BBB Accredited Business since

Regenerative Leadership Institute

Phone: (800) 376-3775 Fax: (503) 564-0751 9450 SW Gemini Dr STE 17760, Beaverton, OR 97008 https://www.openpermaculture.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers leadership and coaching services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Regenerative Leadership Institute meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Regenerative Leadership Institute include:

  • 11 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Regenerative Leadership Institute include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Regenerative Leadership Institute
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 13, 2006 Business started: 11/01/2004 in OR Business started locally: 11/01/2004 Business incorporated 05/03/2006 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Vladislav Davidzon, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Vladislav Davidzon, President
Business Category

Adult & Continuing Education Coaching - Business Coaching - Leadership Leadership Development Educational Support Services (NAICS: 611710)

Hours of Operation
Monday-Friday
8:00am-5:00pm
Refund and Exchange Policy
Our refund policy depends on the specific product purchased and is clearly disclosed on the sales page for each product.  The full sale conditions are available for review at https://www.regenerative.com/terms-and-conditions

Additional Locations

  • 9450 SW Gemini Dr STE 17760

    Beaverton, OR 97008 (800) 376-3775

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/21/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 23rd, I received an e mail from Regenerative Leadership advertising a permaculture class for $195. to be given on the internet via downloaded book and films. Several lines into the advertising, it stated in large print " IF FOR ANY REASON , OR NO REASON AT ALL, YOU DONT ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS PROGRAM, I'LL PAY YOU $195. IMMEDIATELY" Sign up today and if you dont like it for any reason (I dont care if its 29 days 23 hours and 59 minutes from now..just let me know and I'll give your money back. No questions asked. Just send an e mail and you'll get all your money back" This is a direct quotation from the e mail I was sent... I realized right after receiving the course, that it was information I already knew, and asked for a refund..He will not refund my money and now has been escalated to a case with paypal..He is now threatening to sue me! This is false advertising! He should not be allowed to conduct business this way!

Desired Settlement: Only asking that he fulfill his promise to refund my money.

Business Response:

Ms. ******,

As we have advised you, both the sales page and the contract to which you have agreed very clearly spell out the terms of the refund policy for this product.  We strictly stand behind our products as being some of the best on the market today, and would be happy to honor our guarantee once you fulfill the requirements as per the sales page and contract.  You are not entitled to a refund because you have not met the requirements clearly spelled out to receive that refund. 

Given the nature of our communication with you, we believe that you are attempting to defraud our corporation, and we intend to seek legal action against you to enforce our rights under the law. It is the policy of this corporation to litigate debts owed to us as well as any false claims made against our corporate brands.  We are also entitled to $225/hour x 2 hour minimum for the dispute you have filed, and we have invoiced you for that amount accordingly.  Again, all of these terms are very clearly spelled out within the contract to which you have agreed.

We encourage you to have your attorney contact us directly so that we can explain to her/him the nature of the contract and our mutual obligations under that contract. 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:I am forwarding the entire pdf e mail entitled "Hey", sent to me by Vladislav D******* at Regenerative Leaderhip. As you can see, it is a 15 page e mail. On page 11, it states, and I quote "Plus I am taking it one step further with my bold promise. If for any reason, or no reason at all, you dont absolutely love this program, I'll pay you $195. immediatly." ..So I clicked the paypal button! I never signed any contract..I did not even see..until downloading onto paper..a small quarter of an inch slice at the very bottom of page 15 stating terms and conditions. The terms and conditions state that you must read the whole book, watch all the films..take the test and design a permaculture garden in 30 days to apply for a refund!  rediculous! If I had seen this, I never would have purchased! So.. for just simply asking for a refund 5 days after purchase, I am now being accused of defrauding the company incurring legal charges..Really?? All I want is my promised refund. Making no attempt to defraud the company whatsoever.. He also sent this same cookie cutter response to paypal when I made a claim..as well as to my credit card company while trying to do chargeback..Thank you for looking into this matter

Sincerely,

****** ******

3/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an online Permaculture Design Course for my son, who was away. A few hours after I purchased the course he showed up at my house unexpectedly. When I told him about his gift he informed me that he was not at all interested in taking that course. I immediately contacted Regenerative to ask them to please cancel my order (which I had placed just hours ago) but they refused, alleging that I had agreed to their "no refunds" policy when I signed up, and to refer to some clause on that policy which I never saw nor was directed to when I filled out the form!

