BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

This Business is not BBB accredited

Pinnacle Tax and Financial Services

Additional Locations

Phone: (877) 870-1656 7535 Irvine Center Dr #200, Irvine, CA 92618

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers tax preparation services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Pinnacle Tax and Financial Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Failure to have a required competency license.
  • Failure to respond to 49 complaints filed against business
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

55 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 39 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 51
Total Closed Complaints 55

Additional Complaint Information

Many consumers allege they hire the company to help lower their taxes or help with tax preparation. The consumers allege they pay a fee of at least $2500 for these services. Consumers allege the company does not follow through with the services they were hired for. Consumers claim they have not received a refund for the company's failure to complete the services they were hired for. The company has not responded to any complaints from the BBB. The BBB attempted to contact the company in regards to this complaint but the company did not respond.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Pinnacle Tax and Financial Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: Business started: 09/01/2010 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Tax Education Council
Post Office Box 2890, Sacramento CA 95812
http://www.ctec.org
Phone Number: (877) 850-2832
On 7/22/2014 BBB confirmed that Pinnacle Tax and Financial Services had not obtained a necessary license from California Tax Education Council.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Michael Hernandez
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Hernandez
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Tax Return Preparation Taxes - Consultants & Representatives

Alternate Business Names
Pinnacle Tax & Financial Services Pinnacle Tax and Financial Group Inc Tax Network of America
Industry Tips
Identity Theft

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    100 Pacifica #305

    Irvine, CA 92618 (949) 682-0184 (877) 870-1656 (949) 204-0700

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7535 Irvine Center Dr #200

    Irvine, CA 92618

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/31/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid Pinnacle Tax service to represent me with a debt with an IRS tax debt. They required fax them my personal information such as bank info, pay stubs, mortgage bills and etc. I faxed this information to them 4 times before they could locate it. I expressed my concern of faxing such confidential informtion and them not being able to locate it. Their reply was they have it but it goes to different sources but could I fax it again. I also had problems with communicating with them. When I would call I would finally get a representative that would say that they're waiting for information from me that they had already confirmed they received. My representative changed several times. One of them explained she was working while having pregnacy complications and was overwhelmed and sorry about no one communicating with me and not being able to locate my paperwork but she would be my rep and make sure I'm taken care of. She said on another occasion that my paperwork was on the desk of the attorney to be reviewed that paticular week and she would be contacting me but that never hapened. Then I received a from another representative that said the company had been in transition and she would be assisting me. She asked me to send my paperwork again and advised that they did have it but it needed to be updated when I asked why was I sending the same stuff over and over. She advised that this was necessary for the attorney to review. I understood updating information like check stubs and bank staements but EVERYTHING again! She started to enquire about my last 2 payments. I told her that it has been over a and I haven't had any results so why should I pay another dime? She assured me that the attorney was looking at my paperwork but about a week later asked me to sign ANOTHER form stating that they are representing me, so at this point I knew they hadn't done anything on my behalf in all that time. They sent me a notice saying that my balance had been paid. Then I reeived an email informing me that I needed to send them updated paperwork for the attoney to review to present to the IRS and they needed it asap. Shortly after this they sent me some paperwork that had my name as Mr ............ that appeared to be what they were going to file on my behalf, so I called and emailed them to let them know I had concerns because my name was not a MR and some things were not accurate so I had questions before signing. I never got an email or response back. When I called I got a recording asking me to leave a message. I'm awrae that these issuses take time to resolve but sadly it never got resolved. They did send me papers saying that they had completed my case and were no longer responsible for assisting me any further since I failed to return the information they requested. I do not have this kind of money to give away to be treated this way after doing everything possible to accommodate them for almost 2 years. However, I do know that they were getting my messages because they sent me some new papers with the MR changed to MS but NEVER responded to my calls or concerns of the misinformation I discoved and needed to discuss before signing. This is the short version of what took place. There are several other unacceptable things that transpired. Nevertheless, I lost thousands of dollars and in over a years time the IRS had never heard from them, even after I signed the 1st form to give them the rights to represent me. This should not be, when you pay hard earned money for a service. Especially dealing with the IRS which is a major issue and already stressful enough in trying to resolve. I'm not looking for anything extra other than to get the service I paid for and to prevent others from experiencing the same thing. Transitioning and changing your name is fine but don't drop the ball on your existing customers that have been extremly patient.

