BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers do it yourself services for divorce and bankruptcy.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that DIY Institute Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for DIY Institute Inc include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on DIY Institute Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 08, 2013 Business started: 04/24/2008 in CA Business incorporated: 06/08/2010 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jason McClain, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jason McClain, Owner
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Legal Document Assistance Divorce Assistance Bankruptcy Assistance & Services

Industry Tips
Debt Collection Rights-Spanish Debt Relief Strategies Financial Industry

Additional Locations

  • 25602 Alicia Pkwy #101

    Laguna Hills, CA 92653

  • 26060 Acero St #203

    Mission Viejo, CA 92691

  • 30025 Alicia Pkwy #G127

    Laguna Niguel, CA 92677 (800) 604-2860 (949) 630-0389 (949) 461-1411

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 604-2860(Phone)
  • (949) 630-0389(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i went to mydivorcepapers to be able to print divorce papers and file at the nearest court to process a divorce. I didnt notice any where that it stated that it HAD to be a noncontested divorce. I tried calling customer care the phone number will not go through it continues to ask for the case managers extention number which they dont provide unless you pay the 159 price. I did a chat to ask about what was entailed and i was told you just fill out the interview and download the papers and it will give you instructions to submit. After paying the 159 and spending an hour to fill out the forms then it tells me that it must be a non-contested divorce. You would think if this is a complication that normally happens they would make this readable somewhere large except im sure its a scam and want people to make this mistake. I contacted some one via chat and she claims i would have answered a question in the begining saying all parties agree to all terms, i would never answer yes to that...the whole point of doing this is because he doesnt agree.

Desired Settlement: I want my money returned this is not fair.

Business Response:

First and foremost, we would like to apologize for your unsatisfactory experience with our service. We employ a full staff of Customer Support Experts right here in our Southern California office so that we can provide each of our customers with exemplary service. Our phone and chat support hours are Monday-Friday, 6:00 AM PST to 6:00 PM PST.

Regarding your primary complaint, the first thing that any and every user must do to use our service is complete a 4 question qualification form. One of those four questions is:

"Can you and your spouse agree to the division of property, assets and child related issues?"

If the user answers "Yes" to this question, then their case is deemed Uncontested and they are permitted to proceed with our service. If the User answers "No" to this question, then the User is told they are not qualified to use our service because their case would be deemed Contested. We recommend they seek legal counsel.

No user can proceed with, pay for, or use our service until this question has been answered in any case, what-so-ever.

Again, we apologize for the confusion and we have issued ****** a full refund.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/29/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased online divorce papers for $359.00. It has been over 2 months and I can't get a live person on the phone and still no papers. SCAM *******

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my money back. 359.00

Business Response: Contact with Mrs. ***** was made immediately to formally apologize for the experience she had received with our organization as this is not hte level of service that we provide. As an isolated incident Mrs. ***** understood and formally accepted my apology. 

 
Additionally, in order to finalize the processing of her documentation we clarified several discrepancies regarding the information she had provided to us. She was kind enough to give me an updated answer and to verify the rest of her information was correct. 
 
We further discussed her one-time payment of $159 with a coupon for free shipping which is a $20.00 value; an electronic copy of her receipt was forwarded to her again to the correct her impression of the amount originally paid. 
 
In order to ship the documents, we need her confirmation that she had reviewed the documents to ensure that all her information was documented to her liking. Upon receipt of this confirmation her documents would be sent out. 
 
Finally, in addition to providing her the services requested, we are refunding her transaction 100% to the original form of payment. My contact information was provided to Mrs. ***** should she have any further questions during this process. 
 
Per our phone conversation, she confirmed that our efforts to rectify the situation with her account are to her satisfaction. 
 
We appreciate Mrs. ***** allowing us the opportunity to provide a positive experience with My Divorce Papers.com

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/9/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the do it yourself divorce software with intentions to have immediate access to my paperwork as the website guarentees us to have immediate access to your forms. I chose to use this specific software because i would have everything i needed the same day. The webiste is terribly slow and repeatedly booted me off the page i was working on numersous times. I didnt have ANY INTERNET issues with any other sites only my divorce papers werbsite. This company issues shouldnt be my responsiblity. This software website was a huge inconvience by itself!! WITH THAT BEING SAID It took almost 48 hours to have 3 minutes access to my completed divorce paper work which was useless, i couldnt even print it in that amount of time. The time delay caused me to now obtain at attorney. I needed the papers to get signed immediately and this didnt happen becasue my divorce papers website is and was broken or had technical issues which the company is well aware when i called to complain. I called the company and complained about there poor service and that i paid for a service i didnt get as they promised and they told me there is nothing they can do. ******** tried fixing the error on her end and i had access to my information for about 3 minutes but then once i logged out and back in of the website my COMPLETED PAPERS were gone again not to mention i was on the phone for over a half hour while they tried to fixed the complications. SO NOT ONLY DID I NOT GET THE SERVICE I PAID FOR but I HAD WASTED ALOT OF TIME TRYING CALLING THE COMPANY AND GOT ABSOLUTELY NO WHERE!! I do not and didnt have time to waste on calling and redoing paperwork as to it is obvious i have enough going on. https://www.mydivorcepapers.com took my money and didnt give me the service i paid for so i want a FULL refund. THIS SOFTWARE MAKES FALSE PROMISES it is not my fault if you have technical issues i paid for your service and didnt get in as your company promised me prior to paying i am asking for a full refund of $183.00!!

