BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers pest control services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Griffin Pest Management meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Griffin Pest Management include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Griffin Pest Management
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 23, 2013 Business started: 05/04/2009 in CA Business started locally: 05/04/2009 Business incorporated: 05/04/2009 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 6176.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Roger DeLazzer, Sales and Marketing
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Pest Control Services


Additional Locations

  • 1415 E Mcfadden Ave #D

    Santa Ana, CA 92705 (949) 200-8930 (888) 400-9011 (714) 571-0480

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 400-9011(Phone)
  • (949) 200-8930(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Not enough room to write the entire complaint. Here it is in a short version. Griffin Pest Mgmt used a G-5 outlet in my garage to saw wood to repair a mouse hole. I did not know which outlet he was using due to being in bed from having a knee replacement surgery. My daughter let him in and she thought he knew what he was doing. This same outlet had my freezer plugged into it. The repairmen left and we discovered later that night that 2 or 3 outlets in the kitchen were not working. I called & scheduled Ideal Plumbing & Heating to have their electrician come out & see what the problem was. By the time they could get here (3 days later), the electrician found the freezer plug was partially out of the outlet and the G-5 circuit was popped. According to the electrician the guy using this circuit overloaded it with his saw. He said the guys saw would have had to quit working. He should have known he popped the G-5 circuit. By this time I had lost close to $600 worth of food plus a $100 electrician bill. I sent pics and dollar amounts of all the food loss to Griffin and they refuse to take blame. I have been communicating with them for over 6 months now and they just sent me a bill for that days work. I told them if they did not have the owner call me so we could discuss what happened, that I would eventually report them to the BBB. And that is what I am doing. If you need more information, please let me know. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the money for the food I lost plus the cost of the electrician that came out and discovered the problem. $534.92 for the food and $100 for the electrician. Most of the food was from Costco so I had the receipts. I took pictures of the food and sent them to Griffin. I had filled up the freezer for my family knowing I was going to have knee surgery. That's why there was so much food.

Business Response: We would like to respond to the complaint of ***** *****. We were requested to do some rodent abetment at Mrs. *****’s home her daughter showed our technician where he should setup  which was in the garage. Our technician was told to use the outlet in question, our technician used it for the hour he was at the location. The power tool he used as a small hand held jigsaw. The tool draw 2 amps and work the entire time we were at the location.
 
We received Mrs. *****’s request for reimbursement two weeks after we performed service .  We did not receive notification from Mrs. ***** when she discovered some of her outlets were not working. In her email to us two weeks after the service she said to us the circuit blew the day we performed service but did not call us..
 
Common sense practice is when a circuit breaker blows you go to the breaker box and reset it. Instead of resetting the breaker  Mr. ***** called an electrician and wait four days  for one to show up.
As I stated before the outlet worked the entire time we were using it and if the breaker blew we would known it and had to use a different outlet which we did not.
 
We told Mrs. ***** we wanted to keep her business and told her we would not take responsibility for the loss of her food but in good faith we would give her free pest control for the rest 2013. The value of that would have been $200 as well she has not paid for the rodent work or service we provided her which is $50.
 
We feel we have been a good faith company and the lack of common sense and the delays before she told us there was a problem in addition she could not prove that we were the cause of the loss of her food in her freezer make us feel we have been more than accommodating to Mrs. *****.
 
    
 
***** ** ********
Sales And Marketing

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. Please respond in this space. They are the experts. I expect them to know & to check on possibilities as they proceed with their work. The G-5 outlet had popped during use by the serviceman. The freezer cord was also knocked lose during the use of the same outlet. The fact that my daughter pointed to an outlet, doesn’t mean caution shouldn’t have been used. Looking back, other areas of incompetence included not having the right equipment & supplies to do the job the first time the serviceman came to the house. The serviceman asked me if I had wood, nails, plaster, saw, etc. to fix the hole. There was a friend of mine (a carpenter) in my kitchen at the time the serviceman asked me for these items. When I told him I didn’t have them, he asked my friend if he could provide the supplies. Both my friend and I were a little taken back that he asked us for these items. The serviceman said he would have to return after he got the supplies. I was surprise that he didn’t have the supplies with him. The purpose of the trip was to close up a hole under the sink where the mice were coming in. Later, when we found the kitchen outlets not working we did not know they were connected to the garage G-5 outlet. If we had known that, we would have checked the G-5 outlet immediately. We just figured the problem had to be something that the serviceman did but we didn’t know what. I didn’t want to deal with him again so I called an electrician (Ideal Plumbing, Heating and Electrical). The electrician traced the problem to the G-5 unit in the garage. It had popped due to an over load. The freezer cord was also partially unplugged. The G-5 button was not pushed back in, the freezer cord was not pushed back in and thus the loss of electricity to the freezer. I talked to ***** ******** around 8-19-13. I told ***** about losing close to $600 worth of food due to the G-5 circuit being popped from over load. The loss was not discovered till around 3 ½ days later when an electrician came to the house to see why the kitchen outlets were not working. ***** asked me to send him the pictures of the food loss. I emailed him pictures on 8-20-13. Contrary to what ***** states above, it was not a circuit breaker from the breaker box. It was a G-5 outlet with a built in circuit breaker. ***** was not here at the house to see how incompetent **** was to begin with regarding the supplies, etc. I normally have quarterly service which is $50 per quarter. The value of the good faith money was not worth $200. It was the last quarter of the year and that value was $50. I did not accept the $50 offer because the food loss was much more. The service was on a Thursday. The electrical outage was not noticed till Thursday night or Friday morning when family members were trying to make toast. I could not get the electrician to come out on Friday. He was already booked. The next available date was the following week. If I had known it was the circuit the serviceman used that was causing the problem, I would have immediately gone to check it. I am not an electrician and I did not know. In addition, I actually never contracted with this company. I had an agreement with “Happy Pest Control”. Happy Pest Control sold their company to Griffin Pest Management. The following are the dates I contacted them & either received little or no response: 8-19-13 (phone); 8-20-13 email showing food loss, 8-27-13 email; 9-10-13 email; 11-8-13 email; 1-3-14 email. The bottom line is that we had a lot of food that had to be disposed of, and the level of customer service & overall service from this company was not, in our opinion, satisfactory & was in fact below average & I would not recommend this vendor to anyone. ***** *****

Business Response: We responded to the complain we have nothing to add.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: RE: Case#******* I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  I will FedEx pictures and other documentation for you to consider. I sincerely hope this matter will come to a resolve. Griffin just bought the company, Happy Pest Control), that I was contracted with. They perhaps hired new people that were not familiar with how to do repair work. I'll print everything out and get it to you ASAP. Thank you, ***** *****

Consumer Response: I am not interested in arbitration. This whole matter has been very upsetting and I cannot spend any more time on it. But the main reason is, I do not know what interest an outside arbitrator might have in this case. They may be a business owner, like I was for over 30 years. They may tend more towards having sympathy with the vendor and not the customer. My entire reason for contacting the BBB was to let other people know of the unprofessional actions of Griffin Pest Mgmt. The $600 I lost wouldn't begin to cover attorney's fees. In one respect it's my loss. Another way of looking at it is I learned my lesson with GPM and will never recommend them, if asked. This is too bad for Happy Pest Control who sold their business to GPM, not only for a cost, but thinking their long-time customers would be taken care of. Thank you for your help. I can understand how you are caught right in the middle of this issue. I would like to reject the offer of Arbitration for complaint ID*******.  Regards, ***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

5/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Griffin kept trying to charge us for work that they never performed. My wife has talked to them repeatedly and each time someone on the other end stated they would take care of it. Now they sent our invoice to a collection agency.

Desired Settlement: A letter in writing stating that we do not owe Griffin anything for their (lack of) service.

Business Response: We show making a stop at this location for pest control service, we show use of chemicals at this location and we had GPS data that showed we were at this location. We did the service and want to be paid. we have called asking for payment. We sent 6 statements asking for payment. We did the work we want to get paid.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

There are two parts to this complaint:

 
1) Griffin Pest Management is trying to charge us $50 for services never performed.  We have never signed off on any services performed by Griffin.  I will gladly pay the bill if you can provide proof that I signed off on the services.
 
2) Griffin is charging us a $30 finance fee on top of the $50.  There is no law nor contractual obligation that allows for them to charge this fee

Regards,

***** ********

Business Response: I have instructed our collections company to cease collection activities against the persons attached to this issue. The date of removal is 3/31/2014. We still feel we are owed the money as I said previously we will take the high road on this issues. Please don't contact us on this issue again since it cost or company even more money every time we have to respond!

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.