Desired Settlement: To take responsibility and finish the job or refund me my money.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 22, 2012 I hired Pinnacle Tax and Financial Services to establish an installment plan between the Internal Revenue Service and myself to pay the back taxes I owed. I paid Pinnacle $5,200.00 total, in three (3) installments. My contact person at Pinnacle was **** ******. **** was extremely diligent and he kept me informed as to my case's progress at all times. He was also very helpful in answering all my questions and in explaining what I needed to do. The last time I spoke with **** was in the middle of December. At that time he told me that he would inform me when anything pertaining to my case happened. Unfortunately he was hit by a car on December 21, 2012, and although he was technically still employed by Pinnacle through the middle of January, 2013, he did not have access to his computer (Pinnacle changed his log-in password so he could not log in to his email address). He also could not get the messages from his work phone. Therefore he did not get any of the emails of phone messages I left. From that point on all communication with Pinnacle ceased. Sometimes when I would call Pinnacle there was no answer at all and at other times there was a voice-mail that I would leave my name and telephone number on, asking for a return call, but none ever came. Finally **** ****** was able to use his work CELL PHONE (not his work phone at Pinnacle), and heard my cry for help as I had received another levy notice from the IRS. By this time I had paid Pinnacle in full and they didn't even return my phone calls. In my opinion this is stealing. One time when I called Pinnacle they actually had the nerve to transfer me to **** ******'s voice-mail, although they knew he wasn't there. On January 21, 2013 *** ******* (the attorney from Pinnacle who represented me) actually did take my call. He told me that I should never have been transferred to **** ****** the first place and informed me that ****** ***** was my caseworker. He also apologized profusely and strongly implied that Pinnacle had "dropped the ball". He then told me that ****** ***** would call me on Tuesday, January 22, 2013 without fail. ****** ***** did not call even though I was promised that he would call. I left three(3) email messages for Mr. ******* telling him that ****** ***** had not called. I also called him and left him messages saying the same thing. One time when I called, a woman named Rose answered the phone bit refused to transfer me to Mr. *******. Finally, on Friday, January 25, 2013 ****** ***** called me. He asked me to provide him with certain things that I had provided long ago but Pinnacle was asking for again, as a stall tactic. I had requested from Mr. ******* that he provide me with the case logic of all the conversations Pinnacle had with the IRS regarding my case, since I know Pinnacle is required to make written copies of all such conversations and that I am entitled to the case logic. Instead he sent me an email telling me about a couple of conversations with the IRS he may or may not have had. I say this because in a separate email he sent me he said that the IRS had set a deadline date for him to file on my behalf, of February 4, 2013. I later found out that this was a lie, that no such date had been ever been set by the IRS. Less than one week later someone from Pinnacle, who would only identify himself as ***** from Pinnacle, called and told me that **** ****** had been actively calling Pinnacle's clients (another time Pinnacle lied to me) and soliciting business from them. He gave me the telephone number of John ****, who was the Compliance Manager, and told me I should contact Mr. ****. Soon after that Pinnacle Tax and Financial Services closed its' doors and left me hanging. Therefore I am filing this complaint with the Better Business Bureau against Pinnacle Tax and Financial Services.Sincerely, ******* *********Product_Or_Service: Tax Resolution

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) DesiredSettlementID: RefundTo Whom It May Concern,Please read my letter. I hired this company to perform a service and they did nothing. I am requesting a full and immediate refund. This has caused me so much grief and a greater liability and financial hardship. I attempted to call them numerous times and had no return calls. They were more than happy to take my money but did nothing. Once again, please read my letter, it is very detailed.

Business Response:

A full review of the Plaintiff’s file shows no active Contract (or documented Client file with the Plaintiff’s contact information and services purchased), outside of a very basic “lead information” NOTE from the Defendant’s Sales-floor portal.  As a consequence, the Defendant believes that the Plaintiff may have contacted the office, but did not follow-through with any Contracted services with the Defendant.  Stated differently, the Defendant is unable to verify any allegation made by Plaintiff--- related to the specifics of the Complaint--- due to the non-existence of ANY documentation contracted for services rendered.   As a consequence, the Defendant is forced to deny all allegations made against it, due to the absence of any record.

