID HE WOULD HAVE THE GENERAL MANAGER CALL ME THE NEXT DAY. NO ONE EVER CALLED. I'M THANKFUL I FINALLY HAVE MY CAR. MY FRUSTRATION IS WITH COMMITMENTS BEING MADE, BUT NO FOLLOW THROUGH AND WITH THE EXTREME LACK OF COMMUNICATION. OTHER THAN THE CALL FROM BRAD FRIDAY NIGHT, I NEVER RECEIVED A CALL THAT WASN'T INITIATED BY ME. IF I TREATED CUSTOMERS LIKE THAT I WOULD BE FIRED. I ALSO FELT LIKE NO ONE WAS WILLING TO STEP UP AND TAKE RESPONSIBILITY. IT WAS ALWAYS SOMEONE ELSES FAULT, A DIFFERENT DEPT'S FAULT, OR A DIFFERENT LOCATION'S FAULT. I DON'T LET MY TEENAGER PULL THAT EXCUSE, WHY SHOULD IT BE ALLOWED IN THE WORK PLACE? I SHOULD ALSO STATE THAT I WAS ABLE TO REPLACE THE MARKER LIGHT BULB MYSELF IN LESS THAN A HALF HOUR AND I KNOW VERY LITTLE ABOUT CARS. WHY IN THE WORLD DID THEY SAY THEY WOULD TAKE THREE HOURS???

Desired Settlement: ULTIMATELY I WANT MY MONEY BACK FOR THE EXTENDED WARRANTY AND A TANK OF GAS. I'M NOT ASKING FOR ANYTHING EXTRA. I HOPE FOR THE SAKE OF THERE BUSINESS THEY CAN GET THERE ACT TOGETHER AND GET ORGANIZED SO THEY DON'T HAVE THIS HAPPEN IN THE FUTURE.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/28) */ Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to resolve this concern. I have spoken to ******* about her service visits. I am very sorry that this situation occurred. Our communication with her was unacceptable and should not have happened. I have apologized to ******* and we are sending a $100.00 gas card to her. The refund for her service contract has been processed as well and a check has been sent. Again, I apologize for any inconvenience this has caused. Regards; **** ********** Parts and Service Director Dick Hannah VW/HY of Portland Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/04/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They have compensated me for all the gas they used plus some. They did refund me 100% of my warranty. Nothing can make up for the frustration and time lost, but I am satisfied that they did what they could. Overall I hope that the company can move forward and not have this type of problem with there future customers. I personally will think twice before going there in the future.

2/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car for "check engine" light on 10/19/2013 to dick hannah service center since it was a weekend and I couldn't take it to my regular mechanic. The service consultant was **** ***** and certified technician ** ******* Spark plags, wires, fuel filter replaced. Drove off the lot for one block the "check engine" light came on again. I payed $504.67 and got an invoice for these servises. I came back to service right away. I was told that I needed to replace coil. **** ***** told me that it will be done to no cost to me. I did not get any bad parts ot invoice or any documentation that it was done. All this was witnessed by my boyfriend. I drove a car for a week the "check light" came on again. I took my car back to dick hannah on 10/27/13. There were no documentation that I had to come back on 19/10/13 after driving one block after services were done. I payed $137.50 on 10/28/13 for vaccum lines replacement. I drove my care till 12/30/13 when the "check engine" light came on again and the car was driving weird. I took it ******** ******** who has been servicing my car for 6 years. I was told that the coil is bad and has never been replaced, especially it was not replaced in octobre. I also was told that the spark plugs were replaced a year ago and most likely did not need to be replaced, may be just needed to be cleaned. I went back to "dick hannah" with bad coil part and showed to service director **** *************** last name online). He looked at it ans said, "it's an old part and we have not replaced it". He told me that there's not documentation that they have ever replaced it on 10/19/13 or I had to bring my car back the same day just after driving one block away. He said that it's just my words and my boyfriend words aganst nothing. I asked to speak with **** ****** He told me that he moved to Hawaii and that he is not a lier or they provide dishonest servises. He said that he would call me back after calling ***** **** called me back and left messages to call him back. I made multiple attempts to call him back but always would get a voice mail and left messages. In my last message I todl him that I work in medical settings and cannot always answer right away. I asked him to call me back on Friday at 2 pm. He called me back the same day instead, left another message saying that at this point he will have to stop trying to reach me because he was going to Seattle for training but he would call me back next week. Two weeks past by and I have not heard from him again.

