BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Modern Technology School

Phone: (714) 418-9100 Fax: (714) 418-9109 16560 Harbor Blvd #K, Fountain Valley, CA 92708 http://www.mtschool.edu

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers classes in medical vocations.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Modern Technology School meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Modern Technology School include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Modern Technology School
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 09, 2013 Business started: 03/10/1986 in CA Business incorporated: 03/10/1986 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
2535 Capitol Oaks Dr #400, Sacramento CA 95833
http://www.bppve.ca.gov
Phone Number: 888-370-7589
Fax Number: 916-263-1897
bppve@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 3006561.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Harvey Caplan
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Harvey Caplan
Number of Employees

30

Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational

Service Area
This business's service area covers Orange County and the surrounding areas.
Alternate Business Names
MT X-Ray Inc

Additional Locations

  • 16560 Harbor Blvd #K

    Fountain Valley, CA 92708 (714) 418-9100

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attended Modern text for 1 month, and I asked financial aid officer Bob that i needed to understand the refund of my loan, he yelled at me and told me to get out of his office. I made several attempts to contact him and he refused to answer the questions regarding my loan. He then told me it could take 30 days for my refund. i am very disappointed with this school as they are very unprofessionals. *** ******* was upset when i told her that i was confuse with having 2 different instructors everyday. ***** who has been there for many years is very rude and does not like to explain himself twice!! We are here to learn not to be made fun of or get rude remarks from the teacher!! I recommend having this school to be inspected, since I am not the only one who is unhappy with MODERN TECHNOLOGY!!

Desired Settlement: I want my refund ASAP. They should not be keeping any money since i only attended 1 month..

Business Response: BBB Complaint Response RE: ***** ****** ID of ********. July 17, 2014

Dear BBB; In response to the complaint, Modern Technology School did not receive the original complaint from July 3, 2014 until this morning July 17, 2014. To respond to the complaint #********, Ms. ****** was enrolled in the X-ray Technician Program. She attended for approximately a month. The cost of the entire course was $14,102. She completed 70.40 hours of the 989.0 hours enrolled. She was only required to pay for the 70.40 hours of education and her books & supplies. The total amount that the student was responsible for was $6334.00. The school retained $933.93 for the 70.40 hours and the books and supplies she used. There was a refund to the federal government of $2375.00 to the UGSL/PLUS loan, $1732.00 to the GSL loan, & $1,293.07 Pell Grant for a total of $5400.00. The student was told by the Financial Aid officer ***** ****** that this process could take up to 30 days to get back into the Federal Financial Aid System. Mr. ****** met with ***** on 6/27/2014 and explained this refund determination with her (please see the attachment). Regarding the statement about having two different teachers; ***** *. was the assigned teacher for the class and we had a second instructor that we recently hired who was “shadowing” ***** for training purposes. This is not unusual and is a requirement of all incoming instructors per our accrediting body. All Modern Technology School instructors are credentialed in the field and have degrees. Ms. ****** was not in compliance with dress code, had been absent at least once a week and was missing course work, and she had failed five of five exams in the month she was at the school. She had to be counseled by the Medical Director and instructor for non-compliance. During the discussion she lost her temper and slammed several doors on her way out. She was insubordinate and quick to anger according to the Medical Director ****** ******. As the school director I told her via email that the refund would take 30 days to be patient. (She inquired about it just a few days ago). Also Mr. ****** was out of the office for several days and had not been able to respond to her emails but did so when he returned. Lastly she made a comment about being the school needing to be inspected. We have been inspected by our accrediting body the ACCSC, our licensing body BPPE and the California Department of Public Health—RHB; all within the past six months to a year. We are also audited independently by the accounting firm Almich and Associates and just concluded a clean audit with the federal government. We got very high marks for excellence and student satisfaction (97%) and also have many referrals from happy customers. It is unfortunate that Ms. ****** is unhappy with having to meet our school standards; but I feel that the school followed all procedures properly to ensure that her money was refunded except for the educational hours she received and the books and supplies that she used.

Sincerely

***** *******,
MS RT Campus Director

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This is all an absolute lie. ***** ****** REFUSED TO EXPLAIN TO ME IN PERSON ABOUT THE REFUND AND TILL THIS DAY I HAVE NOT RECEIVED A RESPONSE BACK FROM ***** ******. I am very very disappointed how they just give me the run around regarding the refund and only respond with me being upset, I did not lose my temper at all nor did I disrepct them! I need my money back and I am going to seek legal action against MTS..]

Regards,

***** ******

Business Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau:

This is Modern Technology School’s rebuttal statement for complaint ID ********. When students apply for student financial aid from the federal government, all students must attest that they understand the loan process through the FAFSA website.  Ms. ****** attested and agreed to the terms and conditions when she applied for these loans.  Modern Technology School also agrees to and follows the terms and conditions regarding student funding.

Modern Technology School only collected for the hours that Ms. ****** spent in class, plus books and supplies; all other monies were returned on June 30, 2014 to the federal government FAFSA - G5 funding. Modern Technology School has the banking paper trail to support this.   The school only retained $933.93 for books and supplies and the number of teaching hours that Ms. ****** used.  The federal government Title IV money was returned in the amounts of $1732 subsidized loans, $2375 of unsubsidized loans and $5400 of Pell Grant monies.  We have proof from the federal government that this was returned correctly, if Ms. ****** does decide to seek legal counsel. 

Modern Technology School is approved for title IV funding through the Department of Education and is also voluntarily examined by an outside accounting firm for accountability; the school is highly regulated and has very strict protocols for refunding student loans. 

The schools Financial Aid Director personally spoke to Ms. ****** and informed her of the refund policy.  Ms. ****** chose to argue with the Director and expected to have money returned to her instead of the FAFSA G5 which is against government and state policies. The school can send Ms. ****** a statement of accounts that shows her activity if she would like—otherwise she can access the information through her student portal on the FAFSA website. If she would like a statement of accounts she should request it in writing and the school will respond to her within 30 days. 
 
***** *******,
Campus Director

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1