Therefore, the BBB should view the Plaintiff-Client’s filed Complaint with some skepticism, based on a complete lack of useful documentation (related to any Plaintiff contracted-for services or payment schedule), and find on behalf of the Defendant-Business.

                             

Respectfully,

 -****** B. *****, Compliance Director

  AUTHORITY TAX SERVICES, LLC.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******* *********

 

I detailed my reasons why in a separate email I sent you.  My original complain was against Pinnacle Tax and Financial Services who did NOTHING!!!  The reason Authority Tax is involved is that THE OWNER of Pinnacle closed his doors and re-opened as a PARTNER in Authority Tax.  He did this to numerous people I found out as a way of avoiding re-paying contracts he did not fulfill.  Since he is PART OWNER of Authority Tax, either the company or him personally should be responsible to pay the debt.


As I had stated in my original complaint, the complaint was filed against Pinnacle Tax and Financial Services.  The reason that Authority Tax was contacted by you is that Pinnacle NEVER did anything! (see my complaint) and then closed their doors, HOWEVER the owner of Pinnacle partnered with Authority Tax and opened a business under that name, yet the owner of Pinnacle should be responsible.  He did this to many people I found out and this is just an attempt by him to avoid repaying his debt.
 
It was a bogus move and he knew that there would be no contract with Authority Tax, yet either the company he is now part owner of, or he personally, should be held responsible.
 
Thank You,
 
******* *********

 

Business Response:

April 16, 2014

 

FROM:   ****** B. *****, Compliance Director

               AUTHORITY TAX SERVICES, LLC

               7535 Irvine Center Dr., Ste. 200

               Irvine, CA  92618

RE:  ******* *********__*******

To the Bureau,

 

   The Defendant-Business holds firm behind its
prior Response to Complaint, believing that the Plaintiff may have contacted the office at some point in time, but did not Contract with the Defendant.  Stated differently, the Defendant is unable to verify any allegation made by Plaintiff--- related to the specifics of the filed Complaint.

Thank you.

                            Respectfully,

                               -****** B. *****, Compliance Director,

                                 AUTHORITY TAX SERVICES, LLC.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******* *********

The answer they give is baloney but I am not surprised.  This is the way owner of Pinnacle Tax ( a partner in Authority Tax) is going to avoid paying me the money I am rightfully owed.  Therefore I feel that Authority Tax is as much of a scam company as Pinnacle was since he is one of the owners and he is a scam artist who just wants to take people's money without doing the work that is promised.  I repeat AUTHORITY TAX IS A SCAM!!!

 

Regards,

 

******* *********

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company took my money and promised to settle my IRS debt for me, i worked with them for 2 years and paid them $6000 and they have basically done nothing to resolve my issue. They made a bogus offer to the IRS of $100 one time and then they never did anything else. They claim they asked for papers we never sent them but this is not true. i scanned and sent them everything they asked for within a days time and still no progress. I would like a full refund as they could not do what was promised.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to fully refund my money as they did not do their service on my behalf.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted this firm on 06/2013to help me with some EDD problems we paid them $6000 from $12,500 fee for their services after 3 months they had done nothing for us not even contacting EDD to let them know that they were representing me. I have been asking them for my money back for almost a year now, they keep ignoring my calls I even went to the office to try to talk to a supervisor but I was ingnored I keep sending e-mails but they refused to do anything or to even talk to me the person that I signed the contract with and promised to help me was **** ******* senior Tax Advisor during all this time he has refused to speak with us I dont know what to do I feel that they just took my money this is plain robbery I need information on how to proceed I feel that becasue they are attorneys they feel untouchable and thats why they are getting away with stealing my money. at one point they told me that a compliant officer was going to contact me that never happened. I really need my money back please help me to have this people take responsability and give me the services that they promised their customer service is horrible I am basically begging for attention to this matter but they keep ingnoring me. I dont understand how a company like this can be accredited buy the BBB. thank you for your attention to this matter.sincerely, **** ******

Desired Settlement: I really need my money back, this could help me pay 3 months of my mortgage or pay for my kids tuition and books for a semester.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1. Deceptive Advertise practice and verbal communication over the phone promises that they can assist in lowering IRS debt2. Intimidation by Financial Officer for an additional $500 or they would drop my case3. Poor communication constantly changing representation without my knowledge4. Failure to communicate with IRS in a timely fashion5. Failure to complete correspondence and communication with IRS after IRS outreach 6. Dropped account with no notification 7. Deception that Pinnacle would act on my behalf with IRS agents

