BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales, parts, service and a body shop.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Carr Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Carr Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Carr Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1941 Business started locally: 01/01/1941 Business incorporated 10/16/1987 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brad Preble, Vice President Rachael Bennett, PR
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brad Preble, Vice President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Carr Auto Group Inc. Carr Chevrolet Inc Carr Subaru Carr Used at Walker Road Carr Vancouver
Products & Services

New Car brands offered are Chevrolet, Subaru, Buick, GMC and Cadillac.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Carr Chevrolet has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 15005 SW Tualatin Valley Hwy

    Beaverton, OR 97006 (503) 644-2161

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Carr Chevrolet is either very incompetent or crooked not sure which. We went and test drove a 2002 Silverado 1500 ext cab and then proceeded to get financing and buy this truck. Went thru all the negotiating and agreed to the offer they gave us and then we were to return the next day after they arranged the financing to get the truck. Financing went thru fine and they called us a little after noon and told us all was fine come in and get your truck. I was working and could not get off early and my husband had a meeting that night which he had to have someone else lead for him so we could go sign for this truck. My husband made an appointment for about 6 - 7 pm that night. After work we rushed to go over to Carr and as we were driving there Justin from Carr Chevrolet called and said don't bother coming over we sold the truck this morning! Well for one thing we were told they were holding the truck for us and we needed to get over right away to sign for it which is a lie they had already sold it . Justin told us he looked all over for it, they have many lots and then was told someone had sold it. They say they will find us another truck, but that was a very unique truck for their lot, and we were getting a good deal. I think maybe they thought it was too good and sold the truck right out from under us. Anyway you look at it it was very poor customer service. We have been trying to get the info on where they got financing for us, so we have a place to start if we purchase another truck. They don't even bother to respond to our call!! I'am very disappointed with the way this has been handled and have bought another car at his dealer before, but they have lost my business.

Desired Settlement: We would like to know the financial institution that approved our financing for this vehicle and the details such as interest rate.

Business Response: As Ms. ****** intimates, this was a unique circumstance and a unique truck.  And it was most certainly an unfortunate situation for all of the parties involved. 

After receiving this complaint, our sales consultant and our manager have subsequently had several conversations with the ******* to explain the situation.  The vehicle in question, a 2002 Silverado truck, is indeed a unique vehicle and was being promoted and marketed through a variety of websites.  The ******* saw the truck and test drove it on Sunday, 6/28/15.  Unfortunately the vehicle transaction was not consummated at the time; the ******* instead agreed to come back after their financing application was accepted by a bank.  During this time delay, one of our other stores sold and consummated their transaction on this very same vehicle.  Apparently their customer had been looking at this vehicle for over a week and finally decided to purchase it on Monday morning, 6/29/15.

I know this news was very frustrating for the ******* to hear, as it was similarly frustrating for the sales consultant at the Chevy store.  However, in accordance with the advertising rules of Oregon, a vehicle must remain available for sale until it is legally sold.  This rule makes sense from a consumer perspective as well, as unscrupulous dealers could simply “hold” vehicles they didn’t want to sell to certain customers.  So, while this situation is extremely aggravating to the *******, Carr followed the rules and the vehicle remained “available for sale” until a contract was officially signed. 

As soon as our sales consultant learned of the sale, he contacted the ******* right away to save them from having to drive out from Gresham.  He also went on the hunt for another, similar type of truck in order to placate the *******.  Our notes show that he called and left messages twice for the *******, so I’m not sure how the lines of communication got crossed. 

In any event, I would like to apologize for the stress and frustration the ******* went through during this situation.  Other than consummating the transaction on the spot on Sunday evening, I’m not sure what Carr could have done differently.  However, we will be reviewing our policies and training in an effort to avoid similar situations from occurring in the future.  Thanks.

