BBB Accredited Business since

Broadway Toyota-Scion

Phone: (503) 284-1105 55 NE Broadway St, Portland, OR 97232 http://www.broadwaytoyota.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and service of new and used automobiles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Broadway Toyota-Scion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Broadway Toyota-Scion include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

41 Customer Reviews on Broadway Toyota-Scion
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 41
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 41

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1982 Business started: 01/01/1982 Business started locally: 01/01/1982 Business incorporated 06/02/2004 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dave Gerlach, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave Gerlach, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Portland Automotive Management LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Broadway Toyota-Scion has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 55 NE Broadway St

    Portland, OR 97232 (503) 284-1105

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Monday February 16, 2015 I brought my 1999 Toyota 4Runner (4-cyl, 2WD) in to Broadway Toyota of NE Portland to get a low frequency vibration/noise which was occurring at 60+ mph fixed. During a test drive with the mechanic (named ****) I told him I had had the same issue with the vehicle 7 years prior. I further told him that it was caused by a malfunctioning drive shaft U-joint. The mechanic disagreed and after inspecting the vehicle proceeded to replace the front left wheel bearing and hub at a cost of $571, including 2.5 hours of labor costs. Nevertheless, after replacing the front left bearing and hub, the mechanic in question discovered that the vibration/noise had not been resolved, i.e. the wheel bearing/hub was not the culprit. After informing me of the situation, the service adviser I was working with at the dealership (also named ****) recommended purchasing a new drive line for $700 (minus labor) to address the noise issue and further recommended that I agree to repair the rear differential and axle, presumably for damage caused by the ongoing vibration, at an unspecified cost. At this point, I no longer trusted the mechanic & dealership's judgment and after paying the service advisor $571 in order to retrieve my 4Runner, I immediately took it to an independent mechanic in NW Portland who after a brief inspection concurred with my assessment, replaced the drive line rear U-joint, which solved the issue at a cost of $293 in ninety minutes time. I can provide receipts for both these transactions. The service invoice from Broadway Toyota includes my assertion that the vibration problem was caused by the driveline U-joint.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of $571 for the erroneous diagnosis and labor on my 1999 Toyota 4Runner, a part which I had inspected by an independent mechanic (****** *** ******** **** ** ** Portland).

Business Response:

Please see attachment.

Thank you,

******** ****
Customer Relations Manager
Broadway Toyota-Scion

Re: Reference # ********
Dear Mr. ***** ** *******

This letter is regarding the complaint submitted on April 14, 2015. We would like to
start off by sincerely apologizing to you for any inconvenience this may have caused.

At Broadway Toyota, top notch customer service is something that we take very seriously
and would never intentionally compromise under any circumstances. Regrettably, sometimes
inevitable mistakes happen. In such rare and isolated incidents, a satisfactory solution is
always in place and preventable measures are introduced.

After a thorough review of your case, we have managed to pinpoint why the technician, a
Toyota Certified Master Diagnostic Technician (highest certification level) came to the
conclusion he did. It seems that upon the test drive both you and our technician
agreed that the vibration was coming more from the left driver's side than from the right
passenger's side. Once the vehicle was on the lift, it was determined that the left bearing
and hub was defective and needed to be replaced. We still stand behind this diagnosis.
With concurrence and authorization from you, we were advised to start there and see if that
would, in fact, fix the problem. This did not eliminate the possibility that the U­ joint may
also need to be replaced. Especially with vehicles 15+ years old, there is a
elevated possibility that there may be more than one underlying issue making it necessary
to go through a "process of elimination."

Please note, as with most Toyota Certified technicians and independent Toyota dealers, I can assure
you that our technicians do not work on a commission basis. We base our service and labor rates
competitively with other local Toyota Dealerships and Manufacturer standards. Our rates will most
probably always be a little higher than local independent shops due to the fact that we use genuine
Toyota parts and Certified Toyota Technicians to provide top quality service.

