BBB Accredited Business since

Answer Connect

Phone: (800) 525-1315 Fax: (800) 803-8486 PO Box 80040, Portland, OR 97280 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.answerconnect.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers telephone communications and answering services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Answer Connect meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Answer Connect include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 12
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Answer Connect
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 15, 2002 Business started: 09/01/2001 in OR Business started locally: 09/01/2001 Business incorporated 09/06/2001 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Payne, CEO Mrs. Natalie Fung, Business Services Manager Ms. Renee Gabel, Lead CX Engineer Mr. Monty Wirth, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Natalie Fung, Business Services Manager
Principal: Mr. Michael Payne, CEO
Business Category

Answering Services Telephone Answering Services (NAICS: 561421)

Alternate Business Names
A CTI Answer Connect Teleservices Inc

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 80040

    Portland, OR 97280

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/18/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They fabricated minutes that we never used. They charged me for minutes that we never used for chat. And they charged me for minutes that we never used for the phone call. I kept asking them to send me a correct invoice so I can send the correct bill. But they kept sending me fake invoice. Thus, I immediately cancelled the service. I told them repeatedly that I would NOT pay their outlandish, fake bill. I asked them to send me a correct invoice. I told them I would only pay the correct amount. Even after I cancelled their service, they kept charging me for minutes that we never used. And they sent me a fake invoice again. This is a FRAUDULENT SCAM, and I have told them this several times. I have no intention of paying this outlandish, FAKE bill.

Desired Settlement: Please send me a correct invoice so I can make a correct payment.

Business Response: We have provided extremely detailed documentation of all interactions noted as a concern in terms of legitimately billed usage, including screenshots of interaction details available within clients online account and chat transcripts when screenshot did not cover entire interaction. There was one interaction that could not be located so far, which we are happy to credit for. As we are going over every interaction for two months, this process is still ongoing. We will continue providing documentation to ensure the client is completely clear and in agreement on the content of their billing. 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

*** **

4/5/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AnswerConnect claims we have used an amount of minutes and when we inquired they proceeded to charge our company credit card. They have quick to answer callas and email s related to setup but have not heard from anyone regarding the charges to our card. We did a random sampling of the list they sent over showing the dates of the calls they fielded along with the time. We have asked to hear recordings of the lengthy calls since it is rare that any of our calls exceed a few minutes. Our staff has also noticed that during a "hot patch" the answerconnect associate will stay on the phone for a prolinged period of time. This appears to have resulted in well over $1200 in charges when our original plan was 225 minutes equaling approximately $225 in charges.

Desired Settlement: We want a detailed explanation of the charges because we dont beleive we used all of these minutes. We also want to hear the recordings of any calls exceeding ten (10) minutes. We want this resolved immediately.

Business Response:

Usage has been confirmed as accurate and reviewed with the customer, including detailed usage report (attached) and call recordings. A credit has been provided in the amount of $293.89 to rerate usage to best rate plan, and for one issue identified within call recording review of silence at the end of the call (10 minutes at overage rate). All other call recordings reviewed were confirmed as handled without error or other issue causing call durations to be longer than they should have been. Further recordings are in the process of being pulled, reviewed and provided to the client. Confirmed overage charges were not the result of prolonged call durations, but rather a high number of inbound calls handled. Average call time is 5.4 minutes. Out of 244 calls handled, 20 of them were over 10 minutes. Amount of time for those calls over 10 minutes is 56.8 minutes. 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: We appreciate the response and the credit issued however, investigation of the matters have not finished nor has the matter been fully resolved. Renee G**** hasn't followed up on our last conversation. Our team continues to complain about the agent's lengthy disconnection and back and forth banter with our callers, further increasing our usage.

Sincerely,

******* ******

Business Response:

We have continued to provide any information available to confirm accurate and legitimate usage and call durations. Call recordings for all calls with a duration over 10 minutes have been provided for review, per our customers request. 

For the month of February, usage over the 10 minute mark totals 56.8, out of 1328.7 total minutes used (4.2% of usage). Average call duration is 5.4 min. This data is outlined within the report already attached. For the month of March, usage over the 10 minute mark totals 62 minutes, out of 2375.2 total minutes used (2.6% of usage). Average call duration is 5.6 min. This data is outlined within the report attached today.

We have asked for our customer to let us know any time a call is patched and they feel our staff stays on the line longer than is reasonable, which we had agreed was reasonable in order to take any action on this concern. I have not received any report of this to date. Out of 244 calls in February, and 427 calls in March, these concerns are not something that can be investigated without someplace to start looking for the call where this may have taken place. Of the long duration call recordings reviewed so far, this (agent staying on the line too long after hot patch) has not been spotted. 

