BBB Accredited Business since

Carr Vancouver

Phone: (360) 693-1481 Fax: (360) 693-1096 View Additional Phone Numbers 6600 NE Fourth Plain Blvd, Vancouver, WA 98661 http://www.carrauto.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides new and used car sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Carr Vancouver meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Carr Vancouver include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Carr Vancouver
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 2005 Business started: 06/01/2005 Business started locally: 06/01/2005 Business incorporated 08/20/2004 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Licensing Motor Vehicles
2424 Bristol Ct SW, Olympia WA 98502
http://www.bls.dor.wa.gov/vehiclevesseldealer
Phone Number: (360) 664-6475
intdlrnw@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Greg Goering, General Manager Mr. Brad Preble, Director of Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Goering, General Manager
Customer Contact: Mr. Brad Preble, Director of Operations
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Carr Auto Group Carr Chevrolet Inc Carr Vancouver Cadillac GMC Pontiac Buick

Additional Locations

  • 6600 NE Fourth Plain Blvd

    Vancouver, WA 98661 (888) 204-9780

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Total transmission faliure after 3 years

Desired Settlement: repayment for new transmission and installation.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/02/20) */ Mr. Rice purchased the 2011 Terrain Dec. 1, 2011 with 27173 miles. At the time of purchase he signed 6 documents that the vehicle was "as-is" but was covered with GM 5 year, 100,000 mile powertrain warranty. The customer has not been back to the dealership since the date of purchase so I am not aware of how many miles the vehicle currently has. If the vehicle has less than 100,000 miles the GM factory warranty should cover the repairs to the transmission. If the vehicle has over 100,000 miles, at that point responsibility of maintenance should be that of the owner not Carr Vancouver. Consumer Response /* (3000, 14, 2014/02/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When I bought the vehicle, I questioned the klunk that it made when shifting. Tom Anderson, the sales person, advised me that, the klunk was normal and just something that the transmission in Terrains do and not to worry. (there is no klunk in the new transmission that was put in the vehicle) I have constantly maintained the vehicle and there should not have been a failure (especially a complete failure) They have obviously fixed the klunk in their new transmissions leading me to believe manufacture defect or why would they fix it. Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/02/25) */ I can certainly understand Mr. Rice's frustration. No one wants their vehicle to experience difficulties, especially related to such a big issue as a transmission. As Mr. Rice stated, he feels this transmission issue is related to the original workmanship from the manufacturer. Consequently, any resolution for this issue should be directed to the manufacturer, General Motors not Carr Vancouver as a retailer. The number to GMC customer assistance is 1-800-462-8782. Once Mr. Rice has a case number, Carr would be happy to assist him with the claim process through General Motors. Consumer Response /* (4200, 18, 2014/02/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While the ultimate issue may have resulted from a manufactures defect, I believe that Carr must be held responsible for the statement of their salesperson that the klunk in the transmission is a normal occurence with the Terrain. Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2014/03/21) */ Mr. Rice had over seventy thousand miles remaining on the factory warranty at the time of purchase. As stated he constantly maintained the vehicle. During the routine maintenance inspections the transmission must have been operating normal or the issue would have been presented to Mr. Rice by his technician. The failure of the transmission by a manufacturer defect outside GM 5yr 100,000 warranty would need to be directed to GMC customer assistance 1-800-462-8782. Again, after receiving a case# Carr would be happy to assist with the claim process. Consumer Response /* (4200, 23, 2014/03/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) as the dealer suggested I contacted the manufacture,talked with Lexi at 866-790-5600 ext 11215. My case number with them is 71-1266002731. They are not offering any assistance. Since this was a problem that began at time of purchase (salesman told me the clunk in the transmission was standard) and ultimately ended in total failure even though the coverage was up by 6,000 miles I believe that GMC should cover the cost. How do we proceed to a hearing from here?

2/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a 2009 Lincoln MKX 122013 that night we found three things wrong with the car. When we were signing the paper work we were assured that everything was checked out and was all in working order. Called the next day told them about the problems was told they will take care of it and bring the car in monday the 23rd. My salesman and a mechanic both said we will make you happy and bring it in the following friday. Went that morning and I feel was getting a run around talked to the head service guy and we made a appointment with Vancouver Ford the following monday to have everything fixed. They had the car for a week and called told me they fixed two of the problems but the third they wanted me to pay for half the cost? I told them NO WAY was I giving them anymore money. Told them they keep the car and give me money the service guy said the car is mine and come in to get it. If they would of told me up front they didn't want to fix the GPS system right away I would of gave them the car back right away that is my LEGAL RIGHT! I feel that I was lied to so the time would run out for bringing the car back.

Desired Settlement: I want everything repaired the amount of money we paid them I don't think that it is to much to ask that everything is in working order. or buy the car back.They wont hear from me again all is good.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/17) */ January 16, 2014 Please except this letter as an explanation and resolution to my complaint filed. The problem started when I was contacted by Carr's manager informing me that Carr would repair the heated seat and lighting issue and requested me to pay half for the navigation system. I felt it was Carr's obligation to pay the full amount to repair the navigation system. I was frustrated, angry and was under the understanding the repair was not going to be accomplished and that I was to pick up my vehicle. I had not made an attempt to contact anyone else at the dealership to try and resolve this issue. At that point- I proceeded to write and my complaint with your agency. On January 10th, I was contacted by the GM of Carr Vancouver to resolve this matter. He listened to my complaints and explained my vehicle was still at ************* and not at Vancouver Ford with the first two problems fixed and waiting for the best resolution for the navigation system. He explained and I agree that the problem with the seats and the navigation were intermittent and could have been working during vehicle inspection. He also explained that Carr did not have the necessary equipment to diagnose the problem with the Navigation. It had to be scheduled with a Ford store resulting in the delay of the repairs. The GM called back and informed me the only resolution for the navigation system was to replace the screen. Parts were ordered and the vehicle was promised to me on January 16th, repaired and paid in full by Carr. Carr provided me with a loaner car during the entire absence of my Lincoln as to not inconvenience me during the repairs. Unfortunately, my anger fueled by Carr's manager led me to file this complaint prior to attempting to resolve it internally with Carr. At this point, Carr did follow through with what they promised and I am completely happy with the resolution. l understand I bought the vehicle as-is and had the opportunity to drive it and have it checked by a mechanic. | understand the repairs to my Lincoln was a good will gesture by Carr Vancouver to keep a happy customer. From this point forward the responsibility for any and all future repairs are mine and I accept that responsibility. Regards, ************

11/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9-29-13 we agreed to lease a 2013 GMC Terrain from Carr Vancouver. The television advertisement said 39,000 miles for 39 months. It is still advertising it on web and tv. We specifically told saleman Joe ***** we was in for the advertising and wanted the deal. I talked to ***** ****** last week and he said that they might have gave us only 32,541 miles for 39 months because of the low payments we received. We would have never signed the agreement if we knew the mileage they were giving us. They never once told us the mileage was less than we thought. I caught it because they had to have us come in and sign paperwork again as it wasn't like the financial institution wanted. While comparing the two documents I noticed the mileage, that is when I called ***** ****** last week. He said he would get back to me, which he has never done. I finally called our salesman today, *** ***** and he at first said it had to be a typo and he would get it fixed. He called me back and said he pulled all paperwork and it wasn't a typo. I feel like it was misrepresented and we was lied to. We have leased for 20+ years and never ran into this. ***** ****** also thought it was a mistake when he first talked to me last week, but did make the comment about the lower payments affecting the mileage, and he would talk to the person the made up the contract. They never once mentioned the diffence in mileage, to me it was misrepresented.

Desired Settlement: I would like the 39,000 miles for 39 months as stated, or my Rav4 back and I will do business at Toyota. Also an apology. After this experience I'm not sure I will ever trust them again. We have leased all of our other vehicles from Toyota and Honda and thought we would give the Terrain a try. The vehicle seems to be fine.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/25) */ Was not aware of the customers complaint. Contacted the customer 10-24-13 meet with them on 10-25-13. Resolved the problem and the customer is completely satisfied.

8/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service