6/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sunday February 15, my partner and I visited the said location to consider vehicle options. As a current Chevrolet owner, I was accompanying my partner who was interested in purchasing a car, as well as determining if/ what future purchase options I might make. Though we were pleasantly greeted and assisted by a general salesperson, we were approached by a sales manager that continued to follow us around the lot, with a very unfriendly, intimidating disposition (**** *********, Team Manager). As the general salesman attended to us, Mr. ********* seemed rather displeased by our presence and intent. Upon identifying a car(s) that he liked, my partner completed the necessary paperwork required for financing purposes. As the general salesperson submitted our paperwork, we returned to the lot to look at other cars while we awaited a finance decision. Moments later, Mr. ********* located us on the lot and began yelling personal financial business. At one point, he stated aloud "You don't have the best credit". To support my partner, I offered to help make a down payment of $2000 dollars on his behalf. While I had previously expressed that I was not pursuing a purchase today, Mr. ********* proceeded to ask me "where are you going to get that money?". When I told him that I would take a withdrawal on my 401K, he yelled "Where and what kind of job do you have?". I replied that details related to my place of were not required in order for me to give a gift to someone. His overall tone caught the attention of other patrons, and made us feel especially unwelcome. As if is hostile tone were not enough, his impatience was quite noticeable. Shortly after calculating the down payment offer of $2000, Mr. ********* returned yet again, this time insisted that we pay him $4000 or consider the offer null. He blurted out personal finance information regarding child support, making the sales process more of a chastisement, than

Desired Settlement: Given the fact that I am a loyal Chevrolet customer who had recently brought more than $2500 of repair business to this company, I am displeased and disgruntled by my recent encounter and treatment imposed by Mr. *********. Not only did it seem that our race made Mr. *********'s tone more hostile, but he was not the most positive brand ambassador for what I've come to know as Chevrolet. I expect a full in-person apology from the General Manager of the dealership acknowledging the matter, as well as one from Mr. ********* himself, 3 free oil changes on my current or future Chevy vehicle, a discount on the purchase of our next Chevy vehicle, and diversity and sensitivity training for Mr. ********* and his sales peers. It appears that the demographic/region of the dealership has impaired Mr. *********'s ability to respond sensitively to customers with challenging credit histories and ethnic backgrounds outside of his own. The tone he used with us is not suited for a violent criminal. It should never be a salesperson's role to incriminate or discriminate against prospective customers, regardless of the demographics of the company's customer base.

Business Response:

Thank you very much for bringing this situation to our attention.  We have conducted a thorough investigation into the matter, with all of our employees who were involved with your visit.   

 

As a sales organization that survives on positive customer service, it is imperative that our company exhibits the utmost professionalism at all times to all customers.  It is simply counter-productive to do otherwise.  Indeed, the behavior of one employee reflects on every employee.  That is why we take great care in ensuring we hire good people who have customer’s best interests in mind, and team members who make sure everyone is working toward that goal.

 

In this case, our manager apparently did not convey himself in a manner that improved your customer experience.  The people we interviewed who were present when you were here, did not indicate any level of hostility or unprofessionalism from the manager.  Regardless, if you perceived that it was the case, then it doesn’t necessarily matter what our people think.  This is a training issue that we have addressed.

 

Our goal in the sales department is to assist customers to find the right car for needs and their budget, regardless of what they might be.  We do not care what the customer looks like, how they are dressed, or where they come from – our goal remains the same.  That is why we have been successful with so many customers.  Any act of unprofessionalism certainly reduces our chances of making this happen.   

 

In this case, we failed to provide you the level of customer service you came to expect.  For that we sincerely apologize.

 

As mentioned above, we have addressed your concerns in our training process, reiterating our commitment to providing the same high level of service to EVERY CUSTOMER.   This is the same philosophy we apply internally towards our own employees, and is one of the reasons we continue to be named one of the best companies to work for in Oregon.  As I’m sure you saw when you were here, we hire a very diverse and eclectic group of consultants.  There would simply be no room or reason for discrimination towards a customer.  

 

We are using this a learning opportunity, and we hope you will give us another opportunity with your future service and sales needs to see that we’re improving.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

After reviewing the response from Carr Chevy and its representatives, I regret that I will have to reject the response received for several reasons.

While the response is successful at touting the organization's appraisal of its own success, it does not remedy the matters brought to their attention in my initial complaint.  Specifically, the tone which was used during my visit by Mr. ********* requires an apology directly from that employee.  It is evident that merely providing a blanketed statement doesn't issue personal accountability, which is at the crux of my complaint. Mr. *********'s sales success is not a conclusive indicator of his people skills, but is in fact a factor that can be attributed to a combination of customer credit eligibility and financial status. Under the perfect conditions, any salesperson can attain sales success. Mr. ********* lacks the critical people skills required to manage diverse customer that he encounters, as denoted in my original complaint.

Secondly, even in the Carr Chevy response, there seems to be an undertone of dismissal, which points to a larger issue amid the culture of Carr Chevy.  When a customer brings a matter of such seriousness to light, it shouldn't be procedure or practice to diminish the claim by pointing to unrelated experiences of other customers.  While on the premises, I did notice a number of employees who might possess diverse backgrounds. However, inclusion (which is another critical part of my concern) is not measurable in terms of external inherent indicators (color, ability, sex, etc). Mr. *********'s egregious character highlights a larger issue with the inclusive work and sales environment experienced by a customer of diverse background. As any successful sales team would know, excellence is achieved through relationship building. Mr. *********'s tone and actions proved unsuccessful at creating that landscape of opportunity.

Though acknowledgment of the matter being training related is appreciated, my rejection of the response points to the failure to address the issue of personal accountability and assigning thorough attention to the specifics of the expectations shared in the original complaint.  I welcome the opportunity for the company via Mr. ********* to respond attentively to all of the matters raised, not just those that are aesthetically pleasing. 

Sincerely,

***** *****

Business Response: Contrary to the assertions that we do not take these situations seriously or that our concern is somehow insincere, Carr directly acted to correct the behavior through training and disciplinary procedures.  It is through these actions that culture is shaped and reformed.  Ms. ***** points to our culture as one that is not inclusive, when in fact the steps we took brought a bright light to the issue across the entire sales organization.  I certainly appreciate Ms. ***** for bringing this to light so that we can improve our customer's experience while in our store.  It is by striving to improve each individual encounter that we improve the overall culture of the company.  

As to Ms. ******* request that she receive a personal apology from Mr. *********, I'm afraid that is not possible as Mr. ********* is no longer employed by Carr Auto Group.  I trust that the sincere apology on behalf of the entire Carr organization will suffice.

Thank you.

3/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a truck on 1/3/2015 I was mislead every step of the way on the price on items that I though were included but extra money when it was all said and done.I went back in to gets these items refunded and they told me I would no longer get these items but they would not take the money off or rewrite the contract and now I am paying an extra 4600.00 dollars for 75 months plus interest I was told it will come off the principal at the end of the loan in 6 years.

Desired Settlement: I would like the contract rewritten without the extra 4600.00

Business Response:

The fact that they are still upset about this came as a surprise to me. Mr. ****** actually came into my office, apologized for the misunderstanding, and thanked our sales manager for taking care of the situation.

The ******* purchased their truck on January 3rd. As part of the transaction, they agreed to purchase a number of additional products, which totaled approximately $4,600. Each one of these optional items was disclosed fully in numerous places, including the Buyer's Order, a Settlement Disclosure and each of the individual product agreements. Please see the attached disclosure agreements.

