BBB Accredited Business since

Tualatin Auto Body

Phone: (503) 692-1579 19705 SW Teton Ave, Tualatin, OR 97062

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers automobile repair and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tualatin Auto Body meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tualatin Auto Body include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tualatin Auto Body
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business started locally: 01/01/1986
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Business Management
Mr. David Carney, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Carney, Owner
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Automotive Body, Paint, and Interior Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811121)

Additional Locations

  • 19705 SW Teton Ave

    Tualatin, OR 97062 (503) 692-1579


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: These guys were great until we decided not to fix the car and they turned vicious. They wanted over 400 dollars in storage fees for having the car less than a week. When I complained, they just became rude and snotty. My insurance company said he had never heard of a company doing this and when he contacted them, they told him they had done some work on it even though they were under explicit instructions not to fix anything. I think they lied to him to stay in his good graces. The paperwork said they "might charge storage fees" but no mention of the amount. I left in tears while the counter lady was smirking at me!!!!!! So instead of getting business on my future vechicles, they get the public reputation of being rude and charging hidden fees.

Desired Settlement: I would love to see them post the storage fees in the office and on all paperwork. They should also change the wording of the contract, stating for what reasons a storage fee may be charged. A refund of my money would be nice as well.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/04/29) */ Re: Case # XXXXXXXX **** ****** Response to claim regarding **** ******* car. Thank you, **** All of our paperwork/authorization does show storage may apply. Dear Mrs. ****** I am sorry for the confusion about your car at our shop. Your car was dropped off on 3/5/13 for repairs. Out estimator spent a comprehensive amount of time, doing an estimate for you, locating the required used door and submitting it to your insurance company. At one point you had asked that she price out an OEM door, however she explained that she needed all the interior and exterior hardware and trim that goes along with a used door. If you had explained along the way that you were thinking of not repairing the car, our estimator could have explained how our process works. All body shops charge storage charges, so I am not sure why your claims representative would indicate that he has never heard of a body shop doing that. On 3/12/13 He called our estimator and said since it was not a total he was not going to pay storage, so that would be up to the customer. I am frankly amazed that he did not indicate to you that any charges would be yours since you cashed out. We kept your car inside, clean, dry and safe. On 3/8/13 we heard from you that you wanted us to hold off and then of course we heard on 3/12/13 that you were cashing out The estimate amount was $1933. On 312/13 our estimator left a message on your phone regarding the storage charges. The original amount was for $400. When you came in and were so upset about the charges, they then backed out the total and only charged you $160 for the 4 days, even though it was stored for 8, and you collected your car. If you want us to do any of the work on your car we will of course refund that amount to you. I am truly sorry you felt our estimator was not empathetic to you, we have not received any complaints about her behavior and she has a 20 years history in estimating I hope this helps clarify some of the issues that you brought to our attention. I called the Insurance appraiser **** and he has indicated that he has already reimbursed you for the $160, so I am very curious why you have involved the BBB. Very truly yours, ********* ** ****** Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/05/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I still did not receive an apology for the way I was treated. They assumed that I should be charged fees because I did not tell them I was not having the car fixed which I told them as soon as I knew.To settle this claim I want a sign posted in their lobby and the same information in their customer paperwork. Bothe should state the cost of storage fees and why and when the customer should be charged them. I would also like an apology instead of a letter that avoided my direct concerns. I can provide the email from the aduster stating that he had never had a body shop charge storage fees during his 13 years in the business which the company seemed to doubt. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/05/13) */ 5/9/13 2nd Reply Re: Case # XXXXXXXX **** ****** Response to claim regarding **** ******* car. Thank you, **** All of our paperwork/authorization does show storage may apply. Dear Mrs. ******: I am sorry that you feel that you were not treated well. My company usually gest rave reviews for our service. Our paperwork does state that storage fees may be charged. If you truly feel that you would have read a more detailed paperwork or the sign in the office, I will be glad to accommodate you by explaining it in more detail. I have not had this complaint from any customer in our 26 1/2 years of operation. I would like to point out that you have accused us of being rude, vicious, snotty and lying. This really upsets me. We have built our business on our reputation and customer service. I hope that this can bring a resolution to this matter. ********* ** ******