In our attempt to serve you better and retain you as one of our valuable customers, we have
refunded your money in the amount of $571 on April 1, 2015. I hope you find these actions
satisfactory and up to your expectations. We take this opportunity to thank you for your
feedback which allows us to serve you and other customers better. We value your business and
hope to retain you as a customer for many years to come.

Please always share your feedback with us; this is how we keep learning and improving. I am
very confident that the next letter/email we receive from you will be that of appreciation.

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

2/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Broadway Toyota had my automobile on their site for six months after it was towed there for repairs. On repeated calls they said it had not been delivered to them. I filed a stolen vehicle report,waited a few months, then filed an insurance claim, and purchased a replacement vehicle. I discovered Broadway did have my automobile sitting in a vehicle storage area for the entire time it was "missing". They claim they had no responsibility for the vehicle sitting on their property. The insurance company sent me a salvage title title that significantly reduces it's value. I will loss money selling the replacement vehicle. I retrieved the vehicle after paying 100% of the repair costs. Repeated conversations with Broadway regarding reimbursement for some of the thousands of dollars this has cost me have lead to them no longer returning my messages asking to resolve this.

Desired Settlement: At a minimum, refunding the $808.41 they charged me for repairing my vehicle, which now has a salvage title due to their incompetence and lies.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/01) */ December 1, 2014 *** ***** PO Box **** ********** OR XXXXX Re: Case # XXXXXXXX: *** ***** Dear Mr. *****, Let us start off by saying we are sorry Mr. ***** has been subjected to such a frustrating series of events. Customer service is our top priority. We would like to thank Mr. ***** for taking the time to address his concerns regarding his unique experience and giving us the opportunity to explain our position. According to our records, Mr. ***** came to Broadway Toyota to let one of our service advisors know he lost his keys. He told us he would be having his vehicle towed in to have new keys cut and programmed. Typically, the tow driver drops off a vehicle and bring in a release form giving us the ability to open a repair order. This waiver gives us the authority to legally get into a vehicle and start working on it. Unfortunately, this never happened, which in turn, seems to be where the series of issues started. Mr. ***** called into the dealership to inquire whether his vehicle had been dropped off. Without the form from the tow truck driver, we had no way to determine the vehicle was at the dealership. Unfortunately, Mr. ***** did not know who the tow company was that supposedly dropped off his vehicle to us. We told Mr. ***** we did not have any record of the vehicle being dropped off, subsequently, initiating Mr. ***** stolen vehicle and insurance claim. Broadway Toyota is not Mr. ***** insurance company and cannot tell him what the insurance company did to determine his vehicles whereabouts. When we found a vehicle in one of our staging areas behind the lot- we did our due diligence in trying to determine the owner of this vehicle. We ran the VIN # through our data base, national service history and contacted the last company the vehicle was reported to have service. We found the previous owner and he directed us to the dealer he traded it in to. We called that dealership and they informed us they had sent it to auction. At this time we were unable to trace the vehicle back to the current owner. Keep in mind we were not willing to unlawfully enter this locked vehicle. Coincidentally, Mr. ***** called in on another item all together and explained his previous experience with us to our Service Advisor, **** *******. **** was involved in trying to determine who the owner of this abandoned vehicle was and made the connection that it was- in fact- Mr. ***** vehicle. After Mr. ***** worked with his insurance company, he contacted us to go ahead with cutting and programming the key. We have since performed a "customer authorized/customer paid" key cut and programming which totaled $808.41. While we can certainly sympathize with Mr. ***** and his frustrations, Broadway Toyota does not feel as though we are at fault in this unique and isolated situation. As always, feel free to contact us with any additional questions or concerns. Respectfully, ******** **** Customer Relations Manager Broadway Toyota-Scion Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/12/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The auto was never abandoned, it was sitting on their lot. All Braodway Toyota had to do was open the car door and find all my contact information inside the glove box. I have been informed by another dealer that they legally could have and would have opened the door, given the auto was on their property. Broadway had paperwork (I sat at a service desk and gave them the information) on the car coming in, and had paperwork from the tow truck driver stating he/she had dropped the auto off. I made repeated calls to the dealership asking if the auto was there after it was towed to the dealership. They always said no even though the auto was sitting on their lot. They are at fault in this "unique" situation. If they claim the car was locked when it sat on their lot (it was locked when I picked in up) all they had to do was get any qualified locksmith to open the car in five minutes. They were negligent in a number of ways. They cost me a significant amount of worry, time and money. Their unwillingness to shoulder any responsibly for their lack of attention is unacceptable. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/12/17) */ December 17, 2014 RE: Case# XXXXXXXX: *** ***** To whom it may concern: Again, thank you for the opportunity to address all of Mr. *****'s concerns. My staff and I have spent a substantial amount of time trying to answer all of his questions. Mr. ***** did come in and talk to our service department about programming new keys for him that he had lost. He was unsure when the vehicle would be arriving at the dealership. This was an "it **** be towed in the next few days." Therefore, a formal appointment to a specific time could not be made. While I know that one phone call was made checking on the vehicle's arrival, at that time, it had not been delivered to us. At no time through the entire stolen vehicle report or the insurance claim process were we contacted by Mr. *****, the Police, or his insurance company. As Service Director, my first interaction with Mr. ***** was after he had been notified of the vehicles location. He approved to have the keys cut and programmed, and had come in, paid for his repair and taken his vehicle. At that point, his primary concern was he had received a branded title from his insurance company. I reached out to an insurance professional and relayed to him the process that would need to be followed to remove this. This was done as a courtesy for a customer, and does not fall under our normal services. Our store also advocated in Mr. *****'s behalf during the repair to get Toyota Motor Sales (TMS) to honor a program that had expired. By doing this we helped save Mr. ***** $1000.00 on his repair, as his vehicle also needed a new ECU that he did not have to pay for. In fact, he was only billed for what was required by TMS under ECU replacement program. We also talked extensively about how this could happen: This happened because a car was dropped off by a tow company without doing a formal hand off. What typically happens is the tow truck driver comes to us for a signature, leaving us a form that includes the customer information, making us responsible for the vehicle moving forward. In this instance a car was dropped off into one of our lots (we have seven, containing a total of XXX-XXX vehicles) without handing it off to one of our service advisors. In an effort to verify this is what happened, I asked Mr. ***** multiple times "who" towed the vehicle to us. I consistently got the answer, "I don't know. I just called someone." This answer is consistent with what was told to my Assistant Service manager when he asked the same question. As to breaking into the vehicle to get his information; this is a touchy area, and I am sure many dealers handle it differently. Toyota dealers have access to getting the key code from Toyota, but in doing so sign an affidavit that says we have already verified ownership of the vehicle. (Requirements of affidavit attached). The tow company we use for "Abandoned" vehicles, states they **** only enter the vehicle if it is required to "safely remove the vehicle from its current location" otherwise after they have impounded a vehicle they **** try to determine ownership through the DMV. They have access to programs that we as a dealer do not. A call to our Lock smith confirmed that they could break into a car, but with the understanding that we had the owner of the vehicles permission prior to them doing it. Lastly, a call to the Portland police department confirmed that if we broke into a vehicle and the owner said it was without their permission, we could be prosecuted. As previously stated in our last response, we tried to determine ownership of the vehicle through previous repair history. We were unable to determine ownership at the point, only the previous owner traded the vehicle in and it was sold at auction. While we may error on the side of caution, it is our belief that our business practices related to entering vehicles on our lot follows good business practice and the intent of the law. Mr. ***** did not have a complaint with Broadway Toyota until he received a "Branded Title" from his insurance company. Until this point he was happy with the interaction with the service advisor, the work performed and was thankful for working with Toyota on the ECU replacement. At one point he had a check in his hand for the value of the vehicle and could have walked away from it. Instead he chose to keep the vehicle without finding out what the repercussions would be. Now he would like us to pay for this decision. While we certainly acknowledge that this is a unique situation, we have already done everything reasonable to accommodate Mr. *****. Respectfully, ******** **** Customer Relations Manager Broadway Toyota-Scion Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/12/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Because they are guilty of negligence on a number of occasions. Their repeated ineptitude and terrible record-keeping cost me a significant amount of momey andmany hours to deal that this . Never even a single apology; like, "We're sorry we lost you automobile for six months."

