This business is not BBB accredited.

Broadway Kia

Phone: (971) 302-2996 View Additional Phone Numbers 307 NE Broadway St, Portland, OR 97232 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.broadwaykia.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used cars, parts and service.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Broadway Kia include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Broadway Kia
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 13, 2012 Business started: 03/01/2008 in OR Business started locally: 03/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Rhonda Clark, Member Mr. Paul Hagen, General Manager Ms. Heidi Loney, Office Manager Mr. Fares Rustom, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Rhonda Clark, Member
Customer Contact: Ms. Heidi Loney, Office Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Hours of Operation
Monday through Saturday 8:30am - 9:00pm Sunday 10:00am - 8:00pm Parts and Service: Monday through friday 7:00am - 6:00pm Saturday 9:00am - 3:00pm
Alternate Business Names
Rustom Automotive LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Broadway Kia has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    307 NE Broadway St

    Portland, OR 97232 (503) 542-0404 (800) 246-0598 (971) 302-2996

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a disabled sister who went into Broadway Kia as a potential customer. She is obviously disabled and low mental comprehension. The sales team at Broadway Kia convinced her that she could afford a new car with zero down. They approved a loan for a disabled person with no income for a 7 year loan and sold the car at sticker price. They accepted the car she was driving as down payment. This is a person with no income and past credit debt issues The sales manager, mike B****** sees now problems with financing a car to a disabled person with no means to pay for it.

Desired Settlement: I would like Broadway Kia to void the contract and take the new car back. To satisfy my complaint, they would return her car that was my deceased mother's and paid in full

Business Response: This letter is in response to complaint ID ******** filed by ***** *****. ***** ***** is not a
customer of Broadway Kia. Her sister did indeed purchase a vehicle from us. She has a valid Oregon
Driver's license, credit to qualify for a loan as well as income to support the payment. Shortly
after the sale the
customer did contact Broadway Kia to express her financial concerns. We complied and at her
request unwound the car deal originally agreed upon. We also returned to her the vehicle she
traded in to us. At this point our customer is very satisfied and was extremely thankful. The
desired settlement that ***** ***** wishes for her sister, our customer, has already been resolved.

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because I still feel that it was unethical to allow someone to drive a new car off the lot that had a poor credit rating and only SSDI income.  There was no way she could make these payments.  The lending bank subsequently sent a rejection letter because of my sister's  low credit rating and no income.

The car would have been returned without me getting involved but Broadway KIA led her to believe that she was able to purchase the car and only returned it after I intervened.

 Their customer is not completely satisfied because she still does not understand that Broadway Kia told her she was accepted for the car loan and then the bank refused it 3 days later.

Then end result was what I wanted but the process was not satisfactory

Sincerely,

***** *****

 

6/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought our car, a Toyota Corrola, from Broadway Kia in October of 2013 and financed with the help of an employee of Broadway Kia - Connie. While in the financing process, Connie sold us a warranty with very false information. Firstly, she sold us the warranty as if it were included in the price of the car, which was about $11,000. She said that the warranty "comes with" your financing. She never mentioned that the cost of the warranty was being added to the entire cost of the car. Secondly, I asked Connie if I needed to have the warranty - I would have preferred to purchase the car for a cheaper price without the warranty. But Connie said that it was a requirement for financing, so there was no way to get out of it. (This is not true, as I checked with my financing bank, ***** ***** ****; they do not require a warranty to finance a vehicle.) Thirdly, Connie said that the warranty was a great deal because it was included in the price and good for the entirety of the loan period - 5 years. It was implied that the interest payments on the loan were also covering the cost of the warranty. She then stated that if we were to pay off the loan faster than the agreed upon 5 years, the warranty would then be void. (The warranty is really only good for 3 years). Fourthly, when a document was presented to us for signing, showing a $13,000 or so balance, we questioned the price. Connie assured us that this extra money was simply for interest. We did both sign the warranty agreement, stating that the warranty was being purchased for $2500. But, Connie presented this to us as if it were included in the $11,000 price of the car agreed upon with our salesman. We had no way of knowing that we were taking out a loan with an additional $2500 balance. We were made aware of the additional cost added into our car loan when we sold the car and cancelled the warranty. We should be receiving a refund of $1269, so we are out $1231, due to questionable actions of an employee of Kia

Desired Settlement: We are out not only the $1231, but also the interest on the $2500 added to the principal of our car loan. We ask that the company work with us to find a resolution.