Shortly after the purchase, the ******* returned to Carr to inquire about canceling these optional items. Our Finance Manager readily agreed that they were cancelable and filled out the required paperwork to accomplish this. He recognized that the ******* were upset and frustrated so he reviewed some of the paperwork that they had signed previously with him, reminding them about each of the products they had agreed to purchase on the night of the transaction. Both of the ******* recalled the conversation and acknowledged that they had indeed agreed to buy them. Our Finance Manager researched that the loan had already been funded and explained how the cancelation would be applied to the loan (as a direct reduction of principal, thus reducing the length of the loan as well as the total amount of interest paid). He also explained that sometimes banks would re-amortize the loan to incorporate the lower balance and thereby adjust the monthly payment. He told the ******* that this was something they would have to accomplish with the bank, however, as the privacy laws prevented Carr from getting directly involved with the loan at this point. The ******* indicated that they understood this situation and were fine as long as the products were canceled and the money was applied to the loan. Our Finance Manager also explained that the cancelation monies can take upwards of several weeks to be applied.

After the ******* finished with our Finance Manager, Mr. ****** stopped by my office and thanked our sales manager for helping him with the issue. It was not until we received an alert from a Google post several days later that we learned that the ******* were still dissatisfied. Our Finance Manager promptly contacted them to find out what had changed in the two or three days since they left his office. Mr. ****** was upset that the refund monies had not been posted to his account. Our Finance Manager reviewed the conversation they had had in the office (about the refund check having to be mailed to the bank) and Mr. ****** told him that "he would believe it when he saw it" and hung up.

Normally, a cancellation refund has to be processed by the warranty company, which can take several weeks. However, Carr fronted the monies and immediately issued a check to the ******** account at ***** ***** ***** This is prior to even receiving the BBB complaint. It is my understanding that the full refund has been posted against their loan. Any interest accrued as a result of these canceled products would be negligible.

The ******* received full disclosure of every product and service related to their transaction - multiple times. When they requested a refund, it was handled expeditiously and without delay or hassle. To claim now that they were not treated fairly or professionally is far off base.

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I almost can't believe the reply back from Carr Chevrolet Mr. ****** never ever apologized to any person at the dealer ship or stopped in and thanked anyone. I received a letter from the bank 1/28/2015 saying we still owe the extra monies, it states that the 4600.00 is still owed. I have current documentation dated 1/26/15 from the Bank.I Don't know who wrote that reply back to the bbb,( again more lies!!!!!!nothing has been handle at this time. From day one they avoided us not returning calls or E-mails wouldn't allow us to speak to the GM ever!

Business Response:

I am sorry that the ******* are still upset. And, I am not sure what piece of paper they are looking at with regard to their balance. Carr has done everything we said we would and have kept them informed all along the way. Our Finance Manager contacted them on January 23rd to let them know that we had just heard from our ***** ***** **** representative who indicated that the check we sent nearly 10 days prior had finally posted to their account. We know of no other messages or emails where they have attempted to contact us. If we have missed any, we certainly apologize. We have made every attempt to solve the ******** issue with the cancellation of their optional products. Cancellations can take upwards of 6-8 weeks, but we have expedited this process as much as we possibly can. I have attached a copy of the communication I received from our bank representatives showing that the principal balance of their loan has been reduced by the $4608 (posted 1/23/15 and effective 1/22/15). I've also included a copy of the check we sent on January 12th, and another copy of their balance report. A simple call from the ******* to the bank would have confirmed all of this. I do not know what more we can do to make the ******* satisfied. We have done everything we said we were going to do and have attempted to keep them informed every step of the way.

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

8/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: our complaint issue covers a lot of issues. It covers sales issues, service issues. We were charged for services that were supposed to be performed a week after we purchased the car. The services were added into our loan but wasn't performed. the car was to be detailed and then have a special coating inside and outside the car. never happened. A headlight went out the night we were taking the car home. said it was going to replaced. 3 weeks later both lights went out and we had to pay to get them replaced. the car has water inside it. its so bad that when the car is closed condensation builds up and we have to wipe the inside down before we can drive the car. the tailgate wont close adequately. I have called carr chevy I was told that they may or ay not pay for repairs because its been a few months. I have been calling them since the day we got the car. we were told that they would get us another key since only one keyless entry was available. we have yet to get anyone to remember this or follow thru on anything. I have talked to numerous managers and we aren't getting any help. Product_Or_Service: 2010 toyota