2/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I left my 2001 Avalon with Broadway Toyota on Friday 1-2-2015. We agreed to a price of $1,530 for repairs to the car. After they had gone through the car ****** called and told me there was an additional part that was needed. She said it would be an additional $130 but that there would be a discount. When I picked up the car they charged $163.26 for the part not the $130 - discount. Additionally they charged $34.99 for anti freeze that was never discussed. However, the big problem was that when I turned on the car there was a big check engine light on the dash that had never been there before. They told me I could not take my car without paying but that **********, the service manager, would call me Monday morning. He did not call. I called him Monday. He told me he was waiting for the people who worked on my car to get in. He has never spoken to me again. It has been 8 days with no contact. I have left voice mail for ***** and for the general manager, **** *******. Neither has spoken to me.

Desired Settlement: I want repayment for the extra charges and some compensation for the engine light problem. My wife and I were gifting the car to our daughter in law who is working to get her American Dental license. She is licensed in Mexico and has moved to LA to go to the international Dental school. The car was leaving town on Sunday 1-4 to go to LA. We paid extra money so she would have the peace of mind of a factory warranty. Instead we got a car that they are afraid to drive and which sits waiting for some action from Broadway.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/01/29) */ January 29, 2015 RE: Case# XXXXXXXX: ****** ********** To Whom It May Concern: Again, thank you for the opportunity to address all of Mr. **********'s concerns. My staff and I have spent a substantial amount of time trying to answer all of his questions and address his concerns. Mr. ********** and I did speak on 1/25/2015 regarding the service performed on his daughter in-laws 2001 Toyota Avalon with VIN ending: XXXXXX. We sincerely apologized for not having the two Oxygen sensors in-stock the day of his service. We have since ordered these sensors and shipped them, them free of charge, to the California address Mr. ********** provided us. Additionally, we have sent him (4) complimentary oil change vouchers for his Lexus GS 300 to be done on here at the Broadway Toyota. We have since reconciled with Mr. **********. Per our last conversation, Mr. ********** stated that he will call his credit card company to cancel the dispute against Broadway Toyota. Sincerely, ******** **** Customer Relations Manager Broadway Toyota-Scion Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2015/02/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Broadway Toyota did not respond until a month after the problem. They did not respond until after I filed complaints with my credit card company, the Better business Bureau, and 4 with ****** ********* When they finally responded they solved all issues in about 15 minutes.