Business Response:

This email is in response to complaint# ********. I've researched this matter with our Sales
Manager as well as our Finance Director. After looking over all of the financial documents (please
see attached) I do not see where Broadway Kia did not disclose all figures, regarding financing,
with Ms. ******. I have attached 3 documents that show a full disclosure of the vehicle service
conctract as well as the cost. It clearly shows the price of the vehicle separate from the
price of the vehicle service contract. The vehicle service contract could never "come with" your
finanancing as it is it's own product. It also shows the vehicle service contract as an "optional"
product therefore not needed in order to obtain financing. The contract term was written for 36
months as that was the highest term available.( see attached)

The Vehicle Service Contract in question was recently cancelled and the refund amount has been
prorated since the date of use. I verified the refund amount of $1269.44 was send to ***** *****
**** on May 19,2015. The additional $1230.56 would not be refunded seeing as how you had use of
the contract for the past 18 months should it have been needed.

At this moment Broadway Kia does not see fault in the matter. At this time the desired
settlement is unsupported. We do not feel that the there was questionable actions by any employee
regarding the dealings with Ms. ******.

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

5/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the third time that I attempted to write this information and when I get to the end of all of my information it deletes itself. you need a save bottom so information can be saved as the information is typed ! I had my car toed to Broadway Kia I was told the next day that that my Motor had Seized I was then told that I would have a NEW motor come and get a loaner car it will take a while for the Motor to arrive. I was called to pick up the car upon arrival I was told that the OLD intake / manifold was used from the old motor I asked for documentation of everything that was done and even my service history. A few days later I had to give a friend a jump everything under the hood was dirty I called the Service Manager why was everything so dirty what was going on why wasn't it clean. I was told when I was a Tech that type of thing would be cleaned. No offer to clean spray off clean etc.... I then asked what type of warrantee do I receive with this NEW Motor Well you will get 8000 remaining miles on your power train and just 12000 miles on the New motorNow with question in mind I refer to the documentation that I was given as I review I see REMAN or remanufactured and other information that is not referring to a NEW motor, then I see a area on the documentation that speaks to a RECALL I was told when I picked up the car also that there was a MAJOR recall that contributed to the motor seizing. The problem was not caused by me. STELLER SERVICE RECORDS Now my car is not running very well appears to be as it needs a tune-up and it is vibrating when its idling and driving.I WAS TOLD I WAS GETTING A NEW MOTOR ITS NOT RUNNING LIKE A NEW MOTOR OR LOOKS LIKE A NEW MOTOR.NOTE I WILL BE CALLING ****** * **************

Desired Settlement: It needs to be proven that a NEW motor was put in my car. Everything needs to be cleaned. I want all total new parts not remanufactured / used parts If there is PROOF that there is a NEW motor the CORE DEPOSITE IS MINE NOT THERES. No one asked me if they could have it use it etc..... it belongs to me, I called another Kia dealership service department the core deposit is $ 2,000In addition if there is any deception, I want a NEW CAR the exact car and color and amities.

Business Response:

April 17, 2015

This notice is in response to complaint ID ******** filed by ** *****.  This response is from ****** ***** Broadway Kia's Service and Parts Manager.

I have ready the following complaint filed by ** ******.  Under the provision of the factory warranty remanufactured parts are used as replacement components when items fail.  Kia Motors America authorized a remanufactured engine for the repairs to ** ***** vehicle.  A new engine was not an option only the remanufactured engine.  We as a dealer would be more than happy to give ** **** an engine cleaning as requested.

The core charge was paid by Kia Motors America and the engine was sent back to Kia Motors America as it was there engine.  This is all in accordance to Kia Motors America warranty.

The vehicle in question has approximately 92,000 miles on it currently.  Kia Motors America provides a powertrain warranty up to 100,000 miles.  Therefore only 8,000 miles remain under Kia Motors America powertrain warranty.  However, Broadway Kia provides a 12 month 12,000 warranty on repairs.  This is provided at the dealership level and by a Broadway Kia not the manufacturer.

