BBB Accredited Business since

Dick Hannah Subaru

Additional Locations

Phone: (360) 314-0504 Fax: (360) 944-3380 7407 NE Vancouver Plaza Dr, Vancouver, WA 98662 http://www.dickhannahsubaru.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales, service, and leasing of Subaru vehicles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dick Hannah Subaru meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dick Hannah Subaru include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Dick Hannah Subaru
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 2000 Business started: 12/01/1949 in WA Business started locally: 12/01/1949 Business incorporated 10/18/1982 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jennifer Hannah, Vice President Mr. Jason Hannah, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jennifer Hannah, Vice President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Dick Hannah Subaru has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7407 NE Vancouver Plaza Dr

    Vancouver, WA 98662

  • PO Box 1679

    Vancouver, WA 98668 (360) 256-5000 (360) 314-0504

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Traded in vehicle with excess funds on 1/2/15. Funds were not posted until 1/23/15 with the lien holder. I had to make a payment on traded in vehicle on 1/15 to protect my credit. The dealer wont provide excess funds now, stating they need the title to the traded in vehicle. They told me that excess funds were sent to USAA.

Desired Settlement: Excess funds from trade in approximately $5000 by end of this month.

Business Response: Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the complaint filed with your office by Ms. ***** ********. Please note the following facts: The funds to pay off Ms. ********'s trade-in vehicle were sent to USAA (the lienholder on her FJ Cruiser) on the 5th of January, the first business day after she purchased her new vehicle from us. As is our policy, we waited to receive free and clear title from USAA to release Ms. ********'s check for the equity from her trade-in vehicle. Ms. ******** called us to inquire on the check when she received notice that her payment on the trade-in vehicle was still due. After some research, we discovered that USAA claimed they never received our payoff check. Having discovered this, we immediately cancelled the first check and reissued a new payoff check to USAA and overnighted the funds that day. We received a lien release and copy of the title from USAA on 2/2/15. I contacted Ms. ******** at her number on file and left a voicemail asking if she wanted to pick the check up or have it mailed. When I did not hear back I put the check in the mail on 2/5/15 and mailed it to the address we have on file for her:
***** ** ******** ***
********** OR 97008
We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused Ms. ********, but feel we did everything we could to process her funds timely. We hope that her complaint has been resolved to her satisfaction.
Best Regards,

Alan M******
Corporate Controller
Dick Hannah Dealerships

11/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned rental and picked up my truck (Feb 15 2014) after 60K service and new tires (Feb 11 2014). I began to pull out of the shop and my brakes felt different and were squealing quite loud. As I pulled out I saw one of the service employees and why are my breaks squealing so bad. He told me they were wet and will stop once they dry. It was not raining outside nor in the shop which I pointed out to him. I told him I have time today to have them checked and asked why they weren't checked when they put new tires on. He assured me that they were making the noise because they were wet and to drive it around and if it didn't go away come back. I asked if the new tires would have anything to do with the difference in the feel of the brakes and he said no they are recommended size for the vehicle and tires had nothing to do with the brakes. I told him it was still under warranty and needed to be done under warranty which would be running out soon. He once again said to drive it and bring it around and bring it back if it does not stop. I told him if something is wrong and he said to leave and it ends up needing fixed and my warranty was up I would hold him to this conversation because this would not make me a happy camper. He again said he felt it would stop once they dried out. This was all said in seriousness yet a fun manor. I was not attacking in any way and he was not rude or unprofessional. As I drove started to drive off I jokingly shook my "momma finger' and said you better be right and if not I would let ****** know you said it was OK they need to dry out and I'm holding you to your word. He smiled and said OK, that's fine with me and I waved and finished driving out of the bay driveway, brakes still squealing loud. I drove it home where it sat until I left the following morning for my routine travel for work to Yakima, Seattle, Springfield OR before returning home to Vancouver. The squealing continued but now was intermittent. I started noticing when idling at a stop light, my truck would stay stopped as if my foot was resting on the pedal and was obvious when I start to accelerate the brakes were "sticking". This was not constant but continued and became more frequent, squealing also continued and was intermittent. I started feeling a grinding when I pushed on the pedal felt kind of like a vibration. I am very familiar with every little noise, squeak, rattle and thump my truck makes since I am in my truck a majority of the time. I have been fortunate enough to work with ****** whenever I bring my truck in for services and maintenance and feel confident working with him. He always goes over any questions I have and and follows through with any additional concerns I have When I left my truck for the 60k service, February 11, 2014 I asked ****** to have the 4x4 looked at because it was making a "clunking" sound that occurs when I use the 4x4 when it engages as well as disengaging and happens at any speed. When I picked up my truck February 15, 2014 unfortunately ****** was not working and I was given no information as to what was found when the 4x4 was checked or if it had even been assessed. I did not ask about about the 4x4 as I forgot and focusing on the squealing, which was new and not there when I dropped it off. I drive between 2500-5000 miles a month and am home 1-3 days in a row about every 10-12 days. The brakes continued to squeal intermittently and "stick" about 60-70% of the time. The soonest I was able to be home that would also be during business hours of Dick Hanna Subaru service department was on March 14 2014. On March 14, 2014 I brought my truck in for an oil change and to report the brakes not only continue to squeal but now several new issues have emerged since the last service related to the brakes. ****** was working and I explained to him what happened when I picked up my truck February 15th from the 60k service. He asked how the brakes and squealing was at that time and if it has improved or got worse. I told him at that time my dad, a mechanic of 36 years borrowed my truck 3 days prior and when he returned he told me to take it in the caliper was hanging up, occasionally locking up and some hesitation when after being stopped when it was first accelerated because the brakes pads are applied like it is when the pedal is pushed. I asked ****** to check and see what the pads were when the 45k service was done or when the brake service was done. He said that he would make sure he spoke with the guys in the back to check the brakes and pull the tires check caliper, brake pads rotor. When ****** came back he said that the caliper was damaged and the brake pad had been worn quite a bit compared to the other pad both are worn but defiantly not evenly. He asked what I wanted to do because it was not safe for me to be driving. I asked if my warranty was up and he said yes, not by much but was over. I told him I was still within the mileage when I picked in up February 15th. And he verified it was under warranty at that time. I told him I wanted the brakes fixed and it needs to be either covered by my warranty that was valid when this started or it needs to be covered by the service department as I was told they needed to dry out by qualified employee of the service department. What went from an easier less expensive brake pad change to causing damage that should have been avoided since it was covered by the warranty I purchased extra when I bought my truck. I took all of the necessary steps, purchasing a warranty, bringing the new issue to a service department employee immediately and trusted he was competent with his recommendation. Why should I be responsible for the repair that was already covered with my warranty but not utilized because a "qualified' service Representative failed to do a proper assessment and sent me on my way. I told him I would like to speak with his supervisor this was not OK. I pay for a warranty to avoid this type of issue, faithfully service my vehicle here trusting the staff is qualified to carry out services advertised as "Safe and reliable" and somehow I am responsible for an expense I technically already paid for through my warranty that Dick Hanna Subaru Service Department did