1/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Broadway Toyota in May to purchase a vehicle. I already owned a 2007 Camry and was interested in trading in my car. They sold me the car and that is where the issues began. My car payment is $537 each month, despite having a 750 credit score because of all the additional add-ons to the loan. Service charges, gap insurance, a clear bra, a tire warranty. After getting the car I spoke with a lender who said my interest should have been much lower and a car dealer who reported that I was sold regular car features as add-ons. When I spoke to someone at Broadway Toyota they informed me that the person who sold me my car was no longer employed there. When I attempted to get the additional charges removed I was told I could not do so.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be able to return the car with no damage to my credit and without owing on the loan.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/11/03) */ ******** ******* **** ** ****** *** **** ***** ******* OR XXXXX Re: Complaint Activity Report Case# XXXXXXXX Dear ******** *******, Broadway Toyota/Scion would like to sincerely thank Ms. ******** ******* for bringing her concerns to us and giving us the opportunity to provide clarity in our position regarding this transaction. Since Mr. *******'s concerns have been brought to our attention, we have been actively communicating with all parties involved with this transaction in order to help rectify Ms. *******'s customer experience. As with all additional products that are sold through Finance, a menu was used disclosing all products and prices. It is our goal to show customers all products that are available for them to purchase. It is the customers discretion in declining or purchasing these items via a cash transaction or financing them in the loan package. Certain items are cancelable items that **** be prorated back to the loan. It looks like Ms. ******* has already cancelled a few of these items. Certain items that require services that have already been applied to the vehicle such as ******* cannot be cancelled. However, since Ms. ******* never came in to get her ClearBra applied, we would be more than happy to credit that back to her loan. Broadway Toyota is not a finance institution. Therefore, we do not determine what the customer interest rate **** be. Lenders determine what interest rate a customer qualifies for based on a number of different factors. While an individual's credit score is a major factor, so is the vehicle year, mileage and term of the loan. If Ms. ******* is dissatisfied with her interest rate, she has the option to try an refinance through the same lender who told Ms. ******* her rate should have been lower or a different lending institution all together. We pride ourselves in customer satisfaction. Broadway Toyota would love to help in any way we can. However, Ms. ******* entered into a contractual agreement with ****** ***** ****** ************ If she wishes to return the vehicle, she would need to contact them to see what her options are. As always, please feel free to contact me if you have any additional questions or concerns. Respectfully, ******** **** Customer Relations Manager Broadway Toyota-Scion Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 15, 2014/11/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept the response because I feel like nothing is resolved. I am aware I signed a binding contract but I am concerned about the practices that were used to get me to sign the contract. I feel like I was completely taken advantage of and very much misinformed. I should not have to refinance somewhere else because I was not given the correct interest at ****** *********. Like I mentioned before, I took my contract to another dealership, still Toyota, and was told I should have received 0% interest with the score I had at the time of signing. I was told my score was a 750 by a sales manager at Broadway Toyota but still given a 6% interest rate. The salesman who was initially helping me, misinformed me about larger installment payments and how it would help me. I believe he did this to persuade me into a higher payment. I understand that the salesman are not legal advisors and therefore should not be offering any advice of he sort. I am still very unhappy with the contract, customer service and sales practices of Broadway Toyota. I feel that more can be done and that I should not have to seek a refinance elsewhere. Final Business Response /* (1000, 27, 2014/12/23) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** **** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ext *** Contact Email: *****@broadwaytoyota.com Dear *** *******, Again, thank you for the opportunity to address your concerns. Our primary goal is top notch customer service. We are extremely disheartened to know that you do not feel that you received the treatment you very much deserve. Take heed that we will continue to train and work with our Finance department to ensure they are providing the highest level of customer care. During finance, the menu of additional products that are available to you are discussed- as are the bank terms. These terms were clearly shown to you before you signed the bank agreement including: Price of the vehicle, interest rate, term of the loan, cost of agreed upon products and the overall amount you will pay at the end of the term. Furthermore, the lending institution offers a special finance rate in lieu of the manufacturers rebate up to 60 months. Therefore, at the time of purchase, if you chose the 0% offer, you would not have received the $1,000 rebate and your payment would have been higher than what was contracted. I would like to reiterate that the contracted terms were the terms you agreed upon at the time of purchase. You are now in a legal contact with the financial institution. Unfortunately, we are not a lender and therefore cannot refinance your loan. If you would like to refinance your loan at a lower interest rate, you would need to contact a lending institution. If you need any assistance in finding a lending institution that may be able to assist you, we would be more than happy to provide you with a list of lenders that currently have aggressive lending rates. As always, should you have any additional questions, please do not hesitate to contact us. Respectfully, ******** **** Customer Relations Manager Broadway Toyota-Scion Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a new car from Broadway Toyota in September 2011. I spoke to a financial products representative (**** *****) who persuaded me to buy two products by intentionally misrepresenting them. One of those products was a service contract which he told me would offer me a discount on required maintenance services. I later found out that it actually cost several hundred dollars less to purchase