Desired Settlement: I want $504.57 back for unnecessary and dishonest services,performed on 10/19/13, my time, my safety and stress; $207 for a coil that finally was replaced NOT by "Dick Hannah" on 12/30/13. I want an appology from **** in writting as well for dishonest services and employees. Horrible experience and service!!!!!!!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/21) */ Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to resolve this concern. I have spoken to **** and all parties involved regarding her vehicle repairs on 10/19/2014. Although we would normally like to have ****'s vehicle back to recheck our work, I understand her position and situation. In an effort to resolve this situation, I have agreed to pay for the coil replacement from the independent repair shop for the amount of $394.70. I apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused. Regards; **** ********** Parts and Service Director Dick Hannah VW/HY of Portland Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2014/02/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

8/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I set an appointment to bring in my car for servicing to the dealership that I purchased it at as I was told by the dealership manager that they stand by their cars and are happy to do anything to maintain the business of loyal customers and I was talked into buying the additional warranty. I bring my car in, we take it for a test drive and when we get back the **** ( the guy assigned to me)tells me that they aren't going to even look at my car but if I want I can call another dealership to see if they will and take it about 20 miles to another city and state. His rudeless and complete and total lack of customer service aside I would have been fine with this had I been able to get a loaner car or ride so that I could get home, or even just back to their dealership. His response was "You can rent a car from us if you want, but we don't do that." I bought from them based on what I was told was a high level os service and customer satisfaction. I took an hour off of work to drop off my car and was completly dismissed as if my time meant nothing. If I go someplace else it could void both the factory warranty as well as the full service warranty they talked me into buying. So they won't service my car, despite the words their sales team is telling people, short of paying them they won't help me get back from another dealership, and I can't go to an independent mechanic. So according to them short of taking my car to Vancouver myself as well as moving there. They do not care to provide any level of cusomer service, despite the fact that I have paid for customer service and been promised such.

Desired Settlement: I want them to fix my car and either do it at their service center or have the common decency to take the car to another one of their dealerships that can. I would even be happy driving it over myself as long as I can get a ride home without additional cost or deductions of services.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/07/25) */ Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to respond to *** ********** concern. I am sorry that *** ******* had a poor experience at our dealership. I have spoken to *** ******* at length about his concerns. He has since brought his vehicle in and we have taken it to our Dodge store for repairs. As a goodwill gesture I have offered to pay the $100.00 deductible that *** ******* has on his service contract. Regards, **** ********** Service Director Dick Hannah VW of Portland

7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon returning from a vacation, my VW Jetta battery was run down and the car would not start even when the battery was charged. The engine immobilizer light was on which disabled the engine.I called Dick Hannah VW in Portland OR and asked them what I could do. They said the only recourse was to have the vehicle towed to Portland and fixed there. This would cost up to $1000. I found a mechanic only 15 miles away that said they could fix it so I had it towed there and the job was done for $200. When I checked the internet for this issue, I found out that I could simply turn on the ignition and wait about 10 minutes and the immobilizer light would go out and the car would start. This is what the mechanic did locally.If Dick Hannah VW would have been honest with me and told me this, I could have avoided the cost of towing the car to the mechanic and having him fix it.The car is a 2002 and Dick Hannah has been fixing this type of issue for at least 10 years. They lied to me when they said there was no alternative but to have the car towed to their dealership.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like Dick Hannah to reimburse me for the expenses I incurred: $95 for towing less $50 insurance payment$100 for repair from Precision AutoThe total cost to me was $145. It should have been $0

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/07/18) */ Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to respond to this concern. We have reviewed the concern, spoken to the people involved and listened to the phone calls that were placed to our dealership. It is never our intention to deceive customers in any fashion. We were simply trying to give the best possible advice that we could with the information available to us. I am happy to see that *** was able to get his vehicle started without having it towed to a Volkswagen dealer. As a goodwill gesture, we have offered reimburse *** for the expense of the repair on his vehicle.*** has accepted our offer and we have resolved his concern. Kind regards, **** ********** Service Director Dick Hannah's VW of Portland Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 11, 2013/07/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Though a bit slow in responding, Dick Hannah VW recognized their error in failing to give the customer an honest assessment of the repair issue. Hopefully they will be more forthcoming in their dealings with future customers and not have the dollar as the important consideration. Their sale of new cars depends to a large extent on their customer service and good will. I have received their check to reimburse me for my expenses. The time spent on this issue is lost forever.

4/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service