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want the car fixed and all promises followed thru with.I want another keyless entry. I want the water problem fixed and the carpets replaced since there is water damage. I want the 650.00 taken off my loan since those services weren't performed. I want my tailgate fixed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2014/08/15) */ We are in the process of trying to assist Mr. and Mrs. ****** with their vehicle issues. It appears that there has been a bit of miscommunication occurring as Carr has left numerous messages with the ******s once we learned that there were concerns with the vehicle. Our records also indicate that the repairs were completed relative to the paint & fabric protection, however we are happy to reapply this when we are able to see the vehicle again. Currently, the ******s are on vacation and we set up that they would return to Carr when they got back on their trip. However, while they were in California, the leak became more pronounced and they decided that they needed to have the vehicle examined in California. Carr arranged and paid for a rental vehicle while the car was examined and repaired. It turned out to be a simple fix in that the drain tube for the air conditioning was blocked. It appears that once that was corrected, the leak of water into the vehicle has ceased. The ******* are going to bring their vehicle back to Carr so that we can treat the carpets, under-mats and re-detail the interior and exterior.

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a pre approval from *********** I told them this and once I left or even maybe while I was there they ran my credit even though I told them not to and that I had financing, so far I have received letters from 3 different credit sources.

Desired Settlement: Not sure, they ran my credit all over town without my permission after I told them i already had pre approved financing, I am trying to rebuild my credit this hurt my credit,,They never mentioned they were doing this

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/05/16) */ Dear Ms. *********** We have reviewed the above referenced complaint and have conducted an internal investigation into the specifics of the customers visit to our dealership. Ms. **** did come to us with a pre-approval from ********************. The issue was that the vehicle she selected had a cost that exceeded her pre-approved amount by approximately $10,000. We showed her the amount of down payment that would be required for her to purchase the vehicle she had selected in order to meet the parameters of her pre-approval and she indicated that this was not feasible for her. Customers frequently come to our dealership with pre-approvals. In many of these cases, we are actually able to obtain loans with better rates and terms than what their pre-approvals offer. As part of our customer service, we work very hard to offer every customer the very best loan terms that are available to them. In Ms. ****' case, once we determined that she did not wish to make the necessary down payment to meet her pre-approved loan terms and conditions, we offered to pursue other financing for her through the lenders that we use. Ms. **** agreed to have us do this as she was not interested in looking at a $10,000 less expensive vehicle. She voluntarily provided us with all of the needed information on the credit application and signed that application authorizing us to review her credit and pursue other financing options for her. I am surprised Ms. **** now insists that she did not want us to run her credit, when she was well aware that we were attempting to secure financing for her to purchase the vehicle she had selected. Unfortunately, we were unable to secure an approval for her through our sources on the vehicle and terms she wanted. The letters she refers to receiving are the legally required adverse action letters from the lenders who looked at and declined her loan application. In summary, it is unfortunate that we were unable to assist Ms. **** in purchasing the vehicle that she wanted, however Carr did nothing that Ms. **** was not aware that we were doing. We discussed our intentions with her and she agreed to have us proceed and provided the necessary information and authorizing signatures to do so. We apologize that we were unable to be successful in this effort at this time. Please feel free to contact me directly should you have any further questions. **** ****** General Sales Manager Carr Chevrolet Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/05/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The dealership told me they needed my info to call ***********. They told me that often they are able to get more for the preapproval once they call them. That was it. There was never once a discussion about trying to secure financing from ANY other lender. I had money for a down payment I just did not want to use if it was not necessary. I felt i would be served better to search other options, which I did. I told them up front I had a pre approval and that I did NOT want them to run my credit any where else. The dealership I ultimately went with did exactly as I asked, I paid a down pam=yment and got exactly what I wanted. They have dragged my credit score down that I have been working very hard to improve, this was not acceptable.

