BBB Accredited Business since

Dick Hannah Acura of Portland

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 252-2872 Fax: (360) 944-3380 12030 SE Stark St, Portland, OR 97216 http://www.dickhannahacuraofportland.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales, service, and leasing of Acura vehicles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dick Hannah Acura of Portland meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dick Hannah Acura of Portland include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Dick Hannah Acura of Portland
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 2000 Business started: 12/01/1949 in OR Business started locally: 12/01/1949 Business incorporated 03/22/1984 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jennifer Hannah, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jennifer Hannah, Vice President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Dick Hannah Dick Hannah Dealerships Hannah Motor Company

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Dick Hannah Acura of Portland has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 12030 SE Stark St

    Portland, OR 97216

  • PO Box 1679

    Vancouver, WA 98668 (360) 256-5000 (503) 252-2872

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi ****,Thank you for your time, I wanted to send you a follow up email recapping my visits with your dealership. I typically do not send complaint emails or call to rant, but this has been culminating for nearly two years. I have not received a follow up as of today, April 13th from our last conversation.My wife and I purchased a GMC Yukon from your dealership in August 2013, **** ******* was the salesman, he made the experience very pleasant and easy. We decided to purchase the extended warranty so if we had any issues we could have it serviced. He let us know that plan included rental car coverage, this was a nice selling feature because we stressed to him we recently moved from out of state and this would be our only vehicle. We bought the car from your location because the Yukon had low miles for the year and was 4WD for the same price of most 2WD vehicles. We go hiking most weekends, so the 4WD was important to us. He also won us over when he signed us up for the tires for life program. He said when the tires were needing to be replaced we would just come in and we would get two free sets of tires, which was another awesome selling feature. The vehicle only had one set of keys, he let us know the people who sold the car to the dealership were on vacation and that when they returned he would get the second set with the remote lock/alarm. After countless follow ups (over a 2-3 month span) without zero responses, I decided to go back to the dealership to see if I would meet with **** in person. He was there and said he was going to follow up with the GM to have a key made and a remote programmed. I eventually received the key from the service department but we have never received the remote lock/alarm. We were told that it was being sent to Chevy to be programmed, but each time we asked the service department they had no update. I gave up on the second remote, at that point I was tired of trying to get the second remote alarm/lock, at least we had a second key to our vehicle.Fast track a few months forward, it was time for an oil change and our car had several service monitor lights on the dashboard (Tire Monitor, 4WD), so we brought it into the service center. We received the vehicle back with the same lights on the dashboard, we were told that they changed the oil and that there were no issues and that it must be a computer issue with the car. I do not have in-depth knowledge of vehicles mechanics, which is again why we bought the service contract. A few months after the service the car was making jerking motions seems and idled roughly when in 4WD, so we decide to bring it back in for service. When I called to make the appointment I stressed that this is our only vehicle and we need a rental, the Dick Hannah rep said this was not a problem and I set the appointment. When I dropped my car off, I was told I was not eligible for a rental as it was not a regular scheduled maintenance appointment. I put up a little fight but the service rep ******* told me that is how it was, so I walked home on day when I was working. It was only 4 miles, but this was a frustrating situation considering we were also without a our vehicle for 3 days. We were told we would always have a rental car when our vehicle would be serviced, again **** ******* was aware this would be our only vehicle. We received our car back from the service center, error lights still on the dashboard said they took it to *** ****** ***** and that they couldnt find any issues, and that it had to be an issue with the cars computer. There was no advice as to how this could be resolved in the case there was a computer issue.It came time again to get our oil changed, so I brought it in for service. The previously mentioned dashboard lights (Tire Monitor, 4WD) were still on as well so wanted to have them checked. I again stressed that I needed a rental car, I was told no problem and brought my car in for the service appointment. When I arrived I was told that the rental car (**********) was not open for another hour, no problem, I waited until 8am. Then the service rep came out and told me that they actually didnt open until 9am. I wasnt too pleased to receive this information as we had plans to be already on the road by 730am. Please note that I had brought the vehicle in to the service center 7am, but I stated said I would just wait because he said the oil was already changed and they were reviewing the dashboard error lights and that it shouldnt be much longer. Not too long after that I was told the vehicle was ready and everything was all set. When I got in the vehicle the error lights were still on although we have now asked multiple times about having them fixed. Also, even though I had come in for an oil change, was told it had been changed and we were set for a few more thousand miles; I come to find the oil was never actually changed. After the oil light continued to go off along with the other dashboard lights I decided to bring it back in for someone to look at it again. It turns out, somehow the oil was not changed, so I sat at the service center on my day off for 3 + hours without zero service being completed and I had to pay for it, without the agreed upon rental car.At this point, I wasnt too pleased with the service I had received. We never got our second set of keys, each time I start the car I have to clear 2-3 error codes on the dash to just see the odometer, I am paying for service that isnt even being performed and now its on my time and I dont have a rental car, again.The next oil change, I setup a service appointment and get the oil changed and tires rotated, the back pair seemed to have majority of the wear. I marked the tires with small color coded dots to ensure they were rotated prior to taking it in for service. I received a phone call on a Saturday, later in the afternoon, that my car was ready for pick up and I could come by anytime. The next day I drove the back to ********** Rental Car location, they

