BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

This Business is not BBB accredited

Patriotsafe.com

Additional Locations

Phone: (877) 311-1776 Fax: (714) 908-5037 View Additional Phone Numbers 16787 Beach Blvd #260, Huntington Beach, CA 92647 http://www.merlosafes.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers security products, video cameras and safes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Patriotsafe.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Patriotsafe.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 26, 2013 Business started: 01/01/1979 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1979
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Tim Merlo
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jason Criag, Customer Service Manager
Principal: Mr. Tim Merlo
Number of Employees

15

Business Category

Safes & Vaults

Alternate Business Names
Merlosafes.com Patriot Gun Safe Company Patriot Safe

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12321 Industry St

    Garden Grove, CA 92841

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    16787 Beach Blvd #260

    Huntington Beach, CA 92647 (877) 743-5372 (877) 311-1776 (714) 908-5030

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (714) 908-5030(Phone)
  • (877) 743-5372(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.patriotsafe.com
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Patriot Safes advertises "5-10 day fast delivery, no wait". However i have been waiting 3 months for a 2,500$ safe that i have already paid in full for.(Safe was ordered in the begenning of June 2014) The most recent update is that the safe is located at a delivery point about 2 hours from my house. It has been sitting there since 8/21/14 (two weeks). I have made numerous phone calls and a few emails with the patriot safe shipping lady and it has all been a dead end. I finally got a call from the actual delivery place and come to find out they only deliver Monday - Friday from 8-5. Which is almost impossble due to my work, and they will not make any exceptions. I have taken some days off next week starting next tuesday 9-9-14. Currently today i still cant get an answer if they will deliver it or not. Poor Poor customer service, and they didnt follow through with any of their "fast" delivery claims. Im a patient person but it has gone to far, and they cant even give me date still after 3 months!

Desired Settlement: Patriot Safes needs to take responibility for their service and get the safe deliverd. If not I will accept a refund, however I just want other people to be aware of thier false claims and terrible customer service.

Business Response: Due to the special promotion we ran with discounted pricing it created a bottle neck which is inline with our entire industry.  Our system usually works as described but at certain times we have short sporadic delivery delays which we compensate our customers for.  In this case the customer should have been called and updated.  This customer has been issued a full refund due to the order being cancelled.  We use outside agencies to deliver our safes as we do not have our own truck lines and sometimes mistakes happen to which we are sorry .

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/29/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased A protector 24 gun safe and the eagle eye asset surveillance system as optional equipment.To be delivered on 03/07/2014. the safe arrived but the camera system has not. After six attempts and fourteen days of trying to resolve this issue I am filing this complaint. I have received no customer service or refunds for the camera system , which was $298.00.I have called three times and have been told that they would work on it , have been put to a managers voice mail to no response.I have also sent email to patriot safe on there contact- us form on there website on Tuesday 03/ 18/2014.Today's date is 03/22/2014. Have received no response.I have contacted ***** Twice now. She says she'll open a ticket for me last Saturday 03/15/2014, and again on 03/22/2014. (Today) while I am filing this complaint.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund , or simply send me the camera system.

Business Response: Typically we ship within 10 to 14 days.  This item was shipped via FedEx ************ we do not make the cameras ourselves and sometimes they go out of stock.  The item was shipped 3/19

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

Leif ********

Most of my complaint was that your response time in contacting me was very poor.I understand that things take time to ship from California. but a phone call , text , email , do not. I called , emailed  numerous times .No reply came . In fact I got a quicker response from this action. Which I would not have done if you had simple replied. I'm sorry .I did receive the camera the next day after my complaint to the bbb. I tried to to cancel before they sent it . There response time was phenomenal , it is obviously to late. Unfortunately the camera system that you sent me is running an operating system CD for XP service pack 2 . I'm running seven,it won't work with this computer. If you have installation CD for seven ,that would be great. I will be calling ***** Saturday 03/29/2014. She'll set another slip up for me ,If she does'nt have the answer I'm looking for I'll call on Monday, or you could shoot me an email. **************** . I will be happy to resolve this complaint with the bbb after that.
 

Business Response: We have resolved this by providing instructions and our records show this was resolved 1 month ago on 4/3 when the update was sent.  We are willing to offer a full refund as always if you are not satisfied less a 20% restocking in this case you will get 100%.  We pick up our phones 24/7 and are open holidays including Christmas and thanksgiving. (877)311-1776 sales@patriotgunsafes.com are you sure that you are calling the right Patriot Gun Safe Company and not Patriot Safes?  We want to help just let us know exactly what you would like from us?

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 39 gun safe from Patriot and when it was delivered it had some minor damage and scratches. I filed a complaint on their website and was told to send some pictures. I sent the pictures and was told they would send some touch-up paint a biometric safe and an Eagle art magnet OR they would replace the safe at no charge. At the time this was happening we noticed that the safe had gone on sale for $546.25 cheaper than what we paid. I asked if they would price match like it says on their website and was told if they refund the difference then they would not send the bio-safe. I told them it is 2 separate issues because we would have gotten the damaged safe regardless of the sales price or the price we paid. They replied there is nothing we can do! So I asked for a replacement safe at the sales price and they replied the only option now is to return the safe for a full refund. I told them they win I will keep the damaged safe at the sales price. Now I received a bottle of touch-up a pistol rack and another damaged Eagle art magnet but no refund for the sales price. I emailed them again and said if they are not going to price match then I want the bio-safe and they replied he thought he sent that out and he will do that 1st thing Monday morning and that is the last we heard from them.

Desired Settlement: We really would like the price match however if they do not price match like it says on their website then the biometric safe would be the next best thing I guess!

Business Response: Customer was sent Biobox the same day this complaint was filed.  The price show by the customer was with Indoor delivery and the price was discounted.  We offer different packages everyday.  Tracking info was provided.  If you would like to hear further details call ******* ******* *************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. However the safe was discounted but not the 5% that the website showed and then the discount went to 10%. I am not happy with Patriot but now I and all my friends who ask about my safe will know better next time! I am satisfied with the safe and the BBB! I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** **********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service