2/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to the dealership because they advertise customer satisfaction with a 30 day exchange certificate. I liked the car and because I could only pay with cash I wanted to get the best deal. Their policy is no haggle, no pressure. This was not the case. I ended up spending the entire day searching the used lots with the sales person constantly assuring me that I was getting the best car for the money and that the company honors their customers and does their best to keep happy customers. I asked him to let me see the blue book price and he was able to show me only the good reports and never the book price. I finally gave in and knowing that I had the exchange certificate, I would be OK. When I got home and looked up the true market value I found that I paid twice as much for the car. I asked for some money back and they cycled me back to start. Now I am trapped into looking at used cars that are worst than the one I have. My major complaint is with Carr's advertising. They are not to be trusted, they will take advantage of people. Product_Or_Service: Buick Century 2000 Order_Number:******** Account_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I am willing to keep the car, but I want $2000.00 back. This will put the market value of the car closer to it true value, and still give Carr some profit. I had the car inspected and I will need to put an immediate $500 or more into it just to drive it with some assurance it will not break down on the road.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/23) */ January 21, 2014 Re: BBB Case #******** for ***************** We are in receipt of the above referenced complaint and have completed our internal inquiries into the details of this transaction. It is very unfortunate that ********** is left with a bad feeling about the transaction as it sounds like she is satisfied with the vehicle itself. There is a tremendous amount of information available on the internet as to vehicle values. Unfortunately not all of it is always accurate to the true market value of a vehicle as this can vary widely based on geographic regions, vehicle conditions, and in some instances even seasonally. Further, a person can look at multiple valuation websites i.e. ***, *******, etc and, using the exact same vehicle, get values that can literally vary by thousands of dollars. To illustrate this I have attached two examples of random vehicles and their associated valuations from three sources. Kelley Blue Book dealer/lender value guide, ***.com consumer website for valuation for private party sale and trade in, and ******* ***************** (***) website. As you can see the example vehicle, a 2010 Chevy Equinox has a range of values from a low of $15,572 to $19,909 on the wholesale side and from $18,643 to $23,243 on the retail/private party values. When we are dealing with older vehicles these variances can be even greater given the wide variations in condition and mileage. The second example I have provided is for a 2002 Chevy Tracker. This vehicle wholesale values range from $1,491 to $5,544 and retail/private party values from $2,774 to $8,189. As you can see, these variations can be very extreme depending on what source you use. With regard to **********'s Buick, this car was 13 years old with exceptionally low miles (74,961) and was in a condition that would be considered far above average for the year and mileage. Additionally, as a reputable new car dealer, we do inspections and reconditioning significantly above what any private party would do when selling a vehicle. We do this to ensure we are delivering a quality product to our customers at a fair price. In fact, in the case of this vehicle, we spent over $1700 in reconditioning and inspections. This included new tires and brakes, alignment, and repairing some normal wear and tear items to ensure the car was in top condition. I have attached copied of those repair orders as well for review. Our intentions are to always provide our customers with the best quality pre-owned vehicles at a fair price. I believe that this is exactly what we did in this case. Additionally, we do offer our customers a 30-day exchange program which offers them 100% of the price they paid toward exchanging their vehicle for a different one if they are not satisfied. When ********** came and looked to take advantage of this offer, I believe that what she found is that the car she purchased was nicer than most vehicles in that similar price range. Unfortunately, we could not satisfy her through this course. Since receiving this complaint, we have made multiple attempts to reach ************ but have yet to receive a return call from her. I am unaware of what she is referring to when she states that she will have to put $500 into the car immediately in order to drive it. We are presently unaware of any repairs that her vehicle needs but, if in fact this is the case, then we would certainly be happy to look into assisting her with whatever those issues may be. We do hold customer satisfaction as our highest priority. Unfortunately that does not generally include offering large refunds to customers because they found a valuation that does not support the price they paid. What we will absolutely do, however, is gladly assist her with any legitimate mechanical issues that the car may have had when she took possession of it. We attempt to be as thorough as possible in our