We are continuing to review the recordings that have been provided for any calls with a duration over 10 minutes. All requested documentation (reports, recordings) have been provided at this time. 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

We have made it clear to AnswerConnect that it is not our job to sit and listen to over 400 calls, totaling over 2000 minutes. We engaged and hired AnswerConnect because we don't have the time to answer the phones, so what makes them think we have discretionary resources to allocate to listening to phone calls. Fact of the matter is: Ardent Residential managers (plural) have all complained about AnswerConnect hanging on the line for too long. Thus in turn, fraudulently driving up our usage. There have also been multiple calls to myself, personally, where agents are seeking to transfer callers for reasons unrelated to assigned responsibility. Though they are polite and say thank you when they are informed, these are minutes that we are charged for. Furthermore, our usage with previous companies has never exceeded 1000 minutes per month in the last 8 years of doing business. This fact coupled with complaints from the Ardent Residential stating that AnswerConnect agents are hanging on the line for extended periods of time, has caused us to discontinue the use of their services. They cannot be trusted as a company to report proper usage amounts and take ownership of their agent's actions.

Sincerely,

******* ******

3/10/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Answer connect unlawfully charged my card for services that were not rendered or as described.

Desired Settlement: The fraudulent charges need to be removed immediately

Business Response:

When *********** ***** ***** signed up on December 30, we began the onboarding process to setup the account.


It became apparent that the complexity of the account requirement was not something we were confident we could handle successfully. We expressed this concern in multiple phone conversations, with multiple people in the *********** ***** ***** company.


As early as January 8, our CRM notes document a conversation where we asked one of the *********** ***** ***** employees “what percentage of calls do we need to handle successfully in order to consider our partnership successful?” This was our attempt to understand what a successful partnership looked like to them. We did not get an answer to this question as the employee needed to speak with the account owner.


As we were getting ready to complete their setup on January 14, we sent an email to reconfirm our ongoing concerns about the success of the account. This email is attached and is labeled, “Onboarding Email.”

After sending this email, the account owner expressed interest in moving forward. We left an additional ticket open to check-in on the account because of concerns on complexity and sent a follow up email on January 20, to see how things were going. A screenshot of this email is attached and is called, “Check-in Email.”


 

The reply email gave us little indication that something was fatally wrong. This email is attached and called “Check-In Email Reply.”

On February 3, we started getting inbound calls from the account owner that they were overbilled and did not want to pay for account overages and that we misrepresented our billing.


When we tried to call him back, he did not want to speak with us and directed us to speak with one of his employees named *****. When we talked to her about our concerns she was not authorized to make the necessary changes to the account.


We find that the suggestion that we charged *********** ***** ***** for “services that were not rendered or as described” fails to take into consideration the multitude of conversations we had with the company in which we expressed our concerns about our ability to be successful and hesitation we had moving forward.


On February 11, we agreed on a phone call that their account requirements were not a good fit for us and agreed to chargeback the overages he paid. A few days later we received notification of a credit card dispute. Because of the dispute we stopped processing the chargeback because if we lose the dispute we’ll pay double the intended amount. We let him know if he drops the dispute, we’re happy to immediately process the chargeback of the agreed upon amount. Otherwise, we will continue to process our response to the credit card dispute. When we win the dispute, we still happily intend to process the chargeback that we agreed to.


 


12/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for their services on 02nd December 2015 and after repeated requests, there was no follow up on setting up my account. Reason given by them is always: Concerned person is not in office, we will connect as they are available. I was fed up of this and tried contacting them repeatedly only to know that their Technical team is in Chennai and unavailable due to floods there. I completely understand that but there should be some one in whole company who could setup for me at least a day later. Almost 10 days have passed and I have nothing in my hand. I have sent refund request twice but no reply yet. Instead they are trying to lure me with some offers of free month credit and offering UK/Canada numbers. I am not interested anymore in any kind of offers from them.

Desired Settlement: I am losing out time and money unnecessarily. Would like to have full refund and cancel my account as I haven't used any of their resources.

Business Response:

AnswerConnects Customer Service team member Cindy (in the US) did make a reasonable effort to contact and work with our customer to set up his account. There were requests made during the setup process for international numbers that we found we could not accommodate, after doing research internally to determine if this was at all possible to provide. We were still waiting on IVR setup information, and scripting was not built until we could clarify if the international numbers would cause an overall service incompatibility. 

Our client expressed his request to cancel service and have a refund on 12/10/15, and this was completed the same day and confirmed. Please see attached screenshot of chargeback/refund confirmation. 

 

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

 

 

8/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May 2015 I requested my account be put in inactive/dormant status for $9.99 per month. Only July 1, 2015 I was billed $204.99 instead of $9.99. I made AnswerForce aware of this error on July 4, 2015. I called and emailed several times between July 6-10 & was told be 3 different people they were submitting my refund request to billing. All stated they would get back to me and to date, none of those people have emailed or called me back with a resolution and my refund has not been issued. Last week I emailed my account rep and client services and to date, I have not received a response or refund.