Again, the offer stands for ** ***** to bring his vehicle in to the Broadway Kia service department and we will provide and engine cleaning at no charge.  All we ask is that he contact the Broadway Kia service department to schedule  a time to do so.

 

3/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, My name is ****** ******-******* I recently bought a car from Broadway Kia in Portland Oregon on Oct. 23 of 2014. I took it into the shop after noticing that there is a leak in the gas tank. I looked under my 2014 Nissan xterra that i am financing from Broadway kia, to notice that there is a leak in my gas tank. The tank has been welded to cover that leak. I took it into kia so that they could fix it. They have sold me a faulty car. I don't see why they would sell me this vehicle with such a hazardous condition, a leak in a gas tank can be serious. T After taking it in they told me that this isn't their fault because it has passed inspection and that their mechanic who has been with them for 10+ years didn't notice it. That is no excuse for selling a car with a welded up gas tank! Especially because I have been driving my car with my 2 year old son in it this entire time, thankfully nothing bad happened. Then I was given the option to pay for the repair for $350. I shouldn't have to pay for this myself, it's their fault they even let a car in this condition leave their lot. Shouldn't it be the customer's safety and satisfaction first instead of making a quick buck?? How I want this issue to be resolved is for them to pay for their mistake by replacing my gas tank at their cost. I spoke with the Manager at kia and he wasn't willing to fix the problem that didn't involve them gaining something in return from me, meaning I still had to pay the price for their error or ignorance at that. Sure they let me take away a rentel for the time that it was going to be in the shop from friday 1/16/15 to about this coming wednesday 1/21/15 but still the issue is that they are not willing to admit that they sold me a car with a problem ion the gas tank. I also called the dealership again so they could call the warrenty office because my car is still under the National Warrent and they informed me that they couldn't find me in the system. When i called i had no issue, they pulled up my information just fine with the last 6 digits of my VIN number. I also still have my copy of the warrenty.I know the warrenty may not cover this type of situation but atleast there will be a note of it if the dealership was willing to file a claim. Either way this shouldn't be a warrenty issue is the dealerships error. I honestly dont know what kind of stratgy they got going on, all i know is now I know better then to purchase a future car with them. Never will I refer anyone to go to braodway kia.

Desired Settlement: How I want this issue to be resolved is for them to pay for their mistake by replacing my gas tank at their cost.

Business Response: This is the response to case # ******** filed by ****** **************. ****** purchased her Nissan Xterra from Broadway Kia on 10/23/14. She purchased a used vehicle and elected to also purchase an extended service contract. 3 months after purchasing her vehicle *** ************** brought it in to the service department at Broadway Kia complaining that it was leaking gas. After inspection Broadway Kia did determine there was a leak coming from the rear of the gas tank. Broadway Kia offered to repair the vehicle at half the cost of $350 which *** ************** agreed to pay. Broadway Kia did provide a rental vehicle at no additional charge while the repairs were being made.
The customer also asked Broadway Kia to see if the extended service contract that she purchased would cover the repairs prior to them being made. ******** ******** Company sent a representative to Broadway Kia to inspect the Nissan Xterra and take pictures. They discovered that the gas tank had a puncture in it that was patched up. They also discovered that the ABS sensor that is located near the tank was severed resulting in the ABS indicator light being on in the vehicle. They declined fixing either. The fuel tank itself was not a covered part and the ABS sensor was "cut" according to ******** ********.
Broadway Kia did not sell *** ************** a Nissan Xterra with a gas tank that was leaking or the ABS light on in the vehicle. Not only did the vehicle pass inspection at the auction where it was purchased it also passed inspection at the dealership. Broadway Kia feels that already doing the repairs to the vehicle at a 50% discount is more than fair and satisfied the customer's desired resolution.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I understand that the price was dropped in order to get it fixed but what is being sugar coated is the fact that the car was sold to me with a SEALED gas tank. Sealed gas tank means that something happened to my vehicle prior to the purchase on october 23 of 2014. I also understand that it passed the inspection but what does that inspection consist of if your mechanics were not able to detect that there was a sealant cover on a gas tank? And then Brodway Kia advertised the car like that until i purchsed it and was aware of the leak. That is when i took it into Broadway Kia to bring it to their attention on what i had just discovered. A leak in the gas tank is a safety issue and it's sad that they would sell a car with a possible hazard. I am ware that the ABS lights came on when the tank started leaking, that is how i discovered the patch on the gas tank and took it in. If the gas tank was in good condition it wouldn't have gotten "cut". The price was droped for repair but it shouldn't be my responsibility to cover it when the dealership sold it at false advertizement saying everything was checked and it passed inspection and so on. I am greatful that they loaned me a car at their expense, but it all could of been avoided if they had discovered and noted that there was a faulty gas tank. I did pay for the repair of the gas tank repair and chose to go elsewhere for the repair of my ABS sensor. It would be nice that they admit their mistake when they sold me that car with a patched gas tank. If i would of punctured it myself i would have no issue in getting it fixed and paying full price but like i said, what is being avoided is the fact that the tank was PATCHED with some sort of sealant meaning the gas tank had some sort of puncture to it before my purchase.