not fix when it was dressed? I never have been told to drive it and see if they stop squealing, and if not bring it back. That was the recommendation of a qualified service technician and if he is not qualified then he never should have made any recommendation and should have found someone that was. ****** said he was going to call *** ********* the Service Manager and let him know what was going on and where to go from there. When ****** returned he said he talked to *** and he agreed to pay for the caliper, brake pad (rotor if damaged) and labor for the right side and I would be responsible for the left side. I asked ****** to call him back and I wanted to speak to him. I may not be a mechanic but I do know brakes are done together. Pads are always replaced at the same time which would have prevented this if ***'s staff would have done their job correctly and not made a negligent call. Because of that negligent call I am driving a vehicle that is not safe because the only means to stop my vehicle is the brakes which now has caused a spread of damage again all should have been avoided by his staff failing to provide the safe service that is advertised. I told ****** this entire situation should never have come to this point and now it is a battle of who is going to pay for what. I have the $600 almost 7 to pay the repairs. I would without one complaint if I just drove off and didn't say a word and when I finally got around to bringing it in my warranty was up and just didn't want to deal with it the day I picked it up. That is not the case here I had a warranty I already paid for my expense my payment has been met. For him to think I don't know enough to know that brakes are not changed individually they are done at the same time is completely disrespectful! I am not a mechanic but I am not stupid either. I would like to talk to him. ****** went to call him back but was unable to reach him. He left a message for *** to return his call and asked me if I wanted to wait or have him call me. I asked when he was expected back, he said he was running errands and was not able to say for sure. I waited over an hour for *** ******** to call the service department back. ****** came in a couple times to let me know he had not heard back yet and if he could put me in a rental because my truck was not safe to drive. I explained I was leaving town tomorrow and would not be home for over a week. He was not able to authorize a rental for that long without ***'s approval. I waited another 30 minutes and asked ****** for **** number. He gave me his business card and I called him before I left the service department leaving my first of 17 messages. I received absolutely no return call from *** until Monday March 31, 2014 when he left me a message at 10:33 am saying he was out of the office last week and came back to several messages about some brakes as well as some from ******. He was leaving for 45 minutes and would try again at 11:30am and every couple hours after he returned from his errand if he had not heard from me. That was the one and only message I received from *** and I never spoke with him once. I received a call from **** who was a supervisor of another department and was wanting to see if he could help. We had several conversation and had started to resolve this and was just waiting for the approval from his supervisor and **** supervisor and would call me back the following Monday which was April 26, 2014 and I did not hear from him. I left several messages asking for what was happening and that I was to the point of legal action. May 9, 2014 I received a message from **** stating that he was told to forward my calls directly to *** ******* and he would be handling this and there was nothing more he could do at this point. He said he was told by *** that he spoke with me and if this was not true to let him know and he would pass ** on to ***'s boss. I left a message with **** telling him I never talked to ***, never received a call from him but once after he got back from training. It is now July 2, 2014 almost 5 months. I have not heard anything from anyone and my brakes are still not fixed. I am not responsible for the repair. Negligent staff in the service department failed to look at my brakes because I was reassured they needed to dry out. *** ******** is incompetent, dishonest and damaging to not only the staff he supervises but also Dick Hanna and its reputation. This level of incompetence has been instilled through example to the staff in the service department resulting in negligent practices of qualified service technicians. I did my part as a responsive adult providing some extra coverage by purchasing a warranty, reporting concerns with my vehicle immediately and in a timely manner with other concerns that also were never followed through with. Dick Hannah IS responsible for the damages caused from the moment it was brought to their attention. God forbid I have an accident resulting in horrific results due to the lack of ethics *** ******** has proven to be his standard way of doing business and representing ***************. I do not want to take this to legal level. I am requesting Dick Hannah Subaru service department be held accountable and fix my brakes, both sides and all the damage that has been cause from the beginning of my concern. My dad is a mechanic, brother builds race cars, uncle works for a tire and brake company for over 35 years, and my roommate is an ASE certified mechanic I have the means to take care of this on my own that is not what this is about. It's about liability, business ethics, safety and customer service all of which has not been displayed. ****** has been wonderful, **** he was so helpful and then he was told to forward my calls, that is unbelievable. He went out of his way to try and solve this and then was told to forward it back where it all started, back to a supervisor that obviously does not only have no respect for his position in management or the company he is employed by and not even the customers that pay his wage. My daughter is 17, I pay for her to be insured on my truck yet another expense Dick Hannah has cost me because there is no way I will allow her safety to be jeopardized by driving an unsafe vehicle. How much more does 2 brake pads have to cost me before this is all done?

Desired Settlement: My breaks to be completely fixed including the damage resulting from my initial concern. I also requested to have my 4x4 looked and fixed under warranty that got pushed aside with the brake issue and lack of response to resolve all issues

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/07/22) */ ***** ******** brought in her 2009 Nissan Frontier 1N6AD07W19CXXXXXXX on 3/14/14 at 72,622 noting that the front brakes were grabbing and the vehicle pulls to the right. My technician inspected the front brakes and found the right front brake caliper not releasing intermittently and the right front brake pads worn abnormally. Ms. ******** noted she had mentioned an abnormal noise from her brakes when leaving her last service visit on 2/15/14 at 67,552 miles. My service writer ****** ****** researched Ms. ********'s concerns and noted that during her original visit on 2/14/14 her extended warranty was still valid but had expired by mileage on her return visit 3/14/14. After reviewing both service records I agreed to pay for the cost of the right front brake caliper and a rotor if needed. I declined to pay for the brake pad replacement as brakes are considered a wear item and not covered by any extended warranty. When the brakes were measured the left front brake pads were at 3mm which is the thickness that we recommend replacement of brakes. The right front pads were at 3mm of thickness with abnormal wear due to the caliper sticking intermittently. ****** presented this offer to Ms. ******** who declined this offer and picked up her vehicle. My offer to replace Ms. ********'s right front brake caliper and right front rotor as needed stands. In addition we will pay for the replacement of the front brake pads and any labor associated with this repair as a one-time good will gesture repair in the interest of customer satisfaction. Ms. ******** can contact us at her earliest convenience to schedule an appointment to have this work performed free of charge. Sincerely, *** ******** Dick Hannah Subaru Parts and Service Director XXX-XXX-XXXX Direct Line XXX-XXX-XXXX fax *********@dickhannah.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/07/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Correct spelling is ***** I don't want any further confusion. A concern I have is per my mechanic that if the ABS was/is not working properly it can cause the issue with the caliper hanging up. Because it is intermittent it may just be because it is a bad caliper. That can also go the other way when the caliper hangs up it causes ABS to not preform correctly. This issue has gone unresolved for an unnecessary length of time and consequential repairs and or original cause needs addressed. Again this would have been a warranty covered solutions. No warning code has come on as of now. The second thing I would like to get is just clarification. I want to clarify break "pads" meaning both sides right and left? I am hesitant to phone Mr. ******** as I have repeatedly been unsuccessful with each attempt. When I was presented with an estimate there was a $ 600+ amount I was responsible for, that is what caused this claim to be initiated. Are those costs included in the one time good will gesture? Again my understanding from ****** and 2 additional estimates the unusual wear to the pads were a result of caliper hanging up. Therefore a result that would have been covered. I'm only asking for clarification because I don't want to get my truck into the shop and have any surprises and not have this resolved. I am not sure which answer as to if I accept the offer or decline until my questions are addressed. I'm not in any way trying to be difficult. This is the first respond to my concerns from Mr ******** since I awaited the initial return phone call. I think the off is reasonable and my mechanic agrees however only if what we are reading is interpreted the same from both of us. I am going to check the no box because I can't submit my response unless I choose one. I'm not refusing his offer at this time I'm just needing clarification to prevent this being drug out further. Thank you ***** ******** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 26, 2014/08/27) */ **** ******** has not surprised me with his lack of concern and blatant disregard to my questions and convers even with the assistance from the Better Business Bureau. I am at a loss for words to express how dumbfounded I am with a company as large as Dick Hanna to have an incompetent manager supervising their service department resulting in negligent performance from the staff *** ******** oversees. These negligent practices put the safety of "valued" customers at risk for unsafe vehicles leaving without proper assessment or diagnosing. I mentioned in my original complaint concern with a squeaking noise that was repeatedly requesting it to be fixed. The same conclusion from the technicians each time was that they were unable to duplicate the problem. I made a special trip, taking time off work to drive a tech with me to point out the noise. We drove less than 1 mile when the squeak duplicated. The tech said he was not sure where it was coming from and wasn't sure we were hearing the same noise. He was pushing on the dash, which I pointed out was not the issue it was outside the truck. He then said he needed to get back to the shop he had another job he was working on and asked if the noise happens when the truck wasn't moving. I pulled over to show him it was only when driving. He said those noises are hard to diagnose because a person has to be on the outside to know where it is and have to almost ride on the hood or in the bed to track it to a specific area. He told me I could schedule a time for them to take it for a drive and find the issue. I told him that is why he was with me, this was a scheduled ride along. He said it would take more time than what he had that day. Frustrated I took him back and when I left my truck for the next service I asked again for the squeak to be found and fixed. This issue went unresolved and as my frustration increased I still continued to trust the service department to keep me on the road safely. I asked for the squeak to be fixed when I left my truck and returned to find no resolution for on the squeak and the brake nightmare began. I am bringing this "squeak" to your attention to prove yet another example of the incompetence of the service department. My frustration has now increased beyond what any customer should have to experience after purchasing a $20,000 vehicle, Dick Hanna has been paid for, along with the extended warranty. I don't know what kind of a policy Dick Hanna has for repairs covered under warranty but it is beginning to be apparent the policy may need to be evaluated. I was left sitting on the edge of a total drop off into the Columbia River about 60 feet below me. I was stranded, to afraid to drive my truck because it is NOT safe and the noise I repeatedly asked to be fixed is now horrible. I had to leave work and try getting my truck to the closest place I could get help which thankfully was within 10 miles from. The squeaking turned into a very loud squeaking I was able to hear a block away. I did not make it 2 miles off the road when the right caliper locked up, as it has done prior to this, pulled hard to the right like I was making a turn. To add to all the inconvenience I no longer had cell phone service and am still 5-7 miles from having someone look at my truck. I was in the middle of nowhere and the possibility of anyone driving up here before 5 pm is slim to none. Mind you I am also 200 miles away from home! Final Business Response /* (4000, 35, 2014/11/10) */ ***** ******** made a service appointment to address the brake issue on her truck for Saturday October 18th. At that time, we replaced both of her front brake calipers, replaced the front brake pads and resurfaced her brake rotors. All of this work was done at no cost to ***** as per our prior offer. We supplied ***** a no charge loaner vehicle during the repairs on her vehicle. The truck was delivered to *****'s residence 11-6-14 due to ***** having trouble getting back in to get her car. We feel this issue is resolved at this time. Sincerely, *** ******** Dick Hannah Subaru Parts and Service Director XXX-XXX-XXXX Direct Line XXX-XXX-XXXX fax *********@dickhannah.com