Desired Settlement: We are a small business and have just enough funds to cover our expenses. As of 7/20/2015 our bank account is being debited for expenses that were going to be paid with the funds taken by AnswerForce and we're going to incur NSF fees. We would like a refund of the overcharges immediately and are requesting AnswerForce cover the NSF Fees and 3rd party fees for any bounced checks that were incurred while waiting for the refund.

Business Response:

This mistake has been corrected in our system, and this customer shall receive no further charges as the account is cancelled and CC removed. The full charge of $195 as well as the overdraft charge of $35 have been refunded to the customer, see receipts attached. 

 

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

8/18/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They never got my script right and contnued to bill me for services. I spot checed the service and the lady answered assuming I was a call forwarded in the evening and stated she did not know what to do. I then told lady I wanted to cancel. She said that she would take care of it. She obviously did not follow through. I would like this right away. ********** My account number. I spoke with Answer connect rep on April 30th. I asked them to cancel my services. I then continued to be billed for May, June, July and then today. I also spoke with the Client Services dept on August 1st. She did research on my file and saw that true I did ask to cancel and was supposed to issue a refund for this today. Instead I was billed again Today. Pending Misc. Debit POS DEBIT ACTI ANSWERCONNECT ************ OR Link to more information in a new browser window. $199.99 Today

Desired Settlement: 199.99 times May June July August Billing. Total amount 799.96 total due to me.

Business Response:

All charges for service to date have been reversed, totaling $797.96. See attached screenshots for credit applied for each charge in May, June, July and August 2015. These credits/refunds were processed via ****** on August 7th, 2015. Account has been cancelled effective August 1st, and therefore no further charges will be applied. 

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Consumer Response:  I diid not get that much credit back in account,
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

***** ****

7/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Although I have confirmed multiple times with the company ANSWERCONNECT that I have a ZERO balance, I keep receiving multiple harassing emails about being sent to COLLECTION. Today, I re-confirmed with the ANSWERCONNECT agent who had stated that I owe no money to the company and re-confirmed the ZERO balance. I asked her to please remove me from the mailing list and to stop e-mailing me about money that is not owed. I canceled their poor service with no balance owed.

Desired Settlement: The business has a responsibility to issue an apology for their mistakes and a formal letter stating that there is a ZERO balance. In addition, they have a responsibility to finally remove me from their mailing list once I receive their written statement.

Business Response: Hello ***** ****,

On behalf of AnswerForce I would like to apologize for the error that occurred. We certainly understand the importance of accuracy in billing and how frustrating the continued past due collections notices must have been. The conflicting information that was relayed by our team and failure on our part in resolving the issue at the time it was originally brought to our attention only serve to exacerbate those frustrations.

Your understanding, as well as the information relayed by our team, was in fact correct, your account balance is zero. Unfortunately, due to a clerical error with our billing records your account began to receive past due collections notices. The times you contacted us to follow up on these notices and confirm your account balance was clear our team failed to notice and therefore address the clerical error resulting in the notices being sent, thus the continued sending of the past due collections notices.

At this time we would like to assure you we have done the due diligence required to fully address the issue. This includes determining the clerical issue that resulted in the sending of the
notices and correcting the issue to ensure no further notices are sent.

I would again like to extend our apologies and assurances that your account balance is zero and you will no longer receive notices related to payment due.

3/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For the past 30 days I have been trying to get answers and reports on the charge of air drop calls. This is a list of things that have been done or yet pending to be done regarding this matter:1. There has been air drop calls throughput 2014 that have lasted more than 1 minute and I am still being charged for these. I have requested a report of these in order to get a refund. Still have not heard of anybody in regard.2. In the meantime, I have added the IVR service to avoid these charges. Since I have requested this service 2 days ago, I was told by customer service that I would be contacted once this was set up for my approval. Two days have passed and I had to call to follow up since nobody called. It seems that it has been set up but NOT to my 1-866 number? What other number is there? Nobody never called to test? Communication within the customer service depth is obviously pretty bad.3. In case I want to take my 1-866 number somewhere else, I want to be prepared so I have requested all the corresponding paper work for me to read about and understand the process and fees if any. Nobody has sent me such information.

Desired Settlement: I need someone to follow up on the three tasks described above and get me the answers and solutions.

Business Response: Mr. ****** has been a long standing customer with us since 2007. He contacted us approximately 30 days ago regarding dead air calls on his account, at which time we did not successfully follow up with him, as he reports. He was requesting documentation and information regarding porting his number with our service, to a new provider, should he choose to go this route. Unfortunately, at this time, we were experiencing our highest sales numbers to date, and we did not follow up in a timely fashion. For this, I apologize. 

At this point, Mr. ****** contacted me, and I was able to get the information that he was requesting. We have also found a solution to the excessive amount of dropped of calls on his account, and this solution is currently being implemented. I spoke with Mr. ****** and we agreed on a credit to his account for all the trouble and for the long span of time the dropped calls were occurring, and this credit is being applied once the solution is in place and dropped calls have subsided. 

I apologized to Mr. ****** for the lack of communication on our part and for the lack of service he felt he received. As an organization, all of our customers are important to us, and that could not be more true in this case. I am still working with Mr. ****** to make sure he is satisfied and taken care of going forward. 

1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started using this service due to them being referred to us by another colleague. Since the inception of our relationship we have never received the complete services we have asked for. I have called in NUMEROUS times to speak to a manager, They obviously work remotely and do not have any accountability with there agents. I have had to go back behind every call and 90% of the time book our own appointments from when the callers called in, The whole point why we hired this company as we needed help doing so. If I didnt go behind them and check ALL there work we would have missed almost ALL of our appointments that they took on our behalf. This service they provide is sub par at BEST! There is little to no communication between agents. In fact I have been on hold as I type this out for 20 plus minutes waiting to speak to a supervisor again!!! ALl they tell me is they will have someone call back or when I email they tell me someone will email or call back shortly. The second issue is our bill, We are not supposed to be billed until December 22nd and it is December 4th. The billed my CC today for over $1500 and our monthly plan is $399.00

Desired Settlement: I want a manager to call, if the company even has any, refund the appropriate amount from what is charged, I want a credit for all of the work that I have had to do instead of your agents properly setting appointments.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/12/31) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: Supervisor Contact Email: *************@a-cti.com Mr. ******* started using our service in August of 2014, along with our Setmore appointment scheduler. He did in fact contact us multiple times to report issues with appointments being set, in which we addressed his concerns and modified his script accordingly, and even credited him for the mistakes on our end with appointments not showing up on his calendar. As we are constantly responding to feedback and introducing new features, because of ongoing issues such as these, we have implemented a Booking ID onto not only Mr. ********' Setmore account, but to all of our Setmore customers. This helps ensure confirmation of a booked appointment, and should an issue arise, we can easily confirm this appointment using the reference number. His feedback is extremely important to us, as is all the feedback we receive from our clients, and we are always looking for ways to improve. There was an instance where Mr. ******* requested to speak to manager in December, and the task was resolved my mistake, and his request went unanswered. For this, we apologized, and have since attempted to contact Mr. ******* by phone and via e-mail, to discuss possible credits, and ways we can move forward. Our attempts at contact are attached below. Regarding being billed outside of his normal billing cycle. Mr. ******* signed our terms of service upon signing up, which indicates that we reserve the right to bill Mr. ******* at any time during the cycle for minute overages. We have attached a copy of our service agreement for your review. We do this in order to protect Mr. ******* from an excessively large bill. Mr. ******* went over his rate plan in November. He is on our 500 minute plan, and used 897 minutes. Despite his concerns, Mr. ******* continues to use our service and send calls our way. He is also continuing to exceed his rate plan. We would be happy to discuss the possibility of a credit, and adjusting his rate plan, as indicated in an e-mail to him on December 31st, 2014. December 1st Mr. ******* contacted us requesting we cancel his service. After further deliberation, he spoke with customer service associate ******, and indicated that he wished to reactivate his lines with us. December 3rd Mr. ******* requested to speak with a manager regarding his account and the multiple issues with appointment setting. Unfortunately, this task was resolved by mistake on December 16th, and a manager never contacted Mr. *******. This was not acceptable on our part, but we have attempted to contact Mr. ******* since this incident to discuss possible refund/credits. December 9th Mr. ******* reported an issue with an appointment not being set through our Setmore appointment scheduler. He spoke with customer service associate, ****** who was able to assist in editing his script to help prevent this from occurring again. We credited Mr. ******* in the amount of $142.74 for this agent error. December 11th Mr. ******* called in to report an issue with his Setmore calendar. He spoke with a customer associate, ****, who assisted him. They were able to determine that the appointment was set, Mr. ******* just needed to refresh his browser. December 23rd Upon learning of this ongoing issue with Mr. *******'s account, a supervisor took ownership of the task at hand and started contacting Mr. ******* in an attempt to regain his trust. I contacted Mr. ******* on December 23rd. This call went unanswered, and was picked up by what appeared to be another service. I left a message. I also e-mailed Mr. ******* at this time. The e-mail is as follows: ****** ****** on 23 Dec 2014 at 2:31 PM (Pacific Standard Time) "Hello ******, I hope this e-mail finds you well! I wanted to reach out to you regarding your account, and the many concerns you have had with our service. I tried reach you by phone, however I ended up leaving a message. I'm so sorry that I missed you. Let me first start by apologizing. Clearly, we dropped the ball here. I would like a chance to discuss how we can make this right and come to an amicable resolution. I am generally available from 6 am until 2:30 pm Monday-Friday. I will be off on Christmas, but available on Friday. Thank you so much and I look forward to speaking with you soon. Have a Happy Holiday!" December 30th, 2014 Due to the Christmas Holiday, we did not try to contact Mr. ******* again right away. We gave him a few days to enjoy with his family. On the 30th, we tried to give Mr. ******* another phone call. This call was unanswered as well, and I did leave another message. At this time, I did send another e-mail to Mr. ******* to follow up. The e-mail is as follows: ****** ****** on 30 Dec 2014 at 11:11 AM (Pacific Standard Time) outboundemail BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX)..hide Hello Mr. *******, I would like to take some time to discuss your account with you and make sure that we can resolve any issues that you may have. Your feedback helps us do a better job, and I want to make sure we are improving. Thank you so much for your time. Have a great day. Best regards, ****** ****** CX Engineer Team Leader XXX-XXX-XXXX December 31st, 2014 I attempted to contact Mr. ******* on his cell phone at 6:53 AM PST. This call went to voicemail. I left a voicemail on his cell phone, and followed up with him via e-mail, as per proper protocol. The e-mail is as follows: ****** ****** on 31 Dec 2014 at 6:53 AM (Pacific Standard Time) outboundemailBBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX)..hide details Hello Mr. *******, I wanted to follow up with you again regarding your account with us. I know there have been some problems in the past, and I just wanted to make sure we were making it right and gaining your trust in us again. I know that you requested to speak with a manager, and have yet to do so, so I wanted to personally reach out and take ownership. We would be willing to discuss a credit to your account, and would love the opportunity to come to an agreement on what is fair. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to reach out to me. I am always happy to help. Regards, ****** ****** CX Engineer Team Lead XXX-XXX-XXXX