Desired Settlement: I would like Regenerative to issue me a refund, since I received NOTHING from them in the few hours between when I made the transaction and when I contacted them to cancel. At minimum they should issue me a credit for the $290 I paid in good faith so that I may purchase another product that I can use.

Business Response: *** *****,

As we have previously advised you, Section 9 of the contract to which you have agreed is very clear on this matter:

"Section 9: Course fees are due (and earned) in full at time of application. Irrevocable authorization is given to charge any course-related fees to credit card(s) provided, at any time and without advance notice. Participant agrees to pay any costs associated with any collection action as deemed necessary at the sole discretion of Regenerative Leadership Institute. Chargebacks are subject to a $225/hour research fee with a 2 hour minimum, plus legal and collection costs. No refunds are provided under any circumstances, and payment plans cannot be cancelled. In the case of rescheduling of a course by the Regenerative Leadership Institute, the participant will be provided with a course transfer credit valid for one year. Transfers between programs or participants are provided strictly at the sole discretion of Regenerative Leadership Institute, with a minimum transfer fee of $200.00 per person. All course logistics, dates, schedules and details are subject to change without notice or refund."

Thank you and we wish you well.

2/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is a Spammer. I went online to their site to download a free information packet. Then they wanted me to post their information on my facebook account before I could get the free packet. Then they wanted me to pay a transaction fee to get their FREE Packet. Then they wanted a shipping fee for their FREE packet. They are SCUM of the EARTH dirtbags, hiding behind the BBB skirts!.

Desired Settlement: BBB should DUME them by giving them a F- rating, not a A-. You are promoting a SCUMBAG organization that are spamming everyone that goes on their website for FREE information. In three days, I have received 31 emails from this company. I have unsubscribed several times, and that just gets me more spam emails. Either you shut them down, or maybe I will have to travel to OR and do it myself, in my own personal way. QUIT letting SCUMBAG companies hise behind your skirt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Business Response: *** *****,

Your complaint makes factually-false claims against our corporation, which with over a quarter million enrolled students is the largest provider of permaculture education on this planet.

Every e-mail we send has a link to unsubscribe from our marketing - that link is http://regenerative.com/remove - and I just followed that link, entered your e-mail address and removed you from the list without any problems. Your claim that you have attempted to remove yourself is simply quite blatantly false.

Furthermore, your statement appears to include physical threats. We politely note that should you make any further such threats, we will not hesitate to contact the FBI and other relevant authorities and file assault charges against you. You may wish to seek therapy to address your underlying anger issues, as there is absolutely no reason to take such an aggressive tone in resolving what is otherwise a simple matter of following a link and unsubscribing from an e-mail.

Again, we have removed you from our list and we wish you well.

12/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March of this year (2014) I enrolled in the Permaculture Certification Program and paid tuition in full at the time of enrollment ($290). I received an email explaining that the Program involves completing three steps - watching video lessons, completing a design project, and passing a multiple choice exam. The video lessons are recorded lectures that were already available for free online (The Open Permaculture School). I was not contacted with any other supplemental materials or support. Instead, I continued to receive emails selling me more DVD's, books, etc. I found the lectures worthwhile, so I decided to continue and completed watching the video lessons. I contacted ********** the director? asking for instructions for the next step. All I got was a short email with links to some examples of other people's designs. I am still not sure how to proceed, and my time limit for completion is almost up. I sent an email asking if a refund was possible. ********* responded with an email saying there is a strict non-refund policy (I didn't read the fine print, my fault) and that my account would be turned over to a collections agency. He obviously didn't bother to check that my account was prepaid in full! I have found the service from this organization both lacking and inappropriate. He should have asked how he could help me successfully complete my Certification and improve my experience as a student, not threaten me with legal action! I am very disappointed with this response. I have been studying and practicing permaculture principles for more than 30 years and was looking forward to interacting with others doing this work - not paying $300 and being ignored.