Business Response:

After speaking with our General Manager we would like it if this case was reopened so we may make another offer to Ms. **************.  Ms. **************'s desired resolution was to have the gas tank replacement done at Broadway Kia's cost.  Broadway Kia would like to offer Ms. ************** the $350 which was the out of pocket expense she paid to have the gas tank replaced.  I've attached a copy of the repair order verifing the amount paid.

 

We value our customers and strive to provide excellent customer service and know by offering this to Ms. ************** we will of achieved that.  We would appreciate a response from Ms. ************** acknowledging this offer.  Once received we will forward the check to the address on file unless Ms. ************** would like to make other arrangements

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** **************

3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They sold me a 2014 Kia Optima HYbrid which is advertised to get 38 mpg combined. After 1200 miles on the car, I am getting 24 mpg. I took the car into their service dept. and they can't find anything wrong with the car but are unwilling to take the car back. They expect me to just settle for mileage 40% less than advertised. I am moving to the east coast the first day or two of December so hope I can get some help in the meantime. I track MPG everytime with a calculator and have for the past two years so I can prove I am only getting 24-25 mpg

Desired Settlement: I want them to take the car back and refund the deposit that I made when leasing the car. I am 63 years old.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/20) */ In response to case #XXXXXXXX I have spoken to ****** ***** our Kia Service Department Manager. He is very familiar with Mrs. ***** and her complaint regarding the MPG that she states she is getting. In order for him to be able to confirm her complaint he would need her Kia Optima Hybrid for a 24 hour period. He will need to drive the vehicle for an extended period of time in order to assess the MPG. With this said he will offer a "loaner vehicle" to Mrs. ***** for the time we have her vehicle. This will be done at no cost to Mrs. *****. ****** ***** also stated that he gave Mrs. ***** the phone number for ***************************. She would need to contact the manufacturer directly to initiate any kind of "buy back". ********** would be able to assist Mrs. ***** regarding that process. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was NOT given the number for *************************** and was just told that they couldn't do anything. I will contact them to trade cars for them to see themselves that it gets terrible mileage. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/12/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Neither Broadway Kia or Kia at the district level has taken any responsibility in this matter. Broadway Kia "tested" my car and came up with 29 mpg. This is still 9 mpg LESS than the 38 mpg which is advertised. Kia just blows the situation off - saying that the car may need to be driven up to 6,000 miles before we will know the true MPG my car will get. However, they do not say that they will compensate me in any way should my mpg not improve after 6,000 miles is on the car. This is plain and simple fraud and they obviously have not learned their lesson after years of overstating mileage and being slapped by the EPA for it. I still want them to take the car back or compensate me for the lousy mileage I am getting. This is totally unacceptable for a HYBRID! Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/12/17) */ Broadway Kia feels like we have addressed Mrs. *****'s complaint and are unfortunately not able to assist her at the dealership level. Her complaint is about the functionality of her vehicle and Broadway Kia does not provide the warranty for her vehicle. ****************** holds the warranty for her vehicle and any kind of "buy back" would have to be authorized by them. I am sorry we cannot provide any further assistance then we already have.