11/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Multiple charges, minute after minute. We are a small company and would never receive multiple calls over and over. I was never notified of over usage. When I did realize this, I immediately cancelled the service. I told them repeatedly that I would NOT pay their outlandish bill. I sent them $399.96 on June 23, 2014 ******* and on that check I wrote paid in full. Prior to sending said check I told them I would only pay the prearranged $99.00 a month. They also tried to charge me for minutes used while the office was open. I believe this is a fradulent scam, and I have told them this several times. I have no intention of paying this outlandish bill.

Desired Settlement: As previously stated I believe I am paid in full, as I sent them a check on June 23, 2014 for $399.96 for my monthly charges.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/10/20) */ This client has been billed in accordance to our policies outlined in our client Service Agreement (signed copy attached). We do not proactively notify clients when they go over their minute plan. Detailed minute usage reports for all bills including overage charges were sent to client *** ****** via email on June 24th, 2014 for her review. Rerate credits were also offered to bill usage for any invoice with overage on a higher rate plan to offer the best price possible. This credit was contingent on payment of remaining balance, and as this was not paid the credit was never applied. Overall AnswerConnect has made a reasonable effort to work with this client to resolve this dispute. Documentation has been provided to answer any questions regarding usage, and rerates were offered to help with the overage charges due to high usage on the account. Terms and Conditions from Service Agreement regarding billing: BILLING AND PAYMENT. Monthly recurring charges are billed in arrears, and usage charges in excess of the monthly allowance are billed during the month on a periodic basis. I am responsible for payment of all charges for any services performed on my behalf by A-CTI. Payments are due in A-CTI's offices on or before the due date. A-CTI reserves the right to require payment outside the regular monthly billing cycle. If my bill is not paid before the due date, a late fee in the amount of one and one-half percent (1.5%) of the unpaid balance will be applied to my account. I agree that a late fee is a reasonable pre-estimate of A-CTI's damages for late payments. I will be assessed a charge of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) for each check or other payment to A-CTI which a financial institution refuses to honor for any reason. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/10/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I never received an e-mail about my over usage or statement. They were sent to the wrong e-mail. When I received the amount, I was stunned and immediatley spoke with the staff. They never offered to back down one cent. I resolved the issue with the Collection Agency, on my terms. I still believe Answer Connect did not fairly bill me, or assist me with resolution to my problem. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/11/14) */ In reviewing Mr. ******'s account and the complaint on the issue, it does look like we could have possibly done more to ensure he fully understood his usage and his invoices. We are extremely sorry that things were not more clear. Our online portal, electronic invoices and automatic payments are designed to make things easier for our clients. In this case, it sounds like our billing practices did not work well for our client. We take this very seriously, and are working to improve. Per the details submitted, Mr. ****** states that he has resolved the billing issue with the collections agency. We are glad that a resolution was made. Again, we are very sorry that things did not work well and were not transparent enough in this case. We do want to provide great service and transparent billing for our clients. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 16, 2014/11/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

9/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into a month-to-month contract with this company to provide a service in which they generally directed someone to my website or messaged me to call the client back. We agreed that the scripts would take their operators about 30 to 60 seconds to execute per call. I was also told that I would receive a notification if I was about to exceed my minutes alotted and that I could use call patching for a set fee to receive calls after that. The first month went fine but the second month my call volume remained the same but the bill was double. I did not recieve a notification that I would go over minutes and my scripts had not changed. The third month I did recieve a notification that my bill would be higher but only I after they had more than doubled my allotted minutes. Again, call volume had not increased, just the amount of time the spent on each call, in every instance exceeding the 30 to 60 second goal that we had originally set for the scripts in place. When I asked for an invoice of the calls and their length of time the refused to give that to me. My entire invoice consisted of an amount due and nothing else. I agreed to them handling 150 minutes of calls a month, I agreed that if it exceeded that I would have a choice of using call patching at a set amount or I could increase my minutes. I never agreed to them running up call times to double the charges to my card.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to clear my account of any money owed to them, which is two months of calls, as there is no accounting available to know what the charges are for as well as it has cost me many hours and resources to deal with their ineptitude and what appears to be fraud to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/16) */ AnswerConnect handled inbound calls for *** ***** **** ************** with a mostly basic script. Most call types directed callers to his website, however we were also using his website to assist with signup issues as well as give directions to callers to the physical location of the business. We do not have the ability to make any guarantees on call times, as there are many variables outside of our control that contribute to this. Furthermore, our general guideline that we share with clients is that the most basic of calls with message taking only typically last at least 2.5 to 3 minutes on average. Below is a monthly usage and average call time recap: April 40 calls 111.3 minutes - Average 2.78 min May 88 calls 295.4 minutes - Average 3.35 min June 114 calls 399.6 minutes - Average 3.50 min Below is our Terms and Conditions within our Service Agreement regarding Billing and Payment: BILLING AND PAYMENT. Monthly recurring charges are billed in arrears, and usage charges in excess of the monthly allowance are billed during the month on a periodic basis. I am responsible for payment of all charges for any services performed on my behalf by ****** Payments are due in ******** offices on or before the due date. ***** reserves the right to require payment outside the regular monthly billing cycle. If my bill is not paid before the due date, a late fee in the amount of one and one-half percent (1.5%) of the unpaid balance will be applied to my account. I agree that a late fee is a reasonable pre-estimate of ******** damages for late payments. I will be assessed a charge of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) for each check or other payment to ***** which a financial institution refuses to honor for any reason. A billing rate changed was applied for *** ***** **** ************** on June 30th as a result of a phone call from ****** regarding his billing and request to cancel service on June 27th, 2014. This rate change was applied to ensure his final July invoice would be as low as possible. His billing was moved to 500m plan at $399.99, as his June usage was nearly 400 minutes. This usage was far exceeding his previous 150 minute plan, which would have incurred much higher total bill amount from overage charges billed at a higher rate. This rate change was verbally confirmed with him during the conversation he had with us regarding cancellation per attached notes on conversation from our service team.

6/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Although registration and account set-up can all be processed on-line, cancellations of the account must be done by a customer service representative whom is never available, they must phone you back. I spoke to customer service 3 times over 11 months to cancel the account which I only used for about 2 weeks (because it could NOT do what the customer service representatives promised it could do with call patching), and as of this point I am still being charged. I finally had to pay my bank to stop debiting of future charges, and will wait to see if they continue to bill me. This seems fraudulant to me that a service cannot be cancelled when requested, after being told it WOULD be cancelled, and that billing would continue. When I called 5/6/14, their customer service rep even told me they had on file that I desired account to be closed 5/31/2013, yet it never was cancelled.

Desired Settlement: $179.98 for each of months June 2013-May 2014 ($2159.76 total ) for services never provided. I will not request refund for the month they provided 2 weeks of service to me although the services were not as promisedthat was just their representatives not really knowing their business well.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 8, 2014/06/02) */ Customer has been refunded for May and June 2014 charges at $179.98 each, for total refund of $359.96 processed 5/07/14 (receipt attached). This refund amount was confirmed with the customer on same date in below email. Her account cancellation was also processed on this date, effective May 1st to avoid any further billing. Her credit card was also made inactive at this time as an extra precaution. AnswerConnect - Cancellation Confirmation and Refund ****** ****** <*************@answerconnect.com> 1:26 PM (0 minutes ago) to ********* Hi *****, Thanks for speaking with me today. I'm sorry that it's taken so much of your time to get this situation resolved with AnswerConnect. That's definitely not our expectation for customer service. As I mentioned on the phone, I'm canceling your account with us immediately to prevent any further billing. Additionally, I have made your credit card on file inactive so that we're no longer able charge it. Finally, we have processed a refund of $359.96 to your Mastercard on file ending in ****. I have attached the receipt showing that this has been processed. Please expect to see that in your account in the next 3-5 business days. If there is anything else you need, please let me know. Best, ****** ****** CX Engineer Team Coach ***** ***** Lead Account Manager Major Accounts

1/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The major issue is the the outbond calls and billing trans-piracy. However, with the issues they admitted too, I am not concerned with the entire bill. We have been billed $2200 for 2 months but we are expecting a bill that is closer to perhaps $500 - $700 for that period. Here are the issues 1. They admitted that their system were doing duplicate calling but still have to pay for those. They promise a refund after going thru the call report but nothing to date. 2. They called clients early in the morning several days late base on outbound script, and I tried to stop it after call # 5 but they never stopped even though they received my call. They promised a refund for this but I have not seen it. 3. They admitted to a fault in their system where the calls were not being disconnected and ran till 10 minutes. No refund given 4. Most of the outbound calls with a 30 sec script average 4 minutes. Even if the agent needs 30 secs to prep and ring out and 30 secs to complete the call, that is 1 min and 30 secs. Our entire team tested this to confirm. Their call average were 4 minutes. They keep repeating this. We are doubtful that the numbers are accurate 5. They promised us voice recordings for a few sample calls that we choose so we can review what was going on and make adjustments to match. They recently told us that they could not provide this because of some previous lawsuit. This has nothing to do with us, but they still want us to accept their info as accurate 6. Two days before the latest bill, I emailed them to stop the auto billing until we resolved the previous issues. They confirmed the autobilling was stopped but still billed us anyways. 7. Our accounts were overdrawn and we incurred a $114 fee. As a small business, with slow cash flow, it was difficult to recover immediately from the outrageous charges. They have sent several call detail reports but they are all junk. It is very vague. Does not include any of the numbers they called out too or received. All is it is some excel sheet with data that does not make sense to me. This is what they gave me. The previous versions were worst http://screencast.com/t/************ I have given them 1 entire billing cycle to resolve the issue but they are very slow to resolve it I was very hopeful for this company. They repeated told us that they were a small operations and I was willing to live with some of the quirks. However, their billing system is not transparent and is not in real time. They admitted guilt of some error in the system and took 1 month and billed us again for the same errors.

Desired Settlement: I need to receive a considerably larger refund expect our monthly commitment of $150 in Oct and $200 in November. The $934 they offer is only part of their mistake and given the lack of transparency and the extended delays in response, we can not pay for their mistakes and lawsuit and bad systems on good faith.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/01/06) */ 1. *** ****** says that we were making duplicate calls and we agreed and found our active response technology created duplicate entries, which resulted in duplicate calls. We acknowledged this error, agreed to refund the cost, and processed the refund on December 5th in the amount of $958.31. 2. *** ****** said that he called us to stop outbound calls. This call was received by one of our agents at 6:46am PST. A Client Service Engineer responded at 8:06am PST, and the issue had been handled by another engineer already. The refund stated here is the same as the one above. 3. *** ****** states the billing report noted calls over 10 minutes. He agreed to settle the dispute by paying for 2.5 minutes per outbound interaction. A credit towards service of $573.39 was agreed to, and is in the process of being issued. 4. *** ****** describes how long it takes his team to complete the calls in comparison to our company as a reason for the bill being too high. But we know someone who has never seen a call script before will take longer than an employee of a company to complete a call. We strive for efficiency and accuracy, but ultimately, we can't promise an interaction will take 90 seconds because they almost never do. A settlement of 2.5 minutes per interaction was agreed to and this is far less than we would expect the average interaction to take for the vast majority of our customers. 5. *** ****** states he was promised call recordings. Due to a recent company wide policy change to become standardly compliant with state and national law regarding the recording of calls, this call recording feature was disabled on all of our phone numbers. Customers had to agree to new terms and conditions before call recordings would be re-enabled. Unfortunately, during this time some of the recordings *** ****** requested were not available due to the policy change. This is outside our control and was done on the advice of legal council. 6. *** ****** stated he had emailed us to stop auto billing. His credit card was set to inactive in our billing system but this was on the same day that recurring charges are processed. Unfortunately, *** ******' card was charged prior to being set inactive. A refund and additional settlement was reached. 7. *** ****** stated we were at fault for causing his bank account to go negative. We absolutely sympathize with *** ****** and believe we reached a refund and service credit settlement as compensation totaling $1531.70. 8. Lastly, *** ****** states our reports were not adequate. We agreed and due to our inability to generate an outbound billing report that detailed every interaction, we reached a settlement agreement with *** ****** for which we credited the $573.39 which is mentioned above in bullet number 3. In conclusion, while it took us far longer than expected to gather the data, we tried to keep *** ****** aware the entire time of where we were at in our process.

12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company I work for, **********************, has been using Answer Connect for an after-hours answering service. It has been brought to our attention from ********* customers as well as ********* employees that Answer Connect doesn't do their job properly. After leaving detailed instructions with Answer Connect on the procedure for call flow and transferring details we have found the instructions were not being followed adequately. There have also been numerous times when the answering service never answered the phone. I attempted countless times to contact Answer Connect and was unable to reach anyone. The times I did get through I had to leave messages for them to call me back due to no-one being in the office. I never received a call back. Answer Connect claims to be a 24/7 answering service but this does not seem to be the case. Upon asking for a refund due to our dissatisfaction of the services provided, it was refused. We have had to cancel services and seek out another answering service with higher customer satisfaction.

Desired Settlement: A refund for the month of November.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2013/12/05) */ We are so sorry that the cancelation of this account has come to this point! We always aim to resolve concerns to our client's satisfaction first, without having to get other parties involved. On 11/27/2013, ***** ******** contacted us and asked us what his monthly charges were and how we appeared on his credit card statement. When these questions were answered, he stated he wanted to cancel the account. He stated that our associates were not following the script. Because we take reports like these very seriously and would want to meet with any associates who were not following the call guidelines, we asked for examples. ***** ******** did not have any. He stated that he could not reach our support team when he called in. We asked him about this, but he had no examples or additional details to help us look into this. We are staffed nearly 24/7/365 and have 24 hour response to emails, so the statement was concerning and also curious. ***** ******** then stated that we were not pronouncing his company name correctly. We offered to fix this with an option we have that plays a recording prior to our associate getting the call, letting them hear how to pronounce the company name. He declined and asked that his account be canceled. We agreed to cancel his account for him that same day. ***** ******** then stated he did not want to pay his November invoice. He said that we were not answering his calls. ***** ******** had call recordings enabled on his account, so we looked for examples of what he was reporting. After investigating his concerns, we did email him with detail on our findings, which included that calls had been handled correctly, in listening to 33 separate calls, had no examples of calls ringing without being answered, and that based on not finding issues to match his concerns, we would not be issuing a credit for November. We did not get any response from ***** ******** on this, and assumed that this was to his satisfaction. In review of these concerns and this complaint, we have gone ahead and zeroed out the client's balance, which means we have credited $59.95 for November. We hope this will satisfy ***** ********'s complaint with us, and we are very sorry things with us did not work out. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 17, 2013/12/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) While ********* is satisfied Answer Connect will credit the account we are still dissatisfied with how everything was handled. The comment that Answer Connect submitted in response to this complaint was not correct. A response to their email was sent. Calls we're not picked up 24/7. This was tested on our end a multitude of times. A third party shouldn't need to have been involved but based off of Answer Connects inability to handle the situation properly it was necessary. We hope to put this whole situation behind us now but we are still ultimately dissatisfied.

9/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As a Rape Crisis Center, I asked a number of questions regarding Answer Connect's ability to handle crisis calls through an on-call system. They assured me that they worked with other crisis centers, and would be able to provide us with the services we needed. In short, there ability to serve us was way over-sold, and despite many efforts to correct the problems, we had to leave the company. After leaving, (our last date of active service with them was July 9) I was told I could not get a final invoice from them until after August 2. While this made no sense, I was patient and waited and contacted them on August 9, a full week later to get the final invoice. I have made numerous calls, sent multiple emails, and still cannot get a detailed invoice that outlines the exact charges, what they were for, and what credits I earned. While they have refunded my card for some of the original charges, I cannot file for reimbursement for these costs without detailed invoices. I also requested a detailed call log for our time with the company, which I also have not been able to get. We are non-profit organization and I need to submit for reimbursement of these charges to grant funders, and cannot without the detailed information. I am promised that people will call back and respond and they do not follow through. The lack of response is extremely frustrating. A detailed accounting of charges should not be so problematic to obtain.

Desired Settlement: I want a detailed accounting with invoices showing detailed charges (set-up fee, minutes, etc.), payments, credits and debits. I also want our call log for the period of time we used the service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/09/05) */ We have provided the previous client with a complete detail on what was paid and what was refunded. Unfortunately, or business was not the right fit for this client, which is why we did not hold our client to the standard contract length and did refund the money paid, even though that is not a standard practice. It is unfortunate that the original billing detail was not accurate. That was a mistake on our end, and we have taken measures to rectify the situation for future clients.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Answer Connect
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)