Desired Settlement: Return of $4000 from my account so that I can use another company

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello,Pinnacle Tax Services was contracted to negotiate a tax settlement with the IRS. However, it appears once they collected the full amount of money from our agreement they stopped communicating with me in spite of my numerous attempts to contact them by phone and email they have not been responsive in fashion for over the last 5 months.My last communication was with one of there representatives named *****. She requested I provide info that I'd already supplied, I did supply the request data/info and I have not had any success in speaking or receiving electronic communication since November of 2013. This is very disturbing as I recently contacted the IRS and they stated they had not communicated with anyone from Pinnacle Tax Services since January of 2013.Pinnacle Tax Services appears to have not only taken my hard earned money but deceived me in gaining false hopes of reducing my tax obligation. Pinnacle appears to be preying on elderly citizens by creating false hopes. Not only have they created false hopes, they have managed to make my situation with the IRS worse. Pinnacle Tax Service appears to falsely advertise as they have not assisted me improve my tax situation.AS a society we should not allow these type of activities to continue. I first heard of Pinnacle on the radio which in the future I know to be untrue that by being on the radio and paying public broadcast insured that the establishment/business was ligament, I know now that is a far cry from the truth! Consumers be aware Pinnacle Tax Service contracted with me and took my money made false promises and what I got in returned was deeper in debt with the IRS and over 6 thousand out of pocket to Pinnacle Tax Service.Why are such companies, if you want to call them a company allowed to take advantage of the general public? If I'm wrong I'll apologize, however, why would Pinnacle Tax Service just cut off communication and what I believe black ball my telephone number?Pinnacle Tax Service are you a ligament business?

Desired Settlement: I would like Pinnacle Tax Service to write an apology to the IRS for delaying my case and to place a genuine effort in settling my tax dispute. If they are unwilling to pursue the above I would like a refund for the full amount of our agreement plus 20 percent.

Business Response: ******* ***** did not pay Pinnacle Tax and Financial Services ( PTFS) $6000.00 as he claimed, but rather he paid $2400.00). PTFS is still servicing his account and trying to determine the best resolution based on his current circumstances. 

 
Further, PTFS had questions about Mr. *****'s financials and tax compliance and are working to address those issues with Mr. *****. In furtherance of that effort, PTFS called Mr. ***** recently, but he did not answer the phone, so PTFS had to leave a message for him asking for a call back to us.
 
We will continue to follow up with Mr. ***** in an effort to find the best resolution to his back tax debt.
 
Thank you,

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid Pinnacle Tax and Financial Services $7000 to resolve my federal and state IRS taxes, and that has not been done. It's been about a year since I made my final payment and since I submitted all the required paperwork, and they've done nothing on my case. They claim that they have -reviewed my file- but that's about all they've done. My case has been transferred to a number of workers. So each time when I was able to contact someone, I would be given to another caseworker and told that that was the reason my calls weren't being returned...because I was calling the wrong worker. I was patient for months, but have been calling weekly and sometimes daily since about Sept 2013. I would constantly leave messages and no one would call me back. Since that time, I've talked with 4 different caseworkers, each saying they had been newly assigned my case and would get started working. When I would call to follow up, no return phone calls again. I was even told by 2 workers that I shouldn't expect my calls to be returned because they get way too many phone calls, and that they have cases significantly older than mine and so the attorney would have to put mine off until the others could be finished. Most recently I left messages with them, sent emails, and sent documentation regarding a garnishment against my paycheck and liens on my bank accounts. I explained that the lien was on my account for 2 months and that I could not go that long with no income (our paychecks are directly deposited into the bank so a lien on the account for 2 months prevents us from any income for the entire 2 months. They did nothing in response to our dire situation. So my husband was forced to file bankruptcy in order to get the lien lifted so we could have money. Bills being behind for 2 months is certainly bad, but not nearly as awful as not being able to buy groceries and gas for my family of 6. Now they say there's nothing they can do on my case since we've filed bankruptcy.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of all the money that I've paid.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Pinnacle Tax Financial Services and was told that they could resolve my IRS tax issue and complete in approx a 90 day time frame. After NOTHING was happening for over SIX months, I called in for progress and not one person was working on my file. I stumbled upon "authority Tax Services" when i dialed a different number from google. ****** informed me Pinnacle was "no longer" and authority took over March of 2013. Funny i got mail from them w/ a Pinnacle address label on it. It has now been a over 18 months. ****** told me they "acquired" pinnacles clients. in March of 2013.. said he "would walk my message over to ***** ***** desk (CEO) and have him call me that never happened! There is a "rip off report" stating that authority, pinnacle, and a few others operate under several names. Collect $$$$ and don't do a THING other than what H&R Block would charge $55-100 to do! I also referred a few other people to them who have been NOT helped in the same way!

