skip entire header and global navigation

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers insurance services and long term care consultation.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Veterans Aid meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Veterans Aid include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Veterans Aid
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 29, 2013 Business started: 11/25/2002 in CA Business started locally: 11/25/2002 Business incorporated: 09/23/2010 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Department of Insurance
Consumer Services Division, 300 South Spring Street, Los Angeles CA 90013
http://www.insurance.ca.gov
Phone Number: 800-927-4357
Fax Number: 213-897-5961
The license number is 0H20867.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Jackie Stokes, Vice President Operations Ms. Joyce Lucca, Vice President of Finance
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Glenn Pool, CEO
Principal: Mrs. Jackie Stokes, Vice President Operations
Number of Employees

17

Business Category

Insurance Companies Insurance - Accident & Health Insurance - Long Term Care Insurance Rating Bureaus Insurance Services

Alternate Business Names
National Guardian Network Inc NGN Insurance Solutions Stokes Insurance Services

Additional Locations

  • 1717 W Orangewood Ave #G

    Orange, CA 92868 (888) 438-2073 (949) 269-8164 (877) 427-8065

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 427-8065(Phone)
  • (888) 438-2073(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Engaged this firm to assist with filing a claim for a "Veterans Aid in Attendance" benefit with the VA for my 89 year old mother, in about October 2011. Paid firm $650.00 for this service. Claim drug on for nearly 2 years without success. My mother passed away in May of 2013 without the claim ever having been resolved. My contract with American Veterans Aid (AVA)specifically states that should the claimant die during the application process, a refund of 1/2 the fee paid ($325.00) is triggered. There are no circumstances or language in the contract that would negate the subject refund. I Have provided documents supporting all this, and emailed American Veterans Aid on numerous occasions but am getting the 'run around'. They say that they will submit it to the 'refund committee' for review (as of August 7). as though there is some mechanism for refusing the refund. Believe me, there is not! Firm seems to be more interested in selling 'immediate annuities' to get around VA claimant asset rules. (Which I did not do because my Mom had to assets to speak of anyway.) Some web sites seem to indicate that AVA is in some manner connected with the Church of Scientology, who has a less than stellar record in such matters. I would appreciate your follow up to help obtain the refund I am due in the amount of $325.00 and to make this complaint available to anyone requesting information about the viability of AVA. Product_Or_Service: Veterans benefit application assistance

Desired Settlement: See Complaint Text

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** * *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted by this company after an internet search. Talked to a rep regarding veteran benifits for my Dad. Gave all the info asked for and was told my Dad would qualify for the benifit. Asked for payement. Which I sent. Then I received a call from an investment advisor who I again gave all the info he asked for and was told that we had to either gift the money or buy aniuities since my Dad had too much assits. Then we spoke to an attorney and was told that if we did what they wanted to do Dad would not qualify for Medicaid when he needed it in 3 years. We then made a call to the company to explain that we did not want to continue with the proscess. For the last 3 days we have tried to get in touch with someone and on one will call us back. The company preys on the vunerable. Product_Or_Service: Premium Pre-filing fee Account_Number: american veterans ai

Desired Settlement: See Complaint Text

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While attempting to obtain health aid assistance for surviving spouse of veteran due to her failing health I had one telephone assessment interview where the program was explained and I was told that if she did not qualify, for whatever reason there would be a refund of the monies. No mention was made as to how much would be refunded in the telephone interview. AFTER I agreed and the service contract was emailed to me, then it indicated in the agreement it would only be 40% no matter what the reason, they already had my money. The process started Nov 11, 2013 and she passed away Dec 3, 2013, LESS THAN 30 days.I contacted the representative to let her know and requested a refund. Mind you, I had no consultation, no assistance with financial matters to help her qualify and no claim had actually been set in place, but my refund was only $780.00!?! I can understand some fees, but 60% for NO services done other than the initial consultation. I feel this is a rip-off and I indicated that it was less than 30 days and I was having financial hardship for final funeral arrangements.

Desired Settlement: I feel since it was LESS than 30 days and it was not mentioned during the interview only 40$ of the payment would be refunded and I did not know until AFTER the agreement was emailed to me that they would only refund 40% of the $1950.00, I am requesting 75% of the money be refunded. I feel 25% is reasonable enough for their time explaining and assisting me.

Business Response: Dear  Ms. *******

Your voice mail  and request to reconsider the partial refund  has been reviewed.  Based on the 
services  rendered from the time  of service  to your  father's passing, we will be happy  to 
provide a full refund less an administrative fee of $250, if that  is acceptable to you.

Although we strive to adhere  to the terms of our service  agreement, we understand that certain 
circumstances do not fit the parameters and we can accommodate special consideration as requested.

We are sorry for your  loss and look  forward to your  reply.

Best regards,
****** ******
VIce President,Operations
AMERICAN VETERANS AID,  INC.
###-###-####

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1