BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Platinum Interchange

Phone: (800) 854-2324 Fax: (714) 630-2029 View Additional Phone Numbers 4025 E La Palma Ave #101, Anaheim, CA 92807 http://www.platinuminterchange.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers real estate and timeshare services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Platinum Interchange meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Platinum Interchange include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Platinum Interchange
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: Business started: 04/18/1972 in CA Business started locally: 04/18/1972 Business incorporated: 04/18/1972 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd, Sacramento CA 95815
http://bre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: 1 (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8641
The license number is 01075544.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Lynn Hall, Complaint Handler
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Lynn Hall, Complaint Handler
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Vacation Time Share Timeshare Companies

Alternate Business Names
Tricom Management Tricom Management Inc
Industry Tips
Timeshare Resale

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (714) 970-7013(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Aug 24,2013 I made an agreement with Platinum Interchange, Agent *******, to exchange a 1 bedroom times share I had on deposit with them for a 2 bedroom timeshare at the Windham, Flagstaff, Az. The date form the week at Windham is Aug 2, 2014. At the time ******* suggested I could trade the one bedroom on deposit for the two bedroom timeshare at Windham by paying an upgrade fee, which I paid. I discussed with her my one bedroom on deposit was a "bonus week" and had some qualifying features. She assured me it was OK and proceeded with the transaction, sending me a written confirmation and collecting my fee. Now I learn they will not honor that transaction and have arbitrarily taken the two bedroom I had on deposit and did not even discuss it with me. They refuse to honor the original deal.I think California consumer law will require them to honor this transaction as it was made in good faith by both parties. I did offer a compromise but they refuse even though there is no monetary loss. Product_Or_Service: timeshare exchange Order_Number: *********3 Account_Number: *********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want them to honor an agreement made in good faith by both parties.Since Platinum Interchange can only be a winner by honoring this transaction I do not understand their action.

Business Response:

Ms. *****,

I spoke with Mr. ******* today regarding complaint #******* which involved a vacation deposit and exchange he made through Platinum Interchange in 2013. Platinum Interchange refunded an upgrade fee of $97.00 back in October of 2013, and when we spoke today Mr. ******* told me he had put the issue behind him quite a while ago. He said he lodged the complaint with the BBB because he just wanted to hear from someone in a position of authority at Platinum Interchange. As the Reservations Manager for PI I was happy to speak to him. I explained to him that I joined the company last December and was unaware of this issue until we received the email from the BBB over the weekend. He was very pleased to hear from me. I also sent him an email detailing the remaining weeks he has on deposit with Platinum Interchange so he can start planning some more trips. Mr. ******* now has my name, phone number and email address and I have asked him to contact me in the future if he has any questions or concerns. Mr. ******* told me he had a long history of working with Platinum Interchange and was very happy with our Vacation Counselors and the service they have provided over the years. He thanked me for calling him and we ended the call. I am very pleased with the way our conversation went, and I am confident there will be no further complaints from Mr. ******* regarding this issue.

Sincerely,

****** ** *******

Reservations Manager

Platinum Interchange

BBB's Final Determination: Business resolved the complaint issues, but not within BBB's timeframe. The complainant did not acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

1/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I won a unit at Palm Springs Tennis Club and have paid my maintenance fees but they will not allow me to book a reservation for Oct 18, 2014. They referred my account to a collection agency and I provided them with cashed checks not applied to my account. I asked for an update I spent a lot of time I should not have needed to and the info has been lost neither the collection agency or Tricom got back to me now they are asking me to start all over again. I feel I should be able to make my reservation and get an account statement and some sort of credit for my wasted time

Desired Settlement: credit to my account and make a reservation

Business Response:

     Mr. ***** owns a timeshare at the Palm Springs Tennis Club (PSTC) and is responsible to pay annual maintenance fees.  The owner’s association allows for quarterly installments which are due on or before the first day of each quarter; Oct 1st, Jan 1st, Apr 1st, & Jul 1st.  Pursuant to the Palm Springs Tennis Club collection policy, owners are invoiced thirty days prior to the due date, and then given a fifteen day grace period before receiving a late charge.  A past due notice is mailed after 16 days past due, then a 2nd past due notice if the account remains unpaid for an additional 15 days.  If left unpaid the account then transfers to a collection agency and then foreclosure.

     Mr. ***** paid current for the April 2013 quarter then the next payment received was six months later on September 25, 2013.  When the July payment was not received, two past due notices were mailed at the appropriate times per the PSTC collection policy.  September 4, 2013 Mr. ***** wrote on one of the collection notices that he paid.   On September 24, 2013 during a phone conversation, we Let Mr. ***** know again that the last payment received was April 2, 2013, asked for the check number(s) and if it (they) cleared,  and Mr. ***** said that he would need to look into it.  November 12, 2013 the account started the preliminary stages of the foreclosure process due to non payment and lack of proof of payment.  December 24, 2013 Mr. ***** tried to make a reservation and was denied due to the status of the balances.  We asked for the check number and date cleared so that additional research could be done and Mr. ***** said that he sent it to the collections office but didn't receive a reply, and that he would not provide it again.  January 3, 2014 we placed the account on hold for additional research and then January 6, 2014 we verified with the operations director of the collection agency that they did not receive the backup that Mr. ***** claimed to have sent.  January 6, 2014 left a voice mail message for Mr. ***** to ask for the check number, amount paid, and date cleared, and as of yet we have not received a reply.

     At this time, the Association is willing to give Mr. ***** the benefit of the doubt and credit him for the July 2013 installment payment in the amount of $170.55 with the request that he provide a copy of the front and back of the negotiated check that he told us was cashed.  Additionally, the Association will reverse the $350.00 in late charges, collection fees, and preliminary foreclosure costs that were assessed to the account so that Mr. ***** can make a reservation.  The Association will give Mr. ***** until April 1, 2014 to provide the Association with a copy of the negotiated check (front and back).  If the requested documentation is not received within the three months provided then the good faith credit that was issued in the amount of $170.55 and the $350.00 of costs, fees, and charges, will all be returned to the account and the Palm Springs Tennis Club will continue with the collection process if left unpaid at that time.  Mr. ***** also needs to pay $177.37, or provide the same backup as listed above for, January’s payment as well.  The current installment that was due on January 1, 2014 is now past due.

    In summary, Mr. ***** has not provided the Association or the Collection Agency with proof of payment of any kind and is currently past due for the January 2014 maintenance fees as well.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1