BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a medical practice that specializes in the treatment of autonomic disorders.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Synergy Health Concepts meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Synergy Health Concepts include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Synergy Health Concepts include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Synergy Health Concepts
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: Business started: 09/02/2010 in CA Business started locally: 09/02/2010 Business incorporated: 09/02/2010 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Medical Board of California
1434 Howe Avenue #92, Sacramento CA 95825-3236
http://www.medbd.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 633-2322
Fax Number: (916) 263-2387
The license number is 70967.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Michael Arata, President
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Michael Arata, President
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Health & Medical - General

Industry Tips
Cancer Treatment Scams

Additional Locations

  • 4501 Birch St

    Newport Beach, CA 92660 (949) 221-0129

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March of 2012 I had a the CCSVI procedure at this location. Paid in full. At the time this procedure was not being paid for by insurance companies so they required that it was paid in full to have procedure done. I borrowed the money to have it done for the price that was quoted to me. Paid $1000 to just make an appointment with company. I flew from the state of Georgia to California. Paid the rest. total was aprox. 10K When you have Multiple Sclerosis you will almost do anything for some relief. Anyhow,2 years later I am receiving a bill from them for $46,707.00. First of all this was paid in full. I called because I thought this must be a mistake and they said that it wasn't a mistake. When I first arrived they asked for my insurance card and I asked why if I am paying in full for the procedure. I was told that if for some reason my insurance does pay for some of it, I will get some of my money back. My insurance sent me a check for 7000. I forwarded that to the person I borrowed money from. The procedure was a little over 10k. It was a little more expensive than others in the country but I felt confident in this particular doctor so was willing to pay the price. If you research this procedure throughout the US you will find it to be less than 8K. They will also tell you that you must pay in full because most insurance will not pay. I have called several times to straighten this out to no avail. I have received one call back, they left msg. I called back several times. No return of messages. I contacted the doctor himself and he gave me a number to call his office manager. I just want this to be resolved because I do not owe this money and I do not want this on my credit report when it was PAID IN FULL AT TIME OF SERVICE.

Desired Settlement: I just want this to be resolved because I do not owe this money and I do not want this on my credit report when it was PAID IN FULL AT TIME OF SERVICE.

Business Response:

In response to the complaint filed April 21, 2014, the client was informed at the time of service (March 2012) of her financial responsibility in writing. This document states clearly that she paid $1000 nonrefundable deposit to secure appointments for this treatment, $2,500 for the research protocol MRI which was not reimbursable by insurance and a $4000 procedure deposit (estimated co-insurance amount.)   This document was signed and dated by the client. In addition, the client signed a form assigning her benefits to the provider. Meaning that if the insurance carrier paid for the services rendered; she would assign those benefits (dollars) to the provider. In September 2012, we were notified by the insurance carrier that the payment was issued to the client in May 2012. The Explanation of Benefits stated that the allowed amount was $10,562.69; $666.32 was applied to the deductible; $2,489.23 was applied to co-insurance amount and $34,892.31 was the client's responsibility. We contacted the client to request she forward the payment she received in the amount of $7,407.14 to our office as she agreed to do in the documents she signed at the time of service. In January 2013, the billing manager contacted the client to request this payment for a second time.  In addition, a letter was sent to the client explaining that the payment she received was for services rendered by the provider and the client will be held financially responsible full amount of the claim until the payment is received. 
 
In February 2013, the billing office spoke with an authorized party to discuss the letter they received. The client stated that it was their understanding that our office would reimburse the client for what she paid. This is inaccurate. Overpayment would be reimbursed to the client; however, our office never received an insurance payment. We are not attempting to collect $46,707; this is the outstanding amount in our billing system which is printed on our statement. We clearly have communicated repeated in writing and verbally that we are attempting to collect the money that was intended for the physician who performed the services. It is unfortunate that any person who receives care would consider keeping the payment for these services for their own. Our office has left several messages for this client and the persons calling on her behalf. We would like to resolve this issue as well. It is our sincere hope that she realizes that payment should be paid to the provider and not to the person who received the treatment.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This person who replied to you is not being honest.  We have called several times.  She has called me personally one time and left a message.  I have called her back several times.  She doesn't return my calls.

I am sending some documentation that shows how much we were told the procedure was and I also have more receipts if needed.  I have emails that show pricing from other places in the U.S. doing this same procedure.  
One other thing I don't understand is how can they come back two years later sending me an outrageous bill.  If I would have known the price  would jump from 10k to 47k I would have never went to this center.
 
Also, if you need more proof.  I found this online from someone who had the same procedure done at Synergy and how much it cost.  http://ccsvi.ca/story/37/cold-lake-ms-sufferer-received-ccsvi-treatment-in-california.html 

Regards,

********* ********

Consumer Response: We have resolved the situation.  

Thank you for your assistance. Very much appreciated! 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.