Desired Settlement: I would greatly appreciate a full refund as I have received no products or services other than the video lessons which are available to anyone free online through the Open Permaculture School, which is part of the Regenerative Leadership Institute.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/11) */ Ms. As we have previously advised you, Section 9 of the Course Policies and Liability Waivers (https://www.regenerative.com/policies-and-waivers) to which you agreed, states very clearly our refund policy: Section 9: Course fees are due (and earned) in full at time of application. Irrevocable authorization is given to charge any course-related fees to credit card(s) provided, at any time and without advance notice. Participant agrees to pay any costs associated with any collection action as deemed necessary at the sole discretion of Regenerative Leadership Institute. Chargebacks are subject to a $225/hour research fee with a 2 hour minimum, plus legal and collection costs. No refunds are provided under any circumstances, and payment plans cannot be cancelled. In the case of rescheduling of a course by the Regenerative Leadership Institute, the participant will be provided with a course transfer credit valid for one year. Transfers between programs or participants are provided strictly at the sole discretion of Regenerative Leadership Institute, with a minimum transfer fee of $200.00 per person. All course logistics, dates, schedules and details are subject to change without notice or refund. Thank you and have a great day! Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/11/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We have been in contact by email and have found a mutually agreeable solution. Thank you.

8/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RLI, after repeated requests, has not unsubscribed me from their mailing list. They have an unpleasant and pushy advertising style, respected Permaculture leaders disavow them,and I dislike their obvious lack of understanding as to the nature of Permaculture. I also distrust their implied claim to be part of the Regenerative Design Institute. I just want to stop receiving their email. I have followed all online directions to do that repeatedly. The following review from Permaculture sources I trust is online under "reviews of Regenerative Leadership Institute": Concerning the Regenerative Leadership Institute, American Permaculture Association, Common Circle Education, and any other Permaculture organization managed by ********* ********. Due to numerous complaints we have received regarding the Regenerative Leadership Institute, Common Circle Education, the American Permaculture Association and its management, the undersigned cannot recommend their courses and will not recognize Permaculture Design Course certificates or accreditations provided by them. (RLI has no connection with the ****************************** an organization that we strongly support and recommend). (This statement has been reviewed by lawyers and does not qualify as defamation. All threats of lawsuits alleging libel and slander are baseless. We have extensive documentation to support this statement.) *************************************************** ****** ********** WA **** ****** OR ************************************************ ****** ********* OR ******************************************************************************************************************** ***** ******* WA Lost Valley, OR ****** ****** The **** ********** ******** ******* TN http://*********************************** *********** ******** **** ******** ******** **** , Belize ******* ******** ****** ****** ****** for *********** ******* NY ***** ****** ***** ********* Costa Rica

Desired Settlement: I want to be removed from all mailing lists generated by Regenerative Leadership Institute and/or ********* ********. They are offensive to me; after the repeated efforts I have made to be removed, my continued receipt of emails from these sources constitutes harrassment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/11) */ Ms. *****, You appear to be attempting to libel our corporate brands, and we take such statements very seriously. With over 150,000 enrolled students, we are the largest provider of permaculture education in the world; and in fact we're exponentially larger than the entire US permaculture community combined. The statement you are referencing is a blatant scam orchestrated by one of our competitors, and it is subject to on-going litigation. The one and only reason you are receiving our marketing is because on 06/21/2013 you signed up for our free online course and thus obviously gave us permission to send you information about that course. Second, every single marketing message we send out contains an unsubscribe link at the bottom of the message. Simply following that link and entering your e-mail address removes you from our list, as I have just done on your behalf. Your claim that you have made repeated requests to be removed from our list is absolutely blatantly false and amounts to libel. If you wish to discuss this matter further, we are happy to refer you to the attorney who represents our corporation and our brands in matters of libel and defamation. Should you proceed to make false claims against our brand, we will seek to enforce fully our rights under the applicable law. Have a good day. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/07/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I used the unsubscribe link repeatedly and it never accomplished anything. As a lawyer and a judge, I would be happy to talk with your corporate lawyer re libel and defamation. However, all I have ever sought is to be unsubscribed. If that has now been accomplished, I am relieved to be free of corporate permaculture.

6/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am extremely disappointed with both the product provided and the poor customer service when I contacted the Regenerative Leadership Institute to provide my feedback. The training videos I received as part of the permaculture certification course I purchased online are unprofessional and of abysmal quality. They are disorganized, unedited home videos of individuals speaking incoherently about what they call "permaculture", quite different from the professionally edited promotional video which includes music, animation, and clear, coherent content presented in an organized manner. I searched and quickly found that there have been numerous complaints filed against this company and its management. The company itself has been discredited and the very certification I seek is not recognized or accredited due to the poor quality and negative reputation that this company has earned.

Desired Settlement: I have notified my credit card company to cease all future installments for the online permaculture certification course. I have notified the company by email that I have withdrawn from the permaculture certification program effective immediately. I will return the videos to the company address once I receive confirmation in writing that no further payments will be processed and it will NOT go to collections or small claims court.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/20) */ Thank you for reaching out to us with your concerns. At the time you signed up for the Permaculture Design Certificate Program with us, you agreed to a very clear no-refund policy. We intend to vigorously enforce the terms of that policy, through collections and litigation as necessary. With over 100,000 enrolled students, the Regenerative Leadership Institute is not only larger than any other permaculture school globally, but we're actually larger than the entire US permaculture community combined. The "non-recognition" point you mention is a blatant scam orchestrated by several competitors of ours. Our certification meets and exceeds international standards and norms, and we are yet to see any graduate of ours not having their certificate recognized. Should that happen, we certainly intend to litigate. The issue of "complaints" is also blatantly false given that our actual ratio of complaints is actually very tiny considering the huge student base, and our rating with the Better Business Bureau proves that point very clearly. Please know that it is the policy of this corporation to litigate false and libelous claims made against our corporate brands. Lastly, we reject any claims of quality control issues with our programs. You have been provided lectures on DVD by some of the world's top permaculture educators. The quality of the content is unparalleled. Please understand that as per the contract into which you entered at the time you signed up, you agreed to pay us $225/hour for any chargebacks filed with a 2 hour minimum per chargeback. You also agreed to compensate us for any collection and legal fees we incur should we be unable to collect the payment owed. We do turn over all unpaid accounts to a partner collections agency, and we also do file small claims lawsuits in order to collect the debts owed, with any and all fees and costs added to the balance due. It is thus our position that you are attempting to defraud our corporation. You have agreed to pay us for the exact product and service we have delivered to you, and we expect you to honor the promise you have made.

4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The online site represented the DVD Permaculture Course in a positive light. I received them today, started to review them. They are very poor quality (lighting, sound, people walking in front of the camera) and have the instructor lecture sitting down with his notes in front of him, when he diagrams on the dry erase board it is not clear for the viewers to see. When I contacted them via phone ( answering service) email, and online message the response was that they never refund and basically they don't agree.

Desired Settlement: Review there business practice, and I would like a full refund $245. (18 DVD)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/18) */ *** *****, As we have advised you through e-mail previously, we disagree with your claims. We have over 100,000 enrolled students in our course without any major issues. In fact, you are also enrolled in the online program and had access prior to purchasing the DVD set to the very same content online on our website. While we do not offer any kind of trial (as per the terms of on the order page, all sales are final), as a measure of good will, we are happy to extend a $100 discount (not to be combined with any other offers) off the certification, should you choose to pursue that with us in the future. Thank you and have a great day!

3/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The RLI is advertising a permaculture design certificate (pdc), which is recognized by the permaculture community. The product they offer is not recognized by the permaculture community as represented by this site: http://permacultureactivist.net/RegenerativeLeadership-CommonCircle-AmericanPermacultureAssoc.htm . This misrepresentation makes their offer of a pdc, for any price, completely dishonest. After calling and asking for information on their advertised instructors and other advertised services, I was told that all of the information requested was available on their website. It was not. After confronting them with this claim, I was told that RLI could not meet my needs, yet their website claims that they can. I need to get my certification, yet RLI cannot provide what they promise.

Desired Settlement: I want them to provide a pdc course to me at the advertised price of $495 with an instructor of my choosing and with all materials recommended by that instructor to insure that the certificate is universally recognized.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/26) */ *** *********, The webpage you reference is a blatant scam orchestrated by a competitor of ours. We are the largest provider of permaculture education in the world with over 100,000 enrolled students. As we have advised you in our e-mail to you, we do not wish to have you as our customer. If you have any further questions, we would be happy to put you in touch with our corporate attorney. We wish you all the best.

2/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They showed on website a price of $249 if sign up within 7 days, which I did, but they charged $340 on Credit Card. I contacted them and they said they would correct, but did not. I again contacted them and said cancel course and they said they did not make refunds. They claim to be A+ rated by BBB.

Desired Settlement: Full refund and cancel online course.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/27) */ Mr. ******, As per our previous e-mails, it appear that you are confused. We have not marketed the Permaculture Design Certificate program (www.regenerative.com/certificate) at the $245 rate you are citing; rather that is the sale rate is for the DVD set we offer (www.regenerative.com/dvd). The order form is very clear with a checkbox (which you checked) stating "I want to start my learning journey right now! I authorize Regenerative Leadership Institute, Inc. to bill my credit card the non-refundable tuition of $340.00 and get me started on my certification!" As per the order form, we do not offer refunds, in order to keep your tuition as low as possible. Note that the regular rate for the Certificate program is $425 and you signed up under a promotional discount for just $340, which is a fraction of what our competitors charge for the same program. If you have simply ordered the wrong product, and wanted to order the DVD set, we would be happy to ship you with the DVD set instead and offer a refund of $95 ($340 - $245). Otherwise, for the certification we do not offer any refunds, as per the terms to which you agreed, clearly spelled out on the order form where you entered your credit card details. Please let us know if you were intending to order the DVD set, and if so, we'd happily offer you the refund of $95 and ship you a DVD set! Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/02/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It does not appear to be factually correct. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/02/04) */ Mr. ******, I apologize for the confusion surrounding your order. We sent you an incorrect e-mail response originally as we had assumed you were talking about a DVD order, based on the price you noted, rather than the certification. The lowest pricing we currently offer on the certification is $290 (the $249 rate was for the DVD set, not the certification - which are separate options). If you'd like, we'd be happy to give you a credit of $375 - $290 = $85 as a one-time courtesy. Please let us know if that would be an acceptable solution for you!

2/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After having spoken with RGI, they have admitted to having "changed the wording" of their offer AFTER my complaint to them. The site had offered Permaculture Design Certification Course, the "complete course", online, for "completely free" and "no catch". However, they admit to a catch. They aren't provideing the course "completely free", they are only offering the MATERIALS for the course free of charge. They demand/require a payment to take your certification exams and get your certificate. Therefore, they have NOT offered the "complete course" for "completely free" and "no catch". When I questioned them, a gentleman got back to me and explained, in his own words, "The course lectures are offered COMPLETELY FREE. There is no catch. We do offer an OPTIONAL Permaculture Design Certificate Program as a paid service that includes a design project audited by an instructor plus an examination. The certification fees help fund further development of the course." I have screen shots of the website from BEFORE their edits, but as well, their website STILL offers this course "completely free", and clearly states "Complete 72+ Hour Permaculture Design Certificate Course" as what is being offered for free. It does NOT state anywhere on the site that this is JUST for materials for the course, and that you need to pay for the certification. Their own wording indicates they are offering their Certificate Course for free, meaning at completion the certification should be free as promised, and not a surprise email saying they want money for certification. The emails I have received in regards to my inquiry to their false promise/advertisement have been unsatisfactory, with them saying that they require payment, and then saying they have "changed their wording" on the site, even going so far as to say "We have adjusted the website language to make this more clear, however we have never advised the *certification* as included - only the certificate course, which is the content required for obtaining the certification, contrary to your claims." Even with their edits, they do NOT make it clear that the certification, which is the COMPLETION process of a certificate course, would cost money. Why would ANYONE take a certificate program if they did not intend to gain certification? Their ad is misleading, and is an example of deceptive advertising.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking what I enrolled for, the FREE COMPLETE PERMACULTURE CERTIFICATE COURSE, which would INCLUDE the certification as part of their advertised "completely free", "no catch" offer, which is naturally the ONLY reasonable expectation for completion of the course. You don't complete a certificate course without having the certification included.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/01/09) */ *** ******, Thank you again for contacting the Regenerative Leadership Institute, the nation's sustainable living and design school. We appreciate your inquiry and are thrilled to have the opportunity to more fully address your concerns. As we have previously explained, we offer the full Permaculture Design Certificate Course online completely free of charge. What that means is that the course is offered without any strings or fees. We separately offer the Certification Service as a paid upgrade service for a $425 fee (this service includes a design project + examination guided by one of our advisors). Contrary to your suggestions otherwise, we have never marketed or promoted the certification as being free; only the course content itself. As per our past communication with you, we have added a sentence on our homepage to specifically note that "optional internationally-standard certification is also available as a paid service." As a socially responsible educational corporation deeply committed to ethical and fair marketplace practices, we actively work to ensure clarity in our advertising. We do however also want to make very clear that we have never marketed or promoted the certification as being free. We appreciate your support of our world-changing work, and are thrilled to extend a courtesy $100 discount on certification! Just contact our customer care team when you are ready to move to the certification, and just note this e-mail exchange and we'll happily apply the credit to your account. Thanks again for contacting the Regenerative Leadership Institute and have a great day! Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/01/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Its not worth arguing with this less-than-reputable organization any longer. I will never recommend this organization, Regenerative Leadership Institute, to ANYONE. They feel as though they can "weasel" their way out of an obligation by continually twisting their own words and stating "we never really promised that service in our free offer", but clearly they committed what is known as deceptive advertising. I am done with this complaint, because Regenerative Leadership Institute has clearly shown that they lack business integrity, constantly claiming their course to be worth more than it actually is (Most courses I have looked up are in the $900 to $1,100, which includes a COMPREHENSIVE course AND certification), and then claiming "we only promised the materials", which is not the case. They clearly stated "Complete 72 Hour Permaculture Certificate Course for free", and when they are caught in their own lie, they make claims otherwise and change their website. Wording is wording, and I have screen shots of what was advertised when I applied. When you advertise something as "complete", then it should be offered as "complete", and not just partial. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/01/30) */ Mr. ******, Thank you again for contacting the Regenerative Leadership Institute, the nation's sustainable living and design school. We're thrilled you have chosen to reach out with your questions! Once again, nowhere in our marketing did we promise you the actual certification free of charge; rather what we offer and deliver is the course content without fee -- and of course it is notable that other places charge upwards of $2k for the very same content which we have given you free! We once again re-affirm our offer of a $100 discount off the tuition for the program; and we certainly encourage you to seek other additional training as may best fit your needs. Thanks again for your inquiry. Have a great day!


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Regenerative Leadership Institute
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)