Desired Settlement: I have attempted to reach **** ********* for over a week, I have made several phone calls to him. I was able to finally connect with him on April 16th, he said he would be calling me no later than Friday April 17th to provide me with a resolution. I still need our oil changed, our air vents fixed, and I am uncertain if our belts need replaced.I would like to have someone contact me who actually wants to try and help us, clearly we are not a priority. The email above is a summary of the events.

Business Response: Claim #********

Re: ****
*********

 

To Whom It May
Concern:

Thank you for
the opportunity to respond to this complaint. As Mr. ********* notes in his
compliant, he purchased this vehicle used from our dealership in August of
2013.  However, despite the length of
time that has passed since we sold him the vehicle, and the fact that another
shop has since performed repairs to the vehicle for which we cannot take
responsibility, as a matter of goodwill, and recognizing that our prior service
has not been up to Acura of Portland’s expected standards, we have replaced the
air vents and programmed an additional key and remote for Mr. ********* at no
charge.

Through a follow
up email conversation with Mr. *********, he confirmed that his vehicle was
repaired to his satisfaction. Although we need to re-program one of his
vehicle’s remotes, which he will schedule soon, I feel he is pleased with our
communication and willingness to address his concerns.

 

Respectfully,

**** ********

General Manager

Dick Hannah Acura of Portland

Store:************ **** ****

Desk:  ************

 

 

 

 

3/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my Acura TSX in to find out what was causing a parasitic draw on my battery. I called and ask how much it would be to diagnose the problem and was told it was free to evaluate my car. I asked the Team service Manager ******* * ****** again when I arrived he also stated it was free. After finding what might be the cause (door lock actuator malfunctioning) they called the company I have a warranty policy with. ******* then calls me and states my warranty will only cover $166.18 of the bill and I would have to pay $135.00 for the evaluation. I have an aftermarket warranty service contract and I knew they would not cover any evaluation or diagnostics fees. That is why I asked multiple employees over and over if it was free. They all stated it was free. I do not like the shady tactics this company uses to get you in the door.

Desired Settlement: I do not want to be charged for the evaluation. I just want, what I was told. Which is I would not be charged for the evaluation.

Business Response:

In regards to the complaint, from client **** *******, there was a misunderstanding on our service advisors part. When the client called to schedule their appointment, he was told by the BDC agent, that we do not charge for the evaluation of the concern, which is our standard practice. Mr. ******* was working with our new advisor, which was unfamiliar with our standard practice, regarding diagnosis and/or evaluation. On 03/12/15, at 2:45 pm, I contacted Mr. ******* and explained the scenario with him, in detail. I advised him, I would be issuing him a check immediately for the amount charged for diagnosis, which was  $135.00. I've advised our client to contact me in two weeks, if he'd not yet received the check, so that I could follow up for him.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** *******

3/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2003 Acura RSX from a very close friend of mine in California on The 22nd of January 2015 while I was in Anaheim California . He paid the Acura dealership of Valencia to give a the car a 100% inspection to make sure she was good to drive the 1000 mile journey back to Portland, the only thing they found was a issue with the heat diverter motor for heat and defrost and they quoted me 300.00 and i needed to leave the car for a day. I didn't have time to leave her and so I told them I would take it to the dealership in Portland to get the repair done because it wasn't a critical repair and the car would absolutely make it without the repair. Upon returning to Portland on the 26th I called the Dick Hannah Acura dealership to set an appointment for the repair I told them about the problem and they said bring it in on the 28th to have them take a look. The car was running fantastic with no issues at all. I took my car into Dick Hannahs Acura at 10am on the 28th of January 2015 ***** ****** checked me in and said they were going to just look at the problem and give me a price for the repair and yes they have the peticular part in stock according to his computer. I waited in the waiting area and watched as they lifted my hood and began looking around at my engine. Th part I needed replaced in within the interior of my car and I thought it was bit odd that they needed to look under the hood.An hour or so later ***** comes up to me and says the part will have to be ordered now and it will take about a week, I asked him you said it was in stock, he said a mistake was made in the computer and its not in stock. So i said call me when its in and I will return for the replacement repair. He agreed. I went out to my car to drive her home and smelled anti-freeze but there was no puddle under my car so I started her up and began home. I got about 1 mile from the Acura dealership and noticed my Temp gauge was getting high so I pulled over to see if I could figure it out. I checked my overflow coolant tank and it was empty my car had no fluid in it and was severely overheated. I called a tow truck to pick the car up because this car is very special to me and I had no intention of blowing up my engine.The tow cost me 135.00. I called the dealership and asked for ***** because there was a problem , left a voicemail and waited his call. The day past and he never returned my call which was strange. A family emergency arose and my car just had to wait. So on Monday Febuary 9th I went in to the Acura dealership to speak to the service manager. I was escorted to a man named **** ( didn't give me his last name) we went into his office to discuss what happened.I explained the entire incident and he told me I was an idiot and there is no way they would intentionally sabotage my car and they never check out the car like that for a simple part replacement (even thought I have the print out and it states they went over my entire car for some reason)he told me to leave and I should get an attorney. I replied I will file a complaint and speak to **** ****** about this because Im sure he would want to know about this tragedy. I have tried several times to contact the owner **** ****** but to no avail. At this point in time my car is in my driveway just sitting awaiting a repair.

Desired Settlement: I need the necessary repairs done to put my car back into the condition it was before I ever went to their establishment.

Business Response: RE: #********

***** ******

 

To Whom It May
Concern,

Upon receiving
this complaint from Mr. ******, I reviewed our inspection process and necessary
documents associated with his recent visit.

When Mr. ******
visited our dealership, he expressed concern with his heater not functioning
correctly. He stated his heater would only blow cold air. This is documented in
our system. Mr. ****** requested we perform and investigate his concerns. As
stated in this complaint, Mr. ****** was questioning the process of inspecting
his vehicle, specifically lifting the hood of his vehicle. Due to the nature of
his complaint, it is standard procedure to check the engine compartment.
Inspecting the hoses, belts and connections would insure we didn’t miss an
obvious issue with the vehicle. Although the other dealer supposedly inspected
and found the faulty part, it is our process to independently diagnose the
problem and advise the client.

It is also our
process to do a Multi-Point Inspection on all vehicles checked into our service
department, unless specifically asked not to by a client. Furthermore, we
inform every customer of this policy when we check a vehicle in for service.
Once completed, we review our findings on a Multi Point Inspection report with
our client.  Mr. ****** did not decline an inspection and asked that we
specifically check on his heating issue. Upon further inspection we found the
issue to be a bound motor and gears within the HAC system as previously noted.
This diagnosis was discussed with the client and the repairs were declined due
to the part needing to be ordered.  During the inspection process, hoses
are not loosened, disconnected or removed unless specifically instructed by the
owner of the vehicle to do so. At the time of inspection, there was no visible
coolant leak from this particular vehicle.

I reached out
to Mr. ****** via phone to discuss his experience and understand the nature of
his complaint. He returned my call and stated he was having his car repaired at
his home by an independent mechanic.  
During the call he accused one of our technicians of deliberately
sabotaging his vehicle by disconnecting the coolant hose. Mr. ******’s claim of
a disconnected hose is impossible to verify as he towed his car to his place of
residence and we were unable to inspect the vehicle. He claims the vehicle
overheated close to our dealership, yet he didn’t call nor have the vehicle
towed to our business at that time. 

We are a
respectable business with years of quality service. This accusation is patently
false. If one of my technicians were repairing a hose and left it disconnected,
it would be an honest mistake and we would make every attempt to correct it.
Mr. ******’s hoses, clamps and coolant system were not tampered with nor worked
on during his visit. To accuse our dealership of this action is unfair,
insulting and malicious.

Mr. ******
asked for a return call on February 20th to discuss his mechanics
findings. On 2/20/2015 I again reached out to Mr. ****** to see if I could assist
in finding a solution to his problem. Furthermore, he had made prior
accusations about clips on a panel being replaced during his visit. I assured
him during this call that his clips were not replaced as I checked our parts
inventory for billing of the clips he stated were replaced. That part number
hasn’t been billed to a job in 6 months. Mr. ****** then became belligerent,
cursed at me and hung up.

Since 1986 we
have serviced thousands of vehicles and gained a reputation for being an honest
and reputable company. In good faith, I have offered to cover a portion Mr.
******’s repairs and Mr. ****** has accepted my offer. This is not to admit
guilt for this situation, but to help in a matter that was neither verifiable
nor found to be negligent by either party as a matter of good will. We were not
negligent in any part of the repair of Mr. ******’s vehicle and we continue to
provide exceptional customer service for all our clients.

 

Respectfully,

**** ********

General Manager

 

 

**** ********

General Manager

Dick Hannah Dealerships/

Acura of Portland

Desk|************

Ext  | ****

***********************

 



 

7/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car from them, signed the papers, and a week later they tell me I am not approved at the terms we agreed upon. If I want to keep the car, my interest will be 10% higher at $160 more per month. I have emails showing several changes in there reasons for not contacting me earlier and lying about deals.

Desired Settlement: I want my car at the terms we agreed upon

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/06/25) */ Re: Case # XXXXXXXX On or around June 1st 2014, Mr. ****** attempted to purchase a vehicle from our dealership pending credit approval. Mr. ****** signed paperwork stating the same at the time. We delivered the vehicle to Mr. ******. On June 3rd, we obtained a tentative approval from one of our lenders after the lender conducted a phone interview with Mr. ******. However, the approval was at a higher interest rate than the original contract stated as determined by the lender after a review of Mr. ******'s credit history. We continued to attempt to obtain an approval for a loan at a lower interest rate for Mr. ******, but ultimately were unable to do so. On June 6th, we tried to contact Mr. ****** via the phone number provided on his Credit Application to inform him that we were unable to secure an approval for the lower rate but were unable to reach him. Upon further review, we determined that the number collected was input into our system incorrectly. We were able to obtain a different number from our Client Management system and proceeded to contact Mr. ****** via that number. On June 7th, we contacted Mr. ****** via phone. At that time, the Mr. ****** was informed that we had an approval at the higher rate and was given specifics. He was also told that he could bring the car back and sign rescission paperwork if he wished to do so, or we could continue to attempt to get him financing that would meet his needs. He asked that we try to get him a better finance option. After this initial contact, we were again contacted via email by Mr. ****** on June 7th at 11:48am. During this email conversation, Mr. ****** was again notified that we had an approval at a higher interest rate, which would affect his monthly payment. We explained again that he could return the vehicle with no obligation to him or sign at the approved figures. Oregon law states a dealership has 14 days to obtain financing for a customer and the client must be notified within that time if we are unsuccessful. Mr. ****** was notified ofour inability to secure financing for him at the desired rate well within this period. Acura of Portland prides itself as a full disclosure dealership. We are transparent in all aspects of our day to day business. Mr. ****** was notified about his finance approval options in the allotted time, and despite our best efforts we were unable to secure a lender that would offer a financing arrangement acceptable to Mr. ******. We try to accommodate every client and am disappointed we won't be able to in this case. I apologize for any inconvenience that this has caused Mr. ******. Respectfully, **** ******** General Manager Dick Hannah Dealerships/ Acura of Portland Desk XXX-XXX-XXXX Ext **** Dickhannahacura.com

4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In February of 2014 we purchased a used 2008 Honda Fit from the above named dealership. After 3 weeks of owning the vehicle we noticed the rear passenger seat would not secure properly. Further inspection revealed a significant amount of rust on the rear seat hinges, seat belt attachment points, in the spare wheel area, and on the front seat slider brackets. We immediately contacted the dealer regarding the safety issues that were discovered. The initial 2 day visit to the dealer we were told the repairs would not be covered. We had to take possession of the vehicle as it is our primary vehicle. After further discussion with the dealer we returned the vehicle for a second inspection. The vehicle stayed at the dealership for almost 2 weeks. We were told the issues would be fixed. We picked up the vehicle only to find many undocumented miles on the vehicle, the fuel tank completely empty, and none of the safety issues had been fixed. We took the vehicle to an independent body shop for a repair estimate. We were informed that the rust was to the extent that many safety concerns were present. The rear passenger seat brackets were completely rusted through. If the vehicle were in an accident the back seat passengers would not be secure. The rear passenger seatbelt attachment points were also compromised by the rust. All of this information has been forwarded to the dealer. No action has been taken. No answers or reasons why this was missed during the trade in and detail process have been given.

Desired Settlement: We would like the vehicle to be fixed. Our biggest concern is that the dealer wants an in house body shop to do the repairs. Because of this we are concerned that the repairs won't be done in a truly safe and appropriate manner. With existing business relationships it is in the best interest of the body shop to do the bare minimum to make the dealer happy and make it appear that all of the issues have been thoroughly researched and addressed. Ideally we would like to have an independent body shop do the inspection and full repairs. The main question that has to be answered is would the dealership have sold the car knowing these issues? We certainly would not have bought the clean title, one owner car in this condition.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/04/14) */ RE: ******** ******* Case# XXXXXXXX To Whom It May Concern: This vehicle originally came into our company for repairs to some surface rust areas. During the repair process, one of the areas of concern was overlooked by our body shop. We began working with Mr. ******* to complete the repairs that were overlooked and further investigate any additional areas that may need attention on his vehicle. We are in the process of repairing the vehicle described in this complaint with *** *******' consent. We have been in constant communication with *** ******* during this process and have sent numerous photos and updates outling the repair process. At this time, *** *******' vehicle is nearing completion. We will provide documentation of all repairs performed and make sure our client is satisfied with the reapairs. We will update our response after the client recieves his vehicle. Respectfully, **** ******** General Manager

9/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a 2007 Toyota Prius from this dealership. At the time of the sale, our salesman told us explicitly that all our oil changes would be performed at any Dick Hannah dealership free of charge. This turned out to be a complete lie-with every Dick Hannah dealership refusing to do them complimentarily. As part of their Customer For Life program, Dick Hannah claims they offer free tires to costomers who do the vehicle service at the dealerships. When it came time for service, I asked service people at both the Dick Hannah Kia in Vancouver, WA and the Acura dealership in Portland if we had to do the scheduled oil changes (every 5,000mi) at the dealership, or just the major check-ups every 30,000 miles. Both dealerships, including several service people told both me and my wife, on many occasions, that we did NOT have to do the oil changes there to qualify. They told us repeatedly we only had to do the major services every 30,000miles at the dealerships to qualify. We are due for our free tires now. We called them on the phone and asked about the tires, and they told my wife to bring the car in and they would fit the tires while we waited. When she got there after driving an hour to the dealership, they sent her home after merely measuring the tires saying they had to check to see if we qualify-something they did not mention on the phone. We just got a call from them saying they will not cover our new tires since we did not do all of our oil changes at Dick Hannah Dealerships. We were told at LEAST 3-5 times by Dick Hannah service people that we did not have to do the oil changes there to qualify for the tires. Dick Hannah has misrepresented their service program at the time we purchased our Prius, and regularly since then. This is a type of fraud, and they need to be held accountable.

Desired Settlement: We want Dick Hannah to provide the complimentary tires they promised they would.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/27) */ To Whom It May Concern: *** ******** purchased a 2007 Toyota Prius from Dick Hannah Kia on 04/16/2011. Our tire replacement program offered with every vehicle purchase has specific eligibility requirements a client must follow to participate in the program. These requirements are fully disclosed in all documents and our sales staff is trained to correctly disclose the program to our customers. The guidelines state that the manufacturer's recommended maintenance on a vehicle must be adhered to and performed at Dick Hannah Dealerships (any location) to qualify. This is a loyalty rewards program meant to reward our loyal customers for servicing their vehicle with us. On 8/16/2013, *** ******** brought his Prius into our Acura store for service and requested new tires per the program. His claim for new tires was declined due to lack of service. According to Toyota's scheduled maintenance guide for a 2007 Prius, the vehicle must have scheduled maintenance every 5000 miles or 6 months whichever comes first. Our records indicate that *** ********** vehicle had not been serviced at any Dick Hannah location for 29,212 miles and over 20 months therefore disqualifying him from the program. *** ******** does not identify any of the individuals he spoke with that he claims told him he only had to have his major services performed with us so we are unable to follow up on this claim. All of our service staff are trained on the Loyalty Rewards Program and its guidelines and we do not a have a history of the staff misinforming the customers of the requirements of the program. Again, we provide all necessary documents and disclosures to our clients outlining our program at the time of sale. We do apologize if there has been some misunderstanding or confusion regarding this. We offered *** ******** to perform his service with us and purchase a set of tires, which are very competitively priced. Doing this would reinstate him into the program. As long as he has his future factory recommended services performed at one of our dealerships, he would again be eligible to receive new tires the next time they are needed at no cost to him per the program guidelines. *** ******** declined this offer. Respectfully, **** ******** General Manager Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/09/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As I previously said, we asked Dick Hannah to clarify what "client must have all manufacturer's required service and preventive maintenance" meant since this statement is quite ambiguous. We asked them repeatedly if that included oil changes, or just the major services every 30,000miles. Every time we asked, the Dick Hannah service personnel told us oil changes were not required. Please see my previous comments for all information about this. "The offer made to *** ******** by **** ****** on 8/20 still stands if *** ******** should choose to accept it." This offer was not made to us in person, but was claimed it was through the BBB. I have to ask why, after being lied to and mis-treated by Dick Hannah's service personnel, we would choose to give them anymore business. Dick Hannah's service personnel gave us incorrect information either willingly, or not. If they did it willingly, this is fraud and should be prosecuted. If it was given by accident, it was incompetence and Dick Hannah should cover the cost of the tires as they told us they would. One only has to do a cursory search online at websites such as Yelp, and others, to see that many, many other customers have had similar problems with the Dick Hannah service department. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/09/11) */ To Whom It May Concern: As previously mentioned in our first response, we pride ourselves in being a full disclosure business. We have records that indicate *** ******** did receive the documents outlining our replacement tire program, namely the Customers for Life Driver's Rewards Program booklet delivered to *** ******** on April 30th 2011. Additionally, another booklet was sent on August 21st after an address change was requested. In those documents on page 9, #2 under the replacement tires portion of the Customer's for Life Driver's Rewards Program, it is clearly explained in bold lettering that a client must have all manufacturer's required service and preventive maintenance performed at any Dick Hannah Dealership Service Center. *****SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***** The eligibility requirements are defined in several other areas of the documents as well. I have also confirmed that on 08/20/2013 during a phone call with *** ********* **** ******, Service Manager did offer *** ******** to be reinstated into the program by performing his service and purchasing tires as mentioned in our previous response. The Customers for Life Loyalty Rewards Program has been in effect for several years at all of our stores and its elements are constantly reviewed with the staff. I cannot account for the gross misunderstandings on these several issues, but can instead only rely on documents, testimony, policy and training to try to reconcile the two accounts of this issue. I try to accommodate every client and am disappointed that we won't be able to in this case. The offer made to *** ******** by **** ****** on 8/20 still stands if *** ******** should choose to accept it. Respectfully, **** ******** General Manager

3/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues