Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers management and consulting services for board of directors of Homeowners Associations.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on The Management Trust - Northwest
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 2006 Business started: 12/01/2006 in OR Business started locally: 12/01/2006 Business incorporated 12/15/2006 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Kelsie Roper, Executive Vice President Mr. Marshall Fant, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kelsie Roper, Executive Vice President
Business Category

Association Management Management Consultants

Products & Services

The Management Trust - Northwest offers the following product(s): Management and Consulting Services

Hours of Operation
Monday - Thursday 9am - 5pm
Friday 9am - 3pm
Alternate Business Names
Northwest Community Management Northwest Community Management Company LLC The Management Trust

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Management Trust - Northwest has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    17700 SW Upper Boones Ferry Rd Ste 120

    Portland, OR 97224


    PO Box 23099

    Tigard, OR 97281 (503) 670-8111


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Management Trust (TMT) was hired by the Board of Directors (BOD) of the Oak Knoll Homeowners Association after Superior Community Management resigned from its position/role, sometime in the latter half of 2015. January 2016, TMT facilitated the creation and passage of the Street Tree Resolution signed by the BOD that effectively amends and modifies Section 7.1 of our CC&Rs without the required 75% vote of the homeowners stipulated under CC&R 12.6.2 and and ORS 94.590(1)(a). Both the BOD and TMT is cognizant of the fact that a 75% vote is required to amend or modify the CC&Rs, but having failed that in Sep. 2011, they conspired with this Street Tree Resolution drafted by an attorney with Vial F*********** to bypass that governing document and statutory requirement. For 17+ years the BOD has consistently and purposely misinterpreted Section 7.1 of our CC&Rs at the expense of all homeowners that benefits only those homeowners living on Foothills Dr where the maintenance, repair or replacement of street trees are concerned. By this illicit resolution, street trees are being paid for out of reserve funds, which is also in contravention to the governing documents and the Oregon Planned Community Act since such Funds shall only be used for common improvements of the HOA. The street trees exclusively along Foothills Dr. are NOT listed in the CC&Rs as a common improvement. This is not the only flagrant disregard for the governing documents or state law committed by TMT. A No Recording Resolution was recently passed in direct contravention of ORS 165.540(6)(c), when CC&Rs or Resolution conflicts w/state law, state law supersedes. Yet through the attorney who drafted this resolution expecting no one to question the incorrect citations of authority in it (or the street tree resolution), the BOD under advisement of TMT and the attorney, passed this resolution that a goes against 17 years of precedent where the BOD NEVER questioned a meeting being recorded.

Desired Settlement: TMT needs to follow our governing documents to the letter, as well as statutory law. They need the BOD to rescind the street tree maintenance and no recording resolution post haste. The BOD and TMT was asked to go to mediation over these issues and several others, they declined after an executive meeting in June of this year. This refusal to go to mediation and the no recording resolution reflects the fact that the BOD and likewise TMT desires NO TRANSPARENCY with the homeowners of the Oak Knoll Homeowners Association. The No Recording Resolution also flies in the face of the 75th legislative's assembly debates on HB 3317 where Mr. Vial of Vial F*********** attempted to have put into law for BOD to deny homeowners the right to record board meetings. The legislature shot it down with representatives voicing their concern for such draconian style rules upon homeowners and no transparency of the BOD. Yet they do it anyways against state law legally allowing it.

Business Response: Thank you for the opportunity to consider these concerns. The Management Trust works at the direction of the Board of Directors for each association we serve. In this matter, we executed the resolutions adopted by the Board, as prepared by the Association’s legal counsel. The request for mediation was made to the Association, not to The Management Trust directly, and the Board has not agreed to enter into mediation at this time. We will continue to oversee this matter, and to facilitate communications between the Board of Directors and the Complainant, until it is resolved.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The Board of Directors rely heavily on the guidance, counsel, experience and knowledge of the management company - which is why the Board of Directors hired the management company in the first place. For years the Board members were ignorant (and still are) of the governing documents, their rights and responsibilities, as well as the law governing HOAs (Oregon Planned Community Act). At each board meeting they demonstrate their ignorance of the documents by their own words making things up as they go, NEVER having a copy of the governing documents with them at ANY meeting to refer to. As such, they look HEAVILY upon the management company for advice and direction, and only then when they feel they have enough advice and direction provided by Management Trust, they act in what they perceive to be is in their own best interests. Same goes for legal one on the Board of Directors is competent enough to understand the governing documents or statutory law, thus relying heavily on what the attorney says and does when drafting the resolutions dreamed up by the Board of Directors but executed by the attorney, the Board members merely sign it if it contains what they want to protect themselves and their interests and not the interests of all homeowners - which is what Management Company is supposed to guide and counsel the Board of Directors on, and they do not. The resent resolutions prove it.

Bottom line, what Management Trust is saying in their response, is if the Board of Directors directed them to jump off the proverbial cliff, they would because they act at the direction of the Board of Directors. That is an implicit contradiction to their duties as counselors to HOAs. The management company has an obligation to make sure the Board of Directors follows the governing documents, not act against those documents; which is the case with the Street Tree Resolution specifically, which REQUIRES a vote of 75% of the homeowners to be passed because what the Board is doing is changing, modifying or amending the CC&Rs to memorialize their gross misinterpretation of CC&R Section 7.1 for more than 16 years. By allowing the Board to pass this resolution under their direction, guidance, and counsel, Managemnt Trust facilitated the Board of Director's violation of our HOA's CC&Rs at the expense of all homeowners by taking away their right to vote to amend the CC&Rs.


**** ******** 

Business Response: Management can only reiterate that we work at the direction of the association’s Board of Directors. Our ability to address the complainant’s concerns is limited, in that we have no decision making authority.  As such, our response remains unchanged from those previously provided. We recognize the complainant considers this matter unresolved. At this time, management recommends that the complainant address any ongoing concerns directly to the attention of the Board of Directors, or the association’s legal counsel.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Again, if the management company was directed by the board of directors to jump off the proverbial cliff, will they do it? According to this last response, they will. Such an action is counter productive and counter intuitive to the management consulting services they are supposed to provide.

Again, if at the direction of the board of directors is to break the law...the management company is stating, and rather emphatically with this last response, that they will follow the direction of the board of directors even if that means breaking the law.

With the Board of Directors willingly and wantonly desiring to break the law and deny the homeowners their right to a vote to changing, modifying or redefining the CC&Rs, and directing the management company to do the same by facilitating this illegal act by overseeing the meeting with NO rebuttal from them and filing the illegal resolution as well as enforcing the illegal resolution against the best interests of the homeowners of this community.

As a result of this Street Tree resolution, moneys will be illegally assessed against the homeowners and illegally spent on items the board of directors illicitly considers a "common improvement" when these items are NOT "common improvements."

Redirecting my complaint to the board of directors and/or attorneys is useless. The board of directors are ignorant "volunteers" who know full well that they are breaking the law and denying the homeowners their rights under the governing documents, and they are doing it under the guise of (albeit false) legal protection(s).

This complaint is about Management Trust and its failure to provide the sort of honest and legal management consulting services to board of directors of homeowner associations, which they clearly ARE NOT DOING!!!


**** ******** 

8/24/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I issued a stop payment on a check because of a change in payment address after speaking with an online banker. I use automatic payments and was unable to change the information in time before the bank sent out the check. I was charged a non-sufficient fund fee although it was clearly not a non sufficient fund issue. I just spoke with my bank and they said the company should have known it was a stop payment. The check was re-issued to the new payment address as soon as it could be sent by the bank. I was also charged a maintenance fee in addition to the set monthly fee. I called to ask about this and was not given detailed information to explain the charges. I was also fined during the winter months (December and January) for a summer month issue. I had sent the management company an email explaining the situation. I had also emailed the company of the product that I was using and continued to follow-up with them. The issue was in the process of being taken care of. In my opinion this company should be investigated for unfair billing practices. They have extremely bad customer service. I had asked to speak with a supervisor prior to this and was given to the same property manager.

Desired Settlement: Reversal of the charges including interest etc... and a new property manager. This current manager is extremely hard to deal with and the company overall has bad customer service.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to consider these concerns. The Management Trust works at the direction of the Board of Directors for each association we serve. In this matter, we executed the assessment and collection policies adopted by the Board, following a maintenance related violation. As we have communicated to the Complainant in the past, she is able to contest the Board’s decision, including any request for a reversal of fees, once the pending maintenance matter is resolved. We will continue to oversee this matter, and to facilitate communications between the Board of Directors and the Complainant, until it is resolved.

8/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Management Trust is a company hired to act as the Declarant to the Madison Park HOA, in Pasco WA. They are to abide to the CC&Rs established in 2009 (Franklin County WA file #*******). In those CC&Rs they are allowed to make amendments but are required to obtain 30 days notification, recorded within Franklin County, and approved by the City of Pasco director of Economic Development. Current CC&Rs are intended for them to ensure quality of construction and materials and to flow with the neighborhood. We applied for a block wall fence but was denied due to an alleged resolution/amendment they passed 2 weeks prior. There was no 30 days notification, no mention in home closing Title Report, no filing with Franklin County Recording, and the City of Pasco director of Economic Development was not aware. Their reason, in writing, was due to the recent "Fence Resolution". This amendment to the CC&Rs is not valid, violates the bylaws of their role, and they are forcing a long appeal. We have secured an attorney but this company is very clearly attempting to be difficult and draw the process out. Filing a complaint is the next best step as we appeal their ruling, which has been delayed several weeks past the 15 day requirement. We waived the formal hearing in hopes of a quicker resolution but they suggested 4 weeks additional. We now have statements from neighboring future homeowners expressing dissatisfaction of the attempt to ban block wall fences and manner of communications, print offs of the CC&Rs and amendments, the HOA's formal reason for denial, and still no Franklin County file number in their search as of today.

Desired Settlement: The Management Trust Northwest needs to reverse their decision regarding our application for a block wall fence. They then need to follow the Madison Park CC&R wording when pushing any amendments/resolutions. They are to communicate and invite dialogue as they have been hiding behind email addresses and blocked caller-id phone numbers. They are located out of state and are calling the shots with very little communication. We are new home owners and would like a good experience moving in, not be introduced to a totalitarian nightmare that isn't following their own rules and bylaws.

Consumer Response:

I'm writing to inform you the dispute I was having with the Madison Park HOA has been resolved as the Board of Directors have reversed their decision.  I do not know if The Management Trust - Northwest was a part of this decision but would like to withdraw my complaint as a good outcome was eventually achieved.  I have attached a signed copy.


Thank You,


******** *******

6/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: April 10, 2015 I received a certified Lien Notice concerning ******* **** Homeowners Association fees that was not paid and a lien against my property. I contacted the company informing them this was the first time I ever received a letter of any kind. The manager ***** waived $52.72, but I am not pleased because I have an additionally $400 that have been added on to the account. The manager checked the return mail and did find a letter that was return back in November. Also I was told that a certified letter was sent but it was not return, so I am thinking it is a problem with the mail system, which I will be following up with today. I should not be responsible for any fees that I am not at fault with. It is not my fault I didn't get my mail. I pay my bills and I have been paying my fees with this company. I do remember when I first moved in this home I use to get others mails, but I was thinking it was because it was a fairly new area. Whatever the problem is it need to be resolved.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking that all fees be resolved and I pay what is due and that is the assessments fees for the Homeowner Associations Fees.

Business Response: We have received the concerns from Ms. ******** regarding the
collections charges on her account. This homeowner is a member of the *******
**** Homeowners Association. For 2015, the association had an annual assessment
of $136.00. The statement for the annual assessment was sent to the ********** in
December 2014. Our records do not show that this statement was returned to us -
information regarding returned mail is saved to the homeowner’s account. The
assessment was due on January 1, 2015 and was late by January 30, 2015.

As payment had not been received by January 30, 2015, an interest charge
of $1.36 and a late charge of $10.00 was placed on the account per the
association’s CC&Rs and Collection Resolution. In addition, a $10.00 charge
was added to the account to send a late statement to the homeowner. This late
statement was not returned to us, and no payment was received.

As payment had not been received by the February 28, 2015, the homeowner
was sent a statement regarding a First Notice of Default, also known as a
pre-lien. Per the management contract, additional charges totaling $54.20 were
placed on the account for processing the pre-lien and sending out a notice by
certified mail, and an additional $1.36 in interest was added on February 28, 2015.

As payment had not been received by March 30, 2015, the homeowner was
sent a statement regarding a lien. Per the management contract, additional
charges totaling $308.20 were placed on the account for processing the lien.
Please note that $144.00 of this is a hard cost from the County for recording the
lien, which was recorded by the County on April 10, 2015. Information regarding the
lien was sent by certified mail.

On April 10, 2015, Ms. ******** spoke with ****** in our
accounting department, and was transferred to ***** after asking to speak to a
supervisor. Per our notes, the homeowner was upset because a lien was placed,
and she had not received any mail regarding this matter. ***** confirmed that
we did have the correct mailing address on file, so we are unsure as to why the
homeowner did not receive the statements or certified notices. As a courtesy,
we were able to remove a total of $52.72 from the homeowner’s account ($40.00
charge for processing the pre-lien, $10.00 for a late statement, and $2.72 in
interest). ***** could not remove the charges related to the lien, as she did
not have Board approval to do so.

During her call with *****, Ms. ******** indicated that she would
be going online to make a payment for the balance due on the account ($469.76),
which included the outstanding annual assessment of $136.00. ***** emailed **** in
our accounting department to have her complete the courtesy reversal of $52.72 -
this was completed on April 13, 2015.

As of May 4, 2015, no payments have been made to the account,
and the complaint to the BBB was filed on April 13, 2015.  

The Management Trust acted according to the Association’s CC&Rs,
Collection Resolution, and management contract during the collections process,
and confirmed with the homeowner that the correct mailing address was on record
with the association during this time. While we can reach out to the Board to
see if they will make any additional reversals, management cannot remove any
additional fees from the account without Board approval, as there are
significant costs to the association related to removing liens.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I never received any correspond relating to this matter. I should have been notified prior to the lien. 


******* *********

Business Response: It is our standard practice to confirm the  mailing address for each homeowner in the associations we manage, by obtaining a copy of the recorded warranty deed for each lot we serve,  from  County records. While Mrs. ********* suggests she was never notified that her home was in danger of being liened, our records indicate otherwise. All statements and correspondence have been mailed to the record address. Mrs. ********* acknowledged receipt of a Notice of Lien, sent by certified mail, to the same record address on April 10, 2015. Therefore, we believe that reasonable and reliable efforts were put forth in order to notify Mrs. ********* of the status
of her account.

1/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are owners of *** ** ***** ***** Hillsboro, OR 97124 since 12/28/2013.Management Trust & Alderbrook HOA is using unfair tactics to overcharge home owners & using unfair tactics to collect the bill.HOA billed us for unpaid charges from previous owners as special assessment. Management Trust further used unfair charges to tack up our bill and send to collections instead of working with us to resolve the bill.We own a home that has HOA managed by Management Trust. We pay all our fair dues promptly. But Management Trust billed the owner for $1140 on 11/19/14 without any explanation of reason of bill and then on 11/30/14 they tacked up 650% interest charge on the bill. When Owner asked for explanation of bill, Management Trust representative kept misleading owner for several weeks (almost 2-months) by providing irrelevant arguments instead of the breakdown and explanation of bill. After much debate an old assessment notice from 2011 was provided to owner for which current owner is not responsible for. The old assessment should have been paid by previous owner. Further the Bill did not match the assessment charges to current owner. Instead of meeting minutes of HOA from 2014, old irrelevant documents were provided.Owner hired a lawyer to handle the situation, but Management Trust knowingly wasted correspondence from Lawyer and did not provide explanation of Bill. Such practices costed owners more in lawyer charges. Though the dispute was submitted to Management trust, they kept tacking charges and kept delaying the resolution in attempt to increase the bill, when they involve their lawyers for increasing bill on the house. Our lawyer told us that they should have frozen the account when dispute was received. We are concerned that our bill is being racked up unfairly and management trust is in violation of several consumer protection & real estate laws. Management trust is using harassment, arm twisting tactics to rack up bills for home owners. We have seen several homes foreclosed due to huge cha8 Account_Number: *** ** ***** ***** *

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund HOA to provide detailed breakdown of current bill, provide information on 56 affected homes due to special assessment, how much money was recovered from previous owner, how much is remaining from current owner.HOA / Management trust must be penalized for charging 650%+ interest to home ownerHOA/ Management trust must pay $2000 to current owner for time value for wasting current owners time and lawyers fees billed at $400/hour.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/11) */ An association representative has been in contact with *** ****. Additional information was requested of him and discussions regarding this issue continue. We are hopeful that an amicable resolution will soon be reached. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/12/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Our complaint is against TMT, instead they have put a HOA lawyer to argue with me who is arm twisting to pay or they will put a lien. Its not an amicable solution we are looking for. We proposed a settlement & refund which TMT has denied. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/12/18) */ It is important to note that The Management Trust is contracted to carry out policies and procedures as instructed by the association's Board of Directors. We have no authority to consider demands or negotiate balance settlements. The association has also retained legal counsel to assist in the collection of the special assessment referenced by *** ****, from multiple property owners in this community. For these reasons, it was necessary that the association's attorney respond to the demands made in *** ****'s initial complaint. An agreement has been reach and the balance due is being addressed. We appreciate *** ****'s cooperation and regret any resulting frustration. We are pleased that this matter is now resolved for all parties involved.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on The Management Trust - Northwest
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart