BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers moving and storage services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Berger Transfer & Storage Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Berger Transfer & Storage Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Berger Transfer & Storage Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 19, 2013 Business started: 04/22/1982 in CA Business incorporated: 04/22/1982 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The license number is MTR0138714.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Greg Maher, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Greg Maher, General Manager
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Moving & Storage Company Movers

Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • 501 Burning Tree Rd

    Fullerton, CA 92833 (213) 273-1131 (800) 327-4452 (714) 738-3044 (800) 328-2459

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (213) 273-1131(Phone)
  • (800) 327-4452(Phone)
  • (800) 328-2459(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to deliver shipment by contracted period. No communication from company as to the expected delivery date and failure to disclose in writing per signed contract/agreement that shipment will be split into two. No delivery date has been scheduled for the second shipment. Very poor customer service. I have spent over 30 hours calling and chasing down members of staff for answers only to be told there's nothing they can do. My household goods should have been transported from Los Angeles to Vancouver, BC and delivered between 07/15/2014- 07/20/2014, part of the shipment will arrive by the 26th July 2014 but no date has been set for the second shipment that we did not authorize nor were we told would happen. We have also been told our estimate for weight of goods is too low and we are now liable to pay more or not receive our property. We're being held to ransom.

Desired Settlement: I want an inquiry as to how this epic failure on their part can happen. The original estimate was wrong, this fact wasn't communicated until it was too late to do anything about it, goods had been loaded onto the truck. No communication that my delivery was going to be delayed, 7 phone calls to get answers. Then I'm told only half will be delivered and they're unable to give me a date for the second shipment. I want my goods to arrive in Vancouver by 31st July 2014 at no extra cost to us.

Business Response:

While I am sorry for the delay in Ms. *******’s shipment.  We have been in constant communications with her.  It is not always easy to know a drivers exact schedule prior to load and her driver’s schedule was not know until 7/10 in the afternoon when he loaded from our warehouse.  Which is also when we found out it would be necessary to create a supplemental shipment.  She was appraised on 7/11 of the main shipment’s schedule.  We attempted to have the driver rerouted to meet her agreed delivery spread.  We have provided the Allied Van Lines customer service number which Ms ******* has contacted.  Her shipment has a delivery period of 7/16-7/20.  Per the contract AVL will compensate Ms ******* for the prescribed delay costs per the contract.  Ms ******* at no time has been told that we will not deliver without payment above the agreed upon amount.  It was not our intent to split her shipment.  Unfortunately the driver assigned to the shipment did not have room for as many items as Ms. ******* sent.  We have created a supplemental shipment which is in route.  We are working on the schedule for it.  With a shipments going from one country to another, in today’s high security status and being the busy season sometimes shipments are delayed.  Again we apologize for the delay and are working to get it to Ms ******* as soon as possible.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Only after this complaint was filed did communication from Berger-Allied improve. I will close this dispute when both of the shipments arrive. I am still adamant that this whole mess could have been avoided if the original estimate had been more accurate and better communication between staff. The driver who loaded us on 21st June called his office to alert them to the fault in underestimating our load. I witnessed this call as he told them our original estimate was 197 and he had an inventory of over 350. So whomever he spoke too did not pass on this info. The fault does not lie with us, we sold furniture that was on our original estimate (large 8 seater sofa) in order to be under our estimate. 

It wasn't until 5 days before expected delivery, 7 phone calls, to be told our shipment had been split. If Berger-Allied had actually bothered to call and keep me updated none of this would be necessary. I understand the busy period and delays happen but please remember that the customer comes first and we're not just a nuisance. Berger-Allied needs to improve their customer service skills because in my opinion they have none.  I am pleased that we won't have to pay more to receive our shipment. 

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response:

We are working to get Ms. *******’s goods delivered.  Our customer service has been updating Ms. ******* since it was necessary to create the supplemental shipment and we had the driver’s schedule.   As part of our estimating process the customer is given a copy of the items listed room by room that they have indicated will be moved.  If this list was not accurate on what she intended to move it would have been helpful to let the sales person know.  We have accepted responsibility to get the items delivered and will.    

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used Allied for moving from the East Coast, MD area to Sherman Oaks, CA in Dec. of 2011. The move was reasonable priced and my items arrived per the stated date with items intact, which is why I decided to use them again for my recent move, which happened to be the day before Thanksgiving, but was told that even though it was a holiday move, if I had any issues I could reach the Sales Rep. or someone at their office if I needed anything. My issue is that when I had the initial visit with the Sales Rep.on 11/21, I had explained to him that even though I had reconstructive spinal and hip surgery, I still managed to get the majority of my items packed myself. The only items left to be "boxed", which I had provided, was my 42in. TV, a 32in. TV, a few pictures/tempered glass top/mirror, and my Queen size Thermo-pedic bed. He acknowledged surprise to see my items where already packed and stated he would email me the "Estimate/Order for Service/Binding Price Proposal" with his assessment of my items. Due to the my efforts to finish packing by 11/27, the pick-up date, and the reasonably priced move from the East to the West Coast, I was very confident in my decision in reviewing the proposal after my arrival to San Jose. So, on 11/29, after not being able to reach the Rep., I sent an email informing him that I had moved quite a few items myself, including my 32in. TV in order to help lower the weight of my move, which I was shock to hear was approximately $3300.00 for a 3927lb. transport. He then said he would give me a discount of $600.00 for the items I transported, leaving me with a balance of $2,675.24, which to me was still an unacceptable cost based on my items. This was when I decided I'd better take a long hard look at the contract, but by then they had my credit card authorization form in which I was charged the said amount. How can weight/cost be determined if "NOTHING" is weighed? Due to my precarious situation based on a holiday move, I feel they took full advantage of that!!!

Desired Settlement: I feel an additional discount is in order!!! Companies like Berger/Allied, that leaves consumer's with no other options but to "PAY" through either signing a Binding Contract/credit card auth. form based on blind faith that everyone involved has done and will do the right thing by the customer, is in my opinion "UNFAIR" and should warrant a review of all companies with these same types of policies and practices!!! What about partial payments per services rendered??? Sounds "FAIR" to me!!!

Business Response:

Berger Transfer & Storage moved ***** ***** from Sherman Oaks CA to San Jose CA loading 11/27 and delivering 12/2/2013.  Our Sales person **** ****** gave Ms. ***** an In Home estimate on 11/21/2013.  The estimate is based on the California Max4 Tariff according to PUC regulations.  Under the PUC regulations either a guaranteed price or an estimate based on actual weight can be given to a consumer.    The original price was then lowered by $600.00 after Ms. ***** talked with **** and explained that she had done some packing and moved some items.  The estimate was based on an equivalent of 3927 pounds although it could have been more or less and we would have honored the rate per the agreement.  Ms. ***** shipment had 4 pages of inventories.  The industry average is 1200-1500 pounds per page.  The new agreement included minimal packing and a shuttle at origin.  A shuttle at destination was also performed and signed for by Ms. ***** but we did not ask Ms. ***** for the additional fee.  According to the MAX4 Tariff shuttles at destination are in addition to any estimate even a guaranteed price as the mover does not have a fair chance to check for truck access.  This would have been an additional $300.00 charge.  No monies were collected from Ms. ***** until after the move was in progress.  The monies were collected prior to delivery as per PUC regulations.  Ms. ***** could have chosen a different mover at any time. 

Berger Transfer & Storage honored all the terms of our agreement then some.  With the original approximately $600 discount and the $300 not charged for the destination shuttle we do not believe additional discounts are warranted.  

 

**** *****

General Manager

Berger Transfer & Storage

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I noticed that they claim they adjusted my bill by a total of $900.00, which is an absolute untruth.  I WAS charged for the SHUTTLE, which is why I was trying to reach Troy A. in order to speak him about my issues with the agreement, which by the way, I never signed based on that fact.  The bottom line here is I was absolutely taken advantage based on the fact that it happened to be a holiday move, and I am sure they realized that I was caught between a rock and a hard place as far as trying to find another moving company based on that fact.  Until companies like these do right by their customers, EVERYTHING they do will eventually FAIL...AND THAT YOU CAN "BANK" ON!!!   

***** 



Business Response:

It appears Ms. ***** is confused.  We did charge her for the required shuttle at origin as was included on the estimate at origin.  What I said in my response to her complaint was that we did not charge for the shuttle that was required to be preformed at destination.   She did sign the driver’s work sheet that it was done.  I am sorry she does not understand the charges but they were clearly outlined on the estimate by Troy.

 As far as companies like Berger not lasting based on how they treat their customers.  I would agree that how companies treat their customers definitely impacts the companies’ longevity in business.  Berger Transfer & Storage has been in business since 1910 with the same family owning the company since 1949.  Our office in Orange County has been open for over 20 years and has been here in the same location in Fullerton, CA for almost 17 years.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were extremely disappointed in the services provided by Berger Transfer and Storage and were surprised that Allied Van Lines would provide such poor service to a client and have such disregard for the care of that clients belongings. Our recent experience with Allied was by far the worst moving experience we could ever imagine. Their rep who came to our home to give us an estimate was well aware of the road conditions to get to our home in **** *********, yet the company chose to send a 53' lowboy tractor-trailer to move our goods, which was unable to navigate the winding mountain roads, resulting in the company demanding an additional $1,000 to utilize U-Haul trucks to "shuttle" our belongings to where the trailer was parked over 5 miles from our house. When the furniture arrived at our new home, over 50% of the boxes were severely damaged, broken open, many items extremely damaged and many lost. All large wardrobe boxes were reduced to the size of a small square, one completely missing, with most of the contents thrown carelessly into a new box. When the van arrived at our the destiination with mattresses hanging off the back of the van! The driver told us he was late because he had been stopped numerous times by law enforcement because of safety concerns due to these hanging mattresses. When we thought this nightmare move was behind us, we received a call 2 weeks later from Berger that they could not locate the check which we had given to the driver before he would begin unloading the truck. We also received a call from the driver complaining to us that the company had deducted the amount of the check from his money and that he "had to pay rent." We had to go to our bank, pay a considerable sum to have a stop payment issued on the first check and a new one re-issued. More incompentence and unprofessionalism. Letters to Allied and Berger Transport voicing our extreme disappointment in their handling of our possessions have gone unanswered. Their lack of concern is astounding.

Desired Settlement: We would just like the Better Business Bureau to be aware of the poor quality of service and complete lack of care or concern for our possessions that we experienced with this company.

Business Response:

Hello,

I am the Director of Claims with Berger Transfer and Storage.  I would like to apologize on behalf of Berger Transfer and Storage for the poor service Mr. ********* received.  I was aware that Mr. ********* was asked to replace the cashier's check that was lost by the driver.  We did compensate Mr. ********* the for cost he incurred to replace this check and also issued him an extra $200.00 for his trouble and inconvenience.

It is disappointing to hear of the condition of the *********'s goods upon delivery.  If the *********'s would like to file a claim for the damages incurred, they may do so by going to www.bergerallied.com or we can mail a hard copy claim form if that is more convenient.   Please do not dispose of items you wish to claim as they may need to be inspected prior to any settlement.

Berger Transfer and Storage has been in business for over 100 years and that would not be possible if our customers had the experience the *********'s had with their relocation.   Again, we sincerely apologize and regret it was necessary for Mr. ********* to file a complaint.

Best regards,

Director of Claims

Berger Transfer and Storage

651-639-6452

***********************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

*** * ******* *********


Our feeling is that Berger Transfer and Storage still does not "get it."   The issue is not about filing a claim or a financial resolution, but about taking responsibiliy for their extremely poor service.  We wrote them a detailed letter addressing the many issues of poor customer service that we experienced and got absolutely no response.  It is very sad and we feel a very poor reflection on their company that the only way we managed to elicit a response from them was to file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau.  Berger was fully aware of the situation, but no one bothered to call and apologize for the way that our belongings were handled.  The point is and always has beeen  about customer service and no one from Berger seems to care.  The point is, a letter of complaint to the BBB would not have been necessary if Berger had responded to our letter and expressed their concern for our very bad moving experience with their company.  Many of the lost, broken and damaged items and  are irreplaceable and filing a financial claim will not bring them back. 

Business Response:

We do understand The *********'s frustration that they had to file a complaint with the BBB in order to be heard.  We sincerely apologize this was the case.  We cannot go back and change this oversight but we do apologize that the ********'s received such poor service and that they do not feel they are being heard by Berger.  Please accept our apologies.  We wish you all the best in your new location! 

Best regards,

***** *******, Director of Claims, Berger Transfer and Storage

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1