those services as a walk-in. I had to negotiate extensively with the sales department to get even a partial refund for that product, even though I had not used it to date. The other product I purchased was an extended warranty for the vehicle. Their representative told me that it covered integral parts of the vehicle, such as the battery, out to 100,000 miles. I purchased the policy thinking that it offered me substantial coverage. When I later inquired further, I learned that those parts are already covered by the manufacturer's warranty out to 100,000 miles. At that point I tried to cancel the extended warranty which I had purchased and not yet used, only to be told that it was too late. They offered me a prorated refund of $979 instead of the $1695 I had paid for. Keep in mind that up until that point I was still within the 3-year standard warranty period, so even if I had needed to file a claim, I would not have had to use the purchased warranty. I would not have purchased these products had they been accurately described. I also believe that the salesperson made use of intimidation tactics in order to close the sale. He patronized me by telling me that I was smart to use the ****** automotive program I went through (because otherwise they clearly wouldn't have offered me a fair price, given that I'm a young woman). I had just moved to Portland and the salesperson also described in detail how it was a great city because it had the highest number of strip clubs. He proceeded to tell me which clubs were his favorites and what he liked to order for lunch at each one. As a 25 year old woman, this made me extremely uncomfortable. I think the discomfort I felt added to the pressure to purchase products I didn't need. I've discussed this situation in detail with Toyota Broadway employees, including customer service, and was met with extremely rude responses. After waiting 6-8 weeks to receive my refund check, it never came. I then called them and was told the paperwork was lost and needed to be resubmitted. I then waited another 8 weeks, only to receive a check that was expired. I did not notice this until I cashed it and it was returned by my bank. I called the dealership again and they again postponed my requests, saying that they needed proof that the check bounced (meaning I need to drive to the bank, get a statement from them, and then drive to the dealership and hand it to them). They are also declining to pay the bank fees I incurred.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of the extended warranty which I purchased under false pretenses, as well as the bank charges for the bounced check. I would also like a written apology for the inappropriate sexual comments of their salesperson as well as the rudeness of their customer service representatives and their general ineptitude, demonstrated by sending me an expired check for the partial amount, 4 months after I filed for a refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2014/12/15) */ I would like to start by apologizing for the lateness of this response. However I can assure you the customers needs have been met as I followed up with a Case from Toyota on this. I have attached everything you **** need to show we have taken care of the consumer. Thank you, ******** **** Customer Relations Manager Broadway Toyota-Scion XXX-XXX-XXXX ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 19, 2014/12/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all, I would like to say that I did contact the customer service representative listed above ********* ****), and did not receive a response from her until last week, when the BBB followed up with her regarding my complaint. She completely ignored the original message I left her and I never actually had the chance to speak to her myself. She considers the complaint resolved, which is funny given that she never made any attempt to resolve it. I did speak to ******** about this case, but she was not able to authorize the full refund I had requested. Secondly, the dealership never made any attempt beyond what I've described above to rectify the issue. They did ultimately issue me a valid check for $979, after repeated phone calls on my part to accounts payable and threats of a small claims case. They declined to offer me a full refund and as such have failed to uphold basic standards of customer service. If they would truly like to resolve the issue, it would be simple just offer me a full refund for the product that they misrepresented and pressured me to buy. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2015/01/08) */ I would like to start off by saying, on behalf of everyone here at Broadway Toyota/Scion, we are sincerely apologetic for any frustrations Ms. **** has in her dealings with our dealership. It is our goal, with each and every customer, to provide top notch customer service. Take heed that Ms. ****'s complaints have not gone unnoticed. To ensure our staff conducts itself in a manner that reflects the high regard that we have for our customers, we have notified all respective parties involved. Additionally, we continue to train all departments to conduct themselves according to our high level of expectations. It is our policy to present every customer with all additional products that are available to them during the time of finance. The warranty that Ms. **** approved to purchased is through a 3rd party warranty company. As for the amount that she received from the warranty company of $979, this is a pro-rated amount based on the length of time and mileage from the date of purchase and the cancellation. This is a standard policy that is the same for each and every customer. Please note that we are not the warranty company and do not determine this dollar amount in which the customers receive. Again, thank you for the opportunity to explain our position in this matter. As always, should Ms. **** have any additional questions or concerns, she is more than welcome to contact us directly. Respectfully, ******** **** Customer Relations Manager Broadway Toyota-Scion Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 23, 2015/01/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Essentially what you're saying is that you don't stand by your employee's actions. You're condoning the use of intentionally deceptive sales tactics. I've seen no evidence that you've made any effort to correct the behavior of this specific salesperson, or to rectify the situation with me. If you want to support his actions and deny responsibility for what happened, I can't stop you, but I'm not going to say that I'm satisfied with your response, or that I think you deserve to be endorsed by the BBB. As an aside, I also disagree with your assertion that you provide top-notch customer service, since you've intentionally ignored my communications except when required to respond by the BBB.