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $183.00 as to your software was not delivered as promised i should not be reliable for your technical difficulties. I TRIED RESLOVING the problem with the company and i am not happy. I paid immediately to have immediate access to my completed account paper work that your website states i will have immeidate access to my forms and i did NOT. I spent alot of time and wasted alot of my time trying to resolve the issue. I AM NOT SATISIFIED WITH THE SERVICE AND Want REFUND

Business Response:

MyDivorcePapers.com does advertise same day service and in 99.9% of cases, this is executed without issue. However, as with any technology business, there are occasional delays due to issues beyond our control. On this specific day, we were experiencing server based delays. Unfortunately, there was absolutely no way for us to fix the issue any faster than we did.

 

The most important aspect of our business is our relationship with each individual client. This is why we employ a full staff of Customer Support Representatives here in the United States. We are open for support 6 days per week from 6:00 AM - 8:00 PM PST to ensure that we are available all day for all US time zones.

 

In this case, we responded as quickly as possible and resolved the issue within 48 hours. We also issued Mrs. ***** a full refund and provided the service absolutely free of charge. We have thousands of positive testimonials from our satisfied clients. We regret that we were not able to create a positive experience for Mrs. *****, although we did do everything we possibly could to resolve the issue as expeditiously as possible at no cost to her.

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contracted service on 01/02/2014. Had to involve Customer Service in order to initiate service as wife lives in ***** and I live in **********. CSR made database changes to accept my account, offered a 5% discount for the inconvenience, and accepted payment in full via credit card. Mid January, I had changes made. End of January, I spoke with another agent for more than 30 minutes, reviewing the errors and changes to the documentation. I was assured this would take no more than 2 days as IT would be involved. Approximately two weeks passed until I would have the opportunity to follow up on the request.On 02/17/2014, I sent a request via email to my CSR, ******** *******, and did not receive a response.On 02/19/2014, I spoke with ** ******* regarding the non-response. She informed me that the previous CSR had abruptly left the company, that ******** was in the hospital with pneumonia, and that she would have all of the issues resolved by end of business on 02/21/2014. I then forwarded the requested changes to her email.On 02/19/2014, I received an email from ******** stating that all of the corrections would be complete by end of business on Monday, 02/24/2014. I checked one of several files on Monday, 02/24/2014 at 7:55pm, to find no changes were done to the file. The email outlines exactly what corrections need to be made to each file. This shows me that there has been no effort on the part of Mydivorcepapers.com to adhere to promises, both verbally and in writing.The website promises a fast and easy online divorce; however, this has been anything but what they claim.For example, in one file, both the Husband AND Wife are checked for the PetitionerIn another document, the wife's first name is listed in the first name AND the last name fields.In yet another document, I am listed as living in the same County as my wife, yet it was clear from the outset I do not live in ******Another document is missing information.

Desired Settlement: I desire a refund, as I have wasted almost 2 months on what was promised to be a quick and easy process. Communication involves empty promises and failure to deliver promised changes. I am currently preparing the documentation by hand in order to file with the court in a timely manner.Some of the documentation is adequate, but the bulk that must be error free is not, or is missing information previously entered into the database. I am not confident there will not be further issues.

Business Response:

My Divorce Papers is keen on 100% satisfying our clients to the fullest extent. The only way to improve customer support as an organization is by receiving feedback from clients. In this matter, our department is undergoing cross training on multiple states to familiarize the documents with the caseworkers. This is to ensure that all correspondence with clientele and necessary changes are rectified in a timely manner.

Additionally, clients always have the option to speak with a supervisor and then a manager regarding any concerns on their account for immediate attention to the matter at hand.

To ensure the satisfaction of our clients and adhere to our promises we are happy to apply a refund as soon as possible regarding the situation at hand. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company advertises on its website that their "fully prepared divorce forms are guaranteed to be accurate for use in all family law courts in the US. If your forms are not accepted by your court, we will offer you a full refund." The forms were not accepted by the court I attempted to file them in because several of the required forms were missing and several that were provided were outdated forms no longer in use. They also state that upon receipt of their forms all I need to do is take them to the court for filing. What they did not say is that I have to make 3 copies of all of the forms for filing. They had a cheaper option to get the forms online and download a set, and make the copies I need that I chose not to do because I did not want to bother with the copying. They said the option I chose would not require that, which was not true.When I contacted the company they refused to discuss a refund in accordance with their own money back guarantee. I had to subsequently obtain forms from the court and complete those myself.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the $179.00 I paid for a service they did not provide. This is provided for in their money back guarantee.

Business Response:

My Divorce Papers advertises "fully prepared divorce forms are guaranteed to be accurate for use in all family law courts in the US. If your forms are not accepted by your court, we will offer you a full refund." In accordance with our refund policy we state:

We are more than happy to issue a proper refund per our court approval guarantee under the following conditions:
-If we are UNABLE to fix the documents in the off chance that the court has rejected them. 
And
-You provide a copy of your rejection letter”

Our policy can be found on our website.

Our service has helped thousands file for divorce with extensive instructions on how to do so provided to us by the state in which they are filing. We pride ourselves on taking care of our clients fully and seeing the process through to the best of our ability as an electronic preparing service. All documentation is recorded based on the answers by the client in our online interview questionnaire.

Unfortunately in this situation, we were never given the opportunity to correct any paperwork nor have record of any phone calls regarding the rejection of the documents. In doing the right thing for our client, should this situation have come to our attention we would have rectified and mended the client/business relationship immediately.

Divorce is already a difficult scenario; in the end we want our clients to be happy. We are happy to accommodate a refund regarding the miscommunication of our services our client has received.

                                                 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1