Desired Settlement: Refund / Replacement

Business Response: Answer to ******* ***** BBB Complaint:

Failure to state a claim

The first issue is that ******* *****’s BBB complaint against PTFS fails for the failure to state a claim upon which sought after relief can be granted. There is no clarity as to what exactly the claim is. There is mention of a host of irrelevant facts that do not specifically relate to Mr. *****’s case, but ultimately it is unclear what his complaint is.

Here are the facts in this case:
1) The ***** and PTFS entered into a contractual relationship on or around 08/24/2012.
2) Mr. ***** paid PTFS $3300.00 n total fees in exchange for PTFS to perform compliance work, transcript analysis and resolution services. 
3) PTFS contacted the Internal Revenue Services (IRS) and performed the compliance work on behalf of ******* *****.
4) PTFS ordered transcripts and performed transcript analysis and financial analysis on the account.
5) PTFS also repeatedly serviced this account by way of case review, multiple telephone calls to and from client as well as emails.
6) PTFS also contacted the IRS ACS Collections and successfully resolved the ***** account by way of a Direct Debit Installment Agreement.
7) PTFS communicated to the ***** as to the final resolution on the account by way of telephone calls and closing letter/ notice to the client.

A fair interpretation of the facts in this case shows that PTFS performed to the terms of the contract. ***** became upset that the penalties that he incurred from an IRS audit of his 2009 tax return was not abated. PTFS explained to client that these were accuracy penalties that were incurred as a result of the audit of their tax returns. PTF attempted to abate the penalties, but the IRS rejected that request. 

Please dismiss this complaint that is filled with rumors and innuendos and false internet reports. These statements are irrelevant to the contractual relationship between ***** and PTFS and besides these internet rumors are uncorroborated and unsubstantiated. These statements are only meant to damage and injure PTFS.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Never completed services .changed case managers several times lost paperwork in those changes blamed me for it dropped my case after paying in full $2500.they do not return my calls or emails.this company is predatory they call you promise to help then they do nothing for years then they drop your case and blame client do not offer any refund .

Desired Settlement: Refund of all my money that they are trying to keep with no services rendered what so ever.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid Pinnacle Tax over $2400.00 to help me with my tax situation. They said they could help with my tax problem. At the time I asked for their help I had a payment arrangement with the IRS. I wanted Pinnacle tax to remove the interest and penalties from the amount I owed to IRS ($28,000).I figured the amount I would owe the IRS would be about $8,000 after penalties and interest removed. I received packet from them the other day stating they were done with my case. They said I did not supply necessary documents. They said an installment agreement is in my best interest. I already had an installment agreement with IRS before I contacted Pinnacle tax. They did absolutely nothing for the money I paid them.I mean ABSOLUTELY NOTHING !!! I still owe the same exact amount as when I paid for their services. I tried to contact them several times to no avail. I'm beginning to wonder if they closed up shop , and have changed their name. I went with there services because they had a good rating on BBB , now I see they have no rating. I feel I have been robbed of my very hard earned money , and prey BBB will help me out.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund for the amount I paid , or for them to do the job I paid them for. They said they could help , and they did ABSOLUTELY NOTHING.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

4/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Has been two years on going trying to get my tax issue resolved. Gave them a $600.00 deposit and have not done anything for me. I have contacted them several times and no one has gotten back to me. I believe this company is a crock of crap and really needs someone to come down on them. Made another phone call to them and I was told that someone would get back to me within 3 days. Well you know what this is totally wrong and I am done with this company.

Desired Settlement: I want my $600.00 deposit back because as far as I am concerned no one has done anything to help my case in settling my matter with the IRS.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

3/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company falsely advertised, representative supposedly assisting me quit I was told and that's why after two months she never helped me again, I emailed, called 14 times and more and was charged on my credit card when I didn't approved it, when they called I even stated on a recorded call that I would not pay for services not rendered. After continuing to call and complain I was told the representative ***** left the business and that it had been too long to assist me. They billed my credit card again without authorization and then sent me a letter they could not help me, please look into this business, I am concerned they are falsely advertising and frauding citizens of California. Thank you for your time.

Desired Settlement: Want clear and finite explanation, no lies and refund

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was notified by IRS of a mistake I made and that I owed them more than $11,000. I entered into an agreement to repay them. Then I received a telephone call from Pinnacle Tax and Financial. The representative said at the rate I was paying IRS I would never pay them off because of the interest and penalties. I was encouraged to let them help me lower my tax debt. I paid them $500 a month for five months ($2,500). I supplied them with all the information they requested -- over the phone and in writing. I have the receipt showing I did, indeed, mail everything to them. I was contacted a total of three times -- all about correcting my 2010 tax return. I was never contacted to supply additional information -- ever. Not by phone, mail or email. I also signed a power of attorney (POA) so they could speak with IRS on my behalf. I spoke with IRS agents and they assured me Pinnacle had been in touch and that everything was in negotiation. Every time I received correspondence from IRS I sent it to Pinnacle. Then I received a letter from IRS saying the POA had been rescinded (the first week of December 2013). I emailed Pinnacle and asked what was happening to my account and was told it had been closed because I had never sent in the information they needed. I was told I could resend everything in immediately and MAYBE they would open my case again. Easier said than done since I sent everything to them 18 - 20 months ago. And, I was not given enough time to get it all together. I told the representative I could not meet their time demands. Plus, knowing their track record with my account, I was not inclined to continue, hoping they might, in the end, hold up their part of the agreement. Over the last year and a half I was contacted only about the 2010 tax return "re-do" and again about eight months ago with a progress report. I was never told I needed to resend any documentation. In truth, I think my information was lost or misplaced.

Desired Settlement: I would like most of my money back as all they did really was send IRS a corrected 2010 tax return. I have reentered into an agreement with IRS and I am paying them monthly -- something I should have done from the beginning.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

2/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid a $4,000 fee to Pinnacle with the promise of an offer and settlement to reduce the amount I owed to the IRS. Pinnacle did stop the garnishment of my pay and filed my taxes for the years in question but did NOT execute the offer and settlement. They brokered a payment plan with the IRS and then closed my account without expediting the completion of the payment arrangement. They sent me a closing letter stating that the form 433-D I emailed to them was too dark and that I was to file it myself with the IRS - a process I have found unmanageable and unfair to put on me given the fee I had paid Pinnacle. I faxed them a new form, emailed them to and left voice mails with them stating that I did not accept their closing of my account since it has not been resolved but they ignored all of my attempts to communicate with them. I am asking them to make an more diligent effort at reducing my amount owed to the IRS as the payment plan is not one that I can afford, nor is the total owed to the IRS ($36K - mostly penalties, fees, and interest) something I can accept without a fair attempt at an offer and settlement. When I filed my taxes, I informed them that I had deductions from the years in question and I was advised by tax preparer that I should just sign the returns and then Pinnacle would revisit the tax returns taking into account my deductions. This never happened. If I had known that Pinnacle would not execute the offer and settlement, I would have simply used the $4,000 towards the amount owed to the IRS and set-up a payment plan myself.

Desired Settlement: I would like Pinnacle to re-open my filed, assist in filing the 433-D for with the IRS, re-file my taxes with appropriate deductions, and assume their due diligence to execute an offer and settlement with the IRS that significantly reduces the penalties and interest in the amount owed in back taxes.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

2/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract with this company to supply me with help lowing my taxes.Well I was told it would cost me 2,500 for this service,. Well I didn't receive this service. They called alot at first to assure me that everything was being handled.After they received all my money I didn't hear anything else. I called several times but no response. I contacted BBB several months ago and I tried to contact them again. At that point I was told they can't talk with me because I filed a complaint against them. Then in September I receive a letter from ****** ****** saying they just obtained my tax transcript but I'm not responding to their request of information from me. Well this was a complete joke. I filed the information they requested within the timeline I was given I also did a follow-up phone call. The person I spoke with was Mr. ******* to let him know this was the second time I've given this information. He in response, began yelling at me. I couldn't believe this was happening. I also informed him about the IRS garnishing my check for taxes.I was told by Mr. ******* if I recant my complaint they could help me. Didn't I pay for your services, and you ran off with my money. Why would I say that the matter has been resolved when it hasn't.

Desired Settlement: I never received the services, I would like my money back.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

2/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2009 tax liability - pinnacle was given 1500 to lower tax amount- they said they thought about 10,000. We had already been paying IRS 355 a month. Pinnacle only reduced the amount to 150- which we didn't want AND sent us a letter saying that all penalties and interest had been eliminated. A ******* ******, Esq. sent us a letter stating the elimination of all penalties associated with tax year 2009.We then received a letter from IRS saying that is not true- only the reduced 150 a month payment which means in 7 years it will be paid off, but new interest and penalties continuing to apply.We have repeatedly tried to contact them, sent fax copies of IRS papers, BUT NO ONE has ever returned a call. It's like we got you a reduction to $150 a month from $355 and lied to you that the penalties and interest were eliminated; and we're done. That was not what we signed up for.What is most unethical is that they do not talk to us about this matter.I will send copies of their letter if needed, but isn't this an ethical breach?

Desired Settlement: A return of 1500 OR someone at that office really do something- call IRS and do what pinnacle's letter said, or at least CALL US! They say one thing, but the IRS says another. Shouldn't they help us understand this matter?This company really has given us trouble from day one- we have been signed up with them for over a year and they have never really had open contact with us without us sending them nasty emails, etc.I will sue if needed as really - nothing was done.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

2/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: hired pinnacle to help me with my irs problem gave them $2900.00 waited over a year the irs levied my ss checks which they advertised would not happen then they made a deal with the irs that they told me about after the deadline was passed and they claimed there work was done and they were not going to do anymore and what they claim they got the irs to do for me acording to the irs is now gone i could have thrown the money away for the same thing

Desired Settlement: return of my $2900.00 would be a good start

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

2/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i contacted pinnacle in march of 2012 in need of help with personal income tax issues. they said they could help me resolve my issues for a fee of 3000 dollars. they emailed a welcome packet after I paid them 500 dollars and agreed to pay five more 500 dollar payments, giving them bank account info to take monthly pymnts. I did not complete the welcome packet questionaire completely, due to a lack of understanding of the information requested. I could not meet anyone with pinnacle as they are in California and i'm in Kentucky. all correspondence occured over the phone or by e-mail. Each time I communicated with pinnacle, it was with a new person. They informed me that the previous agent was no longer employed with them. each time i communicated with pinnacle, they asked for something different. I could not accomplish supplying anything pinnacle requested except for money. To date, they have taken 3900 dollars.pinnacle recently informed me that they will no longer represent me before the internal revenue service and will not complete any further work on my tax matters.This letter was sent from another new contact, ******* ******, Esq. I have the names of six other employees with pinnacle. This company has in their possession, all of my personal information, bank account numbers, pension account information, etc. I have absolutely nothing from pinnacle. They have not provided me with any services. they simply made demands I could not meet after they excepted payment. I want to report Pinnacles business activities to the California Attorney General and I would like to know if you could assist me in reporting Pinnacle Tax and Financial Services actions in regards to my case to other agencies, including the public. I believe what they're doing is criminal.

Desired Settlement: Refund all payments received from me to The Internal Revenue Service

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

2/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Six months after retaining Pinnacle Tax and Financial Services, I received liens from both the California State Franchise Tax Board and the IRS. None of the Pinnacle consultants listed on my power of attorney agreement were ever available to me, and my subsequent requests after the liens for documentation of their efforts was denied. My refusal to retain new Pinnacle consultants under a new power of attorney agreement and my demand for a full refund of my $2,000 retainer was met by a $400 refund offer, which has never materialized, despite numerous attempts to contact senior management. In addition to the liens and financial penalties, the IRS recently informed that Pinnacle has withdrawn their representation of my account.

Desired Settlement: Refund and compensation for damages

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

12/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/24/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1