6/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I promise i won't go back broadway toyota again. At first, my friend and I want to buy two cars in town. I found the offer from the other dealership,and I gave braodway toyota a call at 6 Pm of 5/14, They said they would have the offer than that dealership. I been there at 7pm talk with them about the price of two cars. One sales and we had already reach the goals and will do it on 5/15 (tomorrow). On 5/15, I gave them a call before coming the dealership, I afraid my English listening is not good enough, I asked them two times just want to make sure.And the sales said yes and promised to do that. At 3pm 5/15, we already there. we felt very strange and so confused about why we talk with the different sales who we met yesterday. we did done the Credit checks, we spent 2 hours on that. After that,He brought a paper and said they can not go to the offer that what they said last night and each one would be more expensive. I tried to talk with the sales who talked with us yesterday and he seem like want to far away from us and pretend did not meet with us and don't know us. It happened in to cars. They wasted us 2 days just for cheating us. We also missed the deal of two cars of the other dealership. Finally, we can't buy the cars. When we were living, we stood next to the sales who met us yesterday when he were talking with the other family. When he done, we said Hi! A person who said he is this sales' manager and said he can talk with us. And that sales left us without any apologize. We did not said anything with that sales. Their jobs are to help others to buy cars instead of cheating us and wasting our time. I do not why it would happen in this kind of the dealership in town. I do not know why toyota would set this kind of dealership in town..   I DON'T want this happened to the other customers, It is ridiculous and we are not playing games like the kids!

Desired Settlement: Do want they promised to do !

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/23) */ BBB 1000 Station Drive STE #222 DuPont WA XXXXX RE: Case#XXXXXXXX ******** ** *** 22, 2014 To Whom It May Concern, Thank you for bringing ******** **** concern to our attention. I trust our response will provide clarity and our intent to this situation. ******** **** family and friends came to our dealership earlier this month. Since *** 15, **** ** (********'s son) has been working with and constantly communicating with our Sales Consultant, ****** ******. Also, even though **** ** purchased elsewhere, he plans to refer his friends to ****** because he provided such excellent service to him. Naturally we were surprised to receive their feedback because after their visit the ** family told us they recognized our transparency regarding the obstacles involved locating the second car of interest and appreciated our candor. Nonetheless, there was an apparent misunderstanding and we apologize for any inconvenience caused. Sincerely, ***** ****** Customer Relations Manager

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/27/13 I bought a 2011 Toyota Tundra from ****** ****** at Broadway Toyota. The contract included a Vehicle Service Agreement $1525.00 and a Toyota Auto Care $410.00. I was told by *** ****** in the finance dept. that I could cancel both agreements at any time. On 12/2/13 I went to the dealership to cancel birth policies. I paid off the balance of my car on 12/31/13. After multiple phone calls to the dealership and to the lender I learned that the Vehicle Service Agreement was reimbursed on 2/27/14 ($1525.00). I told them that I had requested both contracts to be cancelled on 12/2/13, and I have a witness who accompanied me to the dealership that day. They tricked me by only checking the Vehicle Service Agreement. ***** ****** said I had to sign a form to cancel the other agreement. *** ****** emailed me a form to cancel the Toyota Auto Care agreement. I completed it and emailed it back on 3/2/14. As of today 5/19/14, the second policy has not been reimbursed. Interest has accrued.