11/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tuesday evening, 9/3/13, I was at Dick Hannah's website looking for a used car. I found one I wanted; a 2007 Chevy Aveo for $6993, stock number P75086. I clicked the button for more details and then the button to get pre-approved instantly. I was trading my 2006 Jeep Commander in on the Aveo and indicated that when filling out the online information. I was pre-approved. Within minutes a representative of Dick Hannnah called and we set up an appointment for the following morning at 9:00 at the dealership. I live in La Center and the Dick Hannah dealership is 45 minutes away. I arrived at the dealership and didn't see the Aveo. I went inside and told the guy at the counter that I had an internet VIP appointment. He didn't know what I was talking about. ***** a salesman, came rushing over wanting to know if I wanted a new Subaru. I said I had an appointment and was pre-approved to trade in my Jeep on the 2007 Aveo. After some discussion with the guy at the counter they discovered that the Aveo was really in Seattle. But, bait-n-switch time, they did have several used cars he was sure I'd like. I wanted the Aveo, or something similar. They tried to tell me that my credit score was 100 points lower than what it really is. And they low-balled me on the value of my trade-in; saying it had something to do with my low credit score.

Desired Settlement: I want Dick Hannah to honor the deal that I was pre-approved for; take my Jeep as a trade in for $9000 and finance the used car plus the difference between the trade-in value and the pay-off amount, about $2000. I notice that the Aveo is still listed as available on their website. But, any similar vehicle, of my choosing, in price and MPG rating would work.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/07) */ Better Business Bureau of Western Washington 1000 Station Drive Suite 222 DuPont WA, 98327 Re: ****** **** Case# XXXXXXXX I am writing you today in response to a complaint filed with your office by ****** ****. I hope the following information provides clarity to the circumstances surrounding *** ****'s complaint and the efforts made by Dick Hannah Dealerships to resolve it. It is important to understand when *** **** completed the Online Pre-Approval, there was no information regarding his Trade-In provided, and therefore his financing was pre-approved without including the value of his trade or the payoff associated with it. *** ****'s vehicle has an actual cash value of $7500 and his loan balance on the vehicle is approximately $11,500. Even if we were to provide him with the $9000 he is asking for his trade (valued at $7500), he would still be unable to finance his desired vehicle, due to his negative equity position on his trade and the "loan to value ratio". This is the Bank's decision, and is outside of our control. Additionally, *** ****'s incorrectly states that his trade in value was adjusted due to his credit score. In fact, we offered *** **** the same value ($7500) one year earlier, when he first attempted to trade in his Jeep with us. There is no relationship between trade-in value and credit worthiness. Trade-in value is simply a factor of market conditions and the age, mileage and condition of the vehicle. Credit worthiness is judged by the bank and banks pull their own credit reports when evaluating whether to extend financing to a customer. We simply use the credit score listed on the credit bureau report as a point of reference and have no incentive to mislead a customer as to that number. We are unclear as to why *** **** believes that we would mislead him in this way and are happy to show *** **** his credit bureau report at any time. At the time of writing, the Aveo that *** ****'s Pre-Approval referenced is still in inventory, and available for him to purchase at any time. If he would like to complete that transaction, we would be pleased to assist him with a cash transaction, or through any lender wiling to extend him credit. In conclusion, Dick Hannah Dealerships takes great pride in its high ethical standards, integrity, and fair and honest business practices. Happy Customers are our top priority. We sincerely hope our efforts to resolve this matter will be successful, and would welcome *** **** to our dealership at any time. Sincerely, **** ******** General Manager Dick ****** Subaru Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Within minutes of leaving the Dick Hannah web page I was called by one of their internet salesmen. I explained to him that I would be trading in my Jeep and that I had about $2000 in negative equity, which is why I said I'd finance $2000 more than the listed price of the Aveo. He said that wouldn't be a problem, they deal with negative equity all the time. He set me up with a VIP appointment for the following morning at 9:00 am. Which, by the way, no body knew anything about when I showed up at 9:00 am the next morning. I was told by both the salesmen talking to me that my trade-in value was low because they were using the wholesale value, I think that's the word they used, and because my credit score was so low. They said that if I was trading in my Jeep, the value would be more in line with the $9000 I was expecting. I was trading in my Jeep! I'd never brought my Jeep into Dick Hannah in an attempt to trade it in on another vehicle prior to this time. I don't know where they came up with that, or what it has to do with trading in my vehicle now. How can you be unclear as to why I believe you would mislead me; the salesmen told me my credit score was something like 466, I can't remember the exact number. They even asked me sign a piece of paper with the number on it. I'd run my credit report a week before I went in and it was 566. I ran it the day I got back from visiting with the salesmen and it was still 566. I have a copy of my credit bureau report, and I've already seen what Dick Hannah says is my credit score. I don't feel that lies and misleading statements constitute high ethical standards, integrity, and fair and honest business practices. Even their response to my complaint has lies in it. I don't see any efforts to resolve this matter; I don't consider allowing me to pay cash for the Aveo as an effort to resolve the matter. I'm just one guy, and the Dick Hannah dealerships is a huge organization. There's no way I can force them to follow through with their promises. My only recourse is word of mouth advertising. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/10/30) */ Better Business Bureau of Western Washington 1000 Station Drive Suite 222 DuPont WA, 98327 Re: ****** **** Case #XXXXXXXX As a retail automotive dealer, we want to make each car deal possible. When a customer enters incorrect or misleading information regarding his situation the pre-approval system may provide a false result. *** **** states in his initial complaint that he; "was trading in my 2006 Jeep Commander in on the Aveo and indicated that when filling out the online information." Later, in his 10/14 rebuttal, he correctly states that; "I explained to him Internet Salesman that I would be trading in my Jeep and that I had about $2000 in negative equity, which is why I said I'd finance $2000 more than the listed price of the Aveo." Clearly *** **** orignally did not indicate any information regarding the vehicle he intended to trade in as he falsely stated in his initial complaint. He simply inflated the financed amount by the $2000 difference between the trade value he assumed he would get and his pay off amount. This caused a false pre-approval to be generated. See the details of the submission and approval below: ****** **** (W) ********** (E) **********@gmail.com (ADDR) ** *** ** (ADDR2) La Center, Wa 98629(V) 2007 Chevrolet Aveo (MK) Chevrolet (MDL) Aveo (T) Used (STK) P75086 (VIN) KL1TDXXXXXBXXXXXX (S) Drive It Now Lead - SRP (N) Preferred Contact:**********@gmail.com ****** Customer Data ****** Down Payment: $0 Income:35000/yr Eligibility Score: 5.1 Offers Presented: 500-549 ($487/24/22.99), 500-549 ($359/36/22.99), 500-549($298/48/22.99), 500-549 ($262/60/22.99) Calculated DTI: 20% Previous Repo: No Previous Charge Offs:Yes Previous Foreclosures: No List Price: $6,993 Purchase Vehicle,Year: 2007 Credit Data(TR) 4dr Hatchback LS It's true that we deal with negative equity situations all the time, and oftentimes when the customer comes to the dealership, we can structure the deal such that the negative equity can be absorbed into the purchase of a new vehicle. The salesman was correct in setting an appointment for *** **** so that we could discuss these details with him. There was no preapproval given to *** **** at the time he discussed the need to trade in his vehicle as a part of the car deal. Again, the pre-approval was generated online from the information given that did not include a trade-in. A lender must be willing to finance a vehicle on agreed upon and full discsoure of the terms of the contract. We make every effort to arrange financing that is agreeable to to both our customers and the lenders we work with. Clearly, we would like to do business with *** ****. However, the misinformation entered into his initial inquiry caused us to confirm a pre-approval based on an incorrect assessment of his situation. These factors, in concert with his unrealistic expectation regarding the value of his trade in, prevented us from being able to sell him the Aveo because no bank was willing to finance him. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused *** **** and look forward to the opportunity to serve him in the future. If he would like to remove his trade from the equation, or would like to make a sizable down payment, the bank may finance him and we will ensure he gets the best possible service. If not, we wish *** **** the best in his endeavor to upgrade his vehicle. Sincerely, **** ******** General Manager Dick Hannah Subaru

9/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Internet Sales Commitment Not Honored I used their Internet Sales Department via the USAA Car Buying Service. We agreed on a specific model with certain options and was quoted a price in writing. The internet salesman advised me he had located the vehicle in another dealer's inventory and arrangements would be made to have it delivered at Dick Hannah Subaru. We agreed to the price and scheduled an appointment at 1 pm on 08/13/13 to take delivery. He advised that I would have a "VIP" appointment with another salesman at the dealership. The delivery appointment as well as all negotiations were confirmed by e-mails. When I arrived at the dealership to take delivery, the salesman on the floor seemed to be unaware I had an appointment and had difficulty locating the e-mail trail. The car I had ordered was not on their lot, and I was told that Subaru did not permit them to obtain vehicles from other Subaru dealer inventories. I know that this is untrue! They indicated that they would check to see what other similar models they had in stock. When I informed the salesman and a sales manager that I had never be treated so poorly, they seemed to indicate that their vehicles sell quickly, and it was my problem. As I left the showroom, my adult son overheard the salesman's manager say, "It's not my fault that we sell (cars) so fast." I would never recommend anyone buy a Subaru from this dealership.

Desired Settlement: A commitment not to engage in unethical sales practices.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/09/10) */ August 28, 2013 BBB of Alaska, Oregon & Washington 1000 Station Dr., Ste 222 DuPont, WA 98327 RE: Case # XXXXXXXX ****** ****** To Whom It May Concern: Thank you for allowing us to respond to *** ****** ******'s complaint. *** ****** originally inquired about a Forester through our internet department. We proceeded with the normal process in handling his inquiry and found him the one that matched his criteria. Initially we sent over pricing and informed the customer that this particular unit was not currently on our lot but was available should he choose to proceed with the transaction. There were a few more exchanges between our internet staff and *** ****** regarding specifics about the Forester and its equipment in which we assisted him accordingly. The customer confirmed that he would like to purchase the Forester and we arranged an appointment for him to come in. At this point in the process we confirmed with the customer that it was a "located" unit and we'd need to have it brought in. Once the time was setup, the customer asked that we provide the VIN, at which time we told him that we could not immediately confirm its availability so the VIN could not be provided. Often, transferring units is very simple and can be completed the same day if the car is located in the immediate Portland/Vancouver Area. This is the expectation we set for the customer and one that we were prepared to follow through with for *** ******. Subsequent attempts to contact the customer and resolve his concerns were prevented by *** ******'s son, who informed us that he felt it was our intent to mislead his father and he refused our attempts to resolve the situation. Ultimately some confusion may have resulted as we were attempting to communicate with *** ****** and his son on this issue. We also feel that industry specific jargon used to explain details during the buying process may not have been 100% understood. For example, we referred to the Forester as a "locate", meaning the vehicle was not on our lot, but would need to be found at another dealership and transferred. This may have been a source of miscommunication between *** ****** and/or his son and our internet department. Our intent is to be as transparent as possible and to ensure there is a clear understanding between both parties before, during, and after the transaction. In this specific instance, we fell short of that goal both in our electronic communications with the customer, and upon his arrival at the dealership. We'd like to extend a sincere apology to *** ****** for the difficulties he experienced during his interactions with us. Sincerely, **** ******** General Manager Dick Hannah Subaru

3/21/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues