BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2002

Dick Hannah Kia

Find a Location

Phone: (360) 314-1405Fax: (360) 944-3380View Additional Phone Numbers3400 NE Auto Mall Dr, VancouverWA 98662-7194

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company sells new and used cars and trucks.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2002

BBB has determined that Dick Hannah Kia meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Dick Hannah Kia's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Dick Hannah Kia

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
09/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a used car at blue book value for a very good car: no discount: $7900. I got a car that soon after purchase needed much work done and a safety concern that the service department (Honda service) could not duplicate on a few visits so is not fixed. Honda service tells me in a written "Know Your Vehicle" report that my car needs $9600 worth of repairs after I put in a new IMA battery. This is a better car than when I bought it because of the thousands I paid to repair it in their service department. I talked to ***** the Kia Sales Manager. I explained the above issues and asked for the dealership to buy the car back for the amount paid. He stated that I would not receive any more than what the car is worth today. I also reminded **** of the dealership's BBB association and the BBB values of honesty and transparency.

Desired Settlement
I asked for the dealership to buy the car back for the amount paid.

Business Response
Case #XXXXXXXX
**********, *******

Business Info: Dick Hannah Kia

It is always regretful to have an unhappy customer. Ms. ********** purchased the vehicle in June of 2012 with 110,789 miles on it. In researching the service records, we have noted Ms. **********'s concerns with her vehicle. Each time she has brought the vehicle in, we have not been able to duplicate her concerns for the stalling issue. I did speak to Ms. *** ******* on the phone on on August 5th. We discussed her current concerns for her safety with the brakes and stalling issue. Ms. ********** brought her vehicle in on August 7th, we gave her free use of a loaner vehicle. Our goal was to diagnose the stalling issue and address the brakes. When talking to Ms. ********** we discovered she was not having a problem with her brakes, but instead she was concerned with the bumpy feeling she got when depressing the clutch.
Our master technician inspected the vehicle and he was not able to duplicate the concern regarding the intermittent stalling. We believe that what Ms. *** ******* is experiencing is the auto idle stop function on the vehicle. Our technician states the auto idle stop function is working to factory spec at this time. Please see that attached pages of the vehicle's owners manaual that expalins the auto idle stop function.
Our technician performed a multipoint inspection as well and also found numerous normal maintenance items that needed to be addressed. Also, he tecnician also found that the middle transmission mount was broken. In an effort of goodwill, we performed the following services for Ms. ********** at no charge: Lube, Oil & Filter (the vehicle had not oil in it or on the dipstick), replaced wiper blades, replaced sparkplugs, replaced both front marker bulbs, and replaced the middle transmission mount. We appreciate the opportunity to address Ms. **********'s concerns with her vehicle, and we hope she is satisfied with the results of our technician's efforts.

Sincerely,
****** *****
General Manager
Dick Hannah Kia

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

08/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We purchased two vehicles from Dick Hannah a little over a year ago. In addition to purchasing two vehicles, we also purchased service contracts and GAP insurance. Since the purchase of the two vehicles, we refinance one of them, and traded the other one in. After doing so, I contacted the company who administers the service contracts and GAP insurance to find what we need to do in order to receive a refund for the prorated amount. They specifically told me, all I would need to do is take the refinance documents and the purchase order from the new vehicle into the dealership where the cars were purchased, proofing and showing them that the vehicle loans would be paid off, and they would issue us a check for nearly $2200 that was owed to us, and we could bypass the entire process of having to go through the lenders. It has been nearly THREE WEEKS since we did exactly what ********* ** told us to do, the company who supplies the contracts for the dealership to sell and we still have NOTHING FROM DICK HANNAH. When we call, all we are told is that its policy and they need to see the loans paid off. Absolutely HORRIBLE service, still waiting for the nearly $2300 that is owed to me and both vehicles have been paid off, JUST LIKE THE CONTRACTS WE BROUGHT TO THEM IDICATED WOULD HAPPEN. Absolutely disgusted with Dick Hannah and expect a resolution.

Desired Settlement
We want the entire balance returned immedietly, and a formal apology letter for the delay.

Business' Initial Response
The customer has now been refunded the amount due for the cancellation of the service contracts and GAP insurance. Typically refunds of products purchased in finance take between four to six weeks, as noted on the top of the cancellation form that *** **** signed. It is unfortunate that there was an expectation that the refund process could have been done in a more expedited manner. We are obligated by our lenders to ensure that their interests are covered. If we do not receive confirmation that the actual balances are zero, we would have to send the lender the funds, which would have only lengthened the time to refund the customer. We apologize for the misunderstanding of the length of time to resolve this issue, but ultimately refunded the customer in a timely manner.

7/3/13 - ******* **** completed and signed the cancellation form for both contracts. And turned in the related documentation for cancellation. However the documentation provided (including a copy of a contract showing one of the vehicles as trade and a loan agreement showing the refinance of the capital one loan). Unfortunately neither one truly showing zero balance remaining with the original lenders
7/9/13 - Cancellation was received by the business office
7/12/13 - Customer makes first call inquiring on balance. Checks were promised the following week, if the lenders were paid off.
7/16/13 - Inquiry was made to the lenders to see if the balances were zero. At that time neither loan was paid in full. A message was left with *** **** to let her know the status.
7/17/13 - Another inquiry was made and the balances were not paid in full. Another message was left for *** ****. No return call was received.
7/19/13 - Customer called dealership and office inquiring about the refunds. We returned the call and verified that the balance was paid off with the financial institutions. The checks were printed but not signed because there was not a check signer due to boat cruise. Customer was told they could pick up the checks on Monday.
7/22/13 - The customer picked up the checks.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Business' Final Response
*** * **** ****-
I understand your frustration with our cancellation process. Our intention was never to upset you or to not refund the cancellation amount in a timely manner. I am truly sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you. We are obligated to follow certain protocol with regard to these refunds and must verify proof of loan payment before we can issue refund checks to you. The proof of payment did take 16 days from the day you requested cancellation and we did our best to refund your money to you timely after that. I did include the time line of the whole process, including the fact that once we did confirm payoff on the 19th our corporate office was closed in the afternoon due to an Employee Appreciation boat cruise. I am sorry if you feel this was inexcusable. Again, I apologize that we were not able to meet your expectations.

Please contact me personally if you have any questions.
Sincerely,
****** ** *****
General Manager
**** ****** Kia
*******************
*******@dickhannah.com

11/27/2012Problems with Product / Service
05/28/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/12/2002Business started: 01/01/1949
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1
Tumwater, WA98501-6561
(800) 451-7985
http://www.dor.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1982, WA

Contact Information
Principal: Ms Jennifer Hannah (Vice President)Mr Jason Hannah (Vice President/Treasurer)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Dick Hannah Dealerships, Hannah Motor Company

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Dick Hannah Kia

3400 NE Auto Mall Dr

Vancouver, WA 98662-7194

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3400 NE Auto Mall Dr 

    Vancouver, WA 98662-7194(360) 693-0228
    (877) 424-1285

  • PO Box 1679 

    Vancouver, WA 98668-1679(360) 256-5000
    (360) 314-1405

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Dick Hannah Kia is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (360) 693-0228
  • (877) 424-1285
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.