Desired Settlement: I want Broadway Toyota to cancel the Toyota Auto Care for $410.00, plus all interest that has accrued since I paid off the principle of $16,100.00 on 12/31/13...immediately.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 7, 2014/06/05) */ RE: Case ********* ***** **** To Whom It May Concern, Thank you for sharing *** ****'s feedback regarding her service contract and Toyota Auto Care. We trust our response will provide resolution for her concern. Broadway Toyota processed *** ****'s cancellation for Toyota Auto Care on May 21, 2014 and requested ****** ********* ******** to refund 100% at $410. The refund typically takes 4 weeks and will be applied to *** ****'s auto loan which was still open as of May 21, 2014. Should the loan be paid off and account is closed prior to the refund processed, the refund will go directly to her. It is at ****** ********* ********** discretion to refund *** **** 100% versus a pro-rated refund. Either way, *** **** will receive 100% refund because Broadway Toyota will process a check covering the difference. Additionally, we will provide $100 which will more than cover the cost of any interest incurred from December 2, 2013 to May 21, 2014 on a $410 product. In conclusion, *** **** can be rest assured her Auto Care has been processed and her requests for a full refund and interest charged will be covered by both ****** ********* ******** and Broadway Toyota. Sincerely, ***** ****** Customer Relations Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2014/06/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) This is what I have been trying to accomplish since I cancelled the Auto Care and the Extra Care Vehicle Service Agreement on December 2, 2013 (5days after I purchased my truck).

9/25/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Toyota pickup with a very specific request that the sunroof that latches have a cover so I do not get sunburned. The salesman **** ******* said that there should be a cover that latches from the inside of the vehicle and he would have it ordered and it was part of my package along with touch up paint. This item is a square piece of ceiling fabric covered panel that attaches to the sun roof. When we go to pick it up they have ordered a bug shield for the outside of the sun roof. The service girl came to my car and I explained exactly the way I explained it to the sales man when I bought the car. She said she would re-order the proper part. This was on about August 13th. The touch up paint was still not in. No one has called me back since then so my boyfriend called again on Friday August 30th and left a detailed message for someone to call us and give us the status of our products. No one called so I phone myself today, 9/3/2013 at 11:30 AM. I left a message for ********* in the customer service area and she did not call me back either. I then phoned again at around 1:00 and spoke to ***** a sales manager. I explained in detail the things that already went on and he promised to call me right back. He did call me back but explained again that they were confused about what I needed. I told him that someone ordered the part and he is giving me the run around and claims it hasn't been ordered. I haven't made a car payment yet and ask him about his return policy of a car before payments are made and he said that is between me and the bank. I again asked him his return policy and claims there isn't one at all. I took it from the lot it's between me and the bank. I am not making any car payment on things that were promised me and in writing. I am very disappointed and upset now.

Desired Settlement: I have repeatedly tried to get them to understand what I was promised and in person on August 13th I pointed to the ceiling of my truck and explained to the Service Dept. woman that I have sensitive skin and need the sun roof to have a cover so I don't get sunburned. I also asked again where my touch up paint was. I can't remember her name. This is the second time I've been to the dealership already. They claim to be waiting on the paint. When I called today, ***** a Sales Manager says nothing has been ordered yet. I tried to resolve these issues earlier by having my boyfriend call. He is much more patient and polite than me. Nothing is being resolved and I have not yet made a payment on the vehicle and feel they will not ever follow up.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/11) */ We thank you for bringing this to our attention. We had originally ordered the wrong part as there was a miss communication from finance to parts department. Our service Advisor ***** brought it to our attention at the time of the customers first appointment that this was not the correct part needed. Since **** ******* followed up with our Sales Manager **** ****** it has been ordered on 09/03/2013 at 1:32pm. Sun shade and touch up paint both came in 09/06/2013 at 6.22am. We notified customer and they picked it up same day. We appologize for the miscommunication in all area and hope that we have reconciled our relationship with **** *******, as we appreicaite our customers and look forward to building our relationship with each customer from the point of sale and the life of the vehicle. Respectfully, ******** **** Customer Relations Manager Broadway Toyota

6/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/30/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues