BBB Accredited Business since

Courtesy Ford Lincoln

Phone: (503) 255-1771 Fax: (503) 254-5544 1313 NE 122nd Ave, Portland, OR 97230 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.courtesyford.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale of new and used automobiles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Courtesy Ford Lincoln meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Courtesy Ford Lincoln include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Courtesy Ford Lincoln
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1984 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984 Business incorporated 04/16/1992 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Ron Boyer, Managing Partner Mr. Rick Boyer, General Sales Manager Mr. John Cook, Parts & Service Director Ms. Sherry Gaylord, Customer Relations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ron Boyer, Managing Partner
Customer Contact: Ms. Sherry Gaylord, Customer Relations Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
R K B Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Courtesy Ford Lincoln has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1313 NE 122nd Ave

    Portland, OR 97230 (503) 255-1771

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a brand new 2015 **** ***** with cash on 11/13/15. When my father and I test drove the car I noticed a large gap in the dashboard between the right "pillar" and the rest of the dash. I immediately told the salesman that I wanted to buy a different car without the dashboard defect. The salesman assured me that the defect would be repaired if I bought the car. I purchased the vehicle and took it in for the repair when the part ordered finally arrived on 11/24. The part was never ordered as the salesman promised until I called to see why I had not been contacted regarding the repair. I took the car in for the repair and had to leave it overnight. When I picked the car up the defect in the dashboard was not repaired and was bigger than before. The repair person informed me that they would order the same parts again but did not know if the defect could be repaired. I contacted management at Courtesy **** and they have not returned my calls or done anything to address the issue. I also contacted Ford's corporate contact number and made a complaint but they have done nothing to assist me. The car I purchased still has less than 200 miles on it, and I requested another vehicle without a defect in the dashboard. I was told that this was impossible. I spent $20,500 for a defective car which was sold to me under the false pretense that the defect would and could be immediately repaired. I have been defrauded and will never again do business with **** motor company. Courtesy **** should not be allowed to lie to customers to sell them defective new cars which can not be repaired. I have contacted an attorney and will take legal action in the near future if no other resolution to my issue is reached. I bought a brand new car and this is not the kind of experience I should be having. I did not purchase a new car to immediately have to deal with trying to have factory defects repaired which the salesman lied about and assured me would be repaired.

Desired Settlement: I would like a different brand new 2015 **** ***** with no defects. I paid for a non-defective new car and refuse to pay $20,500 to be lied to and defrauded. If the repair could not be made with the part they ordered it will not be repaired by once again wasting my time and ordering the same part. The dashboard is obviously badly manufactured and defective.

Business Response: The customer chose a 2015 ***** SE from our inventory and noticed an issue with a trim piece. The parts was a passenger side a-pillar cover and there was a gap of between 1/8 and 1/4 of an inch where it meets the dash. The customer asked the salesperson if this was normal. The salesperson wasn't sure so he looked a couple similar models and determined it was not normal. He brought up a service advisor who removed the a-pillar cover and tried to adjust it. When it didn't fix the gap, he said he would just order one. The salesman filled out the paperwork for the advisor. We do not place orders on parts until the purchase has been finalized which did take about four days. Once that happened, the part was ordered and the customer was notified and brought his car in. Unfortunately, when the new cover was installed, the gap was larger (closer to 1/4 of an inch) than the original gap. We immediately ordered a new part which we received on 12/1/15. The Service Advisor has left a three messages (12/1, 12/2, 12/4) attempting to schedule the installation but we have not heard back. I sent an email this morning (12/4) letting the customer know that he can contact either Seth or myself to schedule his appointment. I spoke with the salesperson and he states that the customer never requested a different vehicle. If he had, we could have easily switched him. Especially since he originally wanted white, which we had but he switched to silver, which we also had. We had other choices as well so switching to another car at that time was not an issue. However, 200 miles later it is no longer easy to switch because dmv processing has already begun. We would like to complete this repair but are concerned now that it will never be to the customers satisfaction.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Courtesy Ford is blatantly dissembling and I have no more time for them. I did request a different car at the time of purchase and when I wasted my time having them not be able to repair the defect I mentioned before I even bought the car. I have received their emails and messages asking me to waste more time to once again bring in the car, which the service manager said was probably not able to be repaired before I made my complaint. The entire dash is poorly manufactured and badly put together and I paid for a new car with no defects, not to have to bring the car in multiple times to be told it can't be repaired. Any honest business would have simply given me a different new car with no defects after they could not perform the repair they assured me could be easily done. Courtesy Ford is a dishonest dealership. I purchased a new car and now own a shabby defective car I already want to trade in on something without manufacturing defects. In the future I will take my car to another Ford dealership for repairs, and my business elsewhere. The public should not be subject to dishonest business practices such as I have suffered with Courtesy Ford. Buying a new car from them has been a very bad experience. 

Sincerely,

***** *******

11/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was working via telephone with Stacy, sales rep, for 4hrs today 10/20/15 on the purchase of a particular vehicle advertised via internet. prices had already been discussed and negotiated with a finance manager. I was buying the vehicle outright, it came time to exchange paperwork with my credit union to sign the purchase and I was told they "sold the truck out from under me". I discussed with the sales manager, Cameron, and the General Manager, Rick B****, to no avail. They maintained they are allowed to do that, and had no remorse stating "whoever gets the money in the bank first". RIck stated that he had to follow the Bate and Switch law, however further reviewing that law for myself - the definition clearly states in my favor exactly what I feel happened to me, as after they told me they sold the vehicle out from under me they further tried offfering me a more expensive alternative. I feel i was victimized and discriminated against. I informed them such behavior seems downright crooked, but they maintained that they have the right to treat customers in this manner and that all things go to the first person with the money. I explained the process of purchasing takes a little time when faxing documents, it doesnt mean that the sale will not be final, and again they maintained "whoever has the money in the bank first" regardless of what process of sale may have already been started with another customer. I spoke with ******* **** in Eugene and they stated they would never treat their customers in this manner. My loan officer at ***** ******* ****** ***** also felt this was terrible customer service and she would not want to give her business to them either. i feel they are crooked and should not be allowed to treat people in this manner

Desired Settlement: A comparable vehicle at a a comparable price to what was sold out from under me

Business Response: When Stacy was on the phone with Ms. *******, Tyler was at his desk with another couple writing up the same vehicle. Tylers transaction was a step ahead of Stacy's and the customers were present for the purchase. Neither knew the other was working on the same vehicle.  When Stacy brought his paperwork to Cameron (*** *** ***** *******,) Cameron let Stacy know that there were people getting ready to go into finance on the same truck. This truck was not sold out from under Ms. *******. However, everyone had been very apologetic  for the way things worked out. Each person involved explained that the Oregon Department of Justice says we cannot "hold" a vehicle. The first to pay or contract on a vehicle, owns it. This is what they were trying to tell her. Actually, that point is not relevant since the other customers were present and ready to go into finance when Stacy brought his paperwork to Cameron. Stacy didn't just present her with one vehicle. He reviewed all pre-owned trucks in our inventory but nothing worked. With the General Managers authorization, Stacy found a comparable new truck and showed Ms. ******* almost $10,000 in dealer discounts and rebates. The store was willing to lose money to try and make her happy. Unfortunately, even with the deep discounts they were still about $5000 apart and Ms. ******* declined the offer. We are willing to help her with purchase a comparable pre-owned truck and we even had our Used Car Manager watch for something at the ** ******** that was comparable. At this point we have not found anything but if Ms. ******* finds something on our website that is similar, we would be happy to try and make it work for her.

12/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Completely dissatisfied with everything.. I know that encompasses **** so let me break it down. We found the vehicle that we wanted to purchase on our banks website. ****** you were an authorized retail car dealership with ******* We secured our financing ourselves through **** before going to your business. They gave us a blank check with the instructions that your dealership would know what do do. (turns out, your business didn't know how to fill out a blank check..) So I let them speak to a **** representative to explain the process. Everything was good to go. ***** ****** our salesman told us we had to fill out paperwork with our social security number. We told him we already have our financing provided. He told us that in order to buy a car in the United States we needed to give our social so the government knows who is buying cars. I told him no less than 10 times that we do not want our credit ran,  I even went as far as writing it on the paperwork that ***** presented us for signing -  LETTERS BIG AS LIFE THAT SAY YOU DO NOT HAVE PERMISSION TO RUN MY CREDIT. ***** came back with additional paperwork saying that we need to do a backup cash contract, I told him AGAIN that we brought our own money to pay for the car. He said we need a backup cashable contract incase we get down the street and cancel the loan with **** they can turn this backup contract in to get paid. I told him I wasn't going to fill the paperwork out, and I didn't want a credit check done. He filled out the paperwork, assured me that NO credit check will be ran and asked me to sign as well as ******** at the bottom of the page. After signing the paperwork ***** asked me if I wanted a bedliner for the truck, because they have put one in our truck by accident. If we wanted this bedliner it would cost and additional 159$, I told him I did not want the bedliner. So some guy came and removed the bedliner. We finally go to get the temporary license plate and sign documents in the back room. This is where I was presented with my credit score, I specifically told them not to run my credit no less than 20 times (not an exaggeration) and here it is in black and white. I run a small business, I have several vendors inquiring into my credit profile as well as my business profile on a regular schedule. I manage my credit score by monitoring how many people look in to my credit profile, and conduct business accordingly. When my score dips below a certain point I get charged substantially more money for operating on my lines of credit. I made this crystal clear when yelling at the Sales manager and ***** about violating my very clear instructions on not running my credit. I reiterated that I was totally ****** off and that I couldn't believe I was misled by a dealership that was recommended by my bank, so I told the sales manager I just wanted my keys and wanted to leave there because i was so upset. Shortly after driving down the road we noticed a miss in the engine, where it would hesitate and sputter, after pulling over to inspect I noticed oil coming from between the transmission and engine as well. I called my service tech at another Ford dealership and he told me it was most likely injectors. We have the truck being serviced at the Ford dealership as you read this. All in all,  if I would have Known that your company used cheap sales tactics and misled customers I would have went somewhere else. You have robbed me of our car buying experience and my trust in your business practices. I'm almost certain that what you did is unethical and illegal, but I will let the BBB sort that out. A very disappointed customer, **** ******** XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: Correct sales practices. Provide financial assistance for repairs.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/09/02) */ **** is an outside and the truck was leaving Oregon and heading to Kansas. It is policy that a back-up contract be signed to guarantee that if the customer cancels their financing or the lender does not pay for some reason, we have someway to get paid for our vehicle which is now out of state (the same process is followed for in-state "cash" sales.) Even if Mr. ******** had paid by personal or cashier check we would have required a back-up contract as it can take up to 20-days for a check to process and in that time the account holder can stop payment on the check. ************* says he "brought his own money" for his purchase but he didn't, what he really brought was a promissory note. In order to process a back-up contract we have to run credit and an OFAC report to keep on file. It sounds like ***** explained this process to Mr. ********. We understand that Mr. ******** did not "want" to have his credit run but this was a requirement to complete the sale. He was free to decline at any time, however we could not let him leave with the truck. In regards to the truck itself; it was sold "as-is" and Mr. ******** knew that. The high mileage (147,451) prevented us from adding any sort of warranty to the vehicle. Mr. ******** signed three "as-is" agreements as a condition of purchase, I have attached two of those agreements to this file. The truck was priced accordinging to its age/miles and condition. While we never want a dissatisfied customer we do not feel that there is a resolution for Mr. ********'s concerns. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/09/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ***** the salesman did not explain that he was going to run a credit report, as a matter of fact he said that they would not run a credit report. You can verify this with ****** and the contracts and paperwork that I signed and notated. You can also verify this information with the recording of the conversation we had with ***** at the dealership, along with the admission made by the sales manager. **** Final Business Response /* (1000, 29, 2014/11/11) */ Unfortunately, there is no resolution to this issue that will satisfy Mr. ********. We would never let a vehicle drive across country without assurance that we will be compensated for the vehicle. Credit applications were signed by both buyers and from Mr. ********'s first contact with BBB he noted that ***** very thoroughly explained the back-up contract process that we would be following. Mr. ******** even says that as a small business owner, he has "several vendors inquiring into my credit profile as well as my business profile on a regular schedule." As a business selling high ticket items we also have a need to ensure that our business is protected, just as his other vendors are allowed/entitled to do. While we never want a dissatisfied customer there really is nothing we can do at this point to change Mr. ********'s point of view.

8/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I talked with Courtesy Ford about a vehicle I wanted to purchase. I explained to them I was from out of town and would have to travel 3 hours to get there, so I wanted to be sure we could negotiate a price. We agreed on a price a price and I told them I was going to the bank to get a cashier's check in their name for that amount. I the company know when I was leaving. I kept in contact the time during travel. When I got there, my husband and I test drove the vehicle and agreed we wanted it. I filled out the customer information sheet and we sat and waited to complete the transaction. A few minutes later they came back and said someone just came in and purchased the vehicle a few minutes before I got my paperwork in. I traveled 3 hours in anticipation of buying this vehicle from a verbal agreement and talking by phone. I had the expense of having to find a hotel room to stay and the gas it cost to get there and back home. I even have the customer information form that they filled out while I was there with my information on it and the cost of what we agreed on. This company was not honest with me and it cost me financially in gas, hotel and food.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for my expenses.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/18) */ This was a very unfortunate situation and while we feel bad about the result for the ******'s, we did follow the rules by selling the MDX to the first person who wrote up on, and committed to purchase, the vehicle. ******* called in and spoke to three people, *******, ****** and *****. She was able to confirm that the MDX was here and the selling price. She stated that they were looking at a couple of MDX's and would be heading to Portland. She told ****** that they would be stopping to get a cashier's check and would be here in about 3 hours. ****** explained that we could not hold the vehicle. Under the Bait and Switch regulations, if a vehicle is being advertised for sale, it cannot be "held." When the ******'s arrived, they drove the vehicle and sat down to start the buying process. At that time someone else was already in the process of trying to buy the MDX. Our paperwork is all date and time stamped in the computer and the other buyer was able to come to terms on the sale before the ******'s. Mr. ****** became very upset in the showroom and said we were wrong for not holding the vehicle for them since they drove in from Pendleton. Even if they had given a firm commitment over the phone (which they did not, even stating they were going to look at another vehicle on the other side of town,) we could not have legally held the car for them. This doesn't happen very often but when it does, one potential buyer is left unhappy. Again, this is an unfortunate occurrence and we are sorry that the ******'s were unable to get here just a little earlier . We do not feel obligated to reimburse their expenses keeping in mind that if they had been successful in purchasing the vehicle, they would have been at the dealership even later that night but would not be asking for travel reimbursement. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 1. Our sales person did not tell they couldn't hold the vehicle. I explained our travel time and distance. He understood that in our conversation. He also explained to us after we test drove the car to hold onto the keys because we were there first. He knew the person who sold it out from under us was being shady in charater. He even stated to us that they also knew we had traveled there to get the vehicle. He stated he didn't know why they were doing that to us. We were told they make more money through financing a vehicle (which the other customer ended up doing). We had a cashier's check on hand and it wasn't going to make them the same money. They were dishonest in the transaction and they are being dishonest in their answer.

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle brand new off the lot. Within the first month of owning the vechile it had issues with the radio and navagation console. I brought the vechile in for repair and was notified it was fixed. When I went to pick it up it still had the same issue. They recommended taking it home and giving it a few days to see if the problem resolved itself. It did not. I returned and dropped my vechile off for repair again. They notified me that they would be replacing the radio completely. Then the manager called me to tell me a Ford engenieer had come out and mentioned it was a known problem and that there was no fix for it and no eta on when it would be fix. Then I got a conflicting call from the technician stating that a part had been replaced and that is still didn't work and I was to pick it up and drive it even though it didn't work and there was no fix. So one guy tells me the engineer says they are not able to replace anything more and then the service technician says they replaced another part. I have involved the general sales manager, customer relations manager, service manager, and for customer care. I am getting the run around from everyone and a different story from each. I am told that the local dealer can do nothing and that I have to go through Ford. However, no one from Ford contacts me when they say they will. This is unacceptable, if it is a known issue they should've informed me when I bought the car. Also all this time I've made payments but I never have the car. I was told they would take care of 2 car payments for me...that never happened. You can not sell a car and find it has an issue and tell the customer there is no fix and they have to just drive it.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back. The sale reversed, my payments that I've made refunded, my money for my trade in, my money for the gas in the rental car since they wouldn't give me a hybrid (which is what I purchased), and some generous gesture for all of the time and stress they have caused in mine and my husbands life. This was our very first car buying experience and we will never buy a Ford again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/19) */ The customer is correct that she has spoken with the GM, SM and CRM at the dealership. We have explained that her vehicle is warrantied by the manufacturer, not the dealer and that we cannot recind a contract that has already been processed. We opened the customers case with Ford and verified that she had the case number. She was very frustrated that she had not heard back the next day from the factory CRM. Dealership CRM explained that responses are not always fast as this is not the only case her manufacturer rep is working on. Dealer CRM contacted a supervisor in the appropriate dept with Ford and the rep got back to our customer the next day. Dealer records have been submitted to Ford and they are reviewing the case. The vehicle is currently in the customers possession. It is driveable and issue is not safety related therefore coverage of a rental vehicle has been discontinued. This case was just opened so it is not possible to have payments reimbursed that quickly. However, if it was promised by factory CRM then it will come through. Dealer will forward this copy of the customer complaint to the factory CRM to add to the case notes. We understand the customers frustration and we are doing everything within our power to expedite a resolution. The final decision will ultimately be up to Ford Motor Company

12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: courtesy for did not tell me or show me my service contract when i bought my new car, nor did they inform me of the price. weeks after i bought the car and signed all documents presented to me, they sent me a letter stating that "on reviewing the contract they noticed and corrected the following errors....the name of the add on provider or the amount was incorrect and left blank, and that the correct disclosure of add on charges of 1100.00 was taken care of on their end....? I can't believe they did this and the way they did it. SCAM...RIPOFFF

Desired Settlement: I want my 1100.00 dollars back and a letter of apology. This company is horrible and if they think they can get away with this they are mistaken.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/19) */ I have attached four copies from *** ***** purchase. Page one is a the finance menu showing the items he purchased and their cost per month. Page two is the Retail Buyers Order which breaks down both the extended service plan and the extended contract (maintenance)and shows exactly what was paid for each contract. Sheet three is the extended service plan contract that shows the terms of coverage and purchase price.Sheet four is the maintenance contract that shows the terms and purchase price. We did have to correct the date on this contract but it changed by a few days and is initialed. This maybe what he received acknowleging the correction which did not change anything in the terms of the contract. *** ***** has copies of all documents except the finance menu. All contracts are retained by Courtesy Ford for a minimum of five years. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***