inspection process but it is certainly not inconceivable that something minor was missed or something developed as time went by. If ********** is interested in pursuing this then she would be welcome to Contact any one of my managers, **************,**************, *************, or myself and we will assist her with that. Thank you for your assistance in resolving this matter. Best regards, ************ General Sales Manager Carr Chevy World ************ ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2014/02/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I really doubt that any insurance adjuster will agree with you on the value of the car. Not only that, if I were to trade the car in or try to sell it later on, how much would I get? This is closer to the truth. The numbers don't lie. After my last response, I have now received the title and the registration to my car and I am in National's system. I still want a refund of $2000.00. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/02/10) */ February 7, 2014 Re: BBB Case ******** ****** ****** Dear *** ******: I am very disappointed that you are still not satisfied with your vehicle price, however, I am afraid that at this point we will have to agree to disagree. It sounds like you have spent some time on the various consumer valuation sites and came to a conclusion that is unfortunately not accurate. At Carr, we make every effort to price our products fairly given market conditions and vehicle demand. We actually subscribe to software that we use daily to both manage our inventory and ensure that our individual products are priced competitively in relation to other products of similar year and miles. These pricing scales are based on actual vehicle listings and sales in our specific market rather than the more opinion-driven, broader based values that you may see on consumer valuation sites like ******* or ***. The one thing that you have never seen on any of those valuation sites is a "buy now" link whereby you can actually purchase a car for the value they state. Simply put, the values you are weighing are not based on actual transaction pricing specific to each dealer; as point of fact, we, as a dealer, owned that vehicle for more than these sites would suggest that you, as a retail buyer should be able to purchase it for. To quickly address the other things you mentioned in your last response: * The National Warranty you purchased should be into National's system by now. There is a period of time, up to 30 days, that it can take for these to record in their system. Of course we always have copies of those documents and can assist customers in that time frame if need be. * You did pay a license and title processing fee for us to handle all of your DMV paperwork. This covers our costs for all that we as a dealer need to do to get your licensing docs submitted to the Oregon DMV. We submitted all of those documents for you within the required time frame but unfortunately DMV issues the actual vehicle title and registration and we have no control over how long that takes. Given that they require us to issue a temporary license that is good for 90 days, I assume that in some cases it can take up to that long though generally it is significantly less. * We make every effort to keep the DEQ current on all of our pre-owned vehicles but occasionally we sell one before this can be completed so the customer has to take it there themselves. We apologize for this inconvenience. * Our 30-day exchange program is designed to ensure our customers do not end up with a vehicle that does not suit their needs. In the time we have been offering this, we have had countless customers take advantage of it. The offer allows a customer to get 100% of your purchase price back toward a different vehicle that may suit them better. Clearly it did not work out for you but it is a quite effective program and has helped many of our customers. * I'm not sure what independent shop you took the vehicle to but, truthfully, it is not surprising that they were able to find some "needed work". Much of what they recommended would be categorized as "maintenance," which is something that every vehicle on the road would benefit from. I am not sure why they listed the brakes at 80% since we put new pads on your vehicle. All I can say is that Auto Repair Shops everywhere make their living by finding problems with vehicles and having customers pay for them. Ours is no different and that is why we spent so much getting this vehicle ready for our lot. As I said, I am very disappointed that we could not find a way to make you feel better about your purchase. Unfortunately, you have arrived at a request that is based on inaccurate information and simply not feasible. We would certainly still be willing to take a look at any of the issues that your mechanic identified as being problems and we are willing to do all we can to help rectify those issues. I know you expressed doubts in our services, however I assure you that we have more General Motors Master Technicians than any GM store in the state and we have countless customers who return to us again and again because of the service they receive and the quality of our work. We deeply regret that this has not been a positive experience for you. Please let me know if I can assist you with our service offer otherwise we will consider the matter closed. Best regards, **** ****** General Sales Manager Carr Chevrolet

10/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchase 2013 Tahoe. Stated that I needed heavy duty towing as did the car I test drove.. Sales manager picked out a black 2013 Tahoe stated all same options. The car I purchased does not have that option only allowing 5200 lbs towing.

Desired Settlement: I tried to immediately the next week trade in my car but they wanted $8000 more for the $400 heavy duty option. I am very disappointed with the situation and high pressure sales. I would like to dispute this purchase. I think I should have the car with options requested. Especially since they are 60,000 cars. I felt they took advantage of my female gender and pushed me into the current sale.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 20, 2013/10/08) */ October 7, 2013 ******** ******* BBB Services Consultant Re: Consumer complaint made by ****** ********. BBB Case #XXXXXXXX Dear *** ******* First of all, please accept our apologies for not responding to this complaint sooner. One of our key managers was gone the entire month of August and with the short staff this complaint somehow fell through the cracks. I apologize for the tardy response. I have reviewed the file for **** ******** and discussed the issue with the employees who dealt directly with her during her purchase. As is the case in many new vehicle purchases, the vehicle **** ******** ultimately bought was not the one that she initially drove. In our experience, most customers prefer to drive many different vehicles to find the one that will work best for their needs. This is one of the reasons we try to stock as many vehicle choices as possible...we want to provide our customers with the most selection. So, **** ********'s comment that our manager "picked out a Tahoe for her" is a bit overstated. She was intimately involved in the final choice of Tahoe. Keep in mind, all of the Tahoes in our inventory have trailering equipment and the capability to tow - but there are a variety of factors that determine a vehicle's ultimate towing ability, including equipment, options, gear ratio and drive train. The big differences for **** ******** at this point are the fact that her Tahoe does not have the Heavy Duty Trailering Package option, which consists of an engine oil cooler and a transmission cooler, or the 3.42 rear gear ratio, both of which allow the vehicle to tow a heavier load. I want to clear up some of the dates in **** ********'s letter, as I know it can get confusing when you try to remember back to specific events. **** ******** purchased her Tahoe from Carr on June 24th. It was nearly a month later, on July 22nd, when **** ******** came back to Carr to see about improving the towing capability of her Tahoe; specifically she had made an appointment in our service department to install a trailer brake. It was at this time that the issue of towing capability for her Tahoe was discovered. We explored two different options at this point: one was to add the Heavy Duty Trailering equipment to the existing Tahoe; this option, although not ideal, would increase the towing capability by about 2,000 pounds. The second option was to trade her out of her Tahoe into another one with the 3.42 gear ratio and heavy duty trailer package. We actually came to an agreement on this second option, but at some point while completing that paperwork, she decided that the terms were not acceptable and chose to stick with the Tahoe she had already purchased. I can understand **** ********'s frustration with the trade in option...not only was the vehicle that she picked out more expensive by $1500 than her current Tahoe, but also the current Tahoe is valued as a "used" vehicle in the eyes of the state. I am certain there was sticker shock. However, when determining the price difference, trade value, etc for this second transaction, I was personally involved and can assure you that we took the pricing down to the lowest possible level to try and solve **** ********'s concerns. Carr is a strong member of our community and we strive to be good corporate neighbors. We are always interested in ensuring our customers are happy with their purchases, regardless of gender, race, etc. There is no reason to believe we treated **** ******** any differently in this instance. Indeed, there is no reason why anyone at Carr would steer a customer towards one product over another...our interest is always to help the customer select the best product for their needs, wants, budget, etc. I completely empathize with the frustration of **** ********. I am still more than willing to do what we can to assist her in getting the additional towing equipment. I am happy to take the costs of adding these options down to the minimum or will again, do the same on trading her into a new Tahoe equipped with this package and gear ratio. Best Regards, **** ****** General Sales Manager Carr Chevy World

7/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service