10/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently bought a Kia Sorrento at Broadway Kia. I live 4 hours from the dealership so I had been in contact with the salesman via chat through the website as well as e-mails. I had explained to the salesman what I was looking for in a new car as well as my intent to trade in my current vehicle. He was aware that it was not paid off and agreed that the dealership would pay off the remainder of my loan if I came in. I filled out an application to get pre approved for the vehicle I had been interested in. I had done some research and had some concerns of reviews from other owners. I sent my salesman as well as the assistant sales manager these concerns and no response. Against my better judgement we decided to make the trip down to the dealership because the salesman i had been working with assured me they would give me "good money" for my car and were very straight forward because of the amount of competition in the area. We found the car I finally decided to purchase and began the back and fourth with the assistant sales manager. During which he called my husband an ingrate, and we should have walked out as soon as that happened. However we continued with the back and fourth on price. He asked me what I owed on my car still and I explained to him that I had forgotten to call and get a payoff so I was unsure. He then asked me to estimate how much I still owed. So under pressure I gave him a ballpark figure of $16,000. He had my credit report sitting in front of him as we were talking and agreed that my loan was around $16,000. They took my estimated amount and added the extra $3,000 onto my loan, which was never disclosed to me while talking to the salesman. It took 2 hours sitting in the waiting room before we were finally able to go back to the finance office to do paperwork. Here the finance lady suggested we add gap insurance as well as an extended warranty. Which the salesman had also asked me to estimate the value of my gap insurance and extended warranty, which I again told him I was unsure of what I had previously paid for them, and again he asked me estimate and unsure I estimated $4,000 which in looking at my final sales agreement is approximately what they charge me for my current extended warranty, which the owner of the dealership owns shares in ******** as well. When I got home I looked at the original extended warranty that I had purchased and Broadway Kia charged me double what I had paid for the exact same warranty. I get my new to me car home and 4 days later I am getting a call from a man at the dealership stating that my payoff was more then my estimated amount and that I am now responsible to pay another $1087. Nothing was said to me while I was at the dealership about the difference in the payoff, so I was surprised by the call that I owed them more money.

Desired Settlement: I would like the dealership to stop coming after me for money that they should have talked to me about prior to signing any contracts, and do what they had promised me and pay off my old auto loan. I would also like a partial refund for the extended warranty because of the significant inflation of price they are charging.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/01) */ This response is in regards to case #XXXXXXXX. Prior to the filing of this complaint Broadway Kia attempted to contact the customer regarding the matter of the "estimated payoff." Broadway Kia and Ms. ***** have reached an agreement regarding the payoff of her vehicle and both parties are satisfied. Also the payoff check was applied to her traded in vehicle on 09/26/14 resulting in a zero balance. As far as the extended warranty is concerned Broadway Kia has offered a full cancellation of the policy if Ms. ***** wishes to do so. No cancellation request has been made at this time. Also, Broadway Kia has ordered and shipped a cargo mat to Ms. ***** as promised verbally by our sales staff for her inconvenience. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/10/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The agreement was reached by the dealership sending me a certified letter stating I had 30 days to pay them or they would send me to collections. Because I did not want this to impact my credit I reluctantly agreed to pay $500.00 to the dealership. The only person I could ever get in contact with and get a response from was the office manager, who was very helpful and pleasant. I did ask the office manager if this was common practice to not obtain a payoff prior to the customer coming into the dealership and they danced around the question. I would NEVER recommend this dealership to someone wanting to purchase a car. The mat that was sent to me was part of the purchase agreement we made with the salesman prior to purchasing the car. Nothing was ever sent to me for the inconvenience of this matter, not even an apology from the "shady" salesman was offered.

5/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Broadway Kia looking for a used Kia. I told them I would be paying cash or I would be financing with my father as a co-signer. I filed chapter 7 in 2012. It has been almost 2 years since it was discharged and I have been trying to rebuild my credit. I told them I did not want them to send my dad or me out to a tone a lenders. If Kia would not finance us, we wanted to stop there. They came back and told me that Kia could offer me a lease at 36 months with my dad co-signing. We were pleased and left with the car. A week later, the finance manager called to tell me that they Kia would not approved me as they "Hoped" they would but they had a couple of lending options. I was confused and angry. I was told I had the car and had been approved for a lease. I took the car back and after listening to a lot of "let me show you what we can do" I gave the car back and walked. The following day, I purchased from a different dealer. They were the ones that showed me my credit report. I had been sent out to 8 different lenders!! My credit dropped from 632 to 600. My dad, who was over 800 dropped as well. We are furious that a dealer can get away with LYING about financing. The sales manager would not even speak to me. I called to try to ask questions and they hung up on me. Horrible dealership with unethical practices.

Desired Settlement: I am not sure any settlement can happen though I believe they should attempt to fix my credit score. It took a 30 point hit thanks to them shot-gunning my credit after I told them I did not want them to do it. They lied to me and to my father who so-signed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/05) */ This message is in response to case #XXXXXXXX. ***** ******* came into Broadway Kia to purchase/lease a new Kia. Attached are her credit scores when we pulled all three credit bureaus 04/06/14. You can see Experian reports her at a 604. Her complaint of our inquiry lowering her score by 30 points to 600 is incorrect. And after Kia Motor Finance declined her terms for financing/leasing we always try to have another option available for the customer to take advantage of. ***** ******* decided not to take advantage of the other financing options available to her. She opted to return the vehicle to Broadway Kia. We rescinded the deal much to our dismay. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

2/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern, I am writing this letter in regards to my experience with KIA throughout the last year, while I have had both positive and negative experiences I would like to bring to your attention my negative ones. I bought my 2013 Kia Soul in white from *********** in Billings MT and couldn't be happier with the experience I had there, they treated me with respect and push hard to get me my dream car at the time. I bought my KIA in a manual as it would be cheaper and better to drive in Montana, not knowing at the time that in one week I would be moving to Portland Oregon. The week after I bought my car I moved to Portland and quickly realized that having a manual car in a big city was not a smart idea at all way too much stop and go traffic. So in September of 2013 I decided it was time to upgrade so I purchased a 2013 KIA Soul, in black, and signed all the sale sheets and all the delivery sheets, that was an automatic and tried to finance it so with that came the dealership calling me 30 days later, the legal amount for Oregon is 14 days under (ORS Chapter 822, and OAR XXX-XXX-XXXX, and OAR XXX-XXX-XXXX) and saying that I needed to come in immediately and they didn't tell me anything over the phone they just said I needed to come in right away that day. I went in to Broadway Kia and they said to me we need the car back and we're giving you your old car back plus you owe us the payments it acquired while sitting on our lot. So, they dumped a $481.98 payment on me and said it was overdue so they marked on my credit as well. They gave the car back to me with no license plate or registration as well because I was told when I got the black car I could take the old dealer plate off the car. I was not informed that I had to make payments for the white KIA while I was driving around the black one and saving up for the delayed down payment of $1,500 they asked for. When I have stopped in recently all the people I originally worked with have left except for the original sales lead. Recently when I have stopped in they have been rude and short with me and they haven't been helpful at all. I'm not asking for very much here I'm either asking that you guys do finance me for the difference of a new car or simply for the $481.98 to be refunded to me. After all I love the KIA Soul it's one of my favorite cars but the way KIA has represented itself to me has made me disappointed to own a KIA at all. I would not have expected to get treated so horribly at a KIA dealership but this whole situation has changed my outlook on KIA as well as those who know me and know what's going on. While I cannot say I would recommend KIA for those who are looking for a car, just out of the sake of not having to deal with all this I would love to get to the point where I can say "yah, my KIA is great." Best Regards, **** *********** ******************************** Portland, Oregon XXXXX *************

Desired Settlement: Refund or another kia thats an automatic

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/24) */ This message is in response to case #XXXXXXXX. *** *********** came into Broadway Kia to purchase a vehicle on 09/20/13. Broadway Kia was able to obtain a tentative approval for *** *********** based upon the credit application filled out by him. One of the stipulations that the bank required was proof of stated income for *** ***********. *** *********** had just recently moved here from another state and acquired two jobs. He informed us that his proof of income was going to be delayed. As soon as *** *********** provided Broadway Kia with his final proof of income on 10/10/13 we immediately forwarded them to the bank. The proof provided for one employer did match what he stated on his credit application. The second jobs proof of income was a hand written letter from his employer which the bank did not accept. Broadway Kia was working with the bank to try and get an exception made for *** *********** so that we did not have to ask him for his vehicle back. At no time was *** *********** left in the dark about the situation or what we were trying to overcome. When we finally had no other option we had to ask for the vehicle back as the original approval was overturned by the bank due to lack of proof of income. *** *********** returned the vehicle to Broadway Kia on 10/20/13 and was not charged by Broadway Kia for the use of the vehicle, miles or wear and tear. Broadway Kia did not cash the $1200 check (not $1500 as stated) that *** *********** had originally given for his down payment. We also did not ask him for a $481.98 payment on his "old vehicle." *** ****** ******** his current finance company, must have made contact with him regarding that. Recently as of a few weeks ago *** *********** came back into Broadway Kia to try again for financing on a new vehicle. Unfortunately we were unable to obtain any financing for him. Broadway Kia wants to sell *** *********** a vehicle and has tried every avenue to do so. But because of his credit and financial situation we are not able too. We are sorry that *** *********** feels like he had a negative experience at Broadway Kia. It was not our intention to ever have him feel like he wasn't being taken care of. I know personally that the Broadway Kia Finance Department went above and beyond to try and obtain financing for him. At this time we do feel sorry for *** ***********'s situation but do not feel like we are responsible for his $481.98 payment that he made to *** ****** ******** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The letter I gave them was not "hand written" as this says either i had the Asian lady in financing tell me if i had the lawyer type a copy and get it notarized by the state they would accept it but low and behold no and i gave them my proof of income a week later not 20 day as i have stated in an email i have from the lawyer i brought in the typed copy they asked for and then the Asian lady told me it had to be notarized on October 8 after she had tried with the unnotarized copy so the following 2 days we retyped the letter and had it notarized. i have all the proof for dates if it comes down to this but as a business with a dwindling reputation according to reviews on they're pages such as yelp I would try to make an effort to make customers happy. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/01/31) */ This message is in response to case #XXXXXXXX. At this time Broadway Kia cannot secure financing for *** *********** with his current income and credit situation. Unless he provides an outside source of financing we will not be able to sell him an "automatic Kia" as requested in his "desired resolution." Also the $481.98 that he is requesting is his current automobile payment and Broadway Kia does not feel responsible for making that payment on his behalf.

10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used vehicle from Broadway Kia. Upon inspection I found that there were a few, what appeared to be cosmetic damages to the front passenger side rim. I asked the sales person, ***** **** about the damaged rim because it appeared to be bent. He assured me that the entire vehicle was inspected and that the tire/wheel was not compromised. Approximately 2 weeks later the tire pressure gauge came on in the car. I filled all the tires because at that point I was not certain any one tire was low. Approximately 2 weeks after that I had to put more air in the right passenger side tire. At that point I went to a ********* ***** to have them repair what I thought was a leak. They advised that the tire could not be dismounted and repaired because the rim itself was bent and cracking and that I would need an entire new wheel (tire and rim). At that point I emailed one of the managers at Broadway Kia to let them know what was going on. I went in on 8/18/13 and purchased a new set of tires and rims as I needed to be able to drive. I contacted the General Manager regarding the issue and was asked to bring the car in but once he found out that I had already purchased new rims/tires he told me there was nothing he could do. I was advised by the tire repair person that had I hit something just right or had too much pressure applied on the tire it could have blown. This car was not safe to drive off the lot or allow someone to drive for an entire month. This company needs to be held to higher safety standards. They compromised the safety of my family by allowing us to drive off that lot with a defective wheel.

Desired Settlement: I believe that they in the least should reimburse me the expense for having to purchase new rims. I was intending on purchasing new tires however I had no intention of having to purchase new rims.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/30) */ This message is in response to case #XXXXXXXX. I've read **** ******** complaint and discussed it with all parties involved. **** ******** purchased her used vehicle from Broadway Kia 06/26/13. On 06/27/13 she sent her first email to **** ***** our General Manager. She complained of a 3 issues which he took care of for her immediately. He agreed to provide her with a full tank of gas, provide an owner's manual and paid all her license and titling fees. On 06/28/13 **** ******** gave Broadway Kia a negative review on an internet website. It seemed a little rash to do this after your complaint was taken care of. On 08/16/13 **** ******** left another negative review on the same internet website. This time it was regarding a different matter. She complained of having to fill one of her tires with air numerous times since she bought the vehicle. At this point Broadway Kia had not been notified of her second complaint. On 08/20/13 **** ******** sent another email to **** ***** regarding her issue with the tire. **** offered her at that time to bring the vehicle into our service department to have it inspected. She informed him that she had already purchased 4 new rims and 4 new tires for the vehicle two days prior. At that point there was not an opportunity to satisfy her second complaint. ***** **** our Sales Manager did agree at the time of purchase that the rim had minor "curb rash" which is a cosmetic issue only. After speaking with one our Master Certified Technicians he explained that if the rim on your vehicle was actually bent that air would escape so rapidly it would go flat immediately. From 06/26-08/18 the tire would have required to be filled more than twice like **** ******** stated. As of this moment Broadway Kia does not feel obligated to reimburse **** ******** for her purchase of 4 new rims. If Broadway Kia would have been given the opportunity to address the issue first and indeed discovered a rim was bent we would have gladly replaced the one rim. We had no issues addressing her first complaint and would have continued to provide **** ******** with excellent customer service. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/09/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have yet to receive the manual or tags for my car. My complaint with the BBB was not in regards to the tags or the manual for the car but because the sales people at Broadway Kia lied about the safety of the vehicle. The damage that was obvious to the tire was not "curb" rash, it was a bent rim. At no time did ***** **** speak with anyone regarding the tire. He made a casual comment regarding the safety of the tire. We at no time spoke with anyone other than the sales people. I have paperwork from ********* ***** confirming that the damage to the tire in question was the actual rim and not just "curb" rash. I notified Broadway Kia as soon as I was able to. I was informed by ********* ***** on a Friday evening after 5pm as to the safety of the vehicle. I did not have the luxury of waiting for Broadway Kia to assist but did however inform them as soon as I had the regional managers contact information which was the following Tuesday. I did not ask Broadway Kia to pay for anything however that car should have never been driven off the lot. The crack to the rim (as ********* advised) could have caused serious damage had I hit something, applied pressure, etc. The least the Broadway Kia should have done is replaced the cracked rim. None of this should have happened in the first place. My complaint was made because consumers should know who they are dealing with. Broadway Kia has not provided excellent service and the short and flip answers via email from their General Manager only go to show that the best interest of the customers is not the most important thing. I drove my family and kids around in an unsafe vehicle that Broadway Kia should have fixed before selling. That is what this complaint is about. I absolutely left negative reviews about Broadway Kia (as have many, many other people). The only thing Broadway Kia has done this far is put gas in the car. Again, this complaint was not about the manual or tags but about allowing me to drive off the lot with a car that was compromised. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/09/20) */ This message is in response to case #XXXXXXXX. I have spoken to **** ***** the General Manager and he agrees to pay **** ******** for the cost of replacing one 2010 Ford Edge Rim. Had Broadway Kia been given the opportunity to address **** ********'s issue we wound have found a matching rim through one of our many vendors. After mounting and balancing the cost would be comparable to what we are offering as compensation. Broadway Kia would not have replaced all four rims with custom aftermarket rims like **** ******** purchased. Attached are some recent **** listings for 2010 Ford Edge Rims. The average cost is around $140. Broadway Kia agrees to pay $250 to **** ********. We ask that in return **** ******** either remove her negative posts on the various internet websites or update the posts stating that she has been taken care of regarding this issue. I also contacted the DMV and was notified that the tags for the 2010 Ford Edge have been processed and mailed to **** ********. I then contacted our Parts Manager and an owner manual is on order. The company that it is coming from has it on back order until September 30th. I have attached proof of that as well. As soon as that arrives it will be shipped out to **** ********. *****SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Broadway Kia
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart