BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Barbizon Model and Acting School of Southern California, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Barbizon Model and Acting School of Southern California, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Barbizon Model and Acting School of Southern California, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 15, 2013 Business started: 01/01/1970 Business started locally: 01/01/1970 Business incorporated: 09/01/1999 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David D'Alessandro, President Mrs. Diane D'Alessandro, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David D'Alessandro, President
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Modeling & Acting - Training

Alternate Business Names
Barbizon Modeling and Acting Barbizon Modeling School

Additional Locations

  • 2960 Airway Avenue Suite A-103

    Costa Mesa, CA 92626 (909) 612-1818

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    602-B North Diamond Bar Blvd

    Diamond Bar, CA 91765

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (714) 540-4200(Phone)
  • (909) 612-1818(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter, ******* *****, was signed up for classes in August 2014, which she recently completed. We are on a payment plan, and I have encountered several issues along the way with the billing and payment process.1. I was signed up for automatic payment. I sometimes receive a receipt by email, and I sometimes do not.2. In the event that my automatic payment is declined, I do not receive any type of notification for 2-3 weeks (a letter by mail). How am I supposed to set up an alternate payment within the 5-day grace period if I do not receive any type of notification for 2-3 weeks? A phone call or email would be appreciated at the time the payment declines!3. I have been attempting to get an account ledger with all charges and payments, since I have not received any type of statement since my payments began. Nobody at the class location can seem to help me with payment issues (changing automatic payment source, giving me an account ledger, etc). They direct me to corporate. I have tried contacting through Facebook, email, and via telephone, but I cannot get a response from anyone (I can provide proof of phone calls made and emails sent, if necessary).

Desired Settlement: -I want any and all late fees reversed thus far. -I want notification within the grace period when an automatic payment declines so that I may resolve the issue. If I then fail to make the payment, I can understand receiving a late fee at that time.-I want a receipt emailed to me every time a payment posts, not just sometimes.-I want an account ledger detailing my opening balance, payments made, and current balance, as well as monthly statements from this point on.

Business Response:

***** a call has been put out to Mrs. *****. I personally head up the in-house collection department and to my knowledge have never received a call from this customer.  I am waiting for a return call so I can explain to her our collection procedures.  To address her complaint: We use an outside company that processes all of our auto debits, as most companies do.  Depending on the day the client chooses the Auto Debit is either processed on the 1st or the 15th of each month until the account is paid in full.  One of the features that the processing company incorporates in their software is to automatically send an e-mail to the client when the credit card is authorized.  If the credit card is declined we receive a report from the processing company and in turn must run the card manually from our office.  If this is done then no e-mail is sent as that is not part of our procedure.  If the credit card continues to decline over a weeks time we then issue an account past due letter that we mail out indicating that their credit card has been declined and a late fee added.  It is up to the customer to make sure there are sufficient funds in their account so as the credit/debit card does not get declined.  If there are insufficient funds in the account then the customer knows the card will be declined and should make the effort to rectify the problem before the late fee is added.  Please feel free to contact me with further questions.
 
Thank You
***** ************   
President

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

***** would not have record of me contacting the office because I have never spoken to him.  Before making my complaint, I had attempted to call his office twice but received only voicemail recordings each time.  I did not leave messages because I was not sure if I was connected to the correct department. 

I did receive a call from ***** on 5/27/14.  He left me a specific window of time which he prefers me to return the call (10 am to 2 pm).  Due to my work schedule, it was not possible for me to return the call until 5/30/14.  I was told by the man who answered that ***** was out of the office.

Regardless of how the company chooses to process their payments, I should be entitled to a monthly statement.  The payment does not come out of my bank account, it comes off of a credit card, and I do not check it every day as I would my bank account.  Therefore, there are times payment can decline and I do not know.  Additionally, there are times there have been sufficient funds but the payment has not been accepted (I am working with the credit card company to find out why this has happened).  The company should not assume that the customer knows; the company should inform the customer within a reasonable amount of time.  It is impossible for me to rectify the problem when I was not able to reach anyone at corporate and nobody at the class location could be of assistance.  It is unacceptable to notify me in front of a crowd of parents that my payment declined and furthermore to refuse to let my daughter into class until I pay it, after I drove half an hour to the class and did not come prepared with payment because I did not even realize that the payment declined. 

I would greatly appreciate a ledger of my account listing beginning balance, dates of payments made, late charges assessed, and remaining balance, as requested in my original complaint.  This can be emailed to me at **********@charter.net or faxed with a cover sheet to (951) ********.  Once I look this over, I will attempt to call ***** once again once I know specifically what I am looking at.  According to the letters I have received by mail, I should have 2 late fees at this point.  It is my desire to be able to pay off the remaining balance on time.

Regards,

********* *****

Business Response:

I will contact Ms. ***** on Monday and forward the appropriate paperwork to her.

 

Thank you

***** ************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I received an account ledger via fax on 6/16/14.  It was a little hard to read, but it seems to match my records.  I emailed Mr. ************ on 6/19/14 and updated my payment information  to prevent any future payment issues.  I also asked about the late fees once again.  My email stated, "
I am also wondering if you are willing to reverse the 2 late fees on our account as a courtesy for the reasons outlined in my complaint.  I don’t feel it’s fair when I am not notified within the 5-day grace period.  After you explaining it to me and then going back and re-reviewing my contract, I understand that I need to keep a better watch on whether the payments are clearing as well. " He acknowledged the new payment information but did not address the fees; therefore, I do not accept the response by the business to resolve my complaint.
 
Regards,

********* *****


BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1